Fair Dinkum Four Wheel Drives

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 19:34
ThreadID: 29057 Views:2617 Replies:16 FollowUps:11
Not knocking any make or model but I think theres space there for one of the manufactures to build more of a fair dinkum 4WD . I mean something mechanically rock solid, like a cross between a Hummer and a Landy or whatever and the comfort of a Toyota or Nissan or whatever. Slow reving big mother six or V8 direct injection diesel with bags of torque eg 650 nm at 1800 rpm.
Low low bottom ratio, low revs idol up or over anything high ratio top gear 120ks
cruise. Low revs hi torque less fuel anyway. No turbos, forget electronics, good old fashion horsepower, and reliability. We are paying to much for mums glamourous shopping trolley.
Merry Xmas
Axle
PS. Maybe I should get myself an old Leyland bus?. mmm ! Don't know about that.

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 19:58

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 19:58
75 series Cruiser + Chev V8 diesel + 3.7 diffs + crawler low range gear set + lockers?

Strong, reliable & cheap...ish.
AnswerID: 144917

Follow Up By: Axle - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:13

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:13
Sounds a good rig mate . Why dont they put one on a showroom floor
cheers Axle
FollowupID: 398448

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:28

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:28
Axle,
Even though it would be a great truck, it wouldn't sell enough to warrant them doing it.....that is the cold hard fact of the matter. We have painted ourselves into a corner by buying the plastic rubbish they throw our way and the good old beam-axle 4bys aren't selling as well as they should. Too many of us so-called die-hard 4 wheel drivers are prepared to accept the Toyota IFS landcruiser, cos mum likes it...easy to drive (slush box). However, Toyota have gone all soft and the current Landcruiser is not a patch on the 60 series or even the 80 series; both of which are VERY capable and TOUGH 4bys. (struth, I can't believe I just said that!!!!).
Nissan and Landrover (defender only) have held out thus far, but don't expect to see another beam axle Patrol and as for the Landrover, well who knows.
I'm not slagging off at the likes of the 100 series really, I haven't yet seen or heard of a car salesman holding a gun to anybody's head to force them to buy a new vehicle.
My idea of a REAL 4x4 would be an OKA with a 6.5 Chev motor and with all the other reliability issues ironed out. If you don't want something quite that big, then the Troopy, as outlined above, would be a good option, or (of course) a Patrol DX (cos you don't like too much plastic), similarly optioned up with 6.5 Chev donk/.
FollowupID: 398475

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:41

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:41
Guys,

78/79series TD comes straight off the showroom floor with that stuff. Factory diff locks are an option.
FollowupID: 398478

Follow Up By: Axle - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 23:09

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 23:09
I agree with all you have said , its just annoying to see the modern 4by ( all makes ) fail in areas That should have been improoved not made weaker. Plastic bad enought ., But lighter gearbox shafts diffs radiators to small etc etc Bl...dy crazy.
Axle
FollowupID: 398490

Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 20:28

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 20:28
They are still being made Roachie...called a 78/79series...all you could ever want and without the trimings. Cheers good buddy!!
FollowupID: 398655

Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 21:43

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 21:43
No one has painted themselves into a corner!
The Govt regulations (here and mainly overseas) have painted the manufacturers into a corner!
ADR compliance, fuel efficiency, safety........
That's why you will soon be getting plastic bodied 78/79 series cruisers, with cardboard axles and composite-hybrid air-foam replacement materials everywhere else!

60 series and MQ's were only being manufactured for so long, because the makers were "allowed" to! Try getting an ADR certificate for something like that nowadays!!
Just looking at the kinds of 4WD's now as the best seller list.....CRV, RAV, Prado???

The way of the future is going to be more recreational areas locked up, soaring fuel prices, stricter safety requirements.........

Your children(grandchildren) will be driving those cardboard axled, foam cell bodied, electric 4WDs on the newly sealed Oodnadatta track to some nice vantage point, to take some very long range photo's of the Rig Road and K-Line, and wonder........"did people really venture out that way disregarding all that danger, in those old death-traps?"

