Diesel vs Petrol performance???

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 02:59
ThreadID: 29013 Views:4936 Replies:18 FollowUps:40
Just got back from a big day at the pub full of arguments and thought I'd post a controversial question while I'm still half cut.

Can anyone tell me why, even with all the allegiously outrageous tourque their diesels supposedly put out, I average 40km/h faster on even on the most basic hill with my petrol engine?

Is there something I don't get with all the supposed 'pulling' power of a 4.2D that makes it have serious trouble maintaing a vaguely sensible road speed climbing a moderate hill even when unladen?

I've driven many Macks, Cats, Cummins, Volvo, Scanias etc trucks with heaps of diesel torque and can't quite work out why so many folks keep going on about about the 'superior' torque of their small Jap diesels compared to my similar displacement petrol Landcruiser. Never noticed it myself.

Can someone set me straight???

Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 03:02

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 03:02
alledgedly....hmmmm;-)
AnswerID: 144628

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 04:35

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 04:35
I cant remember the last time i drove a petrol vehicle - do they still make them?
AnswerID: 144629

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:55

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:55
MY WORDS EXACTLY
FollowupID: 398201

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 07:52

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 07:52
Go to a dealership that sells a 4WD which has a modern turbocharged, intercooled common-rail diesel. Examples may be a Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.0 CRD, Merc ML300, BMW X5 3.0d... as well as the Hyundai Terracan CRDi.

My 2.7 CRD keeps up with V8's up the hills without even thinking about it. My mate has a slightly worked Disco V8 and mine will even overtake his - with similar trailer weights on.

The best thing? I get 8.0L/100km and gets 18!
AnswerID: 144636

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:16

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:16
Oops - when you get to any of these dealerships - take a CRD for a spin. It's the only way you get to feel the grunt for yourself. Reading about it on paper - it's not as impressive... as if you could call the 3.0CRD Jeeps 160kw & 510nm anything less.

FollowupID: 398179

Reply By: desert - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:17

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:17
If you disregard perifial add-ons, eg, turbo's etc, and compare power,torque, thermal efficiency, whatever you want to call the act of burning fuel in a given volume, gram for gram, cc for cc, oz for oz, petrol will deliver a bigger bang than diesel every time. BUT, it'sthe nature of the torque band that is defining compared to the petrol engine. The diesel will deliver a high-torque figure, but only for a very narrow rpm band in it's range. The petrol engine will deliver a more explosive torque rise over a much broader rpm range and at a higher rpm bracket too.
AnswerID: 144643

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:34

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:34
If you are running a 4.2D, like me you are running old technology.

To be fair, get a petrol engine with a carby on it for comparison.

If you want to compare a recent injected petrol with diesel, try a more common stage 1 or even the newer stage 2 common rail turbo diesel. These are getting 40kw/litre, about the same as petrol, and a lot more torque.

Bosch are suggesting that witht eh new 50ppm diesel and stage 3 common rail injection, the new diesels will be up to 80kw/litre. Same as a 4.5l V8 or 6 cylinder petrol 4wd putting out 300 kw plus. VWs 5 litre diesel has 230kw and 750nm of torque. That's only stage 2. Of course, VW don't use common rail injection for the new diesels, they have a rocker off the cam to each injector to a little pump to generate pressure.
AnswerID: 144647

Reply By: Banjo 1 - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:28

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:28
I have a simplistic view on this (I'm a 3.0 TD user - 118 kW)..... life needs to be simpler !
Litre for litre................
Engines with more KW have more power (petrol or diesel) - KW is power.
Engines with more torque have more torque - not necessarily more power (see the KW for that).
ALL of the KW in a diesel is easily on tap - comes in at medium revs.
MOST of the rated power in a petrol motor is on tap, BUT you have to get right up to the tacho red line ! Do you want to do that consistently ?
Advantages of hi-tech diesel ? Economy overall (unless you pay too much for that option) - greater range per litre - less gear changing.
Disadvantages of hi tech diesel ? Less power, on the rare occasions that you may need those high levels.
AnswerID: 144661

Reply By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:33

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:33
torque is pulling power
grunt is horsepower...nothing beats grunt!....(not entirely true but, consider torque as being a by-product of grunt)
AnswerID: 144663

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:38

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:38
You often get the argument . . . its all about torque (talking 4wds here).

I usually call BS.

