Roachie- Help!!!!! GU overheating.

Submitted: Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 14:49
ThreadID: 28798 Views:3237 Replies:9 FollowUps:37
Hi ROACHie,

Tried to get you via another post but not sure if you got it so will try getting you with a new one.

I've noticed all along your dramas with overheating and while interesting reading I have not had the problem, that is until now.

Mine is a 2002 GU 4.2 turbo diesel cab chassis with only basic mods including the 3 inch dump pipe and full flow exhaust etc. I've only just started towing a camper and this is were the problems have started. Never had the drama even with a very heavy tray back camper. Now I have a canopy with gear in the back and also tow a camper, a pioneer camper which is much lighter than yours, approx 750kg all up.

When travelling on the highway at 110kph, outside temps approx 38-40 dec C, air con on, towing trailer etc on a flat road the temp gauge is getting close to 3/4. Normal temp without towing is under half. Get to a hill and try and maintain speed and temp gauge goes to, HOT, needle is right on the line going to the red. Even at 100kph and same conditions and temp is just as hot. A/C doesn't shut down I've got to turn it off to help.

Was heading to Blackdown Table Lands in CQ so thought the slow crawl up the hill might be ok. But no way, the climb is very steep and so put it into low range 2nd and 3rd gear, outside temps similar and coolant temp just as hot as above. Only time it went into the red was when I stopped to let it cool down and at idle it went into the red so just increased rpm and temp started to drop.

Can you tell me is this what you had?? Did your temp gauge get this high??

Bit of a worry so need to do something as I'm going on leave for 6mths next year and don't want dramas.

Any help appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 15:15

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 15:15
G'day Austravel,

I can't help and I know it is a serious matter BUT you do realise that in making this request you will need deep pockets and a tremendous amount of thick hide. I'm sure Roachie will come good and you will have anought gadgets in the old truck to make anyone proud. I hope you have a good relationship with your bank manager (sorry Bill and Austravel couldn't help myself).

AnswerID: 143474

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:47

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:47
Roachie could become Austravel's NEW bank manager :))))
FollowupID: 396982

Reply By: Banjo 1 - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 15:19

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 15:19
Roachie will be here shortly :o)
AnswerID: 143475

Reply By: Nudenut - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:21

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:21
was hot yesterday...how did roachie get on...does his still get hot or has it been fixed?
AnswerID: 143484

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:27

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:27
G'day Nudenut,

I'm waiting with baited breath for the answer to this exact same question. It will be interesting because if it has been cured, do we put it down to the new hair dryer he has put on it or the combination of all the other things he has done???
As they say good things come to those who wait :0).

Cheers Trevor.
FollowupID: 397045

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 22:00

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 22:00
Yesterday was very bloody hot here (about 38oC), but I only drove around town a little bit..... We spent a few hours on Friday night, all day saturday and a part of Sunday morning laying pavers at one of the 4x4 club member's places here in Kadina; then went to a local park at lunchtime Sunday for our club's xmas party.......Roachie was knackered big time.....could hardly even get off my @rse to get a drink or tucker!!!!
FollowupID: 397062

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 22:21

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 22:21
Roachie,

I'm like that without laying pavers these days so you are forgiven for taking your time :-))). I'd rather have your real views after testing than just imediate thoughts as well.

Cheers mate, I'm about to lay a new slab up here soon, when did you say you were coming up?? ;0))
Trevor.
FollowupID: 397065

Reply By: Coyote - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:25

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 16:25
G'Day Austravel. .not sure if it halps and you've probably considered it but.just in case FWIW.. I had a 2.8 TD which had similar probs.. all was great.. could load it to the hilt with no apparent probs until one day.. at 110.. hit a hil land bang.. temp guage worked it's way up pretty quick.. then cooled back to norm once on down hill/flat again..
After several attempted radiator flushes etc using all kinds of "radiator cleaning agents" etc.. no better, then bit the bulet and had the radiator removed and opened it up... and sure enough the radiator was 3/4 blocked...
Not sure how accurate the following statement from the mechanic was but perhaps others could commetn but his explanation was:" Nissan was known to have a particulalry fine radiator and hence blocked with the smallest amount of build up.. "
Considering my 2.8 was loaded up with roof racks, all the gear one takes on a long trip steel bar and winch and spotties to further reduce the intake.. once the radiator "reassembly" it never looked back.. temp guage never evn crept slightly above the "norm"... so FWIW have you considered opening the radiator and/or at least a professional flush out?
AnswerID: 143486

