economy

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 13:15
ThreadID: 29047 Views:5033 Replies:26 FollowUps:19
What sort of fuel economy are people really getting out there. I read many varied results and maybe a few exagerations? I have a GU 2.8 td and get around 15l/100km, 110kph & air con on, reasonably flat roads in high heat (Kimberley) It seems a little high, maybe the high heat & thinner air? up here doesn't help. Has anyone out there fitted a cruise control and found an improvement in economy - less speed variation and unnesesary acceleration/decelleration. Also, has anyone fitted the lpg fumigation to their diesel, and what sort of real (not manufacturers) improvements to economy/power have they made.

Thanks Andrew

Reply By: Member - Bware - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 13:27

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 13:27
Your fuel usage does seem high. I have an 80 series standard diesel and do about 400km's to work and back mostly highway on 100kph. A few hills and gear changes. I consistently get 11L/100km or less. Even if I include a few trails on our property with steep climbs there is no way I would use 15L's, though I have no a/c and maybe 110kph would make a difference.
AnswerID: 144857

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 13:36

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 13:36
Cmon.....u guys, haven't you heard...you won't learn will you?????? Where's your fitch and you will halve your fuel consuption, triple your oil change intervals, never need to put air in your tyres, check the fluid levels under the hood, replenish the beer fridge (ok I was joking about that one hehe).....oh I could go on and on and on......

Leroy

PS. GU 3.0l - 12-13l/100ks most of the time. Don't know how people get to 10's

AnswerID: 144859

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 17:08

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 17:08
Leroy,

You've opened the door by mentioning that 5-letter word "f...."

The Prince of Darkness will soon be upon us :(((
FollowupID: 398427

Reply By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 13:37

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 13:37
Hi Andrew - those figures are similar to what I get out of my 2.8tdi GU when towing my Kanga Camper at 110kmp with aircon on - on the highway. It goes up to about 17l/100km when in the sand tracks like in Big and Little Deserts. Highway running at similar speeds is around 11.5l/100km. I now have 181000km on the clock and over that distance I have averaged 12.33lt/100km,which from my viewpoint is pretty damn good for a 3tonne truck.

Pete
AnswerID: 144860

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 13:43

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 13:43
Grand Cherokee CRD

Highway, A/C - 8.0L/100km

Offroad, Low Range - Trails: 10.0L/100, Sand: 12.5L/100km (Stockton)

-----------------------------------------------------------
GQ TD42T

Highway, A/C - 11.0L/100km

Offroad, Low Range - Trails: 15.0L/100, Sand: 18-20L/100km (Stockton)
AnswerID: 144863

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:36

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:36
CRD TURBO Hilux only got 4,000kms on it gets 9.5l per 100 around town. On the highway gets under 9L per 100kms. Just did a trip to stanthorp from Brisbane and got 500kms out of half a tank (76L Tank) sitting on 100 the whole way with ac on. By the way a mith buster shown on cable said that the ac on in car affect fuel consumption marginally so i would'nt worry about the ac to much. Mind you that was to Marinello feraris on a track.
FollowupID: 398546

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 13:52

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 13:52
I get 12.5 around town and exactly the same at 100kmh in 5th gear....
I m carrying a fair bit of weight...(see rig details)....
AnswerID: 144864

Reply By: Scoey - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 14:02

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 14:02
'94 80 Series 4.5i Petrol 1FZ-FE

Varies between 17L/100k's heavy trails and hills to 13.5L/100k's highway speed between 90-100km and no A/C.

Scoey
AnswerID: 144866

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 14:10

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 14:10
Bombsquad

When I was living in the inland Pilbara (similar climate to the Kimberley minus the humidity) in my 3.0L Patrol lots of hwy travelling at up to 120 km/h, fuel consumption use to sit around 12.5 - 13 L/100km. Unless your speed goes up and down like a yo-yo I don't see how cruise control would make that bigger difference, the driveline losses through inertia (resistance to speeding up & slowing down of the driveline) makes up a very small amount, at hwy speed air-drag is the biggest factor, do you have a large roofrack on your vehicle?