A tractor is an example . . . will pull almost anything anywhere , at anytime . . . but , slowly . . . they have torque on tap , but very little horsepower.

The TD Prado , is another example. Plenty of torque , will tow almost anything , but , they are SO FREAKIN SLOW . . .

Notice how ANY decent diesel is turbo charged . . . Isn't that where they get most horsepower from . . . the motor already has plenty of torque.
FollowupID: 398193

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:43

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:43
ever seen a fast tractor?
FollowupID: 398197

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:47

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:47
REALLY fast ones actually . . .

Tractor pulls ;)
FollowupID: 398198

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 01:56

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 01:56
Hi again

Torque = work
Force times distance (eg. bang times crank rad.) shifter nut!

Power = work divided by time

Hp is a figment of James Watts imagination, he had to sell he's steam engine!

An engine (motor) petrol, diesel, electric produce torque only

It's the time that produces power (RPM) m = minutes

thats why a 4.5l petrol can have more power than a diesel 4.5l engine, it will rev higher.

the main reason petrol engines can not produce as must torque as a diesel engine is, that the bang is all over around 1/4 of the rev. as a diesel will last a lot longer around 1/2 a rev.

it's all easy it's just maths

I can go on for ever but i wont

Not posted at you Nudenut BUT BTU's are the same ain't they

ps I will stand to be corrected
FollowupID: 398329

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:39

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:39
something like that ...so i am lead to believe...whats a btu again?
oh another word for kilowatts
FollowupID: 398337

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:44

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:44
ooops...i mean..another word for kilogram-calories...or foot-pounds

FollowupID: 398338

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:46

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 07:46
got it back to front didnt I
FollowupID: 398339

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:13

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 14:13
Nudie, your mind is playing with you. A Btu is a British Thermal Unit.

When talking energy
1 Btu = 1054.3502645 Joules

Just a theory, play Joules rather than jewells ;-) Keep your hads active.

FollowupID: 398934

Reply By: Member - Bware - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:04

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:04
What's the need for speed? A standard diesel will still do the speed limit, how fast do you need to go? Buy a 4wd for 4wding, buy a sports car for dragging people off at the lights if your testosterone levels are still teenage.
AnswerID: 144667

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:07

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:07
Quote: A standard diesel will still do the speed limit,

Not towing something they wont. In some case , especially NA , they go no where near the speed limit.
FollowupID: 398204

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 15:53

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 15:53
FLAPPA!! leave my beloved beutifully old school 1hz and 2h motors alone- you are upsetting them. BTW no speeding fines for nearly 10 years driving these beutys - how about you?
FollowupID: 398245

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 16:16

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 16:16
Lol . .

Nope nothing , for about 10 years (4wd days anyway).

I just love the fact I can sit ON the speed limit towing my CT.
FollowupID: 398249

Reply By: Turbo Diesel - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:06

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:06
Guys Can someone set him straight????? Diesel VS Petrol. The same conversation is held all around australia. I guess it started back when diesels had no electronics and the petrols did, that ment alot of keen 4wdrivers required a vehicle that would not run away from a leaking tap. Today in europe diesel is the way of the future, more torque better economy and now more perfomance. (In some european cars). However petrol motors are getting alot better than they used to be with Variable Valve Timing etc. However according to manufacturers a turbo diesel is a better vehicle for touring and towing. (Toyota website press release) I just bought a CRD Hilux and love it heaps of power and torque at the right rev range 1400rpm to 3600rpm, the v6 does not kicj into 3600rpm in manual form that is. Therefore the diesels rev range is more responsive than the petrol, the way i would describe a petrol is that it has acceleration power but not true raw power down low. You can crawl through things in a diesel that a petrol motor would'nt dream off with out your foot on the accelerator. Go the diesel and the end of the day car companies are investing in diesel technology as the way of the future.
AnswerID: 144669

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:11

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:11
I dont disagree.

There is certainly good reason for heading down the Diesel path , BUT ,

Currently you pay an absolute premium for buying a Diesel.

I believe the purchase difference between a Cruiser Petrol and Diesel is about $15,000.

Buys a hell of a lot of fuel for the average person.