Reply By: Austravel - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 17:01

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 17:01
Sort of thought this would be the case after reading the trials of Roachie's. Will look at getting the radiator removed and stripped but mainly what to see what really is hot. Just because the gauge gets to "H" under extreme load is that really to high???? Didn't run rough, no steam or major coolant loss etc, etc. Not sure, might have to fit a proper temp gauge to see what it is in deg C. Problem I have is not knowing anyone with a similar motor and doing what I do as in the same as I did on that particular day.
AnswerID: 143497

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 19:00

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 19:00
Hi Austravel,
That run up to Blackdown Tablelands would test most vehicles out, with a camper on the back. Having said that I took a small caravan up there with my old petrol Pajero, no overheating engine but auto box was COOKING by the time I got to the top.
I think you will find a hell of a lot of these 4.2 Turbo Patrols (mine included) are prone to the situation you experience. One comforting factor is that everyone I know with this problem is still running (some with very big km's) whether that is due to the driver being kind and aware of the situation and not pushing it too far or whether the vehicle can take it I don't know. Probably a bit of both.
Removing obstructions in front of the radiator has made not one ounce of difference to the vehicles I have seen this done to (mine included).
In the end like plenty of people on here I have poured plenty into the turbo mods and exhaust to fix it and I think now it is back to summery conditions up here in QLD again I'm not much better off than I was before all these expensive efforts. Try if you want to fix it but in the end you may just end up like the rest of us and take it a bit easier when towing. Not the most comfortable thing to deal with but reality is plenty have tried and not succeeded so slowing down will keep the temp down and your dollars in your pocket.
I think a good investment would be a VDO gauge in the top hose (like Roachie) or next to OE Nissan sender unit to tell exact temp of your coolant. Also EGT gauge would be good investment (something I'm trying to get at the moment). At least with these gauges you can tell exactly what's going on uder the hood, if these gauges don't read too far out of the "norm" then I would say save the rest of your bucks for a good holiday.

Just my thoughts and hope this helps.
Best Regards Trevor.
FollowupID: 397009

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 09:52

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 09:52
Thanks Trevor, looks like, for me at least, that the problem really arises when towing and trying to maintain speed. No dramas when not towing and pushing along. Obviously towing puts a much greater load on the vehicle than carrying similar weight.

I'll take yours and Roachie's advice and get a couple extra gauges and just keep an eye on things.

Thanks again.
FollowupID: 397128

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 17:14

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 17:14
G'day Austravel,

Okay; where do I start??? hahaha

The first thing I'd like to say is that mine (and yours by the sound of it), has never actually over-heated (ie: never got to the point where it has boiled and caused me to stop and fix something).

However, it has got right up to almost being in the RED zone at times. The things I've already done (and which were probably a waste of time/money in retrospect) are:

1. New PWR double-sized radiator with free-flowing tubes (so they say)
2. New fan hub
3. New thermostat
4. Cut hole in bonnet and put scoop above turbo
5. Fitted new turbo recently (I thought this MAY have reduced heat a bit as the OE turbo is water-cooled and the new Schwitzer is not), but that wasn't the primary reason for upgrading.
6. Tried removing Lightforce 240s and putting them on top of the bullbar
7. Tried driving with the plastic air-dam underneath the radiator removed
8. Tried various types of anti-freeze/boil stuff
9. Stuck 2 bottles of chit in the radiator that are supposed to seal up any tiny cracks in the head if there are any (can't remember the name of it, but I got it from Repco and it was recommended by somebody on here).
10. Have fitted a VDO water temp gauge with sender unit mounted in top radiator hose
11. Have fitted a EGT gauge to see if there is any relationship between exhaust temps and water temps (there really is no relationship apart from if the engine is running for prolonged periods at high speed....anything over about 105k/h, both temps do go up).
12. New radiator cap
13. New radiator hoses
14. Added a 10" Davies Craig fan in front of air-cond condenser which I can manually turn on....maybe I should upgarde this to a 12" or 14" jobbie?

