Rim offset LC100

Submitted: Friday, May 27, 2005 at 20:27
ThreadID: 23367 Views:3671 Replies:4 FollowUps:14
Hunting around in the near future for some steel LC100 rims to put on the trailer (and maybe some spares for hard touring). What has got me beat is the offset. My Cruiser is a late 2000 model with live front axle and mag wheels, and it appears to have some wheel offset; however when eyeballing other Cruisers' rims I note that the steel ones seem to have less (more??? what does offset mean?) offset, whereas the latest models have heaps. Mine *looks* to be somewhere in the middle.

Cutting to the chase - which steel rims would work? I need to have rims that a swappable with the Cruiser - I guess the late model ones are not...

/viz
(be gentle - loooong time Ranger Rover owner - just got the Cruiser. Some paradigm shiftiing is in order... ;)

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 21:17

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 21:17
You need any 5stud rims off the 105 series (rigid front like yours):
16x8 came on the earlier GXLs
16x6 split rims with 235/85R16 came on the poverty pack (barn door) models.

The post 1999 78series (Troopie) and 79series (cab chassis) will also fit. They came with 16x5.5 inch grey split rims and 750R16 tyres. The 2002+ RV cab chassis came with 16x7 mags.

Because these come in different widths, then they will look different from the outside. But the backspacing will be about the same.

Aftermarket, ROH and Speedy sell steel wheels with the correct offset (about $120 each).

Don't get any rims off the 100series V8 or Turbodiesel (Independant front end). They have too much backspacing, sit too close in, and will rub on suspension etc.

Also, it is nice to have same diameter tyres all round. The 265/75R16, 235/85R16 and 750R16 are all the same diameter, so you could fit the 265/75 and the cruiser and run a 78 series split rims with 750R16 on the trailer, and they will be interchangeable should the need arise.

AnswerID: 113258

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 21:39

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 21:39
post 99 78 - 79 will NOT fit they take a different size rim (5.5 as compared to 6 inch splittie for the 100 as well they are a different offset. My offsider got straddeled with a boss type in a 100 following around him and a geo for work. As the boss was running radials he pretty soon had no spares and he found out the hard way utes dont fit station wagons. He had to do a strip and refit on the tyres
FollowupID: 369418

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 21:53

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 21:53
Hi Davoe,

Was the boss's 100series a TD or V8 with IFS?

If not, I'm stuggling to understand why your offsider would have a problem fitting 79series splittie onto a 105 series RFA.

I have mates who run the 105series rims on the 78/79's and they fit up beautifully. I also just measured the backspacing on a 79series (5.5") split and it was 107mm, which tells me that there would be no problem with clearances on a 105 series.

5.5 vs 6 inch on the splits is irrelevant - Toyota did that to fit the wider 235's to the 105series.

Can you explain what the problem was??
FollowupID: 369420

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 22:03

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 22:03
It was a standard and I believe it hit the brakes. I have also been told the same thing by Tyre store operators when I was sourcing extra spares for the work utes. I would not doubt that the wagon wheels fit the utes but they wont vice versa
FollowupID: 369421

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 22:19

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 22:19
Hi Davoe,
Just want to be sure we're getting this the right way around.
105 series and 78/79 series share identical brakes and fully floating rear end. I've got a mate nearby with a 105 series, so I might pay him a visit to see if my wheels will fit up.

We often share spares on trips, which is why I want to find out for sure.

FollowupID: 369424

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 22:25

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 22:25
Thats what I thought so I was surprised to be told by the tyre guy that ute wheels wont fit station wagons. This was confirmed to me when my mate had the problems. Not being the one personally effected I cant confirm this 1st hand but he was a pretty reliable source.
the ute was an 04 standard work ute but I am unssure about the year of the wagon most likely an 02 and definitely a standard
FollowupID: 369426

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 23:58

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 23:58
I appreciate the info Davoe.

FollowupID: 369433

Follow Up By: viz - Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 11:52

Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 11:52
Great information Phil. This is a keeper. Thanks

/viz
FollowupID: 369454

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 17:01

Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 17:01
Viz,

Just take note of what Davoe has said - the grey splits from the 78/79 are no good on the 100series.

Your best option is always to fit identical 16x8 wheels and tyres to both the vehicle and trailer.

Second best option will be to have same diameter trailer tyres, and the 100series splits may be a good option here - might get some pretty cheap.

FollowupID: 369477

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen (WA) - Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 09:12

Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 09:12
Had a few flats on the 105 series a couple of months back.

The minesite store gave me 79 series rims/tyres as replacements. They fit on the 105 std without any problems at all. It just looked a bit odd with a mix of silver coloured and grey rims on the vehicle. Apart from the colour, the only other immediately visible difference is the 79 rims appear to have a smaller bolthole-to-outboard-side distance than the 105 series rims.

Only just got all the rims back to 105 rims the other day.

Stephen J.
VKS737 - Mobile 2735

FollowupID: 369542

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 09:25

Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 09:25
Thanks for that Stephen. I can see no reason why they wouldn't fit, except Davoe is pretty certain that they wouldn't.

Sooooo, the plot thickens................

I'll have to visit a mate with a 105series and try it for myself.

Thanks again

FollowupID: 369548

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 20:27

Sunday, May 29, 2005 at 20:27
Plot thickens further. i noticed a dead 100s at work has the 100s rims front (the offset is visibly different) and 78 rims at the back. Besides the fact that it doesnt go now even i am confused. I would recomend that you see for yourself especially if you are sharing wheels and make sure they fit front and back
FollowupID: 369580

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 21:29

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 21:29
What is offset and backspacing:

http://www.rsracing.com/tech-wheel.html
AnswerID: 113263

Follow Up By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 10:18

Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 10:18
thank you thank you thank you - this answers just about all the questions I've ever had about tyre & rims etc 7 a heap I hadn't yet thought to ask!
FollowupID: 369448

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 17:08

Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 17:08
Paul,

That link missed out explaining the PCD or pitch circle diameter, which is commonly measured on rims in Aus.

The P.C.D. is the diameter (in millimetres) of an imaginary circle drawn through the centre of the stud holes on the wheel and/or the vehicle wheel hub.

The following link might be better
http://www.tyres-online.co.uk/techinfo/alloy.asp

FollowupID: 369478

Reply By: Croozer - Friday, May 27, 2005 at 22:17

Friday, May 27, 2005 at 22:17
Viz,
These are the wheels you need. Have a look at the following link

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=10428&item=4552043693&rd=1

There is often items like this on ebay.

Stu
AnswerID: 113271

Reply By: viz - Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 07:54

Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 07:54
thanks guys! much appreciated :)

/viz
AnswerID: 113285

Follow Up By: Jim-Bob - Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 08:47

Saturday, May 28, 2005 at 08:47
G'day Viz