Apparently they are breakable!

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 09:53
ThreadID: 28859 Views:3597 Replies:10 FollowUps:24
Saw these pics and had to share...

Apparently this is an incident in Newcastle. A bloke left an E size Oxy and Acetylene cylinder on the back seat of a Hilux dual cab over the weekend. The Acetylene cylinder must not have fully closed and a small leak occurred.
Over the weekend the Acetylene had accumulated in the van. On the Monday morning the bloke approached the van and opened the door, a large explosion took place. We believe the ignition could have been caused by either the internal light, the automatic door control or by a mobile phone which was on the front seat of the van. The fellow was also a smoker. Apparently he survived?

But it goes to show that Hilux's aren't unbreakable! ;-)

Scoey

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 10:08

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 10:08
Happened at either Wallsend or West Wallsend about 12 months or more back.
Yes, the bloke did survive. Though I don't think he needs to attend church to hear bells ringing!

Geoff.

AnswerID: 143799

Follow Up By: cabbageoz - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 10:22

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 10:22
Theres really only one thing you could say and that's very similar to what a crow says
FollowupID: 397267

Reply By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 10:34

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 10:34
BUGGA
AnswerID: 143800

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 12:17

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 12:17
Oh what a feeling!

And I hear he jumped too.
FollowupID: 397288

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 10:38

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 10:38
Apparently it still drove ok, just some superficial damage.
AnswerID: 143802

Follow Up By: myfourby - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 11:06

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 11:06
Yeah - gets a slight wobble in the front end at 100km/hr
FollowupID: 397277

Follow Up By: Scoey - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 12:04

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 12:04
Apparently there's a bit of a knack to closing the passenger side front door too... But all in all the rest buffed out I heard!
FollowupID: 397286

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:19

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:19
he's just thinking about were to put that brand new roof rack now, mmm what can i bolt it to,the door nah, the roof if i had one.May be he was just trying to make it easier to grab him self a beer from the back
FollowupID: 397296

Follow Up By: gramps - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 17:02

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 17:02
Lucky it was a Lux. Would'nt have been enough left for a pic if it was a Cruiser, Patrol or one of those other Toorak Taxis :))))))))))
FollowupID: 397337

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 21:17

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 21:17
Them's fightin words, gramps...lol
FollowupID: 397379

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 00:36

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 00:36
Willem,

Had to say something controversial after Mad Dog virtually killed off the Land Rights issue in the other post by daring to introduce relevant facts to the discussion :))
FollowupID: 397413

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 13:08

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 13:08
Imagine how much would have been left if it had been a real ute like a mighty Mitsubishi Triton, Gramps. The gas bottle would probably only have imploded and left a slight stain on the Black Duck seat cover which would have washed out in due course.
FollowupID: 397474

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 16:48

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 16:48
Now, now Wombat - behave yourself. That would have been wholly because of the Black Duck seat covers and the protection they afford. Undoubtedly the same effect if fitted to the Hilux LOL
FollowupID: 397501

Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 17:47

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 17:47
Can you get them small enough to fiy that tiny thing purporting to be a seat in the back of the Hilux?
FollowupID: 397511

Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 18:29

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 18:29
They are actually perfect for strapping the fridge full of essential medicines and lifesaving supplies to :)))

Otherwise only suitable for the decidedly vertically challenged ! And even they would need suitable quantities of natural padding around their rear ends LOL
FollowupID: 397512

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 17:58

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 17:58
Who cares about the back seat. I do all my driving from the front like a man :)
FollowupID: 397647

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 17, 2005 at 23:04

Saturday, Dec 17, 2005 at 23:04
Apparently it was still running...as was the owner and 125000 cats from the general area

FollowupID: 397844

Reply By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 12:36

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 12:36
I saw him at a set of lights in Newcastle just last week! He didn't hear the siren on the ambulance when it snuck up behind him!
Apart from that the Hilux drives fine. I heard he's off to Stockton beach this weekend for a run.

Geoff.

AnswerID: 143816

Reply By: Member - Coyote (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 14:47

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 14:47
Maybe he can try and sell his diff (albeit slightly used) on Ebay... Apparenlty there is a slight rattle in the rear somewhere too... not to mention he no longer worries about how many light he can have on his bull bar, where to fit the ARB dual battery tray or water crossings????
AnswerID: 143838

Reply By: signman - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 15:05

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 15:05
OOPS!!!!!
AnswerID: 143844

Reply By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 15:54

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 15:54
There's a leson to be learned here! don't leave cylinders in your work truck!..were they laying down? ifso acet becomes unstable..this plus the heat of the vehicle could have triggered the explosion....when you finish your trade and enter the work force you see all sorts of..NO NO's done in the field a lot get away withit untill that day happens!!!!when it blows up in your face...hopefully no one was hurt,...only property.
JD
AnswerID: 143852

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 19:38

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 19:38
"don't leave cylinders in your work truck!.."