The only thing that I haven't done yet, and which someone on here suggested I should do (can't remember who it was, but he was a bit smug about how he did things;-)) is to change the impeller in the water pump. The bloke who talked about it said he could fix my problems really easy by fitting a new impeller which would stop cavitation of the water. He would not elaborate, even though a few of us asked him for more info :-((.

I've also thought that maybe I might take the winch off this summer as well as the driving lights and see if the extra air flow assists.

We have had a few quite warm days lately, but I haven't had to go too far and not with the camper on anyway.

One thing to keep in mind is that when the Nissan's gauge goes up to around the 3/4 mark, your truck is not over-heating at that point. According to my VDO gauge, the temp in the top hose at that time is around 110oC and it seems as though the concensous of opinion is that up to about 120oC is okay when say, going up a hill....but you wouldn't want to see it up at 120oC all day. I haven't yet gotten the VDO gauge to go to 120oC and so I try not to worry too much. I rely more on the VDO gauge these days (even though the Nissan gauge is still functional). I also tend to drive and change gears according to the EGT gauge as much as anything else.

It has been said on this forum before that the 4.2 motor does not have anywhere near the size water galleries that the Toyota 4.2 motor has. As such, you have this huge mass of motor that has smallish "veins" running through it trying to collect the heat and take it through to the radiator for cooling purposes.

Another thought which I've had recently is to instal another temp sender unit in the intake where the water from the bottom radiator hose is about to re-enter the motor. Having changed turbos, I now have a "blank" bolt where the banjo bolt used to be that had water going to or from the old turbo. I could take this plug out and have it drilled and tapped to take a VDO sender, which I could then take to my gauge via a switch. That way I could switch between top and bottom radiator hoses and see how much cooling the radiator is actually achieving. This is the same thing I have done with my EGT gauge; have a thermocouple above and below the turbo so I can swap between pre-turbo and post-turbo EGTs.

I don't suppose this helps you, other than to say that you don't really have to worry too much as long as your Nissan gauge isn't going too far past 3/4 of the way.

AnswerID: 143501

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 18:01

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 18:01
Aaaah just as I thought, you've tried everything and know all the pit falls. Much the same as I tend to do, more to try and solve the problem than anything else.

Is the VDO sensor you have right in the hose?? I notice I have a bung in the thermostat housing so maybe could use this.

On the flat mine gets to 3/4 no dramas. However on long gradual climbs or steep climbs mine sits right on the line between "HOT" and the red. So in hilly country it's close to the hot line for quite some time. Is this the same as you?????
FollowupID: 396999

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 18:11

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 18:11
Yeh, if I'm trying to maintain a decent speed it does tend to get above half way even on the flat and hotter still if I attack a hill and try to keep the speed up. I have found that backing off and doing say 90k/h is the best answer.

The VDO sender unit is mounted in a bung that is welded to a length of stainless steel pipe (about 5" long) that I have inserted into the top radiator hose.....I cut about 1.5" out of the hose just where that support is (which I've removed) that is/was attached to the power steering bracket. I thought of using that spare brass bung near the thermostat, but couldn't be bothered drilling and tapping it (the thread is a different size to the VDO sender unit.)

FollowupID: 397001

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 18:25

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 18:25
Thanks Roachie, I do appreciate the info and advice.

When you say it goes above 1/2 when pushing it is that with the camper on or without??

With out the camper I have no problem at all. With the camper and trying to maintain a speed or the slow steep climb then it's all over red rover.
FollowupID: 397004

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 18:33

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 18:33
Listen hear you!

Your name is being changed from Roachie to 'blow fly' (greatest pest known to man kind).

Are you seriously telling me, the forum, and the rest of the world that your 'thing' is still over heating.

Didn't that new 'waterless' turbo do something or anything to alleviate the problem.