Snowy
AnswerID: 144869

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 14:53

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 14:53
11L/100 around town
10L/100 highway
13L/100 sand
AnswerID: 144873

Reply By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:02

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:02
My 105 Series is generally around the 10-11L/100km mark for both tanks full to empty. This is a combination of regular short trips, with a few longer runs (40km+) thrown in. It actually works out well for our situation, as I get paid monthly, and a fill lasts a tad less than one month. We find ourselves walking round a bit, or not going out for the last few days......

If I sit on 110 on the freeway, it gets up to about 13 or so, but if I'm doing 110, it kinda goes between 105 and 120....;-). Sand calculations always scare me, but I would guess 13-14?

My best result ever was a trip from Parramatta to Jenolan, 4WD'ing for a few hours, then home again. It was exact to the cent 10L/100km.

Worst was probably a trip from the airport to Parramatta with a load of winches. The car was probably around the 3.2t mark, with a 3.5t (exactly) trailer on the back. I rekon over quarter of the main tank for a 30km run.

Not bad for a truck just shy of 3 tonnes when half loaded.

Chump
AnswerID: 144874

Reply By: bombsquad - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:15

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:15
Thanks to all who have replied so far. my roofrack is just 3 rola bars, so shouldn't add a great deal. The engine had a rebuild 10000km ago, with about $600 dollars spent on the injector pump at the time. I submitted this post to see if it was comprable to others, and it does seem about 10% higher than it should be. New (std) air cleaners doesn't make any difference. Any suggestions welcome, especially from people with experience with this model and engine.

Trade up to a newie to get more power etc will cost me in excess of 35,000 + accessories, so this isnt realistic for basically the same body, chasis etc. Considering the gas injection option in the near future, to be followed at a later date maybe with either a 4.2 or chev 6.5 transplant.

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 144875

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 17:42

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 17:42
G'day Bombsquad,

Your fuel economy is about right, you may think the roof bars don't add much drag but you will find they do. I had the same set up on my 2.8 GU when I removed them the economy went back to 7km/ltr, 14.2/100.
With the loaded basket on aswell it was between 5.5 - 6km/lt, mind you, I tend to sit on around 110 most times.
I also did a lot of research into conversions, I didn't want the n/a 6.5 so I got prices for a rear mount turbo one (which is the only turbo version that will fit into the GU ), 24 grand plus gearbox, so that was out of the question, the n/a one was 16 grand, these are drive in, drive out prices.

Looked at getting a good used motor from the states ( as 11k of these prices is for the motor alone ) apparently these motors are sought after by the comp guys for conversions into jeeps, which in turn bumps up the price.

So then looked at doing the 4.2TD conversion, around 12k for one with 90-100thou on it, whilst mulling this over I started checking the prices of 4.2TD GU's, they had come down considerably since I first started all this, not sure about up there, but I just picked one up, in standard form other than a good tune-up, very little dirt road, with 100thousand on it for 29grand.
So after swapping all the gear over ( except for the motsons power-up chip, dual batteries and remote central locking ) I hope to get around 20k for the 2.8, which leaves a 9-10 grand difference, cheaper than either conversion, with enough left over to do the power up grades.

Sorry if this is a bit long winded but I hope some of it helps.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 398430

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:30

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:30
I have TD5 Disco, i filled up 6mths ago and haven't as yet used a full tank so i'll let you know soon as i fill up again.

Hey just as believable as some of the figures above.

Baz ;-)))
AnswerID: 144877

Follow Up By: chump_boy - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 16:01

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 16:01
Baz,

You must have one of those Fitches installed......

