Mitsubishi Triton 4x4 wheel lock problems

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:32
ThreadID: 28863 Views:31030 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
I have a problem with my Mitsubishi Triton GLS 4x4 double cab 2001 and I'm grateful for any advise I can get.
Sometimes when I start up, the wheel lock engages and it takes a while to get it off again. Lately it's been doing it while I've been driving which is a bit of a worry. When it happens I first hear a brushing noise like the wheel lock is trying to engage. Then when I slow down it jumps in and doesn't disengage. It usually goes off sometime later.
I've been to Mitsubishi and they said that they have never had this problem before. Their diagnosis is to replace everything to do with the wheel lock and told me that it's a shame that it's out of warranty because it will cost heaps. I then went to my local mechanic and left it with them for a couple of days.They spent heaps of time on it and still couldn't pinpoint the cause. Didn't charge me anything either because they couldn't fix the problem. All I can seem to do is wait until it engages permanently and then hope someone can find the problem.
If anyone has any similar problems or know what I can do, please respond. Cheers

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 14:08

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 14:08
If you mean it's engaging 4wd by itself, look to your vacum lines. They use vacum to hold the front diff in the "disengaged" position. If it leaks they tend to engage on their own.
AnswerID: 143829

Follow Up By: srn - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 17:39

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 17:39
Thanks John
I'll check that out and let you know. It's a bit strange Mitsubishi didn't mention it. The local mechanics whom I trust say that they might have overlooked the vacum lines, so we will test them tomorrow. Thanks mate
FollowupID: 397338

Reply By: srn - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 17:56

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 17:56
I'm getting confused now. Another mechanic I know says that my model triton has solinoids not vacum hoses. Thats what Mitsubishi wanted to change, but because they couldn't isolate which one was causing the problem, they wanted to change all of them. 5 in total I think, with no guarantee that would fix the problem. Maybe thats my only choice. Expensive though.
AnswerID: 143865

Reply By: Eric Experience. - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 21:39

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 21:39
srn.
This came up a few months ago. from memory it turned out to be a vac, hose,
Eric.
AnswerID: 143910

Follow Up By: srn - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 22:26

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 22:26
Thanks Eric.
I'll find out tomorrow if it is the vacuum hose. If indeed it has them. Not being mechanically minded I don't know if they have solinoids or vacuum hoses or both. Cheers mate
FollowupID: 397387

Reply By: glenn_c - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 08:33

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 08:33
Try this site http://4wd.blogeasy.com/article.view.run?articleID=104949
Also you can fit manual free wheeling hubs from earlier Triton's saves cv boots and great for parking trailers can engage 4wd low without front hubs engaged getting 2wd low.
Regards Glenn
AnswerID: 143960

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 09:41

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 09:41
Glenn_C - good site.

Sort of worked most of it out myself, but this fills in the blanks.

Thanks.

Touch wood, no problems so far, but you never never know :-)
FollowupID: 397443

Follow Up By: Member - Camper (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:21

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:21
G'Day Glen
I understand that a lot of Triton/Challenger stuff is interchangeable.
Could I fit Triton Freewheelin' hubs to the Challa?
I really appreciate the idea of being able to select Low ratio without $wd.
Camper
FollowupID: 398435

Follow Up By: Member - Camper (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:24

Wednesday, Dec 21, 2005 at 18:24
BUM!
Obviously that last post should say 4wd not $wd.
Fingers travelling faster than brain.
Camper
FollowupID: 398436

Follow Up By: glenn_c - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 07:24

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 07:24
Yes Pajero/Triton/Challenger front hubs are the same so you can fit the manual free wheel hubs from early Triton or base model pajero (GL) to other triton's/Pajero's?Challenger's
Regards Glenn
FollowupID: 398505

Reply By: S&N - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 19:34

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 19:34
i occasionally have the same problem, wheel lock light comes on, i just turn the car off then restart and it goes away. 2001 triton as well!
AnswerID: 144074

Follow Up By: srn - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 20:46

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 20:46
My problem is that the wheel lock comes on now while I'm driving. First I hear a whining noise then when I slow down to nearly a stop it engages. It doesn't disengage until hours later and only when I have turned the engine off. I'm going back to Mitsubishi next Monday with the information I received through this forum hoping that something gets done this time and hoping that it won't cost me the earth. The local mechanics think it might be the transmission computer if that operates the solenoids, but they can't locate it and Mitsubishi wont tell them where it is. The vacuum hoses seemed fine. If anyone knows about the computer system if indeed that is the problem or anything else that might help me it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you
FollowupID: 397546

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 22:28

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 22:28
Friend with an NL pajero had the same problem.
Was one of the vacuum valves on the inside of the wheel turret.
You can swap the hoses around from one to the other to see if it helps.
One locks in while the other locks out, but my friend found you only need one to make the system work.
Maybe you don't have enough vacuum to signal for full engaegment?
He locks the system in and then there seems to be enough spring tension to disengage.
He locked them in and out every day for a few months and they freed up.
FollowupID: 398691

Reply By: srn - Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 23:08

Thursday, Dec 22, 2005 at 23:08
Like to thank everyone for their help.
Went back to Mitsubishi and complained about their idea of changing all solenoids
(switches). This time they pinpointed the problem and it turn out to be one solenoid (diff switch) which was replaced. $300 all up. They said it didn't show up when they tested them the last time. So far no problem. Cheers
AnswerID: 145183