The only thing you NEED to do to cure your problem is piff that heap of garbage and buy a Toyota. (ROFLMAO)

And to think (acting on your advice) I just went to Sydney looking for a the right Nissan to buy. Didn't see a Nissan on the road up there or anywhere for that matter.

Saw some nice JEEPS though and had an extremely interesting time wheeling one back to Melbourne.

Must go, and AUSTRAVEL check with member TREVOR ( comes from near the Qld/NSW border). He fixed his GU O/H problem.

Oh Roachie Ooops meant Blowfly (Mate it just never ends, ROF with tears in my eyes LMAO)
FollowupID: 397006

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 18:37

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 18:37
Thanks Lucy. Not a member so can't actually contact him. Do you know what his fix was??
FollowupID: 397007

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 19:10

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 19:10
Thanks for those valued words of wisdom Mr Lucy....much appreciated... (NOT!!!! hahahahaha)

Austravel,...... Trevor has mentioned that he still has some issues with temp going up to what he considers unacceptable levels. He thought that his fix would work (he had the MTQ turbo upgrade done earlier this year), but alas he is still having some issues.
FollowupID: 397011

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 19:11

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 19:11
Member Lucy,

It has only just started to happen again, but mine is getting back to the bad old days of running hot again. Not as bad as it used to be but still too hot for me to suggest a complete and comprehensive fix has been achieved by my expensive cure (I say that term very loosely). As I have not investigated blocked radiator since my recent trip to Roma I can't comment on whether there is a genuine reason for the vehicle to have started this nonsense again.
By the way I reside in BrisVegas but am hardly ever here due to work that allows me to travel the east coast like a yoyo. Someone has to do it ;-))).

Very best regards Trevor.
FollowupID: 397012

Follow Up By: Austravel - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 19:39

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 19:39
Thanks Trevor, Roachie,

So I'm not alone!! Hate to be the odd one out.

So does mine sound similar to what your experiencing or worse???

That's my main concern if it sounds worse/farworse than what happens to you guys. If not then I guess I still need to try and sort it out but it's not urgent.
FollowupID: 397015

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:48

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:48
Austravel,

Your situation sonds similar to what I experience, a careful eye on the factory Nissan gauge should keep you away from the Nissan garage for now. The factory Nissan gauge does not tell the whole story though. The VDO gauge moves quite a bit before the Nissan gauge moves in mine, but when the Nissan gauge does move it is often too late just to take it easy, so for me the VDO gauge is critical in preventing the overheating from occurring in the first place. I am tending to think an EGT will even be more advantagous in determining when the vehicle is likely to climb the temp ladder, but Roachie or turbo specialist could inform you better on this.
Before the MTQ mods I had done, my running temps (I almost always tow) were around 100 - 110c. Now they are down to 95c but that has been through winter and just the other day on route to Roma they were at about 100c without trailer and climb much higher on the big climbs. So I am now wondering with summer coming on again whether I have indented this problem at all?? couple more weeks will tell as I have another 5000km to do between now and 2nd week in January.
Last but not least, YOU ARE DEFINEATELY NOT ALONE, welcome to my world :-))) (in good humour).

Cheers and keep your eye on the gauge.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 397058

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:59

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 21:59
Austravel, Ray, seems like you and Roachie have something else in common - a big frontal area with the Nissan AND a trailer. Do you think it could be a problematic area? Notice Bill says his problem drops away as his speed drops to 95kph and quite a drop in fuel consumption too of course.

Bill, do you have an upgraded radiator as in the intercooled ones like mine?
FollowupID: 397061

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 22:29

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 22:29
John,

The frontal area is something I have looked at closely, early on in the piece. Problem with that arguement is mine used to (and may still) run hot with no spots on and no trailer, if I wanted it to (heavy right foot and half decent range is all it took on a hot day). I think there is many contributing factors in this saga but Roachie touched on the biggy in my opinion when he talked about the size of the water jackets.
Cheers Trevor.
FollowupID: 397068

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 07:47

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 07:47
what happend to that electric pump you were going to fit?
also have you considered water injection? would this help in keeping the block cool?

water cavitation ......how'd he know that was the cause...cavitaion is caused by the introduction of air at the impellor. caviation could be for various reasons but most likely due to a suction restriction or air leaking into the suction of the pump.........if we assume a suction restriction, it caviation would be caused by the existing impellor trying to pull a high vacuum causing the water to artifcially "boil"?

so generally if one was wanting to get more water flow a larger impellor would do the trick...but if the existing was cavitating a larger impellor would in most instances make for more cavitation, or cause cavitation to become a reality......I must admit though, a good designed impellor can prevent cavitation....But only within the limitations put upon the impellor.