Sure , touring range of a diesel is hard to dispute , but , realistically , how many people do that much remote touring ?
FollowupID: 398206

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:27

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:27
Your right but at the end of the day petrol motors just don't cut it out bush, sure if you don't go bush than buy a petrol and see oz you'll have alot of fun. A mate of mine is constantly hammered about his v6 hilux but the he only uses it up the beach and on the road so for him the petrol is the way to go. However the TD Hilux (Mine) just eats it on the beach, and then on the black top he is always filling the thing up. I don't see what advantages you get buying a petrol 4wd at the end of the day even if you don't tour oz the diesel is still better on fuel around town and lets face it you can only do 100km per hour.
FollowupID: 398207

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:43

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:43
I dont totally agree , but , I'm not going into . . . ANOTHER . . . petrol V Diesel post.

Thats been done to death.
FollowupID: 398210

Reply By: garrycol - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:37

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:37
My 72kw diesel will match my 135kw V8 on the hills. Ultimately the V8 is quicker afterall as it does have more power and torque but there is not much in it - maybe you have a dud diesel. The clue to a diesel is not so much its actual torque output because ultimately it may or may not be better than a petrol but its flat torque curve - as a general statement diesels develop torque low down and it remains fairly consistent across the rev range where a petrol normally starts low and builds up to peak at about 1/2 - 2/3 of the rev range then drops off - there are always exceptions of course.

My diesel experience is don't bother with the traffic light drags but give them a run for their money on the highway.

Garry
AnswerID: 144672

Reply By: Member - Tony G (ACT) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:57

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:57
I sometimes travel with a couple of blokes with petrol 4WD's and tow off road vans that weigh about the same as my camper. We all get to where we are going at the same time, and all carry the same amount of fuel, but when it comes time to fill up I can take up to 25lt less for the same distance. Now you work that out over a 8-10,000 k trip.

Touring speed can vary between 95 - 100 on the highway, and can enjoy the trip with not trying to keep up with the traffic.
AnswerID: 144675

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 11:23

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 11:23
I can remember having to change down my petrol powered Rangie a few years back trying to keep up with a diesel powered Landcruiser in a head wind. New diesels are great and will do all a petrol one will with greater economy.

Obviously for the show of a V8Diesel you aren't getting the skin off any custard.

I have loved diesel Rover, Citroen, VW Passat and Peugeot overseas on unlimited roads in the medium to high 100 kph - I mean 150+ up to 170 to stages where we Aussies look in the mirror or look to roadblocks ahead. Love to get a 3 litre Merc actually in a road car.
AnswerID: 144678

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 13:01

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 13:01
Wasn't talking to much about specifics, just starting a general 'bar room' debate.

For the record, I'm very happy with the Chev. The 6.5V8 pulls like a 15 year old right from idle so if anyone needs some cleaning up of their bowls of custard, I'm the bloke to see;-)
FollowupID: 398220

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 13:24

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 13:24
a 15 year old???:):(
FollowupID: 398226

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 15:58

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 15:58
V8 I busted mu axles studs and got bogged on the thomas riverr beach and was wondering even if someone came along who would have the grunt to unbog my camper and tow me the 15k off the beach. then like a mirage along came a cruiser like yours fitted with the older chev 6.2 and without breaking a sweat towed me off the beach at about 60kph
FollowupID: 398246

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 16:55

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 16:55
Yeah they chug along nicely alright. I recovered a GQ once which had busted a CV trying to do a steep hillclimb (L300 Hill in Mundaring). Couldn't tow it out backwards (blocking the track) so I reversed the 75 back down the hill and pulled the buggered GQ out and up to the top. That's some nice grunt in anyone's book. Used to tow a 3.5 tonne boat with it too. They are a big hit with the boomspray boys in the wheatbelt.

Considering 'V8 dieselling' the 100 series at the moment. Works out to about $15,000 once I sell the leftover bits and pieces, but still heaaappppss cheaper than a TD 100 and no bloody IFS either. Mr Costello considers it a 'repair' too from what I can gather.

I get about 13 to 14/100km's out of the 6.5 which is pretty bloody good for what it is I reckon.
FollowupID: 398251

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:09

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:09
V8 diesel just wondered what advatages there are by putting in v8 diesel into a 100 series rather than the turbo diesel 100 series motor. I know by replacing the chip in the turbo 100 series you can about 180km out of the thing and over 500nm of toque. Match that up with BJ 40 front diff and some custom made CV joints and you would be unstoppable. Just curious?
FollowupID: 398374

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:53

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:53
You raise a very good point TD but to be honest ever since I was a small kid I've just loved the sound of a big V8. There's something about it. If I do it, it'll be a heart, not a head driven decision.

