Dealer Servicing

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 22:42
ThreadID: 28880 Views:2281 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
Do we get ripped off following dealer servicing schedules? Heard some shocking prices for Bu...er all work done change oil filters etc.
Cheers Axle

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 22:45

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 22:45
Its up to you if you dont want to get it serviced...
lots of issues are fixed at services that people arent even told about.
AnswerID: 143925

Follow Up By: WheelTravel - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 23:04

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 23:04
They're sure as hell charged for it though.... even if it's greasing a nipple or 2...

That's 8 units of grease at 70c/unit...

Sure
FollowupID: 397393

Follow Up By: crfan - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 00:22

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 00:22
Hi Truckster they only get done while its under warrenty, and if its going to cause problems later.I have serviced new cars at my workshop found a problem and sent them to a dealer were the had to fix it or ring me (I haved worked at two dealer ships Mazda/Suzuki/Subaru/VW)and (Holden/Mazda/subaru/Mitsubishi/Hyundia)also if it's safety it has to be recalled. Most people liked my $350 dollar service compared to there $800-$1500 dollar service and thats taking 4WD's from 1500kms to 150000 or 40/50,000kms to over 250,000kms before they sell and to buy again .
FollowupID: 397412

Reply By: Moz - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 22:54

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 22:54
Heard of one case where a courier driver had a stuffed diff at 90,000 km but didn't
have it dealer serviced since 30,000 km.
He couldn't prove he'd had the diff oil replaced every 30,000 km (because it wasn't done) so he got his warranty claim knocked back, so he had to pay. ouch

Moz
AnswerID: 143927

Follow Up By: crfan - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 00:14

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 00:14
Hi Moz I worked at a Mazda Dealer we had a guy come in with a blown head gasket.Never had his truck serviced buy us 12\20 warrenty he had done 80,000kms Mazda replaced the engine(brand new could of supplied a new head) free of charge more of a PR thing I think but still the sqeaky axle gets the grease.
FollowupID: 397410

Reply By: brd - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 23:06

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 23:06
I don't trust dealer services myself. I'm pretty fastidious with my vehicles. I took my Landrover for its 20,000 service at the dealer, and also checked it over myself after. Most hose clamps needed tightening; one was quite loose, and leaking. The oil levels were not checked, as the original thread seal hadn't been broken on the gearbox. A couple of suspension bolts needed tightening.

These things are all listed on the schedule. They did the engine oil, filter, etc of course, but also added a fuel additive to the tank, without asking. I alrerady had another product in there, they should have asked to ensure it was necessary and not risk adverse reactions. Thing is, the more you know about maintenance, the more you realize how good (or not) the quality of the work you get is.

I think there are plenty of good mechanics who would do the book servicing better, and there should be no legal claim against invalidating warranty, if done by the book. i did all my own servicing from then, and with the next car (Patrol), only taking it to Nissan for warranty work.
AnswerID: 143929

Follow Up By: Axle - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 23:20

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 23:20
My thoughts as well mate Theirs great mechanics that appreciate the work as well.
FollowupID: 397400

Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 23:11

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 23:11
Not all dealers the same. You will find some have big mark ups on engine oil and add things like, "environmental levy" - $15, (still don't know what this is), "Workshop supplies" - $10, (the rags they use to clean things), and charge up to $11 per litre for oil, then $5 to "dispose" of your old oil.

We had quotes from 2 dealers to service same car at same interval. $275 from one, $154 from the other.

Like most things, shop around

Rolande
AnswerID: 143930

Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 23:24

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 23:24
I recently found a price diffence for dealer serviceing. Wang Nissan $180ish bucks for 30k service........Gold Coast Nissan $330! Go figure. I had my service a little earlier before I left.

