I'm starting to worry myself!!!!

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 22:52
ThreadID: 29041 Views:2729 Replies:14 FollowUps:30
Over the course of the last several days I've truly amazed myself!!!

Firstly (with much assistance from Andrew (Big Kidz)), I managed to get piccy's posted on here via photobucket.

Second, I was able to get the guts of how to post a "link".....

Today I received the latest ebay purchase....a 1gig iPod Shuffle.....and I've just finished downloading a few CD's and it all worked out okay without me even having to ask any stupid questions of you mates out there.......

However, another frustration has hit upon me on this bloody laptop. For the 2nd time in recent weeks, I've come home from work to find that one of my kids has been stuffing around with it and all the print etc is way bigger than it's supposed to be!!! The first time, I frigged around and checked/changed heaps of settings and without knowing how, I actually managed to get it back to the right size.

This time I haven't been so lucky, so once again, I've gotta enlist the aid of my extended family out there in EO land.

I would welcome any suggestions (keep em polite!!!) and remember that I'm a total doofass with all this chit....so use words of 2 cylibles (spell-check???!!!!) please.

Thanks.....

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:03

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:03
Cable ties...
AnswerID: 144785

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:04

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:04
in IE, click on VIEW ->> TEXT SIZE and change it
AnswerID: 144786

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:10

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:10
Thnx mate, but didn't seem to have any effect, even on "smallest" setting......and I logged-off and re-booted it too.
It's got me stuffed.
FollowupID: 398348

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:06

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:06
Bill, perhaps you can now have your own computer and leave the kids the old one mate. You could then put a bigger processor in it, have guages on screen to watch the performance. Air cooling for the processor, boost the office cooling and more comfortable seating of course with a suspension setting for bumping the kids away from your screen. You woudn't need a trailer to go camping, just watch EO........
AnswerID: 144787

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 04:01

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 04:01
Hey John,

Get with the times. Aparently the latest and greatest gaming pcs are now watercooled (no crap!).

Buy the kids an air cooled one and they'd probably tell us to get with the times!

FollowupID: 398330

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 05:15

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 05:15
Dave, you just need a better definition of what cool is. I have been watching Top gear to see their decisions. When games are hot they can stay hot just for a limited time of course.
FollowupID: 398332

Reply By: gramps - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:19

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:19
They have'nt been playing with Display settings in Control Panel have they?

Is it only the text size or graphics as well?
AnswerID: 144789

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:59

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:59
Yeh Gramps, graphics as well...even the wallpaper piccy etc
FollowupID: 398344

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:15

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:15
As a first option, I'd try Truckster's advice. Applies to IE as well as Firefox

On your Browser toolbar

Click on View

then Text Size

and increase or decrease, whichever suits

Changing the Text Size distorts the graphics somewhat to fit. See if that improves things.

I would'nt play with the Control Panel settings yet unless you had someone on the phone or close at hand just in case.

FollowupID: 398352

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:23

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:23
Sorry mate. Just saw your reply to Truckster. Looks like you may have to get hold of Andrew and check out the Display settings in Control Panel.

I assume the kids can't tell you what they did or are they still in hiding LOLOLOL
FollowupID: 398355

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:34

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:34
right click mouse on wall paper
select properties
select settings
adjust screen resolution till you get it the way you like it
FollowupID: 398358

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:21

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:21
Nudie and all other,

That seems to be right, but Annette (my SWMBO) worked it out for me and just phoned me here at work to let me know.

Annette actually worked it out via the "TROUBLESHOOT" method and did the alteration via the
Control Panel
Display
Screen Resolution
Dragged it "higher"
and then hit the "Apply" tab.

or something like that......

Seems like it DID have something to do with the kids playing games which need a different resolution for their purposes or something.

Thanks to everybody who helped me with this one.

FollowupID: 398361

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:40

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:40
if you want to know how to use it...Play With It....the computer that is
FollowupID: 398367

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 16:37

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 16:37
Well that's a perfect balance then. You drive 'the Beast' and Annette drives the 'smaller beast' LOLOLOL
FollowupID: 398423

Reply By: Neil & Lynne - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:29

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:29
hold 'control' key & roll mouse wheel at the same time works for me.