Don't know if I'll even go ahead with it as $15,000 (after selling off my bits and pieces) is a hell of a lot of moolah, but the idea certainly appeals to me. (about $17,500 drive in, drive out)

The Toyota 1HD-FTE donk blew my socks off when I went 4WD'ing in one, they are simply fantastic motors. A mate of mine has a 80 series and when hooked up to the auto with diff locks, a substantial lift and Mudzilla's I think it is one of the most capable AND civilised 4x4's I've ever been in.
FollowupID: 398380

Follow Up By: Turbo Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:59

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 10:59
Your right the V8 sounds great, I just like to keep things from the one company. In other words keep it all Toyota, can u imagin a 1HD-FTE motor in the live axel GXL, with a nice big front diff and an auto box, front and rear lockers mate it would be the cruiser Toyota should have built. Plus i think for resale you would have a good product to sell that would appeal to alot more peopel. I can see myself dreaming about this on fraser next week while i sit and look at my TD hilux and try imagine it being a cruiser. I'm sure there is theropy for this type of thing. LOL
FollowupID: 398382

Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 12:54

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 12:54
Interesting responses, it always causes an argument or two. I find some diesel afficiando's get very worked up if you even hint that petrol motors have torque too.

The 'petrols are useless' pub arguments baffle me. I generally reply that if the 4.2 diesel has so much more torque than a petrol why does it struggle on even moderate hills and if a trailer is hooked up, well you have a real battle on your hands then. I would have thought a long hill would be the perfect test for comparing 'pulling power'. Can anyone tell me why a long, steady hill wouldn't be a good indicator of a vehicles real world torque output? My 4.5 will putt up climbs in low range quite nicely and does long hill climbs on the bitumen with ease at the speed limit.

I own a petrol and a diesel so the debate doesn't really bother me either way, but the heated discussion it creates intrigues me. I never argued that petrols are better, just that they do pretty bloody well too IMHO. I do love the low down grunt of the V8 oiler, but I reckon that large modern petrol 4x4's have fairly broad spread of practical, usable power too just quietly.

Anyway, thanks for the responses, I'm off to nurse my hangover.........uuuurrrrghhhh
AnswerID: 144691

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 02:17

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 02:17
Hi again

Torque = work
Force times distance (eg. bang times crank rad.) shifter nut!

Power = work divided by time

Hp is a figment of James Watts imagination, he had to sell he's steam engine!

An engine (motor) petrol, diesel, electric produce torque only

It's the time that produces power (RPM) m = minutes

thats why a 4.5l petrol can have more power than a diesel 4.5l engine, it will rev higher.

the main reason petrol engines can not produce as must torque as a diesel engine is, that the bang is all over around 1/4 of the rev. as a diesel will last a lot longer around 1/2 a rev.

it's all easy it's just maths

I can go on for ever but i wont

ps I will stand to be corrected
AnswerID: 144802

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:38

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:38
Some people are on some serious drugs , The only reason you would own a diesel , is for economy and to travel to areas that dont sell petrol or gas. To say that it has more torque is bull bleep , they have diffrent torque , I has peek torque m one has a longer torque line ,

To make comment that my diesel keeps up with V'8 , you are on serious drugs and need to seek help quick.

To think your City driven diesels will last to a Mill kms , you are on drugs . If you live in the country and do long trips , yes you will get great km's . City driven diesels are lucky to do 300,000 to 400, 000 kms .

Then after all has been said and done , go re build it and spend your 10 k if your lucky and go straight to the pub to brag about your fuel savings
AnswerID: 144816

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:04

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:04
---- OOh My --- But i tend to agree

Frank
FollowupID: 398384

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:14

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 11:14
Rocky.... please say we're not on drugs until you actually take one for a hard spin - my bet is that you haven't, and not that it's your fault, but you don't actually know the real story until you do. My CRD does beat our neighbours Disco V8 - both off the mark and through the gears.

Another comparison - Jeep's own 4.7V8 vs 3.0CRD:

4.7 V8 - 170kw@4500rpm, 410nm@3600rpm 1-100kmh 9.5secs

3.0 CRD - 160kw@4000rpm, 510nm@1600-2800rpm, 1-100kmh 9.0secs

So, the CRD is quicker off the mark (almost neck-snapping in the way power comes on), generates only 10kw less, but at 500rpm lower in the band, and has much flatter torque right where it's useful - not at 3600rpm like the V8.