*cynicism hat has now been removed!* :))

FollowupID: 398673

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:09

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:09
Yes, it is a shame that the only fair dinkum 4 x 4s are Land Rover Defender or Troopy.
It would be good if the manufacturers released even their existing vehicles in a true 'poverty pack', so that it is less like taking a luxury vehicle bush. They seem to be catering more & more for the 'Toorak Tractor' market, than for serious offroading.
AnswerID: 144919

Follow Up By: ACDC - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:20

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:20
Unfortunately the Toorak tractor market is where the sales are$$$$$
FollowupID: 398449

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:22

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:22
Yep, You guys are small fish in a big pond. The manufacturers do not make 4x4's for you to bush bash - they make them for snow and ice driving on the tar seal!

The world market is for 4x4's on the hard surface not the hard terain. Us guys will just have to learn to adapt the Toorak Tractors.
AnswerID: 144920

Reply By: Exploder - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:56

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:56
Exactly, No market

Even building a tuff Hummer (Like The original Military version) would still cost you upward of $100,000 to buy easy, Not many people have that sort of $$ laying around to spend on a 4WD with only one propose.

Duel use 4WD are were it is at, you buy, spend a bit to set it up how you need it and you’re off and you can still use it as a day to day driver.

Or what V8 said, 75-Cruser, V8, new gears and lockers, reengineer some weaker components, What ever they may be, that would be about as tuff as they come.

Even the Closest new 4WD to what you talk of, a new 79-series, you are still paying $55,000 for something with leaf-springs, has about as much comfort as a Sherman Tank and around the same acceleration.
AnswerID: 144929

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:57

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:57
" Even the Closest new 4WD to what you talk of, a new 79-series, you are still paying $55,000 for something with leaf-springs, has about as much comfort as a Sherman Tank and around the same acceleration. "

Exploder, go take a 79TD for a drive and it will lay you back in your seat. Mine has a better ride than the Prado I had before because of its longer wheelbase. The leaf springs are a lot longer than the 75series, so the ride is very good, and plenty of room in the cab - its 5 inches longer than the 75.

Yep they cost a lot of money, but must be worth it because the dealers are all out of stock at the moment.
FollowupID: 398484

Follow Up By: Exploder - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 16:59

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 16:59
I have taken a ride in one, yes the Turbo Diesel is much better than the N/A diesel (Which is what I was referring to in my comment the non turbo that is), and the ride is still nothing flash but it is better than the 75 . As for room an extra 5-Inch, well I am 6Ft4 so to me the cab is small.

I think I may have given you the impression that I dislike the 79. To clarify, I think they are a good truck and I don’t think they are ugly either in fact I like the shape, if I had to chose between a GXL 100-series and a Turbo 79 I would take the 79!!! Call me crazy but I would, if I spent more time out bush I would love a kitted out turbo 79 Cruiser they are as close as you can get to a true bush machine.
FollowupID: 398609

Reply By: dieselup - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:58

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:58
Axle, you've hit the nail on the head!
Don't hold your breath though
AnswerID: 144930

Reply By: snailbait (Blue mntns) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:14

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:14
hi axle
what do you want to do with your vehicle
4wd wear out as the same as ford or holdens they cost moore to run than the norm vhicle do
the top vehicle at this time is the Discovery 3 with 2.7 turbo engine and all the good gear what happens in the futre is a gues with the Defender or the Troppy beining the top of the heap what do you want to do as in 4WD this is what you have to ask your self or go back to the dark ages
snailbate
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 144935

Reply By: hoyks - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:30

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:30
They are still knocking out 80 series in South America, so I hear.
AnswerID: 144940