Neil
AnswerID: 144791

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:33

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:33
Hey that's neat, never seen that before. Now when I am at work and realllly bored infromt of the computer ....

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 398326

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:53

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:53
i aint too old to learn either...just have to remember if i ever need to use it
FollowupID: 398340

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:11

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:11
i remembered i remembered...had the need when i went to check hotmail....login very small crtlscroll....works for me
FollowupID: 398349

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:13

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:13
Thanks for that, but it didn't correct this problem, I'm sorry to say. It seemed to make the screen sort of jump a couple of mm, but the graphics/print etc all stayed the same large size......bugga
FollowupID: 398350

Reply By: rickwagupatrol - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 00:03

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 00:03
not sure how to fix problem, but to prevent reoccurence do the following, when the kids know you are not happy with what they have done........

1....beat chest loudly..(aka,Tarzan)
2....roar loudly...(aka Simba)
3....hold laptop close to chest, and runaway screaming.......Itsmine, its mine,its mine i tell you.....
4...hide it someplace they will never find it.......as long as you dont forget where it is, lol

rick.
AnswerID: 144796

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:15

Have you been standing within about 100 meters of my house mate, or what....????? hahahahaha

That is almost exactly what I do and Annette reckons half the town would be able to hear my rantings!!!!!
FollowupID: 398351

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 04:07

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 04:07
In all seriousness it's all a bit scary.

I got my first puter at 12 - a Tandy TRS80 (or trash 80 as they were nicknamed) and rapidly left my parents behind, though Dad has gone a long way toward catching up (he can do stuff in Excel that makes my head spin) Mum still struggles with programming the VCR.

I started getting in trouble with my daugter when she was 3 cos I always took my laptop to work and she couldn't play the disney, barbie or winnie the pooh game of choice. I ended up building a machine for the study from a few bits and pieces and now she has "HER" computer at all of 5 y/o and is very proficient. Much to her Mum's annoyance.

If those time scales are projected forward another 10 years kids will know more about computers than their parents before we actually concieve them!

AnswerID: 144803

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 05:20

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 05:20
Dave, I reckon the TRS80 was as expensive as the Apple lle I bought too with the 80 characters a second Epson printer at $1100 for the demo model..... wow. At least cutting my teeth on Visicalc I was able to prove to the bankers I could pay for tractors nice and early but more importantly keep myself abreast of the spreadsheets since and at least some of thier enhancements.
FollowupID: 398333

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 16:39

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 16:39
Better not mention the Sinclair ZX80 then eh :))))))
FollowupID: 398424

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:57

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 00:57
Oooh. The Sinclair ZX80. Our high school had one of those and if you were in really well with the maths coordinator you could borrow it for the weekends, though I can't for the life of me remember what we did with it.

With a staggering a 3 megahertz processor & 1 kilobyte of RAM it sure wasn't going to be much. (By comparison a current machine has processor speeds in excess of 3 gigahertz - a million times faster and 512megabytes - 512,000 times more RAM.)

Unless you paid extra you even had to build them yourself!

Manufacturer Science of Cambridge, later Sinclair Research
Period January 1980 - March 1981
CPU NEC 780C-1 (Z80A compatible)
Frequency 3,25 MHz
ROM 4 KB
RAM 1 KB
Text mode 32 x 24
Graphical mode 64 X 48 (by half characters)
Colours black-and-white
Sound none
I/O TV, cassette, extension port
Price 100 British pound / 200 dollar ready-built
80 British pond for a self-assembly kit

Memory lane, isn't it wonderfull

FollowupID: 398498

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 07:53

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 07:53
Dave,

That's a real worry. I think you had better seek professional advice. It's not a good sign being that retentive LOLOLOL But then again, I think the damn thing is still up in the shed under about a foot of dust :))))))
FollowupID: 398511

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 08:41

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 08:41
The power of the things eh..... My Apple had an expanded memory card in it, especially imported that had 512 Kb of ram aboard rather than the 64 kb that the standard expanded cards had. Not much software had access to it though. CPM card on board with a Z80, so I remember that. Could easily doctor the bytes on the disk to alter where it printed to I remember too. Just scanned for the string. Two 5 1/2 inch disks with a fantastic 140 kb of memory - pwah so powerful.