Longevity? Don't know yet - I've only got 90k up on mine - no problems yet but we'll see. Mercedes diesels that the CRD is based on have been getting around Europe for decades as taxis, ambulances and other high-mileage vehicles just fine....turbo and all.
FollowupID: 398388

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:17

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:17
ok , well i am a wholesaler by trade and a ex mechanic , so lets forget the I haven't driven one. There are not many cars I haven't driven . if you want to talk specs , your CRD does 0-100 in 9 sec were the V8 disco does it in 8.6 sec , so obviously your neighbour cant drive . Now you want to talk the talk . let's compare apples with apples . lets compare naturally aspirated engines and forced inductions engines ...

No ??? I forgot , who would want to do that ? no one

You can talk specs all you like . You are obviously over the moon with your car and I think its fantastic that you are . Everyone loves there own car for a reason and this is what makes us all different . You cannot debate petrol against diesel as there really isn't a debate . there 2 totally different engines designed to do 2 different jobs all together. But to actually try and debate the revs and quick response of a petrol against a diesel is crazy.

Enjoy your car for what it is and have fun , that's what it is all about
FollowupID: 398433

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:48

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:48
The Disco V8 is a series II - not 3. It's nowhere near as quick off the mark as the CRD - how could my neighbour not be a "good driver" if he's planted the pedal to the floor and just let the auto shift when it felt that it should?
FollowupID: 398440

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:31

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 22:31
so now you are trying to compare old technology with newer technology.

Please don't bother .

how could my neighbour not be a "good driver" if he's planted the pedal to the floor and just let the auto shift when it felt that it should?

Please lol you obviously know nothing about racing or auto transmissions . We haven't even began to ask what condition his motor is in , what the tune is like , who's car is heavier , the shift pattern and gearing is so different in both cars it's not funny .

Go get the same car as your in Petrol , same year etc . then come and see me .

Please dont respond
FollowupID: 398476

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 07:26

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 07:26
"Please don't respond"

You do you think you are????? A made a statement that my diesel is quicker than my neighbour's V8 - pure and SIMPLE. I don't give a rats ar$e about your "expertise" and your grandois notions of shifting technique.

Go get a life fella!
FollowupID: 398506

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 07:34

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 07:34
You also wanted me "to come and see you" when I get info on the same car as mine in petrol. Well ya rude pr1ck - here it is:

http://www.jeep.com.au/jeep_au_main/0,,0-874-564979-1-572058-1-0-0-0-0-0-10790-497463-0-0-0-0-0-0-0,00.html

Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.7L PowerTech V8 engine
Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.0L V6 CRD engine

go see them both and THEN GET BACK TO ME!

LOL!!
FollowupID: 398507

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 07:37

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 07:37
It's even MORE obvious that you haven't driven one - even after you blanket statement that you've "driven them all".

LOL!!! You're a true wally mate.
FollowupID: 398508

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 18:57

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 18:57
wow 3 responces one after the other , I guess you had to keep thinking about what you wanted say and then go back to your computer to post them. So My guess is that it is you withoughta life lol , I guess I got you fired up then? Fantastic , enjoy xmas and have a great new year
FollowupID: 398644

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 09:15

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 09:15
Got me fired up?

hardly

PS: You still haven't "come back to me" on the two vehicles. I guess you haven't driven either of them so aren't qualified to answer. Fair enough.

If your intent is to fire people up by attempting to deny them a right of responce then this forum isn't for you.
FollowupID: 398741

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 09:43

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 09:43
I just found it not worth discussing it with you , say what you wish , it's water of a ducks back , and for the record , been here for a long time and intend to be here for a long time .

Most people who have met me here , know what i have driven and owned so what you think means so little to me it's not funny .

Ma by you should take your own advice after all and get a life

The original post was Petrol against diesel , Its a forum , this means you put your thoughts across , You took it in your stride to debate me . so After responding to you twice , you still were obviously unhappy with my thoughts , so you started throwing stones , with comments like , you probably haven't even driven one. So its simple I put my point across with don't want to discuss further. This put you in a real spin , and made you come out with some pretty ordinary people skills.

