rear shelf

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 16:16
ThreadID: 29027 Views:2225 Replies:9 FollowUps:3
I vaguely recall seeing a folding table/shelf setup on this forum somewhere. It was at the rear of the vehichle and attatched to the the rear door and folds away when travelling. Can anybody help me to locate this or does anyone have other suggestions for a small table/shelf for quick lunch etc stops on the road

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 16:41

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 16:41
I can't remember who posted it, but think it was on the inside of the rear door of a Patrol? We just use a tray. I prepare lunch on this on my lap, and if nice and there aren't too many flies, we can sit outside (carry folding chairs in the back), or if we are in a hurry, we don't even have to stop. Engel sits behind the passenger seat with the food, and a small box holds the other requirements.

AnswerID: 144727

Reply By: Casnat - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 16:59

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 16:59
these threads should get you started:

24668, 23548, 15894

Trevor
AnswerID: 144729

Reply By: John L G - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 17:09

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 17:09
Briggzee

Think this might be what you are looking for

http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/~goodo4x4/

Have fun

John G
AnswerID: 144732

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 17:20

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 17:20
Trek Tables do a fold away rear shelf, it's a neat setup (I have one) that works well. Andrew is the contact person and they are local here in Brissy, I could track down his number if you can't find it.
Cheers Trevor.
AnswerID: 144734

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 15:13

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 15:13
I'll 2nd that Trevor,
I have one that I was asked to test over a month or 2 and report back on. Trektable were (or maybe still are) a sponsor/advertiser on this site. I got one of the new trial ones made of a white plastic material instead of the carpet (?) covered timber. It is very good, but a little slippery if the truck is on any sort of slope...especially things like plastic butter/margarine containers which are very slippery themselves.
FollowupID: 398785

Reply By: GazzaS (VIC) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 18:02

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 18:02
Hi Briggzee

What type of vehicle?

We have a Prado and ended up making our own. took the rear door trim off to use as a template and cut out a panel form 3mm MDF. then mounted a 10mm ply drop table to the panel with some hinges and have used light rope to hold it. you can get brackets etc for them too. We had the person who made our drawer system then cover the panel and the underside of the table with the same cloth trim as the rest of the setup - must say it looks very neat. I can dig a photo out if you want one.
AnswerID: 144740

Follow Up By: muzzimbidgie - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 20:59

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 20:59
Yes please, photo's of that shelf thingy would be good.
FollowupID: 398662

Follow Up By: GazzaS (VIC) - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 14:45

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 14:45
Hi muzzimbidgie

photos of the table have been posted here

drop table photos

FollowupID: 398780

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 19:11

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 19:11
TrekTable - Is the business and is an ExplorOz Sponsoring Advertiser - See TrekTable. A simple Directory or Site Search for fold down table would have found the result. Good luck.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Travelling fulltime in 2024

AnswerID: 144745

Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:29

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:29
Just having a look at the Trek tables. Why would you want carpet type stuff on the topside where it is inevitable that a mess will be made? Wouldn't you want something that is cleaned with just a quick wipe?
AnswerID: 144835

Reply By: Member - briggzee (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 12:16

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 12:16
Thanks everybody for the responses.I will follow the leads up and work out the cost and hassle of a homemade job compared to the trek table. Thanking you and merry christmas to all. Ho,Ho,Ho
AnswerID: 144842

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:07

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:07
G'day Briggzee,

Have a look at my rig pics,
1x piece 9mm construction ply ( had at home)
1x sheet 0.6mm stainless (local sheetmetal place)
1x old, aluminium "long load" sign, sanded with orbital sander ( don't ask )
1x piano hinge (bunnings)
1 length of chain ( bunnings )
1x piece of marine carpet (local auto trimmer guy )
1x length alloy "C" channel ( bunnings )
couple of screws

Remove trim off door, replace with cut out alloy sheet screw table and chain to alloy and door.
When changing cars, remove table, replace trim, and you woudn't even know it was there.
Total cost, 50 bucks, and a few hours.

Should keep you out of mischief for a sat arvo.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 144892