3 wheel drive!

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:21
ThreadID: 29043 Views:2883 Replies:6 FollowUps:22
Check this out! This is the standard model as it left the factory. Drven third wheel, reverse gear, machine gun mount - all the usual stuff...........

Outfit

I want one.

Pat on the back and a gold star for who ever can guess what it is.

On a related topic, I'm now the proud owner of Honda CT110 postie bike which has.....wait for it......a low range selector. When I've got it all sorted out watch out hill climbs. Rain, hail or shine - the royal mail must get through.

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:25

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:25
Here's the pic.

Is there any way to edit a post once it's up?
AnswerID: 144832

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:28

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:28
very politely thru the orifice.
JD
FollowupID: 398376

Reply By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:26

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:26
Hi V8Diesel,
There been selling those things since l was a lad..moto ural..l think russian jobbie,cheap as chips.Merry Xmas.
JD
AnswerID: 144833

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:38

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:38
Well done JD, two gold stars, an elephat stamp and you can go home 5 minutes early;-)

Captured WW2 German tooling from what I've been led to believe.

Here's their website....

Ural

FollowupID: 398377

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:39

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:39
Hi V8Diesel,
Talk about captured tooling,have you ever seen the japanese copy of a WLA...man this thing is huge!!! those little blokes would have needed a step ladder to get on...talk about early japanese quality.
FollowupID: 398393

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:53

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:53
Ha ha ha....never seen the Nippon 'Wallah' (certainly like to though!) but I have seen the Kawasaki Beeza 650 copy in the flesh. The WA police actually used them as patrol bikes in the 1960's alongside the Zephyr's.

There's an Enfield 500 single still made in India too. They look cool, but metallurgy from the Sub-continent would always have me a bit worried I reckon.

I think the Japs made a copy of the Chevy Blueflame six petrol donk for one of their early 4x4's too.
FollowupID: 398395

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 12:16

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 12:16
err excuse me sir,me frames cracked!.....well you silly eriot," weld it up",p off...come again......supposed to readlike apu's voice..
FollowupID: 398399

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:13

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:13
"ooohh goodness gracious me" - Peter Sellers
FollowupID: 398417

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:10

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:10
Now, being a nurse, the first thing I thought of with that URAL website was the other product by that name.................
FollowupID: 398470

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 02:06

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 02:06
Gary, there's a European car called a NSU. I wonder if they have anything to do with Ural? ;-)))
FollowupID: 398499

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:27

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:27
G'day V8,

This is a cruel joke! My server police will not let me look at the site and the photo is blue sky.

AnswerID: 144834

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:39

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:39
Check out the 'Ural' link above mate, might be better.
FollowupID: 398378

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:56

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:56
Thanks, that worked for me. Noticed no dealer in Oz only NZ - any idea what they cost?

FollowupID: 398381

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:20

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:20
The bloke who owns this bought it direct from the factory and rode it home to WA via Siberia. Keen.

He picked up an 11 cylinder radial plane engine while he was at it too.
FollowupID: 398389

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:32

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:32
G’day V8,

Hope it wasn’t winter at the time? Man, you’d have to be keen, I suppose if it is cheap enough and who in the neighbouring countries will take on a Russian – so I guess he would have had some confidence about his safety. BTW must be some ultra light he is building as well!

FollowupID: 398390

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:57

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:57
Yep, one hell of an ultra light it is LOL

It's actually a bizarre looking WW2 era plane called a Blohm & Voss. Hard to describe, let me say it is probably the wierdest aircraft I've seen. Luftwaffe would have won because the allies would be too busy working out what the hell it was to shoot them down;-)
FollowupID: 398396

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 12:01

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 12:01
I pressume it's BIG with 11 cylinders. Also must be like a transport plane or the like.

FollowupID: 398397

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 12:09

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 12:09
Beatit, it's one of these......

Blohm + Voss

Now that's one wierd plane innit.

There's some good websites on them, I just need to look around a bit.

FollowupID: 398398

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 12:17

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 12:17
Very unusual alright. I guess it worked. That is one unusual plane to want to rebuild - would have thought that there must be many more go fast conventional machines. But I have to give it to him, there probably wouldn't be too many of these about.

Kind regards and thinks for the link
FollowupID: 398400

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 12:32

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 12:32
Did some further investigation because I thought I had heard of the name - they are into shipping, and if memory serves me they actually were part of the consortium that built our frigates. They have moved from planes.

Blom & Voss models

They certainly had a cupboard full of unusual designs.

FollowupID: 398401

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:58

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:58
The Ural has been the standard Russian army motorcycle for as long as they have been made, a copy of the BMW.

And if you've ever get the chance to ride one, i'm sure you would never buy one.

Trust me i know.

AnswerID: 144836

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:01

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:01
My favorite Ural/BMW

FollowupID: 398383

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:05

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:05
great for pullin logs out of the bush to the fire place,two wheeled tractors
FollowupID: 398385

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 14:15

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 14:15
hey v8, you'll love the postie bike, we used to have one on the farm, with a flat bed sidecar that could hold 6 bales of hay !! what a weapon...

with that low range and the auto clutch, its halarious where they will go. especially with a set of knobbies on them.

and you cant kill em , no matter how hard you try.
AnswerID: 144871

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:21

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:21
A Postie bike side-hack.......hmmmm. I can see the welder will be getting a bit of a workout soon.
FollowupID: 398418

Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:21

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:21
And who could forget the old Honda 90, i know i had one with nobbie tyres, a bloody great bush basher, also a mate had a 650 Triumph beach bike with holden wheels, didn't that hoot along Belmont beach
AnswerID: 144876

Follow Up By: Member - Dexter - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:38

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 15:38
Hello Redback,
I also had a 650 Triumph with a 640x13 rear wheel. The tyre was buffed (to remove the tread) and had self tappers all around the rim and into the tyre bead to allow it to run on very low pressure.
Had to spread the frame to fit the wheel and tyre in. Because the chain sprocket still had to line up with the engine drive sprocket, the wheel was offset. A bugger to keep in a straight line under acceleration.
I ran it on Stockton beach during the late '60s until a piston seized and pushed the head cooling fins into the tank, puncturing it. Very exciting thing to happen between your legs at 60mph (as it was then).
Dexter
FollowupID: 398419

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 16:06

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 16:06
Jeez,check out all the 50 weight....all because of a URAL...were all getting old.....cranky....old.......farts....LOL...back then l would have jump all over your head if you said LOL...but that was then..l live for now!
FollowupID: 398421