FollowupID: 397115

Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 09:56

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 09:56
Thanks everyone for your input. Looks like the solution is going to be "steady as she goes".

Had hoped to be able to push along in the NT if I got the chance next year but looks like that's not an option.

Will check out the water temp gauge and quiz a turbo guy about the benifits of fitting an EGT in this particular case.

All the best.
FollowupID: 397131

Follow Up By: Member - Ross H (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 16:44

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 16:44
Hi guys
Dont know if this will help but here goes. Amate of mine likes to put big motors into jags and they have a lot of over heating problems and one simple fix they have found is that hot air gets trapped at the top of the engine bay. most newer cars have 3/4 bonnet seals and what they do is lift the bonnet about 5 mill on the back edge and this allows the hot air to escape and clean air to flow over the motor. Maybe you could just remove the back seal and see what happens. Cheap fix if it work , just a thought

regards ross
FollowupID: 397187

Reply By: Member - Chris M (QLD) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 22:52

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 22:52
The first thing that would solve alot of Roachies problems would be to reduce the weight of the vehicle, it's gotta be at least 500kg's heavier than it should with the shoo roo...etc etc (sorry mate, but it's true). Secondly, if your running bigger tyres, higher suspension anything aftermarket, expect fuel economy to drop and the vehicle to work harder. A patrol is like driving a brick into the wind, especially the GQ's.
Thirdly, any mods mechanically steered away from specs are going to change the characteristics of any vehicle. 3 inch systems apparently help vent the gas, upping the boost and increasing fuel increases power and torque but then we fit VDO guages to ensure we 'drive to the conditions'. Don't get me wrong, I'm Mr powerup and cannot stand driving a standard diesel, but it comes down to finding the right mechanic to do the work. Ensure the cooling system is maintained is number 1, if you've down powerup work, ensure it's not fueled up too much just to provide that extra 10 pounds of torque etc. My mate owns a 2002 GU TD with 135,000 on the clock and had the same guy I've used over and over again to powerup vehicles to provide a bit of extra zip. No worries about heat at all, and that includes a very recent trip to the tip towing an aussie swag with boat, kitchen etc etc.

At the end of the day, unfortunately, you can only shut the air con down, wind down the windows and tick along at a speed that keeps the temp reasonable, annd enjoy the ride (unless you have the TD6). Still a tough truck that will give you hundreds of thousands of k's of joy.

Chris.

Obviously there is a problem in the older models with heat because Nissan did replace the smaller radiator with the new 4.8 jobbie, it's huge and I never had a problem with the guage moving ever, even under heavy loads.
AnswerID: 143580

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 23:18

Monday, Dec 12, 2005 at 23:18
G'day Chris,
No offence taken .........you are very right about my truck being in need of a visit to Jenny Craig. Only trouble is that the only things I consider it practical to remove are the light-weight items for the most part. EG: the Shu Roo may or may not be effective (say 1kg). I have no friggin idea how to use my GPS apart from checking my speed, altitude, sunrise/sunset and all that other useless chit (say 200grams). The Counter-Act electronic rust prevention system is probably a waste of space (200grams). Possibly I could get by without the winch....(only ever seem to use to assist others....{toyotas}....out of trouble anyway)....(say 40kg). I have already removed one swing-away wheel carrier arm, which I will only be putting back on when I go on a long trip. The roof rack is used regularly and has rear lights, reversing camera, air horns, shovel and pipe for long chit....so it ain't practical to be removing it. The bullbar is too valuable an asset to remove. The fridge is always there, but usually it's nearly empty. I now take my recovery gear out whenever I'm not on a trip where I may need it. I like to try to keep the tanks full/nearly full as it helps (IMHO) to combat the possibility of algae forming in the diesel. Really, that's about it for the weighty stuff.
FollowupID: 397088

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 22:24

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 22:24
Hi Chris,

When you talk about the right mechanic, is your friend Gary the right person to see. I have spoken to him and plan to get my truck down to him soon, should I throw this problem into the mix straight away with gary or do you suggest someone else for the running hot drama's.
Thanks again Trevor.

