Where to put the dual battery for my hilux

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 16:40
ThreadID: 18680 Views:8767 Replies:6 FollowUps:2
Can anyone suggest where I can put a dual battery in my '02 turbo hilux. There doesn't appear to be enough room in the engine bay, and I don't really want to put it in the ute tray.

Fyrman

Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 16:48

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 16:48
Hi Fyrman. Looks like you have run out of choices?? If you are going to tackle rough roads with lots of corrugations then the tray is really the only spot where you can properly anchor the battery. The engine bay does not afford you any reasonable anchorage points that will endure over time. I suggest that you mount it over the wheel well...best spot from my experience and you can still stack half a dozen gerries between the wheel wells. Cheers
AnswerID: 89385

Follow Up By: fyrman - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 16:53

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 16:53
Thanks Luxoluk.
The tray is looking like the only viable option and on the wheel well sounds like the most logical spot to mount it.

FollowupID: 348243

Reply By: Utemad - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 17:05

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 17:05
I have a mate with an '02 t/d Hilux SR5. He has a Pirahna setup from TJM which has the second battery on the drivers side behind the headlight I think. Has been a while since I have seen it. Was a decent size battery from memory.
AnswerID: 89389

Reply By: David Au - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 17:11

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 17:11
You will have to make the brackets, but you can put a gel cell under the tray. There is heaps of room as a friend of mine on a current model Hilux tray-back has a 60 litre water tank and a 150Ah battery under the tray.
AnswerID: 89390

Follow Up By: mikeyandmary - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 17:24

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 17:24
Is there any way of putting a second battery under a ute body?
FollowupID: 348244

Reply By: GRAEME - Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 19:47

Saturday, Dec 18, 2004 at 19:47
A mate with a turbo hilux has 2 odysey batteries in place of the original. The second battery is a 1200 and the starting battery is an 800 on it's side with a home made bracket holding them down. They sit fairly close to the a/c but they dont touch. My 2nd battery sits on the towbar on my dual cab hilux but that's with a tray.
Seen another one mounted under a ute in a specialy made box mounted directly above the diff. It looked like it would hit the diff but he said it didn't.
Graeme
AnswerID: 89396

Reply By: Glenno - Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 17:48

Sunday, Dec 19, 2004 at 17:48
Two Options.

The aftermarket trays include a bracket to move the radiator overflow resivour out of the way. This will allow you to drop in a 40 a/hr deep cycle right up tight behind the passengers headlight, running north south direction.

The other option is to install the battery tray, and purchase one of those orbital batteries as your starting batteries and install it on the aftermarket tray. One with the right CCA for the Turbo will fit on the aftermarket tray on its side from memory. Then replace the large original starting battery with something decent. From memory one of the 130A/hr Trogan deep cycles will drop in there neatly.

The second option has been done before so your local 4wd store / auto sparkie should be able to help.

Enjoy.

Glenn.
AnswerID: 89470

Reply By: time waster - Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 08:08

Monday, Dec 20, 2004 at 08:08
i have an 03 td d/cab and had the same problem you can fit one under the bonnet but 55ah is the biggest i ended up putting a 80ah exide extreme in the tray and made up a metal box so that the battery sits on top of the l/h wheel arch it works well there it is right out of the way and used an arb battery seperator
AnswerID: 89528