Advice on trip needed

Submitted: Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 19:43
ThreadID: 21030 Views:2181 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
A group of around 16 of us (8 couples) are planning to come over to OZ to do an off road a trip in early 2006 (or somewhere around there - you guys know what opposing sex can do to a well planned and organised event by us males) into the outback for about a week. We are all experienced 4WD er's in NZ but fully understand the tribulations of the Outback. We will be hiring 4WD's (probably Troopies - the Nissan drivers won't like that) but think the best way to do this is by Tag-Along for safety.
What trip can you suggest would be the best to get the highlights of all that is on offer. Ie sand hills, escarpments, hidden valleys etc.
Oh the women folk would be pleased if someone could collect up all the spiders and snakes before we arrive. Could someone sort that for them?
Cheers Boys

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 19:58

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 19:58
Oh no, more of Malcolms mates :)) (www.On-Track4WD.CO.NZ). Can't help with recommendations on a tour op as there are so many good ones around. Where are you kicking off from, which city in Oz ? That will basically determine what you can see as its a heck of a big and diverse country. No doubt others can recommend a tag a long operator. With 8 couples there's no need to say have fun :)
AnswerID: 101484

Follow Up By: jaycee - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 20:21

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 20:21
Sorry Footloose, should have said we will be kicking off from Melb.
FollowupID: 359406

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 20:33

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 20:33
Lots of tiger country not far from Melbourne, mountains (thats pimples to you guys), hidden valleys and some sand country. But I'm not sure it qualifies as "outback". I'm in Qld so all our roads and most of our towns qualify :)
Mind you we all have our own idea of what's outback. To me its driving for a week and having to be totally self contained, to my wife it's anywhere without a 5 star hotel.
What ? You don't have any snakes and spider in NZ ? No worries I'll send you some over free of charge. :)))
AnswerID: 101488

Reply By: Member - Karl - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 21:32

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 21:32
You could try Russel Guest 4WD Tours, they operate out of Melbourne and have a reputation. Do a search on the web or go through one of our 4WD Mags he usually advertises in them. Enjoy your trip - it will be rewarding.
AnswerID: 101501

Follow Up By: Lyds - Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 23:04

Monday, Mar 07, 2005 at 23:04
don't you mean Russell Coight? ;-)
FollowupID: 359424

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 14:42

Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 14:42
Unless you're planning on a 12 month trip you'll never get to see "the highlights of all that is on offer". This is a bloody big country mate where a two hour drive won't get you from coast to coast!
Why not get on the internet and have a browse for trips - there's heaps of tag-a-long operators. Once you narrow it down a bit then get back on here and see whether anyone else has used them and what their comments are.
Snakes and spiders (and scorpions and ants and wasps and all the other biting, stinging, itching critters and the bloody annoying flies) are part and parcel of the outback. Remove them and it will not be the Aussie outback! Surely you're not looking for a sterilised outback experience. Tell the women that there's no point going if those elements are missing.
AnswerID: 101577

Follow Up By: Pyalong - Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 15:18

Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 15:18
Gotta agree with moose....took 2 months to have a look around the kimberly and central aust (still wasnt long enough really)...planning another month this year...and another 3 months next year to look around some more....and reckon we still will not have got anywhere near the half way mark of seeing Aust!!!!...but you gotta start somewhere.
I have never done a tag along....but it would seem obvious to me...that taking women on along would be like throwing a huge anchor out the back of the convoy!!!.

very good luck to ya's,
Mick.
FollowupID: 359476

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 15:22

Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 15:22
It'll will take a week , just to get to the good outback stuff
AnswerID: 101585

Follow Up By: jaycee - Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 20:00

Tuesday, Mar 08, 2005 at 20:00
Well you know what the women folks are like, they get nervous if they're too far from a Mall.
FollowupID: 359502

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Mar 10, 2005 at 23:27

Thursday, Mar 10, 2005 at 23:27
Gaday Jaycee. One week ex Melb wont get you far into the outback but a possible loop would be. Melb to Broken Hill, Tiboorburra, Strezleki track, Gammon Ranges, Flinders Ranges, SA Border track & back to Melb. About 8 days if you rush. Would see a bit of out back history, gorges & sand dunes.
Given 2 weeks you could could do a run up the Oodnadatta track, Ayres Rock, Kings Canyon etc then back down via Coober Pedy.
Flying up to Alice Springs you may get better value in the Desert for a weeks 4WD hire as there are plenty of places to go there.
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 102015