I still wish you a merry Xmas , and safe holidays for you and your family
FollowupID: 398744

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 09:52

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 09:52
I'm not going to pick nits with you. It was YOU sir, that started to debate ME - I didn't respond to you - it was the other way around. Read above - you'll see (if you bother).

"To make comment that my diesel keeps up with V'8 , you are on serious drugs and need to seek help quick."

If you don't that that that statement is a direct crack at me (and simply because I stated that my diesel was quicker than my neighbour's V8 - no more), then I suspect that you are in denial and could never be wrong anyway.
FollowupID: 398748

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 10:05

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 10:05
Why do you take things so seriously . go have a drink and say , life is good . The problem with a computer and the internet is that you don't see emotion and can take some one the wrong way real quick . If you had met me , you would know that i type like I talk lol . Don't take offence to" your on drugs ",its just a saying of mine .

I will not discuss it further because you can't or wont listen to my point at all and all you can do is abuse me on line and make comments about me without knowing me .

have a read back , I haven't once been rude to you ,

I hope you get it this time because I wont bother wasting any more of Dave's web space
FollowupID: 398749

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 10:08

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 10:08
I'll agree with on that notion - emotions are ill-defined in type. I'll ask that you consider the same in relation to me - you don't know me or my experience either. Maybe we'll meet one day over a beer and have a laugh over the whole thing.

Merry Christmas to you and yours :)

FollowupID: 398750

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 16:59

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 16:59
might even race you before that beer lol
FollowupID: 398795

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 17:01

Friday, Dec 23, 2005 at 17:01
I win - you buy. You win - I buy.

PS - NO nitrous ;)
FollowupID: 398796

Reply By: rod2101 - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:44

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:44
torque is multiplied by gearing (300nm in 1st gear is 300 x 3 = 900nm x diff ratio of 3.75=900 x 3.75 = 3375nm !!! at wheels.)
power is NOT multiplied so 150 kw is 150 kw in every gear (- losses)

A petrol with 300nm at 3000rpm is as powerful as a diesel with 600nm at 1500rpm (with a gear selected to match).

Thats why diesel engines have have high torque but low power(they cant make good torque in the higher revs)

petrols just have more power.
AnswerID: 144826

Reply By: Ozrunner - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 17:22

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 17:22
I’m not going to pick any sides other than give my own experiences.

I’m intrigued about all the diesel “torque” as many times I have followed diesels into churned beach sand scenarios only to find they start slowing down in clouds of black smoke and eventually stop. I’ve always wondered about the so called massive diesel torque as my efi V8 easily drives around them as it has heaps of torque and HP at the stab of the pedal. The diesels just don’t seem to have that instant rev capability to get you back up to the required speed etc.

Many a time I have also had the scenario where it was necessary to give the engine a quick stab to climb up a sand washout etc and the diesel if front or behind wouldn’t make it as its rpm’s instantly dropped etc.

I’ve stopped and watched various vehicles negotiate long stretches of churned sand etc and it always seems to be the big diesels that make the hardest job of it as they don’t seem to be able to get instant rpm. They seem to start off fine but then slowly die and bog. I’ve snatched many diesel Cruiser and Nissans out of sand so I’ve never been able to understand this “massive torque” issue.

Fuel consumption is their forte but again if I sit on 110kph I get 12.5L/100 so this is also a non an issue for me. Granted if I hitched up a large van etc then the tide would turn.

There’s case for both but for me there’s no substitute for a healthy petrol V8.
AnswerID: 145118

Reply By: Barnesy - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 11:47

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 11:47
I can idle up a steep hill in low range first doing about 600-800 rpm in my 4.2 diesel gq patrol. I haven't ever tried this in a petrol but i imagaine it would be hard to do this in a petrol without wheelspin.
Barnesy
AnswerID: 145404

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 13:42

Saturday, Dec 24, 2005 at 13:42
Long stroke injected six, no probs. Ever driven the old 2.25l Landrover 4 cyl in low range? Even that tiny petrol donk pushing a heavy rig like a 2A goes well - surprisingly well. Old Len Beadell, the Army and the Geological Survey seemed to think so too.

Bore and stroke has an awful lot to do with it, fuel not as much.

Like I say, doesn't worry me. I just get a bit bored with the old 'petrol has no torque' rubbish. It does, but is a bit different from a diesel. Simple as that.
FollowupID: 398925