Sorry mate, but I have to disagree with you there. I have been a "fridgie" for thirty years and I always have oxy/acet on board. I have many colleagues who do the same and always have....I have stored them laying down on many occasions as well. It's when you light the torch with the acet laying down that problems start..... or in this case failing to turn the tap off (Or did the valve simply leak?) therefore filling the car with gas...... if he had stored it in his garage, chances are the same thing would have happened except to the garage not the Hilux....

You can NEVER be too safe! Check your bottles are off always when not in use...
FollowupID: 397357

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 19:57

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 19:57
We all take on board habits from people we work with,be the habit good or bad,but it is well known that acetylene becomes unstable when left laying on it side,althought it may not have caused this accident does'nt mean it wont in the future...bottles laying on there side,if it was indeed a leaky valve or just was'nt turned off properly it would'nt have mattered were it was it was an acident waiting to happen..so true you can never take oxy/acet for granted.One hell of a tool if used properly!!!
JD
FollowupID: 397361

Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 23:28

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 23:28
JD, for the sake of being "picky" the reason you don't lie the Acetylene bottle down is that liquid Acetylene gets into the hose, not good. If the bottle was lying down and liquid was leaking out significantly more gas would be released than if it was standing. (that an "I think" statement)
When vertical and being consumed as the pressure decreases in the bottle more of the liquid Acetylene vapourises and maintains a pressure until all the liquid has gone, pressure drops, bottle empty.
Maybe you where saying the same thing in a different way, if I misunderstood, I stand corrected.
Keep the shiny side up

FollowupID: 397404

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 07:24

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 07:24
Just to clarify, I actually think we're all on the same wave length here....

Liquid acetylene indeed explodes, and you must NEVER use oxy/acet with the cylinders laying down..... when they are used standing, only acetylene vapour is dispensed, vapour burns not explodes... In storage in the work van, it is not always possible/practicle to keep them upright... in a lot of service vans, (of which I have had between 20-30 over the years... you name it. I've probably worked from it !!!), space is at a premium due to the amount of equipment required for the "job", sometimes they have be laid down. My rule (when I laid them down for storage) was always to set the kit up (with bottles upright) and bleed the lines to be sure no liquid was in the lines.... liquid acet is un-mistakeable... before striking the torch.

For the record, the last time my bottles were laid down in storage, 5 years ago when my work truck was an old HJ one tonner ute with those big tradesman boxes on the back.... no-where else to put the cylinders but lay 'em down in the box.... these days they stand upright in the "Misty Express"..... I actually bought myself one of the new mini "C" size kits that BOC developed for plumbers and fridgies.... weighs just 15 KG's all up.... brilliant!!! I can highly recommend them!

FollowupID: 397422

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 08:55

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 08:55
Jeez how rude ...JD's membership has not EXPIRED!!!!!
Check you bank details people you will see it was direct depisited whilst my membership was current!!!
FollowupID: 397433

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 01:56

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 01:56
Sorry Boys did my time in the 70s os can't help myself.
Form my Boilermaking & structural steel Fabrication (revised edition 1977)
Apprentice module notes 9-14
it reads

"Due to the chemical instability of acetylene and the possibility of explosion if it is stored in a free state above a pressure of 100 kPa, it is necessary to provide a steel cylinder in which the gas can be separated into minute HARMLESS sections. The cylinder is filled with lime/silica saturated with liquid acetone which dissolves many times its own volume of acetylene. Thus the high mass of acetylene cylinders. When the cylinder valve is open the cylinder pressure is decreased allowing the gas to leave the liquid."

Thats why you don't use an acetylene bottle on its side as the acetone can leave the bottle.

As for blowing up all bottles will have fusible plugs fitted that will melt and release the gas if the bottle gets to hot

Regards Richard Kovac

I thought it was against the law to have bottles inside a vehicle
FollowupID: 397571

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 07:19

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 07:19
If it is against the law, then there's about a zillion tradeys all round Australia breaking that law!!!!!
FollowupID: 397573

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 08:45

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 08:45
HI Richard,
I was going to refer to my trade text as well,as I stated the "no no" you see! you would need dangerous goods cert as well,work cover would fry u,s if they seen them laying down.....point made lesson learned...anyway merry xmas to all
JD
FollowupID: 397579

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 11:51

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 11:51
I reckon it will buff out!!!!!!

AnswerID: 143986

Follow Up By: Member - JD - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 12:19

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 12:19
What do you call the tree that done that???
!!!!!!! SIR !!!!!!!!!.
JD...Membership is current!...
FollowupID: 397467

Reply By: Ozimagemobile - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 19:03

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 19:03
I think he is going to need a new Windsreen....maybe a Hood Lining.

Apart from that, she looks no worse than a lot old retired Hilux's chasing bulls in the Territory.

Wouldn't be supprised if it still started and was able to limp to the panel shop

AnswerID: 144066

Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 00:38

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 00:38
limp ??? Hiluxes don't limp, they motor :))))
FollowupID: 397569

Reply By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 21:18

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 21:18
The things people will do to get into the Darwin Awards!

Hugh
AnswerID: 144087