PS I am sure mine could go on a Jenny Craig diet as well Roachie so don't be too embarassed about your car's weight ;-)))
FollowupID: 397230

Reply By: davros_who - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 11:08

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 11:08
Hello all,

Sorry if this sounds patronising.... but, mabey you should concentrate more on the obvious. My 2.8 was doing the same thing a couple of years back. I flushed radiator, changed hoses, and filled 100% of radiator with very exy coolant.
My brother lives in top end WA and fills radiators in all of his vehicles with 100% coolant, because he rarely has a day through the year under 35 deg. His 8yr old boy came to stay with us last year in Blue Mountains NSW, and hadn't ever seen a wool jumper!
I did the same with coolant and have not had a problem since.
Also check thermostatic fan, to see if it is cutting in.

AnswerID: 143639

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 13:58

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 13:58
Cheers mate, You might be onto something with the 100% coolant idea. It might be time to spend some $$$$ and have the whole system professionally flushed and filled with the best coolant money can buy (whatever that is????)
FollowupID: 397160

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 15:56

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 15:56

Haven't been visiting the forum for a while, so I missed this interesting thread developing.

I'll not to keen on the 100% coolant idea. AFAIK, coolant concentrates like Castrol Antifreeze/Antoboil, Nulon, etc. are typically about 96% ethylene glycol plus various corrosion inhibitors. A 33% mixture with pure water gives adequate antifreeze protection for anything likely to be encountered in Oz and adequate inhibitor concentrations. And I believe a 50% mixture gives the highest boiling point.

BUT, ethylene glycol actually has a lower heat absorption capacity than pure water. (A lower specific heat, I think, which means it takes less heat energy to heat it up another degree - somebody with a chemistry background can confirm or correct this.). So, as I understand it, 100% coolant concentrate will actually run hotter than 100% water under the same conditions. Of course, 100% water is not on in modern engines, unless you want it to dissolve before your eyes, so I stick to the 33% mixture of quality concentrate and demineralised water.

One the Nissan situation, has anyone tried fitting the bigger 4.8 Petrol/TD6 (TD42Ti) radiator to an earlier TD42T GU?

Also, can I stick in a quick plug? I've built a couple of dual input coolant/EGT systems for a customer in Broken Hill this year and have installed one in my Discovery - and very handy and interesting it's been too. Roachie has a similar set-up for his 'before and after' EGT sensors. I'm happy to quote to supply similar systems if anyone is interested.
FollowupID: 397182

Follow Up By: davros_who - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 16:27

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 16:27
Hi Ian,

I can't argue with your chemistry info, as I don't know anything about that stuff........ Except that 100% worked a treat for me. As said before, my brother swears by it as well. As for the original poster and Roachie.... Why not try it and see how it goes. If it does no good for you, it is an easy job to drain some coolant out and top up with water.

My engine used to run at 5/8 hot on the gauge, under no excessive load. It would get real hot very quickly, under load such as full trailer, 4 kids, two adults, 2 dogs, very hot day, steep mountain climb, air con on full blast. Since the flush and fill with 100% coolant, engine does all of the above at 1/2 on the gauge.

I am heavily involved in 2 stroke engine development for top end racing. I beleive in going with what you know to work, rather than listening to all that will tell you "how it isn't going to work" That comment is not intended as a shot at you Ian, in any way, so please don't take it as aimed at you. I just think that if 100% coolant has worked well for me, I beleive it is worth a try for others.

FollowupID: 397184

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 16:39

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 16:39
Hi Steve,

No offence taken. You've actually tried it and I haven't. I was just trying to add to the picture with info I've read in technical articles over the years (including coolant makers' websites - but I can't remember which ones). But if you find it works, that's great.