Reply By: Peter 2 - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:45

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:45
Until a few years ago you could buy a new 40 series cruiser in South America too. Brazil from memory and it was called the Bandito or something similar.
My feelings exactly on the way 4wd's have gone, even the troopy has gone soft now, electric windows, central locking, weak diff housings etc etc.
Part of the reason I bought the Humvee, basically indesctructible except by an IED, the only thing it misses out on is the high cruising speed, but as I've rarely travelled much faster than 90-95 on long trips it's no problem. Most good roads and tracks don't allow such speeds anyway.
Speed or the perceived need thereof is a modern society affliction anyway, nothing wrong with taking your time.
AnswerID: 144945

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:53

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:53
yeah good idea , toyota chassis (hzj 79), canadian chev diesel 6.5L turbo (325 hp standard), nissan GQ tranny and gearbag, 6 stud wheelies, fridge standard ,diff locks standard. all priced to beat the 60 000 you pay for a new nissan or toyota ute ............................. but witout the break-downy bit
AnswerID: 144948

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:39

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:39
Sam’s gone again
But…
Where too???
FollowupID: 398477

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 23:03

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 23:03
Sam,

Spend the extra money on the TD, and you'll get a better donk than the chev, the stronger H150F box that doesn't break, the 14mm 5 studs (vs the 12mm 6 studs). :-)))

Can get them 2nd hand now for about $40k.
FollowupID: 398488

Reply By: PhilRob - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:19

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:19
75 troopy, I wouldn't trade mine 4 nuthn, what goods velure seats and carpet
and all the other guff when your sitting there submerged with with things floating
in through the windows.
AnswerID: 144970

Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 01:57

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 01:57
To be honest, I'm a problem tinkerer. I love the way good machinery works and half the fun in a rig is building it up.

Build your own super 4x4 mate - that way it not a lowest common denominator compromise that the major manufacturers have to produce to sell in quantity and your 'pride of ownership' levels will go through the roof as well.

That's why I'm vaguely considering doing something stupid and spending lots of money on building my ultimate touring 4x4. I think the live axle 100 series is the very last of the old school breed and I think it is a sensational vehicle. Roomy, well mannered and tough. Its only problem is the 80 series front diff (not as bad the IFS I'm led to believe) but there are ways to toughen that up. Diff locks and a large displacement, understressed, stoneage diesel would round the package off nicely. If I won Lotto, I can't really think of anything better for what I want to do.
AnswerID: 144975

Reply By: ImEasy - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:38

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:38
I reckon bring back Horse and Cart (Camper Cart), go anywhere you want with that sought of setup I reckon, and how many brands of Horse can you choose from?

How cheap would saddles and bridles and chit cost, not to mention shoes, all terrain horse shoes, could be a good business there.

But im sure the slagging matches would still go on about what type of horse is better, but me, give me a Clydesdale, plenty og grunt to tow the camper cart around, and they are big, because big is better! Sorry, im starting to state which horse is the superior one.

That's my 2 cents worth.

p.s I wonder if Raindeer would be better, will have to ask the old fella.

Merry Christmas
AnswerID: 145004

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:12

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:12
Car companies are in the buisness of selling cars not making them bulletproof. I agree with you, unfortunetly all the marketing research that Toyota have done says that this type of car would not sell. All the models today have some serios pitfalls including the patrols and cruisers, look at the new hilux made softer and lower but the most popular selling 4wd at the moment, I would love it to have everything you mentioned but can you imagine the price. The days of the old mechanical fuel pums and hubs are numberes it will soon be all electronic. I think there is merit in maintaing an old cruiser 80 series or 100 series and gq and gu patrols and just holding onto to them. I sold my 80 series and regret it everyday.
AnswerID: 145012

Reply By: Bullwinkle - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:26

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:26
Phil G - You're not a Toyota salesman by any chance?
AnswerID: 145020

Reply By: Sarg - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 20:27

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 20:27
Already made. F Trucks !!!
AnswerID: 145145

Reply By: Wombat - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 07:56

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 07:56
Your description of the ultimate 4WD sounds very similar to an F250 to me, Axle.
AnswerID: 145213