staun tyre deflators
Submitted: Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 22:59
cokeaddict
Anyone know the price of the kit please and if there are any "cons' or negatives in using these things.
Thanks in advance for the replies guys.
Reply By: Utemad - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:18
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:18
I think they are about $60 for a pack of 4 with a leather pouch. Positive is that your tyres are let down much faster. I set two to 20psi for beach and the other two to 25psi for bush. No more letting your tyre down a bit and then checking the pressure then letting some more out and checking again etc. You can also let down more than one tyre at once.
As for negatives I haven't found any yet. I've had
mine for 12 months and all is
well.
There are different coloured packages available now. TJM told me they have different pressure ranges e.g. 18-38psi or 28-48psi perhaps. However ARB told me there are no differences except that they are preset at different pressures at the factory (which you can easily change). ARB said they get a lot of people coming in and asking them to set them to a certain pressure so now you can buy them preset at various pressures already.
I don't know who was telling the truth (if either) and I already had
mine by then anyway but was just curious.
Mine came came from REPCO as they had the cheapest price.
If you let your tryes down a lot for whatever reasons then you will absolutely LOVE these things.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:38
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 10:38
Looks like TJM was right. According to the Staun website.
Follow Up By: Savvas - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 11:52
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 11:52
How much did Repco hit you for them?
Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 13:59
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 13:59
I just checked the receipt and they were $59.95
Reply By: chappobriz - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:25
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:25
Hi Coke,
I drive on
the beach a lot. I was given a set of these as a pressie. They are awesome! They make life very easy! I beleive they are 69.95 @ ARB.
Chappo
Reply By: gordon g - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:30
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:30
Highly reccomended and are about$60 for pack of 4.I got
mine at A.R.B. and they came set at 18p.s.i. but are very easy to set to any desired pressure.They are made of solid brass so will last a lifetime.
Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:39
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:39
I love em. I have two set at 18 and two at 28 psi. Quick reliable and easy, my kids let the tyres down for me.
Reply By: Member - Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:57
Sunday, Nov 21, 2004 at 23:57
Cokeaddict,
There are in fact three different range packs available.
The "standard" product is all you should require though.
This range is from 6psi-30psi and preset to 18.
As mentioned above you can set two for dirt use at say 28 and two for sand use at 18 or so. Or, one set for each use.
I have
mine colour coded with a dab of blue or red paint so I know which ones are set for each range.
Staun Deflators
Reply By: Member - glenno (QLD) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 00:11
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 00:11
$69.00 ARB
Reply By: Wazza (Vic) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 04:26
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 04:26
Got
mine for $65 at Opposite Lock. Drop a hint and you might get some for Xmas.
4wd Monthly had a special on last month for a 12 month subscription renewal, a set of Staun deflators and a $20 4wd Megamart Gift Voucher for $80 all up. There were then about 3 or 4 sets on Ebay going for up to $60-70 a set. Thought about getting the offer myself and selling them, but did not think I could get $60 for them .... until I saw these ones on Ebay. Too late now as it was a limited offer for a week or two.
Wazza.
P.S. we still need to catch up for that beer!
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 07:10
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 07:10
4x4 monthly have a deal going where u get a free set with a 10 issue subscription. Makes them almost free.
Reply By: GO_OFFROAD - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 07:55
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 07:55
When you set your 2 stauns at one pressure, and your other 2 at another, you then put a drop of super glue on the lock ring to hold it at your desired pressure, and draw a line in texta from the lock ring to the adjuster nut.
Then you can wind the adjuster nut out, [about 3 psi difference per 1/2 turn] or in, to the pressure you require, if it is different to what they are set at.
Reply By: Davoe - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 15:22
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 15:22
for beach work let the tyres down for 90sec = 6 minutes or 3 if there are 2 of you for soft sand another 30 sec = 8 minutes 4 minutes if there are 2 of you and another 30 sec if bogged. seriosly I reckon they are for people with 2 much money
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 18:37
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 18:37
Davoe mate........a bloke can have a beer with his mates whilst the stauns are at work........I don't have too much money......just a new kitchen and no camper trailer......grrrrrrr lol
Follow Up By: Davoe - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:41
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 19:41
a few beers mmmm now your making sense. I have a truckair pump and while it is reliable it takes nearly an hour to pump the tyres up (a few more beers) so I dont get to fussed about letting the tyres down manually. Got to replace that pump I reckon it is getting a bit tired - hey wait a minute we have got at least 3 spare blue tongues at work, would that be wrong?
Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 11:29
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 11:29
Hmm Now Davoe, using one of those blue tounges might be wrong , but using all three plumbed up in parralell would be just magnificent :-)))))
Reply By: Richard - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 21:00
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 21:00
Got my set through 4WD Monthly. Used to deflate with the fingernail and used a tyre pressure guage. An uncomfotable experience.
Used the Stauns for the first time last weekend. Screwed them in had a chat with the other guys and when they had done their job removed them.
Worth the subscription extension in my opinion.
Reply By: Peter 2 - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 21:07
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 21:07
Mine cost $60, as others have said two at 16 for sand and two at high 20's for bush work.
The bigger the tyre the more they (the stauns) are worth, there is a lot of air in a 37"x 12.5" tyre.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 22:22
Monday, Nov 22, 2004 at 22:22
I can let all my tyres down in the time it takes my brother to let down two. I've got 225/75 16 and he's got 35x12.5x15
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 07:36
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 07:36
Angelo,
We have had a set for over twelve months. Got them via a tale involving a lost mobile phone and a meet up with the guy that invented them. For quick, accurate airdown they are brilliant! For those like me who don't mind a yarn, they can be set to work and will stop working at the "set point pressure" while I stand around chin wagging!! No back ache from bending over holding the tyre valve in, no knee aches from squatting holding the tyre valve in! :-) As I NEVER drink beer BEFORE I go off road, I usually have a coffee while they're doing their thing!
I always check with my tyre guage that they have deflated accurately.
You will pay in the vicinity of $60-70 depending on where you buy them, Australian 4X4 Monthly is giving them away with subscriptions at present.
Reply By: brett - Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:02
Tuesday, Nov 23, 2004 at 13:02
I had trouble setting mine to a higher pressure, had them set to 18PSI but went to change it to 26psi for some offroad work and with them screwed all the way in the highest pressure I could get was between 24-26psi. supposed to be able to set to 30 something. Any ideas.....