Funny you mention racing two-strokes. I thought glycol coolants had been banned from motorcycle road racing for many years and only pure water was allowed? Because coolant is incredibly slippery and dangerous in the case of a spill?
FollowupID: 397186

Follow Up By: davros_who - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 17:17

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 17:17
Not bikes...... boats...Water cooling :) Surface drive, very agressive prop pitch, some say "radical port timing" end up at around 25hp per 100cc and top of 18000rpm. It is a lot of fun. :))

I would be interested to see how this thread ends up. I did replace two radiater hoses and flushed rad at the time as well, which may go some way to explaining my good results..... However.... My brother is no mug. He is retisent to give out advice, but when he does, it is always good advice, and as said.... it worked well for me. (Nulon by the way)
$40 bucks worth to fill the system.

FollowupID: 397189

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 22:16

Tuesday, Dec 13, 2005 at 22:16
Steve,

I had an old farmer tell me to give the 100% glycol a go one time, but then I was also told (when looking into this as a solution) about the lower boiling point of glycol, so I ended up not giving it a go. As you said though for $40 it may be worth the effort.
Thanks for reminding me of this option.

Regards Trevor.
FollowupID: 397228

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 10:55

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 10:55
Hi Trevor,

I know I'm being a bit pedantic here but the problem is not that gylcol has a lower boiling point (even the instructions on the bottle say a 50% mixture has a much higher boiling point than pure water and the BP of 100% gylcol may be even higher). The problem (from what I've read, not from actually trying it), is it's lower capacity to absorb heat than water.

That said, if people who have tried it actually get better results, I'm happy to accept that. There's always more to it than just the scientific thoery. Perhaps because the stuff is so 'slippery' it flows through the system better? And, while each litre may absorb less heat then a litre of water, the overal efficiency of the system is better resulting in more total heat being transfered out of the engine??
FollowupID: 397275

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 14:32

Wednesday, Dec 14, 2005 at 14:32
Hi Ian,

Thanks for clearing that up about the boiling point. I remember that I talked to somebody with technical knowledge on this subject and they give me a valid reason why it wouldn't work, so it must have been the heat transfer rate that you talk about. The end result was the same though, as I did not try it on their advise.

Trevor
FollowupID: 397325

Follow Up By: Austravel - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 17:16

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 17:16
Hi Roachie,

Just spoke to the local MTQ guy here and he said he's had quite a few come in with the same problem and that it's obviously not a unique problem. He was working on an ambulance for the same drama as we spoke.

The only things he said he would try is to: use a 1.1 bar radiator cap, flush radiator and try one of the engine cleaners. He thought the engine cleaner may assist if there is quite a bit of carbon build up around the oil sprays under the pistons. Well that's what I recall, sure someone will correct me if I'm wrong. Basically he thought if the oil wasn't able to help keep the thermal load down due to sludge etc then the problem could be worse.

May have to look at doing it.
FollowupID: 397506

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 20:31

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 20:31
I already tried the engine flush-out using that stuff they sell for $99- that claims to get old Toyotas going strong again. It didn't make any difference to my GU (had about 150,000klm on the clock at that time) and I gave the rest to Truckster.....never did hear back from him whether it did any good for his GQ.;-((
Not sure what effect the 1.1bar radiator cap will have....Mine still has a 0.9bar cap.....
FollowupID: 397536

Follow Up By: Stew53 - Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 21:40

Thursday, Dec 15, 2005 at 21:40
Roachie, in the old money 1.1bar is about 16psi and the .9 bar is about 13 psi, with the .9 cap the boiling point of the coolant will be 251 deg F or 122 deg C, with the 1.1 bar cap the boiling point rises to 126 deg C, the gauge on the dash will still report the same temperature the higher pressure cap will allow the coolant temp to rise 4 deg C more before the coolant boils and tries to escape.
Clutching at straws to think a 4 deg boiling point change is going to make a huge difference.
If the car is not overheating maybe nissan got the calibration of the gauge wrong as toyota did with the early 80 series oil pressure gauges which reported a low reading on the gauge, the problem was fixed with a replacement sender and gauge if I remember correctly.
Stew
FollowupID: 397557

Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 15:11

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 15:11
Hi Roachie,

Can you let me know were you fitted your EGT/coolant temperature display?? Am considering the same set up and not sure if it can be fitted directly into the dash.