Leroy

PS. and yes I do find they do everything they say they do
FollowupID: 397403

Follow Up By: madcow - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 07:47

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 07:47
Yep! we get a bargain here in Wodonga also. Last 10,000 service I had done they gave me a bill for $276.00 a year ago. When i asked for a breakdown of costs they could not give me one and dropped the price back to $185.00 without question and it took 2 weeks to get it in!! Needless to say unless it's warranty work I wont be back.
FollowupID: 397426

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 09:53

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 09:53
Envoromental levy is usually for waste(rubish) and oil collection - get charged the same when you replace tyres on your car.

Not sure , but i think most larger mechanical places do not pay for waste oil to be taken away ( by recyle people )

Boc
FollowupID: 397444

Follow Up By: rolande- Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 19:26

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 19:26
G'Day Boc,

Talked about this with my local mechanic, even with his small turn over of around 400 litres per month, he gets PAID for his waste oil. As for rubbish collection, that's what the council bin is for, the remainder is in an industrial bin which he says he builds into his hourly rate.

Dealer hourly rate $100 - his hourly rate $55

Rolande
FollowupID: 397518

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 07:51

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 07:51
rolande- This is why I would never take my Vehicle back to manufacturers for work, UNLESS it was warranty work - luckily I am in the position where I can do all my own mechanical repairs - so there is a huge saving each year ( wether its simple oil change right though to motor rebuilds )

and yes I agree - these places are VERY much over priced - and there is a very very good chance that the apprentice is the one that has fixed your car - and he is on about$10PH

Boc
FollowupID: 397574

Reply By: Brett_B - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 12:54

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 12:54
You hear some interesting stories about guys having warranty knocked back because of who has or hasn't serviced the vehicle. I think in these situations there could be some extenuating circumstances that we never hear about - the guy with the diff , diff was empty, full of water, rear tires blistered from continual burn outs :-)

I rang Toyota Australia some time ago and asked them that if I service my vehicle as per the book, will this void the warranty.

His answer was simple

If your rear door falls off we cannot blame it on you for changing the oil, it obviously will be fixed, However if you engine seizes because you left the sump plug out obviously we will knock that back. He was very polite nice bloke to talk to.

I however never had any problems with the Toyota so couldn't test the theory, did 185,000 without seeing the dealer and I recon it was better for it. The Japs build a great product, give it to the Aussie (she will be right mate) dealer and things always seem to go wrong. My passed experience has shown these mechanics' cant even rotate tyres without breaking/striping wheel studs. (although I hear there are some good Mech's out there)

Wife has a Hyundai Lantra, its also has never seen a dealer for service, I look after this car also, Its been back to the dealer (a few times) only for minor warranty work, always fixed no questions asked. Good service.

As I said with the Toyota I have never tested the warranty system and not sure what direction it would have gone if it broke a rod but if I look back at the money I have saved I could now replace a couple of motors with it, The time I don't mind, I enjoy tinkering with the cars, learn more about your truck every day.
AnswerID: 144006

Reply By: Member - Nobby - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 14:33

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 14:33
Worst sting I have had (obviously not Dollar value) was to charge me $8.00 to fill the windscreen washer bottle. Told them if they did not deduct it off the bill I would never be back. Paid the $8 and never went back.
AnswerID: 144019

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:39

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 15:39
I hope they only charge you pro-rata if it's part way full 8-))

Leroy
FollowupID: 397494

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 14:42

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 14:42
The Jack I had a couple of years back was the most trouble free vehicle I ever had. The only problems I ever had were installed by Authorised Holden Dealer Servicing at two different dealers. Auto juice not changed, wrong dif oil peeing out after towing, gasket leaks after valve clearance check (no adj. necessary $800 later) etc, it's a con. Current Nissan only sees dealer at 20K intervals, all others I do myself (basically a checkover and oil/filter change) and I thoroughly check over the dealer work. After the last 20K I had to grease the prop shaft, it was not done.
I sign the book myself, tick all the boxes for what was done, list all the products used and keep the receipts. I reckon they would have a hard time arguing the work was not done correctly if there was a drama.
AnswerID: 144021