Chump

..........1. fitch
a polecat. 30's slang for a bastard, asshole, prick or liar.
(Abercombie & Fitch (30's slang for a know-it-all & liar))
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=fitch
FollowupID: 398420

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 17:10

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 17:10
You too chump_boy ? You should know better than to mention that word. Ssshhhhhhhh!!!!
FollowupID: 398429

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 17:52

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 17:52
Redback, you said exactly what I was thinking. Some of those quoted figures are unbelievable & obviously exaggerated.
FollowupID: 398431

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 19:59

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 19:59
Baz ,you must be into the xmass cheer ,, since relinquishing [bloody big word after the odd 6 or 10 drinks] the famed Explorer I now use one and only one little bitty bit of fuel in the cruiser , turbo diesel automatic , 15lt per round town on the stop start grind of 10ks one way, but love the h/way cruising at 110k getting 10lt per and 12 on the sand ,, methinks the Flutch hic hic fllotchb hic hic Bills bull might give me a surpluss to sell ,, anysow have you and yours a smerry holiday session ana topfest newyear!!
FollowupID: 398447

Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 16:40

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 16:40
1996 Defender 110, 2.5 litre diesel

10 litres /100 km at 90 to 100 km/h
increases when we go over 105 km/h consistently.

Fitted cruise control recently and it does seem to have made a difference, but not quantified. The biggest difference we found with cruise control is that the accelaror ssems to go further than we can physically push the pedal with foot. That should not be possible. But the beast will easily cruise about 5 to 10 km/hour more than by using foot on pedal.
AnswerID: 144882

Follow Up By: Mass observer - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:55

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:55
Check you are getting full throttle.
FollowupID: 399687

Follow Up By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 12:50

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 12:50
I didn't actually say it was a problem I care about. It was just an effect created by a cause. I rather like it that way.
FollowupID: 399739

Reply By: Original Banjo (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:12

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:12
99 SE Jackaroo 3.0 TD - always have Campomatic Trailer in tow on bush trips.
Sealed highway @95kph=13 L/ 100k - at most (12L with tail wind).
Gravel roads add .5L at most (we would slow to 80k probably).
Slow going on rougher tracks etc add 2L to sealed, but probably less.
Yours is an "earlier generation TD" if I recall correctly - the next generation (common rail - 3L units etc.) would be more economic overall, but then they all cost to buy. The very latest generation (such as the Merc in the Jeep) are incredibly powerful, frugal and low on emissions, but cost heaps - fault diagnosis and the cost of repairs would be a nightmare on trips in my view - comparing your unit with the others, who is best off ?
AnswerID: 144894

Follow Up By: bombsquad - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 19:04

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 19:04
Parden he pun, but "that is the question". Many replies have given good advice and comparisons. Im not one for changing cars very often - I have a problem giving governments stamp duty etc. I really like the GU, and dont mind the characteristics of the 2.8 all that mutch, but you really have to 'drive'it off road, with no torque down low. at 3-5k, the gas fumigation may be for me. Ill keep my car with the accessories I have, will increase my range, decrease my running costs, and give me more power and driveability. Plus I'll have something not many others have........not necessarily a good thing.

Thanks Andrew
FollowupID: 398444

Follow Up By: Original Banjo (SA) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:10

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:10
Rational thought there Andrew - I'm a lot the same - if the car fits the current needs, it stays till the needs formula changes. The only qualification for that view is I shudder re the expenses involved if the Jack plays up - I sometimes wonder if an LC100 or such with a non turbo diesel would be simpler and have a much lower potential for technical mayhem.... that move is currently in the back of my mind.
FollowupID: 398527

Reply By: Member Steve & Lorraine Mc - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 19:43

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 19:43
Bombsquad

It might pay to check your air cleaner I used have a 2.8 with a finer filter in it & I went back to the STD paper units, as the others played havoc with the air flow meter & reduced the fuel economy

Cheers Steve
AnswerID: 144913

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:06

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:06
Andrew,

Troopie on steroids and 285/75/16 tyres 15l/100km.

