15 Amp power lead for caravan

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 01:02
ThreadID: 29011 Views:23724 Replies:12 FollowUps:14
i am led to believe that all caravan park power outlets only suit 15 amp power leads which have the larger earth pin . Is this correct ?? If so does that mean that all female lead connections in the caravan will only suit 15 amps ?? I was hoping this is not so as i want to go away in the new ( s/hand ) caravan after xmas and would like to have all the stuff in the caravan fridge nice and cold by means of a normal power lead from a normal power point at home

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 01:26

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 01:26
Our present caravan as well as the previous one take a normal 10 amp lead and plug. Hope yours is the same.

AnswerID: 144624

Reply By: Member Jeff & Lyn (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 01:32

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 01:32

In our experience all the caravan parks we have stayed in have power outlets that
fit a standard 10 amp lead.
This may be because a 10 amp earth will fit into a 15 amp earth fitting.
However your caravan may have a 15 amp inlet so you will need a 15 amp female
end to your cord.

Jeff
AnswerID: 144625

Reply By: Mouldy - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 01:53

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 01:53
Hi there,

I solved the problem by buying a 15 A lead and a male 10 A and a female 15 A spare plugs. Then I cut 1/2 m of the cable at the male end. Disconnect the 15 A male and reattach to the cut end of the long bit. then to the short bit attach the 10 A male to one end and the 15 A female to the other, and tadah you got an adapter lead. A female 15 A can attach to a male 10 A, but it the male is 15A it wont attach to the 10A female as the Earth pin is too big. Check your van. If it is 15 A you need to do the adapter thing to get the lead to plug in to the house. If not, you dont have a problem.

Good luck, and dont forget to get a licensed sparky to do the wiring, else make sure you know what you are doing connecting the leads and rewiring, else it wont be a happy holiday at all.

Dave.
AnswerID: 144626

Reply By: Batboy - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 07:48

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 07:48
Hey Brian, It will depend on your caravan. If you have a 15amp connection on your van then you must use a 15amp lead. You can tell by checking the Earth pin. I f its larger than the other two then it is 15amp.

If your van has a ten amp connection (same sized earth pin) then you can safely use a ten amp lead plugged into the 15amp outlet at the caravan park

Do NOT do as suggested above and start changing plug tops. A 15 amp lead is deisgned to carry 15 amps if you put a ten amp plug top on it then it can only carry 10 amps. Illegal and dangerous. if your van has a ten amp connection (same sized earth pin) then you can safely use a ten amp lead plugged into the 15amp outlet at the caravan park

All your appliances in the van will most likely have ten amp leads on them to plug into the 10 amp power outlets in the van. Just plug the fridge into a lead from the house till you are ready to go. If in doubt call a sparky
AnswerID: 144635

Reply By: crusa - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 07:53

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 07:53
Hi Brian

You can get around the problem by disconnecting the fridge lead from its power point inside the caravan and connecting the fridge plug to a normal extension lead whilst at home to get the fridge nice and cold. For safety it is also wise to make sure that the extension lead is connected to a safety switch or if connected to the house circuit, it is safety protected .......... Murphy's Law is always present!
As I understand it, "on the road" ........all caravan external LEADS and PLUGS MUST be 15 amps and also cannot be joined to make up a longer lead.

AnswerID: 144637

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:02

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:02
thats my understanding as well

the larger earth pin is there for a reason...safety...YOUR SAFETY!
FollowupID: 398178

Follow Up By: vitara - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:26

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:26
Agree with you there crusa, my old van was 15 amp male connection on the van with the big earth terminal which is 15 amp. I use to do exactly what you said and pull the lead out for the fridge out of the 10 amp power point in the van and run an extension lead straight to it to precool the fridge. Every power point in the van was 10 amp but the main on the outside was 15amp obviously to carry the power needed to all the required power points in the van. Not sure if the new vans are only 10 amp now, bit like the new air cons for your house most now are inverter models and can run off 10 amp no need for 3 phase any more. My mates 6 1/2 horse power ducted air is daikin ducted and is only 10 amp. Regards vitara
FollowupID: 398192

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:43

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:43
6&1/2 horsepower only 10 amps.......not likely
the inverter driven 2.5 hp daikin has a running current of 8.7amps on single phase supply

I would say that the compressor only on the 6.5hp would draw around 10amps per phase ie its a 3 phase unit?
FollowupID: 398195

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:52

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:52
The laws have actually changed a little I believe.

