Tailights on GU Patrol

Submitted: Monday, Jan 24, 2005 at 19:21
ThreadID: 19737 Views:2761 Replies:13 FollowUps:7
G'day All

Am I the only 1 in Oz that hates the lights set up on the GU? Notwithstanding ADR requirements (I assume to be the responsible party for the silly set up), I wonder how many others have ripped out the redundant lights and replaced them with something that actually works?

I understand and appreciate that registration requirements would still require the lights to remain operational in the rear bumpers, but why not the lights in the old traditional place? Have been told that the reason is that the drivers side lights cannot be seen from an angle owing to the spare tyre on the back door, but if you are only looking to add lights, I assume this is legal?

My reasons for asking are that I have ben run into ($1100 worth of new bits in the bumper and middle aluminium bar, and have narrowly escaped two other situations. I am beginning to wonder if the GU is partly invisible to some of those with whom we sahre the roads!

Len

Reply By: joc45 - Monday, Jan 24, 2005 at 19:59

Monday, Jan 24, 2005 at 19:59
Len, check this out:
http://www.offroader.com.au/features/new-nissan-patrol-gu-series-iii-tail-lights.cfm

Agree, they're stupid. And the number of times someone says that one reversing light has blown.
Quite a bit written on the Yahoo site as well.
Gerry
AnswerID: 94709

Reply By: Member - Browny (VIC) - Monday, Jan 24, 2005 at 20:15

Monday, Jan 24, 2005 at 20:15
L52,

Mate just do a search on this site and you'll see that you are by no means the only person who finds it stupid, beurocrisy (spelling!) red tape what ever at it's best, impossible to dispute that leaving the lights operational and adding the bumper lights to meet aussie regulations would have been a much more safer/practical/commoon sense thing to do.

Browny
AnswerID: 94711

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 09:54

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 09:54
I actually think the search button should be made bigger, maybe 6inches by 6inches? Nobody can EVER seem to find it..
FollowupID: 353666

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Jan 24, 2005 at 22:03

Monday, Jan 24, 2005 at 22:03
another aspect that peeee's me off is that if they become damaged you have to replace them or risk getting a defect from the boys in blue. they should be made functional or replaced with a steel body panel.
AnswerID: 94732

Reply By: Frshn - Monday, Jan 24, 2005 at 23:42

Monday, Jan 24, 2005 at 23:42
i suspect it's more likely nissan is penny-pinching. i think nissan might be forced to fit the bumper lights because the body lights don't meet the adr. bumper lights then being adr compliant, nissan worked out that they can get away with dummy lights on the body instead and also minimise the reverse-light count while they're at it.

imo, body lights don't contravene adr but having them is a cost nissan felt unnecessary.
AnswerID: 94756

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 18:19

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 18:19
Its the same with Toyota they have resisted though and made the 100series lights that large that they invite dings and bangs

FollowupID: 353736

Reply By: itisi - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 02:24

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 02:24
Me boy has a GU (not sure if it's 11 or 111) but has got the original taillights working. I think he said the setup from the 100 series Cruisers fits the Patrol.

Definitely penny pinching by Missin as the Jackaroo has the original t/lites as well as the bumper ones!!!!!!

Rod
AnswerID: 94764

Reply By: madcow - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 08:50

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 08:50
If the rear end is that badly damaged why not look at replacing it with a rear end bar from Kaymar etc. Talk to your repairer and insurance company and see if their is a price difference to have it fitted. Some of the suggestions above are good. I have yet to do mine yet but am heading to the big smoke next month and will try and source some OEM globe holders from the wreckers down there.

AnswerID: 94777

Follow Up By: Len52 - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 09:27

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 09:27

Seems I have stirred an old wound here! Was not aware that there had been previous discussion related to the GU lights. Mine is a 7/2004 4.2 TD6, which is a very good truck (allowing for the miserable tail lights and even more miserable reversing light!).

I was in Europe on holiday recently, and ended up having a look at a TD6 I saw in Germany. His lights worked, so I am assuming that the issue (while I accept the points about Nissan penny pinching) are probably more related to the wisdom of the ADR folks.

I intend to get to the bottom of this, as I am heartily sick of toads getting too close to the back of the truck when I brake. Lots of interesting things to follow up on here and I will do just that. If all else fails, I now have the contact details of the guy in Germany, and he said he'll get them for me from there. A more expensive and potentially risky route, but it seems silly to me to have a great truck spoilt by such dumb omissions.

Regards and thanks for the valuable comments - I am relieved to know I am not alone out there in hating the set up.

Len
FollowupID: 353659

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 09:57

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 09:57
Why contact anyone in Germany, if you read some of the 2389047239804279348729387243987 replies you will see many places in melbourne/sydney/perth/qld/didyabringyabeeralong sell them to people who have way too much money to waste.