AnswerID: 144918

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:01

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:01
2005 Holden crewman crosstrack 6. Reset the trip meter/lites/k average. From standing start and floor it to about 120clicks, ave use comes up at 46 litres/ 100k's. When driving highway cycle about 11.8litres/100k's If I just kept on flooring it, I'd just get over 100k's per tankfull. LOL
AnswerID: 144931

Follow Up By: Mass observer - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:10

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:10
Is everyone here using their trip computer to work out their mileage? What ever happened to calculating at the pump from fuel used since the last refill and kilometres covered?

Litres/(km/100) = litres per 100 kilometres.
That is litres divided by the number of hundreds of kilometres.

This gives you an average consumption since the last refill not the best you can get the trip computer to read on a flat road. The crewman above is most likely averaging about 14.5L/100km!

I wonder if this is where the fantasy figures quoted are coming from? You drive an over sized irresponsible truck for personal transport so why worry now that is has high fuel consumption? If you want economy get a Toyota Prius or a diesel smart car.
FollowupID: 399689

Reply By: 120scruiser - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:00

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:00
Realistic figures
2005 Prado td auto with roof rack.
My figures over 14 000 km 17.1 litres per 100 km.
Took it into toyota and they plugged their computer in and reckon its getting
12.4 litres per 100 km.
I can't work it out.
120s cruiser
AnswerID: 144949

Follow Up By: bombsquad - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:52

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:52
This is probably the closest to mine. I have records of the last 6 months and a lot of variences, some hard to explain - either environmental or the emgine management system mental? best fig of 13.5l/100km at 100kph, worst of 20l/kph towing a 17 foot centre console which isnt the best aerodynamically. I have stuck with the paper element filters, and changing/cleaning doesn't change it noticeably, but you can hear the turbo spin up about 3-500rpm sooner.

I was thinking of going to a different air filter, but the sensor issue is putting me off this. I had an interest in hiclones for a while, but hey have been shot down in flames on this forum and others. Still looking for a response from anyone with the lpg fumigation. I may end up the guiniepig soon....

Thanks all who have responded

FollowupID: 398482

Follow Up By: 120scruiser - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:56

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:56
I just did the figures from when I bought it.
13 600 km and total figures 15.9 litres per 100.
This includes an 8500 km simpson trip.
Not to bad but I thought it would be a little better.
FollowupID: 398539

Reply By: Grumblebum and Dragon (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 23:34

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 23:34
2000 model 4.5 Tojo Petrol/autogas - 100 series. Running on autogas and towing a 3.5 tonne caravan at 85kph average 31 - 37L/100K ..... but that gas is only 55 c/l

Not towing - runs on the smell of a gassy rag, or less if you fart frequently!

Have a good Chrissie et al.
AnswerID: 144964

Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:20

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 10:20
Hi Bomber,

15/100 does seem pretty thirsty. We managed to still average just over 14/100 with a 2200kg 'van in tow, from Mt Isa to Broome and return, in Oct & Nov. That's with a '97 Discovery 300Tdi (2.5L Tdi), in high ambients (45C several days) and some b*gg*ers of head winds.

You say your engine was rebuilt 10,000 km ago and money spent on the injection pump. Unfortunately, this doesn't guarantee everything is correct. First thing I'd check is the injection timing. If it's out, it can have a major effect on power and economy.

Next, a couple of other things to look at: Have a close look at all air hoses/ducts - air filter inlet (snorkel??), air filter to turbo, turbo to intercooler, intercooler to manifold - are all the connections tight. Check the suction ones to see if they may be collapsing under heavy load and the pressure ones to see if perhaps they are de-laminating inside and becoming restricted. Is the intercooler clean, inside and out? Crawl underneath and check for damage to the exhaust - i.e. not squashed or kinked anywhere? Any of these things will restrict the 'breathing' of the engine, causing it to use more fuel (and, incidentlly, run at much higher than normal EGTs).

