My Patrol must be on drugs....

Submitted: Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 13:48
ThreadID: 28987 Views:1921 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
When i flick my spotlights on my main fuel guage drops by ½ a tank....
My spotties are switched through a 30amp relay which takes power straight from the main battery, earthed through the on/off switch to one of the dash frames and activates from the high beam on the back of the light.....
ANYONE?????....

Reply By: WheelTravel - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 13:58

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 13:58
I used to have an escort that was just a rally basher.

Turn the blinkers on, the lights stopped working, turn on the Windscreenwipers, and the brake lights didn't work...

Then, one day I got it airborne, and broke 2 engine mounts.... the whole gearbox shifted sideways and I could only get it in 1st and 2nd gear, it was fun driving back from Peats Ridge to Sydney in 2nd gear on the Freeway!!!

I'm sure that didn't help you much... except that your Patrol is comparable to my escort :)

AnswerID: 144513

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 14:09

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 14:09
G'day mate,

Quote: "earthed through the on/off switch to one of the dash frames"......

Just a guess, but I'm thinking this is your problem. Earthing is a crucial issue on these vehicles by all accounts.......see the other current post about turbo timer on a 3L which made the sub-tank fubar for a 2 year period, then suddenly came good for no apparent reason.

I'd be double-checking and doubling-up on the earthing of any and all accessories. Could be just what you need.

AnswerID: 144516

Follow Up By: Member - Tony G (ACT) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 14:28

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 14:28
I would take the earth back to the battery, or set a junction box that is earthed to the battery, and take all the extras from there.
FollowupID: 398046

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 14:53

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 14:53
I will try a better earth...
FollowupID: 398050

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:22

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:22
Actually, on re-reading your post, I'm a bit confused why you'd be earthing to a dash board bolt anyway (or is your relay inside the vehicle?).

The wiring I would have thought, would have seen the following apply:

Relay has 4 posts:

1 goes to the light/s
2 goes to the Battery + terminal
3 goes to the Battery neg terminal (or another very good earth point)
4 goes to switch on dash board.........other side of switch goes to the high beam wire (I usually splice it in just behind the headlight plug itself). This wire does not need to be of a very high gauge (speaker wire would do).

The POS & NEG must be of very good quality and heavy gauge, as must the one that goes to the light/s. It's best to run 2 separate wires, one to each spottie.

Sorry if it sounds like I'm talking chit (most blokes on here are used to me doing that by now anyway).

FollowupID: 398057

Follow Up By: tonysmc - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 16:22

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 16:22
Roachie, I say you are dead right! The switch should not be earthed. The Power should come to the switch and then when switched on continue to the relay. I have always connected into the high beam wire inside the steering column and from there through a switch on the dash and then onto the relay. I either earth the relay direct to the battery or run the earth wire to the bolt that holds the relay to the body.
Cheers tony
FollowupID: 398077

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:17

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 22:17
I always thought there was a couple of ways to hook up relays...."negative switching" which is the way i have done so and "positive switching" which is as Roachie has done so...
But i will definately check my earths on the weekend..

See diagrams...

FollowupID: 398154

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 14:53

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 14:53
Voxson, MY old 1999 GU does EXACTLY the same thing, drops to 1/4 tank regardless of how full it is. I thought it was the engine to chassis strap but looked and tested ok.. So i didnt worry about it,, still the same for the last 6 years. Must have something to do with the earthing of the Bull bar but you would think it would be ok.

AnswerID: 144519

Reply By: Member - JD - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:21

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:21
Hi Voxson,
On a recent post someone refered to daniel sterns lighting page,How to wire up your lights properly and recomends that only the trigger wires go thru the fire wall as they do not need much power at all to make the lights work, also states that most people don't earth out the relay properly..acording to his site its just as important to use a good thick wire for your earth as well,mine is earthed from the batt and also to roobar.Recent work to my truck brought this to lite .I have suspected bad earth on my turbo timer..l know your drama is about your fuel gauge
l don't know maybe relivent your problem aswell.Merry Xmas.
JD
AnswerID: 144526

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:46

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 15:46
Hi Voxson,

This is a known problem with earlier GUs due inadequate earthing between body and chassis.

I can't recollect the fellas name, but one of the guys on here works for Nissan and posted about fitting a earth strap between body and chassis on LHS undernearth front door (check the archives). Only a short strap and fitted between existing bolts in body and chassis. He even had photos. Anyhow I did this and it rectified my problem with fuel gauge.

I've since sold my Patrol for a newer one. A guy at work bought it so I could take photos for you. If interested send me your email address.

Hugh
AnswerID: 144532

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 16:23

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 16:23
Hey JD,
Please be careful of posting your "proper" email addy on this open forum. Apparently there is some cyber-gizmo known as a spider/crawler or some bloody thing and it scrolls though sites like this one looking for email addy's to then send out heaps of spam and krap.

I believe it's best to advise people of your email addy by:

jd59ATaaptDOTcomDOTau sort of thing
FollowupID: 398079

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 16:32

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 16:32
Hi Roachie,
Noticed people doing that but l was un aware of the reason,thanks for taking the time to let me know.Merry Xmas.
JD
FollowupID: 398082

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 16:48

Monday, Dec 19, 2005 at 16:48
Hi guys,

Here is my attempt to load a gallery picture. Hopefully this shows the extra earth strap.

Hugh
!MPG:4!
AnswerID: 144543

Reply By: Bullwinkle - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:27

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 09:27
Had the same problem with my GU. The spotlights were actually trying to earth through the fuel gauge wiring. I couldn't find any link from the chassis to the body. I ran the earth from the spots back through the grill and onto the body in the engine bay. No more fuel gauge dramas. When I fitted the winch on, it didn't work well either and once I put an earth straight to the battery all was OK. I don't think the chassis is earthed & when you think about it, there's no reason for it to be as there's no electrical components actually on the chassis until we come along & put spotties, winches etc. Cheers....
AnswerID: 144660

Follow Up By: Member - Stillthinkinaboutit - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 08:24

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 08:24
As Bullwinkle said,
The chassis is not earthed to the body or the battery. So if you connect the earth of the spotlights to the bullbar the earth return path is via the fuel guage wiring. Found this same problem on my 98 GU, any time I had the lights operating on the trailer as the earth from the trailer socket was attached to the chassis. This problem really became an issue when I had the van on with the extra clearance lights etc. The guage would drop from full to around 1/4 tank.

I have fitted 3 chassis / body ground straps, no problem any more.
FollowupID: 399359

Reply By: tonysmc - Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 14:44

Tuesday, Dec 20, 2005 at 14:44
Hi again, I was just looking through this site and thought this may be of some help
http://www.exploroz.com/Vehicle/Accessories/DrivingLights.asp
Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 144713