buying 1st 4wd interstate

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 17:06
ThreadID: 29028 Views:2658 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
gday,
was after some guided help.
It is my 1st 4wd that I want to buy and have found a Toyota 4runner...

here are the questions i have for you knowledgeable ones

Its in Quensland...anybody know of any mob/company that do onsite inspections with reports.

AND 2nd question is

What is a reasonable price for a 1992 V64runner SR5 LTD with 136,000kms on the clock...his asking price is $15,500....
when i did an online insurance assesment with AAMI via carpoint they value it for only $10,900..

Your help greatly appreciated.

Kata

Reply By: Kata - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 17:06

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 17:06
sorry forgot to add I"m in Melbourne

AnswerID: 144731

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 17:16

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 17:16
Kata,

RACQ is the equivalent of your RACV up here, they do inspections but it would be hard to get it done before xmas I would imagine.
Secondly redbook.com.au gives value of all makes and models online so try there for the price, but it does sound a tad high........but it is low k's which will make it dearer than other similar aged cars.
Hope this helps ohhh ps we don't have to go over the pits every year up here so we do have some cars on the road which will be hard to get registered in other states. Good Luck
Trevor.
AnswerID: 144733

Follow Up By: Kata - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 22:16

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 22:16
Thanks Trevor.
Had a look on redbook website and it says

1992 TOYOTA 4RUNNER

VZN130R SR5 Limited Wagon 4dr Man 5sp 4x4 3.0i
Trade in price guide* $6,500 - $8,300
National average price - private sale* $8,400 - $11,200
Price when new (RRP) $40,706

So he is dreaming or not???
Is redbook gospel info??

Kata
FollowupID: 398308

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 05:45

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 05:45
If it were me I would take redbook as a good price guide. You will get the occasional car outside this bracket but they would be one owner, little old lady only drive it to church type cars.
Take your time. there is a zillion cars out there with the same stats as this one but sometimes good thing come to those who are patient.
This was also the type of car I was looking at for my first 4b, I ended up going with a brand new (at the time) 94 Pathfinder. The Pathy is well worth a look as I think it is a very underated car that never let me down.

Happy xmas Trevor.
FollowupID: 398334

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 21:49

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 21:49
IMHO, if your spending that sort of $, $150 in airfares is cheap to go look at it yourself.

I'd never buy something again sight unseen. Your idea of excellent condition maybe 100% opposite to someone elses.
YMMV

If you can only insure it for $10k then thats all you should pay.
AnswerID: 144772

Follow Up By: Kata - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 22:06

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 22:06
Hi truckster...

I was going to get it independantly checked up there...thats y i asked about if anybody knows a place and then hopefully do a deal with the bloke, then I was going fly up with my brother in-law who is a mechanic here in melbourne to also give it the once over comp test and whatever else he'll check and then drive it back.
Just seems that te price is way 2much from what the AAMI will insure it for..

Thanks again for info
FollowupID: 398306

Reply By: Peter - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 22:08

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 22:08
Wouldn't bother with an RACQ inspection - they will count the number of cup holders etc. and tell you it's OK. They may be OK for cars but not 4wd.
If the vehicle is a diesel I can recommend Queensland Diesel and Automotive Diagnostics (Matthew Luke 0417 017 933).
I purchased a 2003 4.2 Patrol and had him check my car out before purchase - was around $200 from memory and took him over 4 hours.
For a bit extra he can provide internal photos of each cylinder etc. Did a complete compression test against specs then went through every piece of the motor, then all underneath, then finally fully inspected the interior. Picked up quite a few things that the car yard did agree to fix. That was 18 months ago and have not had a single problem with the car.
Might be worth giving him a ring and see what he can offer
Good luck with it
AnswerID: 144778

Follow Up By: Kata - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 22:19

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 22:19
Thanks Peter I will oce i get a response from this guy as to price point.

Its a V6 3.0litre

Thats what i was after

much appreciated

Kata
FollowupID: 398310

Reply By: Kata - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:37

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 23:37
oops 4got to add its private sale not caryard.
AnswerID: 144793

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:31

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:31
Kata live in brisbane myself and sold a few cars, however RACQ won't do an inspection at your house or at least thats what they told me. The car will have to be taken into an Racq depo. THe owner could do this for you but you may have to pay for it. Personally I think the price is just a little over the top. If it where a diesel i would say buy it over the phone with 136,000kms there can't be too much wrong. The red book is just a guide though and at times I have found them way out like completly, depends on the quality of the vehicle.
AnswerID: 144822

Follow Up By: Kata - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 03:11

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 03:11
Thanks turbo diesel

do u know of an independeant mechanic thats trustworthy and honest.. up there car is in Bunderim think thats in Sunshine coast bloody even further 4 me...hehehehehe

its this one,,,hes now dropped to 14,500 and my mistake it was 131kms

dont know if this is ok 4runner
hope that worked

Kata

FollowupID: 398500

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:54

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:54
Bunderim, mate think time spent on fraser and over an hour from the airport in brisbane. I don't know any mechanics up there at all, personally if you want the car offer to pay for the RACQ inspection and see what they say if they balk and just drop the price leave the deal. Keep looking for another one, in other words test their honesty, remember this is buiness, never make the first offer either, let him tell you what he will drop to. Hope this helps.
FollowupID: 398538

Reply By: vitara - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:12

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 09:12
Hi there Kata, way to expensive, heaps in sydney that would be at 3k cheaper and less chance that it has been near salt water, dont forget they only started to do pink slip inspections last year (so I was told) you never needed a pink slip before. Also its coming up to around that point that the V6 start to blow heads common problem, and I hope you got another 4k to get it fixed, thats what it will cost you, ring around you will find out and thats if it doesn't blow the motor totally before you notice it running hot. Personally I would stay away from them, they are a juice guzzler as well. They are a very nice 4by to drive but are big $$$$ if something bleep s itself. Very comfortable smooth etc, Im not bagging toyota as that is what I drive Hilux diesel, but I worked for toyota and know the problems with them, exhaust manifolds warping, get a price on new ones of them you will fall over at the price, expect to get 350/400 klms max out of a full tank of fuel. Dont want to put a damper on yourdreams of owning a 4by but dont want to see you pay too much then outlay more when it goes wrong. Thats what this forum is for to help out with peoples questions, there are a lot of knowledge able people on this forum that have been there done that and know there products. Any way hope you make the write choice. Have a great xmas and great new year. Regards Vitara
AnswerID: 144996

Follow Up By: Kata - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 23:26

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 23:26
Hi Vitara

Thanks for your comments I much appreciate them....damper lol...u killed the idea..
What other options is there in this price range then that is a medium 4wd.
What about a Ford Raider??
Id love a SR5 Hilux TD 2001+ or a Navara STR but the budget doesnt allow it not SWMBO but Mortgage

Thanks again
May you and yours have a Safe and Prosperous Christmas and New Years...

Ta

Kon
FollowupID: 398706