Also, was your pump calibrated to factory specs or 'tuned' a bit to improve low rpm performance? If 'tuned', it may be overfuelling in some parts of the rpm range. See if you can find an observer and a good 'test hill' - somewhere you can maintain full throttle in 4th or 5th from around 1500 rpm to 3000-3500 rpm. Have your observer look for black smoke as the revs increase - and note at what rpm it gets smoky - if at all (& if you have a boost gauge, note the boost pressure at which it is smoky - if at all). If you judge it to be too smoky at any point, perhaps take it back to your engine rebuilder/diesel specialist and ask for the fuelling to be adjusted in the appropriate range.

Hope this helps. Happy Christmas to all.

AnswerID: 145015

Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:44

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:44
it only took 20 posts to get the best response merry xmas to all
FollowupID: 398566

Reply By: Disco200Tdi - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:23

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 11:23
Firstly, have you cleaned the mass air flow sensor ?
Do you have a snorkel and sock or any other typre of air flow restrictions ?
Oversize tyres and weight kill good fuel consumption.

An example. I and a group of friends travelled the Simpson in July this year.
3 of us had the same vehicle, LR discovery Tdi's.

Stock standard disco on standard road tyres - 9L/100
(This car went from Coober Pedy to the last dune before Big Red on 82 litres)

Disco on oversize tyres - 11L/100

Disco on oversize tyres + roofbars with spare tyre - 12L/100

Hope you find a solution

John D
AnswerID: 145034

Follow Up By: bombsquad - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:04

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 12:04
I would like to clean the air flow sinsor. Any tips?? use solvent or compressed air etc - I haven't taken it off yet so I'm not sure what it looks like inside. Intake system and tyres are standard. Were the above comparisons to trip meter readings on individuual vehicles or to gps - in case the oversize tyes travelled further to record 100km. My trip metre is within 2% of gps readings, a lot more accurate than expected. I think some (not all!) of peopls claims both on this forum and locally are based on trip metres or odo's that are recording 100km but the vehicle only travelles about 90. my old MQ did this.

Thanks Andrew

PS still looking for someone with lpg.....
FollowupID: 398561

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:15

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:15
Hi Bomber et al,

I know my speedo reads about 5% high from GPS and highway "Speedo Check" sections (i.e. speedo 105km/h = real 100 km/h).

My odometer seems pretty good though - in 600 to 700 km day travels it's always with 3-4 km of the road sign distances (which seem to regularly vary by about the same amount during the trip). This is over many thousands of kms on many different highways.

If you find someone with first hand experience of LPG in Oz, please tell me too, OK?

Lastly, thanks for the kind words, Old Maggie.

FollowupID: 398572

Reply By: Buddyholly - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:50

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 13:50
I only have 18K~ on my TD 3.0L Rodeo, and it is relatively stock - apart from TJM front/rear bars, 240XGT's, Rhino racks etc, weighed in around 1980Kg's + fuel, people etc

I have pasted the last few lines of my logbook and economy is around 9.4/5 L/100km so I would guess most of these figures are reasonably accurate

fill up 13 July 05 - 660km - 62.4L - 9.35L/100Km

fill up 29 July 05 - 620km - 57.5L - 9.27L/100Km

fill up 06 Aug 05 - 628km - 59L - 9.39L/100Km

fill up 14 Aug 05 - 537km - 49.8L - 9.27L/100Km

fill up 25 Aug 05 - 736km - 67.6L - 9.18L/100Km

fill up 28 Sep 05 - 757km - 71.4L - 9.43L/100Km

fill up 10 Oct 05 - 637Km - 59.7L - 9.37L/100Km

Fill up 28 Oct 05 - 794Km - 74.5L - 9.38L/100Km

Fill up 04 Dec 05 - 658Km - 62.2L - 9.45L/100Km

PS to those people who have emailed me re Kipor gennys - I haven't forgotten about you - its just that things take time to organise stuff from over there

AnswerID: 145066

Reply By: Justin - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 14:44

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 14:44
95 TDi Disco. 205 tyres, snorkel, 120 litre fuel tank. 270 000kms

I have logged the fuel for the last 2 two and a bit years or 26957km (yeah, the car does not get driven much!)