FollowupID: 397623

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 16:14

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 16:14
G'day mate,
The EGT is easy!! I got the digital style from Thermoguard Instruments and also got the optional box for it to be mounted into. I mounted this on top of the steering column using a pad of velcro about 2" x 3" (probably didn't need to be that big). The velcro is NOT the self-adhesive type; instead I used contact adhesive on both the steering column and the underside of the plastic box. It is very easy to see at a glance, does not distract me when I'm driving and the cables are neatly hidden .
The 4 other gauges (oil pressure, oil temp, coolant temp and turbo boost) are in a less ideal position, on top of the dash. They don't bother me there, but if I wasn't any shorter than I am (6'2") they would probably cause me to not be able to see out of the windscreen. If I was doing it again, I would either:
a) use the Dept Of Interior dashpod (which currently houses UHF + speaker + voltmeter) to mount the gauges and i would have found another place for the UHF (maybe where the stereo system goes as it's a double DIN and is a waste of space). The dashpod could easily mount 5 gauges I reckon.
OR
b). get hold of one of those neat looking "A" pillar pods that someone posted a picture of a week or so ago. They only hold 3 gauges, so I'd still have to find another spot for one gauge + I'd have to re-locate the air-pressure gauge which currently hangs off the lower bolt of the grab handle on the A pillar.

I can see if I can take a digital photo and email it to you if you like. One of these days I'm gunna have to find out how to post piccys on this EO site!!!!

FollowupID: 397635

Follow Up By: Austravel - Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 16:43

Friday, Dec 16, 2005 at 16:43
Thanks that spot should work well. Are you happy with the dual temp unit???

A mate were I work has sent me some info on alternative coolants. One is an Evans product. I've spoken to the Aus agent and a guy in Sydney that uses it for the same reason we do, overheating. Sounds like it might help but not sure about trying it due to price, $85 per US gallon. Replaces the existing coolant and is not compatible with water. The info on the web site is pretty impressive. http://www.evanscooling.com/html/msports1.htm
FollowupID: 397638

Reply By: tando - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 13:57

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 13:57
Having read all the threads I can on the issue of Heat Buildup on 4.2TD patrols ( i have a 2000 GUII 4.2TD) my biggest issue wiht this is that my Temp guage gets to 1/2 way and the AirCON shuts off.. Is this what everyone else experiences? although I note Austravels comments seem to indicate that this is not an issue for him.

I have dual factory thermo's (2nd one came from a very early 4500 petrol) doesnt seem to make as big a diff on the diesel as it did on the petrol - supporting the idea of poor coolant capillaries within the block..

I had to recore my radiator at 90,000kms (replaced Al with Cu) - now 160,000kms and thinking of flow checking it again.
AnswerID: 146187

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 22:02

Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 22:02
G'day Tando,

You will see that there are 2 "switches" in the bottom radiator tank; one on either side.....these are visible from underneath, each has 2 wires about 8" long leading to a plug. The one on the passengers side is set to activate when the water temp reaches a certain level (I don't know what the actual value is). When the temp reaches that temp, the air con is switched off. You can over-ride that switch by simply unplugging the plug. I have done this and it has meant that my air-con stays on even when the temp gauge rises above half way. CAUTION........ I have also fitted an extra water temp gauge so I can monitor the temp accurately and I watch my gauges religously......if you decide to unplug the cables, I will not accept any responsibility for any consequences ;-))

The switch on the drivers side is set to activate at a slightly higher temp than the 1st one and it turns on the air-con's fan in front of the condenser to assist by blowing extra air through the condenser and radiator. What you experienced is VERY common. I don't think that flow checking will assist but if you decide to do so I'd be interested in the results if you could post them on here for us all to see please.

Good luck, cheers
FollowupID: 399885