Now I just have puters that lose their access to USB ports and the like. Can't read the external hard disk then so have to cure that one. Full time job watching the IT now on the farm. A samll explosion below the desk - no I didn't do it - blew the top out of the battery in my UPS a few weeks ago and expanded the sides so it had to be levered out to replace it. Fortunately the UPS still works.

No UPS on the Apple ever, but it had a fan and a 300 kb modem for email using Austpac. Real technology that was.
FollowupID: 398524

Reply By: fozzy - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:25

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:25
roachie
how about having separate logons at start-assuming u have windows xp
possibly may keep individual settings when each different person logs on.
now that could all be chit-cos im no tek head and dont ask me how you would change these log ons.
someone else will surely have the right answer
good luck
fozzy
AnswerID: 144807

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:54

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:54
fozzy...your gunna confuse him for sure!
FollowupID: 398341

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:15

Too late Nudie....I'm already VERY confused...;-))
FollowupID: 398353

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:04

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:04
roachie or lone wolf
itunes? I understand i can download and use on pc
what format are they in?
can they be converted and burnt to audio cd so as to be playable on standard cd player?
AnswerID: 144812

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:10

YES!!!

There are 4 formats you can use, and they are all dependant on bit rate.

The higher the bit rate, the better the quality, but... the battery on the iPod has to work harder, because the song is being accessed more often from the HD.

Burning to CD's is simple, and they'll play in any player.

I'm guessin' you'll be coming over to the dark side soon.... and buyin' an iPod!!!

Wolfie
FollowupID: 398347

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:17

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:17
I'm glad you said that Wolfie, cos I didn't even understand the question ...hehehehe ;-))
FollowupID: 398354

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:39

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:39
get out here....i am staying right where i am..PC
you can download from apple something ? that will let me download
i will be downloading and burning to cd....if i go ahead
whats the cost per track?
you didnt say what the formats are?
FollowupID: 398359

Reply By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:10

Hi Roachie,
Give it back to kids and say fix or no Xmas!!!!!....l do, as my kids know heaps more than me,down rite embarasing....dady dummy...all the best!.....whatch how they fix it and write it down inyour computer how to do book!!
JD
AnswerID: 144813

Reply By: Lone Wolf - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:11

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:11
Now Bill, did you actually REMOVE your reading glasses?

Wolfie
AnswerID: 144814

Reply By: crusa - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:32

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:32
Hi Roachie

Perhaps you could check the display settings................go to control panel, display, settings ............ then have a look at the display size eg 800 x 600 or 1024 x 768 and select the one that best suites the display that you are using the click on "apply" and this might be the answer. Some kids games change the display settings automatically.
AnswerID: 144815

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:22

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:22
SPOT ON.....THANKS MATE
FollowupID: 398362

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:37

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:37
FORGOT TO SAY! ANNETTE FIXED SAID PROBLEM BEFORE SEEING CRUSAS SUGGESTION!
FollowupID: 398365

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:45

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:45
now write it into your comp how to do book and before you know it you'll be helping us out.;-)
FollowupID: 398368

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:18

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:18
Oh dear...You had better take more medication.....maaaaaaaaaaaate!! lol
AnswerID: 144838

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 20:03

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 20:03
3 Bex and 5 cans of Bundy & Coke......it won't cure anything, but hell, who cares...hehehehe
FollowupID: 398651

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 17:07

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 17:07
Right click on "shop" and unclick "Return"...It seems some people shouldn't have laptops.

Really Roachie, I expect this type of eptitude from Lucy a renowned Droopy owner, not from a Patron of the Order of Nissan

You do know how blessed you are to have Annette don't you???

AnswerID: 145115

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 20:06

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 20:06
Yes mate, certainly DO know how lucky I am to have Annette!!!! (she keeps reminding me hahaha).

I am downright ashamed that I ever put this post up.....but the truth is that I only did it to make Lucy feel better about himself......I'm just that sort of kind-hearted bloke and I make no apologies for that ;-))

Have a good Christmas and New Year mate

FollowupID: 398653