Leaving for Perth

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 01:50
ThreadID: 28858 Views:2104 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Leaving on Thursday 15th Dec for about 6 weeks in the west.
Staying at Mandurah for about 3 weeks, day tripping all over, Then about 3 weeks camping and 4wding around the SW corner of WA and the Eyre Peninsula SA on the way home.

Will try and catch up with a few forumite's during my travels.
If you see me on the road please give me a wave or a call on the UHF. Scanning all channels.
If you have a HF my Selcall etc are listed on my member details feel free to contact me. Will call into the VKS skeds as often as I can.

I hope everyone has a great Christmas and New Year and please stay safe.

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 07:57

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 07:57
Have a great trip John , Be very carefull whilst traveling through SA, there are a lot of weired people there mate , might need my shot gun to keep them at bay.,,
On the return trip , it may pay you to come home the long way round lol

be safe , have a good one
AnswerID: 143779

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:29

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:29
SA weird people???? What gives you that idea??? LOL

Thanks mate have a good one.

FollowupID: 397302

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 08:14

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 08:14
You lucky bugger John, have a great trip in a beautiful part of the world..a safe and happy christmas to you and yours.

Lyn
AnswerID: 143781

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:32

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:32
Thanks Lyn.
Muddy is flying over on the 21st with our respective daughters as she has work commitments, Its her relatives house that we have use of in Mandurah.
I'm driving over with my young bloke (15 yo and 6 ft 4") not so little or young I guess. LOL.

Have a great Christmas all the best to to the family.

FollowupID: 397303

Reply By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 09:33

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 09:33
John, keep us posted when you're settled in and we'll catch up for a bit of run somewhere if I'm around (getting a few trips planned over the Chrissie break though).

It would be worth getting your hands on a copy of the Western 4WDriver magazine's 'Day Trips out of Perth' and '4WD Weekends out of Perth'. Even the old Powerline Track just east of Perth is worth a run.

My wife works for a few local mags which have some good information about whats on and what to see and do in WA (non 4x4 related stuff). Well worth a look, have a squiz at the website.

link text

Have a fun trip!

AnswerID: 143794

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:35

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:35
Thanks mate, will try and arrange a catch up.
Already have arranged to contact a few forumite's to say G'day.
Should be fun, If only I can get out of bloody Melb, was supposed to leave on the 13th, work and a crook voltage regulator put paid to that.

FollowupID: 397305

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 14:33

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 14:33
What about an official ExploreOz xmas squirt along the powerlines then folks?
FollowupID: 397327

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 10:49

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 10:49
Hi V8, I would be keen to come along for the drive
regards uppy
...the school bus,still gets us there

FollowupID: 397587

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 09:52

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 09:52
Have a great trip John and don't forget your bcon position reports, I'll be following you with interest. Merry Christmas
AnswerID: 143798

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:35

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:35
Cheers Ray.

FollowupID: 397306

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 11:24

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 11:24
John, I wish you and yours a safe and "cool" trip. I've found it a tad warm there in January for my likeing. I'm sure you'll have a ball. We spent Xmas at Mandurah many years ago before the bridge went in.
AnswerID: 143807

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:23

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:23
I wouldn't worry too much, I'm sitting out the back on the laptop at the moment in shorts and a t-shirt and am a bit cold!! Not to mention I was yacking on the phone last night enjoying a beer out here and I got RAINED ON! WTF??

We havnt had spring yet,ned alone summer! It's very very weird...

Anyway John, what the hell are you comming over here for, the "voted" most "boring city in Australia"!! Just remeber to be careful, because we are also the "crime captial" of australia. (work those two out would ya!!??)

I'm sure you'll love it over here mate, all us sand groppers do! Hopefully the seasons will work out what the hell they are doing and you'll get some nice weather for a swim up at Jurien or somewhere. If you get bored and are after a day trip somewhere, give us a holler, I'm home most days now and am always up for a drive, I'll MM you my mobile number.
FollowupID: 397297

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:39

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 13:39
Thanks Jim the hot weather should be cured by the Doctor. LOL.
Try and give us a Selcall if you can see if we can have a chat.
Also doing some trials for the Bcon guys which should be interesting.

Hi Jeff yeah send me your number and even if we catch up for a drink and a chat that would be great.

Thanks guys

FollowupID: 397309

Follow Up By: Uppy - Member - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 10:55

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 10:55
Hi JeffWA,we must be due to go for a drive some where soon.What are you doing on Saturday? maybe a beach trip
regards uppy
...the school bus,still gets us there

FollowupID: 397588

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 11:06

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 11:06
Yeah where the hell have you been UPPY!!?? Yeah for sure, I can't this Sat as I'm ha hmmm, playing golf.... Yes that's right, you heard it. At an international golf course too! LMAO! Last time I went there they swore they'd never let me come back, they even gave me the "I don't have a clue" golfing award!! They even reckon'd I lost a club, but I told them that was impossible as I never used those ones! I did some hill climbs and decents in the buggy (you know if you ride the brakes a little bit the speed limiters don't work on them!!!) HAHAHA.

It's Bec's work do Saturday and saturday night, so this weekend is pretty much out for me because Sunday I'll be lucky if I can open both eyes at the same time. Kid's are on Hol's though, we could do a mid week run maybe, a trip up Wilbinga or Lancilin or Wedge or somthing maybe?
FollowupID: 397590

Reply By: Wombat - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 14:13

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 14:13
Enjoy your trip John. I hope you have the best Christmas possible and you stay safe over the New Year period. Here's looking forward to taking up the cudgels again sometime early in the new year.
AnswerID: 143831

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 14:20

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 14:20
Thanks Paul.

FollowupID: 397323

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 20:21

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 20:21
We did the SW coast and Eyre Peninsular last January. Great holiday. We had the comfort of air con in the car for hot inland days, also in the caravan which we used a only a few times. Who knows when summer will come this year - cool and showery today. Got the 4wd days on the south coast from the Exploroz shop (lost it now - darn). Happy holiday. Motherhen

AnswerID: 143888