Its now perfectly legal to have and use a 10amp power cord BUT , it must have a load limiting circuit board that limits the power TO 10 amp.

(its not a RCD , its something a lecky can build apparently).
FollowupID: 398200

Follow Up By: vitara - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:40

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 10:40
Hi there Nudunut, yeah its likely, check daikin's web site even says it on there, and was over my mates on the weekend. When they start up they start differently compared to the old ones where your lights would dim for a split second when the compressor cut,s in these are totally different and start at slow speed and ramp up to full capacity, not sure what the electrical term is but that's how they get away with runing on a smaller amperage. We have 6 invertor models here at my work and are all 2 1/2 split systems all running on 10 amp circuit breakers on our control panel. Regards Vitara
FollowupID: 398209

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 14:48

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 14:48
Vitara...i still not likely
not going by my daikin manuals they dont
i think your confusing kw (kilowatt) with hp (horsepower)
an approximate 6.5 hp airconditioner would deliver around 18kWr nominal (kilo Watts refrigeration) of cooling and would definitely be a 3 phase model

a 6kw cooling or heating unit is around 2.5hp and are predominately single phase but 3ph are available also.

yes soft starters are used to get them running but under full load amps, ie max compressor output of a 6.5 hp (nominal 18kw cooling or heating system) would draw around 10 amps per phase

what model daikin ducted system are you refering to?

a nominal 6.5 kw (nominal 2.5hp) or thereabouts should be protecetd by a 15 amp breaker minimum...dont believe me? ask the reps at daikin...(i deal in daikin units and others in my business)...hp is not a measurement of unit abilty to cool..... thats why we (the trade) use kWr..... but the general public still likes hp! ( You will note that manufacturers usually drop the W from kWr to keep it simple...but cooling is actually kWr while the method of measuring heating capacity is only kw)

FollowupID: 398239

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:23

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:23
Make sure you don't only carry a 15amp lead, some caravan parks only have 10amp outlets, so you can't plug in the 15amp lead. I have a short lead with 15amp female & 10amp male to use in this instance.
AnswerID: 144659

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:50

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:50
They cant legally do that.

Caravan Parks MUST have 15 amp Power Points.

There are ways of being able to use 10amp cables , rather then 15 amp , but the SUPPLY , must be 15 amp.

If its not 15amp , its because its a dodgy lecky setup.
FollowupID: 398199

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 13:09

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 13:09
I agree entirely with Shaker...I have yet to find a caravan park that has 15amp GPOs on their power boards. I've just come back from a month on the road throughout SA, VIC and NSW stayed in a number of parks and not once have I needed a 15A male plug. Gotta have a 15A female 'cause that's the way my Kanga Camper is build (also have load limiting and earth fault devices fitted).
FollowupID: 398222

Follow Up By: flappa - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 15:41

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 15:41
Not sure where you are looking then.

Its been LEGALLY required to have 15amp power points for many years.

Its written in many areas when looking at powering Cvans/CT's.

A looksee of Collyn Rivers website should also show the same view.

A 10amp plug will fit in a 15 amp power point without any modifications. Theres nothing special in that.

I have never stayed in a Cvan park that HASN'T had 15 amp power points (whether I have used a 15amp power cord isn't the area of discussion).
FollowupID: 398242

Reply By: Member - JD - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 11:34

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 11:34
Hi Brian,
What l've seen done in my tavels is they actually grind the earth pin to size,l'm definatly not saying this the way to go but l have seen this done!...theory l've been told is it is technicly still a 15 amp lead...your decision.Merry Xmas.
JD
AnswerID: 144681

Follow Up By: vitara - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 13:26

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 13:26
Yep, have done that myself before use to cary both leads 15amp with earth grinded down and a 10 amp. Regards vitara
FollowupID: 398227

Follow Up By: Gronk - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 13:27

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 13:27
If you grind the earth pin down it isn't a 15A lead anymore because the earth pin is designed to take the fault current from a 15A fault to earth. If it's only half the size it can only take half the fault current, with the other half trying to escape somewhere? Maybe your hand? Maybe your kids face? Having said that I have a short extension lead ,15A one end and 10A the other for charging my KK camper off a 10A power point at home, but I know the camper only draws 4A when charging the batts
FollowupID: 398228

