Another home made Quebelok storage system

Submitted: Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:43
ThreadID: 29004 Views:3842 Replies:10 FollowUps:16
Finished it today. Total cost about $280 of which $100 for for the Hettich fridge slide rollers

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:45

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:45
img src="http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c242/Brew69/IMGP1129.jpg">
img src="http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c242/Brew69/IMGP1130.jpg">
img src="http://i28.photobucket.com/albums/c242/Brew69/IMGP1133.jpg">
AnswerID: 144592

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:47

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:47
hmmm what went wrong lol.by the way its for a GQ lol
FollowupID: 398146

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:26

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:26
Its easier lookin at them this way sometimes!
FollowupID: 398158

Reply By: Member - Steve T (NSW) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:48

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:48
Hi Brew69,
I have just bought my qubelok and fittings and will build my system over the xmas break, any tips you can give me before I start building it, Steve
AnswerID: 144593

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:52

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:52
Just make sure the cuts are straight and its easy. I used a mitre saw.Good luck mate.
FollowupID: 398148

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:50

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:50
AnswerID: 144594

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:54

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:54
forgot to mention the marine carpet is still to go on :)
FollowupID: 398149

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (WA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:41

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:41
Brew I used marine carpet on my home made drawers. it looks good
and I reckon I saved heaps

brian
FollowupID: 398162

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:49

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:49
Very slick indeed mate.......It's gunna be a shame to get it all dirty and take the shine off it...lolol
FollowupID: 398165

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 22:05

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 22:05
it even fits
FollowupID: 398305

Reply By: Member - Brian (WA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:52

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:52
Hi brew. Could be the same trouble I was having.gramps put me right.
Click on the tag instead of img. Cheers brian
AnswerID: 144595

Reply By: navaraman - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:53

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 21:53
Looks good Brew. I'll have to come round for a sticky beak.
AnswerID: 144596

Reply By: rossco17 - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:12

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:12
Hi Brew69,
Where do you get the quebelok fittings, where I am no one has heard of it, also the fridge runners.

Thanks Rossco17.
AnswerID: 144601

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:16

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:16
Hi Rossco, Quebelok is made by a company called capral aluminium. I think Ulrich aluminium make a similar product. The fridge slide runners are made by Hettich and rated at 100kgs. Google Hettich and i am sure you will find them. Hope this helps Brew
FollowupID: 398152

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:21

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:21
Dave Hay was the first to do it

great idea I think!
FollowupID: 398155

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:23

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:23
Yep he was my inspiration
FollowupID: 398156

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 23:14

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 23:14
Brew
Dunno how to do that pasting thing, but if you email me on rickmooredotpacificdotnetdotau, I can send you a fridge shelf pic that I made out of cubelok also.
It's not very sophisticated, but it only cost $ 69, and does the job for me. Fits in nicely with the other crap in the back of Shirl.

AnswerID: 144614

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 06:29

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 06:29
My storage system is simple use nally bins them slide in and out and you can put them on the grond as seats I also made my draw runners runners cost $15 in total
They are about 10 year old and are still going strong.
AnswerID: 144631

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 06:39

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 06:39
Opps wrong picture

FollowupID: 398174

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:17

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 08:17
Eric,

In your first photo you could just use skip bins as drawers in that little sucker HAHAHAHA.
FollowupID: 398180

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 17:23

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 17:23
That's what happens when you learn to post pictures and i think I'm more clever than I really am.

FollowupID: 398256

Reply By: Wok - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:56

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 08:56
Hello all,

Been following this thread with interest as I am setting up a tray.
Just got a set of of Hettich FR1105/800 #30281 slides[80kg @ 700mm extension]and I have a few questions..installing a 60l Trailblaza [about 850x450mm]
1. If I use ply, what thickness & ply no. should I use?
2. Hettich recommends 4x3.5mm woodscrews to hold the base/platform
a) Would this be sufficient for the off-road stresses?
b) Would nut+bolt be better?
3. Alternately, a steel plate..say 3mm? or is this overkill?

TIA...eng
AnswerID: 144818

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 17:08

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 17:08
You have the same Hetich runners i got. Interesting enough mine say 100kg?Also i got no recommendations on what woodscrews to use but thats what i used. I have used 11mm ply but it was just a guess and as I have not tested it off road i can't say for sure. I am sure 3mm steel plate would be the way to go for ultimate strength, but its also extra weight. Brew
FollowupID: 398428

Follow Up By: Member - AdrianLR (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:05

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 21:05
I welded one up for our Autofridge. You only need plate at the ends under the feet and a piece in the middle to stop any possibility of the slides spreading. So far it's survived Fraser Island without any problems. fI you don't have a welder then high tensile bolts with nyloc nuts would probably work as well.

Adrian
FollowupID: 398452

Follow Up By: Wok - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 23:46

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 23:46
Thanks Brew,
Its rated for 100kg to about 600mm extension, mine extends to 700mm..hence derated. I think I will try the plate as I need to lift the slider over a lip. Its up to $95 wholesale now.
Thanks Adrian,
I think the steel is a safer way to go....just need a friendly sheetmetal worker!

eng
FollowupID: 398493

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:54

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 20:54
G'day Brew,

Very neat mate, chuck in a couple of draws, slap on a bit of carpet and it'll look like mine.!MPG:10!

Doesn't it make you wonder why you didn't do it ages ago, they realy are handy.

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 144928