Its nothing to do with penny pinching, its to do with ADR's. Search for Arab spec lights.

And as for the dude posting that 100 series lights fit in, put down the crack pipe son...
FollowupID: 353668

Follow Up By: itisi - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 02:19

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 02:19
Truckster

If you read the damn thing properly I didn't say the 100 series lights fit the Patrol cos I know they dont.

I was referring to the internal globe holder bits n pieces. And the quote was "I think"

As "me boy" lives 1200 k's away it's a bit hard to duckaround and check his setup.

So "dude" put it down your own crack pipe sonny...

There is no reason why Nissan coudn't leave the original tail light setup and add the extra bumper ones ala Jackaroo!!!!
FollowupID: 353794

Reply By: Len52 - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 10:39

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 10:39
Hi Truckster!

All contributions gratefully accepted on this issue, even those from readers who intentionally or otherwise added sump oil to their morning coffee! These forums are a very worthwhile resource.

Because I want to know, I am awaiting a call from someone at ADR (Dept of Transport in Canberra). I am brethless with anticipation to learn "why".

Len
AnswerID: 94795

Reply By: Old Johno [NSW] - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 17:49

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 17:49
G'day Len52, I have a 6/2004 4.2. and have all the rear lights working

I took the patrol to an auto electrician who drilled the rear of the light, set a Push in type of bulb fitting similar to those used in tail lights

Took him a couple of hours, cost me $180.00 & I have all blinker, stop, tail & reversing lights working. Lights the rear end up well of a night and allows cars back a bit to see what is happening [unless following another 4WD or truck.]

AnswerID: 94856

Follow Up By: Len52 - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 18:08

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 18:08
Old (?) Johnno

Now that sounds like the go! Would love to talk to you about this at some stage. Have looked at doing this in Brisbane, but so far, it all seems uphill.

Am aware you can purchase lights and wring from Melbourne, but at $400 odd, that sounds like the hard way. Need to do more work on this soon.

Have you had any issues with Transport Dept boys, the Police or anyone else?

Regards and thanks.

Len
FollowupID: 353734

Reply By: silva - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 19:21

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 19:21
Hello LEN
In Brisbane "Chermside Auto Electrics" will wire up all the lights for about $180.00.
Phone: 3359 2794
I will be getting my NISSAN (5/2004) done as soon as possible.
IAN
AnswerID: 94866

Reply By: Len52 - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 19:27

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 19:27
G'day Ian

Sounds like you are in BrisVegas as well. Thanks for that information. Will check with them.

It's amazing the number of people that you learn are unhappy with the damn lights, even those owners of the new model. I even had a guy at Nissan tell me last week that he was not aware of the problem!

Thanks again.

Len

AnswerID: 94867

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 19:47

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 19:47
I waqs quoted $280 to have the redundant lights installed and wired in Adelaide. I'll probably get round to doing it myself though eventually.
AnswerID: 94871

Reply By: Andrew - Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 20:18

Tuesday, Jan 25, 2005 at 20:18
ADRs say that the rear lights need to be visible from 45degrees to the side and the rear mounted spare prevent this. Nissans solution is the bumper mounted lights. A pain in the butt but still better than having the spare tyre underneath. It is legal to have both the bumper and body lights working.

On early GQs Nissan had a low cost option of having working body lights but this was rarely taken up by buyers so the option was eventually dropped. My 1991 GQ had both sets of ligts working. The GQ had a steel rear bumper so the lights were securely fastened but unfortunately the bumper had a habit of bending upwards and smashing the body mounted taillights.
AnswerID: 94874

Follow Up By: Member - Hugh (WA) - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 02:30

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 02:30
Hi Andrew,

The logic of this test is not clear to me.

Let's assume that to be viewed from 45deg, a trailing driver is in the LH lane and you in the RH lane.
* If you apply the brakes, then both brake lights and hi-brake light illuminate, so should be seen OK.
* If you wish to turn left, then also should be no problem seeing the LH indicator.
* If you wish to turn right, then perhaps cannot be seen but then the person behind in LH lane so no problem. If the person in same lane, then surely they'd see the RH indicator.

I am curious as to the logic that makes the standard lights not safe in Australia, yet OK everywhere else. And I am also assuming the rule makers forgot that people tow trailers. I know that trailers have lights, however it seems stupid to me that a simple 6x4 box trailer will obscure the lights of a Patrol.

Sorry Andrew I don't mean to be directing this at you. I own a Patrol and just think this a stupid ADR. Maybe someone will get to the bottom of the ADR and have a valid logic to present.

Hugh
FollowupID: 353795

Reply By: itisi - Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 02:23

Wednesday, Jan 26, 2005 at 02:23
Jackaroo's have both body and bumper lights setup as standard............

Check one out next time your out n about after dark!!!!!!!

AnswerID: 94938