Reply By: GOB & denny vic member - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 17:04

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 17:04
goodday brian and others

legally your caravan must have a 15 amp plug (large earth) and caravan parks are supposed to provide a 15amp outlet although very few still have only 10amp and make it hard when people only havea 15 amp lead
you can buy leads with a 10amp plug top (male ) and 15amp extension socket (female)which is what you need at home if you file/grind down a 15 amp earth plug a caravan park person can ask you to remove it from there power supply as it is an illegal piece of equiptment
i recently heard of a caravan park telling christhmas customers that all leads must be safety tested and tagged and with a filed down earth pin it would fail tast and tag

steve E Grade sparkie Victoria and seasoned caravan traveller
Test & Tag is a big part of my work
ps i carry both types of leads when travelling
AnswerID: 144730

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 18:57

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 18:57
Well said Steve,
I was getting ready to say much the same thing from the perspective of a NSW licence holder.
The governing standard here is AS3000, look it up. Caravan inlets and caravan park outlets must be 15amp by AS3000.
As to the tagging before being allowed to attach your lead in a caravan park, makes sense. If a defective or homemade lead injures or kills someone the park owner could be liable. Public place, duty of care etc.
If they make a tagged and tested lead a condition of park entry, problem belong caravan owner!

Geoff.

FollowupID: 398279

Follow Up By: kev.h - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 19:05

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 19:05
Steve you said that so much better than i did
Regards Kev
FollowupID: 398280

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:09

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:09
Doesn't matter how well you say it!
Some caravan parks definitely DON"T have 15 amp outlets.
FollowupID: 398432

Reply By: kev.h - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 19:01

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 19:01
You guys go to a lot of trouble for no good reason
As i understand it in Qld at least ALL new c/van parks will be 15 amp , OLD ones can be either - in the intrim you can buy a an exempt lead for the express purpose of your caravan power with a 15 amp socket and a 10 amp type plug rated at 15 amp on the other end the cord will be rated at 15 amp
ALL caravan parks with 10 amp outlets will have a current limiting curcuit breaker fitted to the outlet
I bought a new one only 6 mths ago from Laurence and Hanson electrical Moulded plugs on both ends
regards Kev
AnswerID: 144743

Reply By: techie - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 00:59

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 00:59
Caravan parks now have an internal switch in the socket.
Try and plug a 10A lead in and it will not turn on.
The earth pin may be larger for a 15A plug but the main thing to look at is the size of the other 2 pins - they are thicker allowing for more current flow without overheating. Same with the capacity of the wire in a 15A lead.
Please, for safety reasons, use the correct lead. It is designed to protect us.
Techie
AnswerID: 144798

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:35

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 09:35
G’day all,

I’m no technical person so I can’t be held liable for the stupid things I say (just to keep in the theme of keeping the insurers happy). I have both type of leads and have also (illegally, I guess) used adaptors. I have even gone to the expense of having a 15 Amp outlet fitted in the garage at home so I can hook up the trailer when not in use.

I have two points here, one is that I have a camper trailer and like powered sites if they are available, I run a battery charger (3 stage 15 Amp output) and some lights. I reckon that 15 Amp is overkill for my purpose. Secondly, I have had to use both leads together, several times on a recent trip because the output in the park is 30+ meters away and I reckon there should be a responsibility on the parks that provide power to do so more conveniently/safely. And I really hate the “have to do this for the insurance” argument when so many other things are all wrong anyway – it just seems like an excuse/conspiracy.

I hate testing because it seems to add little and costs a lot. Take annual vehicle checks for example, I saw stats a while ago that showed that there were more unroadworthy vehicles (per capita) involved in accidents in NSW then in QLD. The story is that it costs NSW drivers $50M to get pink slips annually whereas in QLD this is not required.

AnswerID: 144824

Reply By: Brian - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 02:45

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 02:45
Thanks a million to everyone , Steve i hear what you are saying that you can buy a 15amp lead with male plug rated 10 amp with female socket rated 15 amp , only problem missus tried to buy one of these in Bunnings (WA) other day , was told that there is no such product !!
AnswerID: 144980