Long term average: 9.93l/100km 99% Sydney urban/city driving, occasional country drive.
Weekly/monthly average goes up and down but that is due to variations in the amount of fuel left in the tank, and how much is put in at refill time... Country drives do not seem to improve fuel economy even though I cruise at around 95km/h.
AnswerID: 145079

Reply By: mhread - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 15:54

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 15:54
1999 110 Defender xTreme - td5.

Best 8.5/100
worst 12/100

However consistently averages a spot over 10/100.

Does not like going above 110 - as it gets more thirsty.
AnswerID: 145097

Reply By: Member - t0me (WA) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 16:30

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 16:30
OMG is all I can say, this Challenger of mine seems a bit thirsty. I changed the air cleaner element and it didn't make any difference.
Its a 3L V6 (manufactured Sept '99, though was sold to me as a 2000 model)
Its done just over 110,000 kms.
Over the last 30 tanks of fuel its averaged 12.9L/100kms that includes off road/city/everything. Never towing anything, only two empty rola racks on the roof, I never put anything on them.

Its going on gas in the new year anyway, but these vehicles are supposed to get around 11L/100 and lower.

What should I have a look at so see if it can be improved?

(hope this isn't hijacking your thread Andrew)
Cheers!

AnswerID: 145107

Follow Up By: bombsquad - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 20:15

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 20:15
hi jack away, I don't mind at all. Cleaned the air fow sensor today - scarey at over $850 if you break the little wire. Local nissan dealer recomended Brake Cleaner, supposed to be less abrasive than carbie cleaner. got it back on and the car runs about the same. The next run out to work (375 k round trip) will tell me what it has done for economy. Have almost convinced the wif to spend the money on the lpg fumigation.....Will most probably be done about March/april if I get my way. Will post all results if I go ahead.

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 398654

Reply By: Bitchin Bishi - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 23:11

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 23:11
Hi Guys,
'99 Triton Duel Cab 2.8l NO turbo
about 9.5l/100km around town, or on the highway.
12l/100km on sand or towing on the road
13.5l/100km towing on sand.
Figures for towing are with a full tray(approx 700kg) and 900kg camper.
Air-conditioner doesn't seem to make much difference, but geez it slows me down.
It is a diesel, and i do baby it a bit, cause it is slow and just chugs away i don't push it to hard.
Greg.
AnswerID: 146050

Reply By: Mass observer - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:29

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:29
Are you running on big flat tyres with a bull bar driving lights and a half dozen antenna hanging off your truck? Do you have the high lift suspension to make sure the maximum amount of airflow is directed under the vehicle?
Travelling at 110 km/h, does that mean you frequently have to slow then accelerate past your slower 4WD driving mates who are travelling between 85 and 95 km/h holding up all the road freight?

I slightly changed the way I drive around town and was rewarded by a 2L/100km improvement in fuel consumption and I didn't slow down I just concentrate on reading the traffic, lift my right foot early and avoid the brake pedal.

Oh and you wouldn't believe where I’ve been in my 2WD Toyota wagon (7.7l/100km average)
AnswerID: 146116

Follow Up By: bombsquad - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:39

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:39
Std tyres, Bull Bar with winch, driving lights (within the front of the grille, not above the bar), 1 thin wire uhf arial, std (sagged) springs. The trips I take the most notice of are the 390km round trip to work and back done every fortnight. No traffic on the way to work, and minimal on the way home. Undulating country , no where near as hilly as the east coast or south coast, only 2 intersections on the trip and no towns. Unfortunately your Toyota wouldnt do this trip - regularly hitting wildlife. We also have a commondoor which is far more economical, but I couldn't do enough trips in my lifetime to cover the damage from 1 roo with the fuel savings.
FollowupID: 399695