Tubeless tyre repair kits
Submitted: Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 13:03
Michael
Has anyone first hand experience in using any of the tubeless tyre repair kits on the market ?
Which ones are good, and which would you not recommend?
Are the repairs permanent ?
Reply By: Utemad - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 14:04
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 14:04
I have a Safe-T-Seal (?) kit from ARB never had to use it. Cost $111. However the packet states that although the repair is classed as 'temporary', as it is applied from the outside of the tyre, the repair will outlive the tyre it is applied to.
I have seen some of these patch kits available from Autobarn for $10. However they didn't include many of the rope looking patches. The Safe-T-Seal kit has heaps. I assume the quality of the rope things is different too.
Reply By: Coops (Pilbara) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 14:29
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 14:29
I have the Tyrepliers unit and have used 2 plugs. They're still in the tyres after a further 20 000 km's and don't look like leaking.
I wouldn't go anywhere without carrying one of these kits whatever brand you decide on
Follow Up By: Michael - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 14:51
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 14:51
Also, guys,...
Does the tyre have to be empty of air before inserting the plug ?
My mechanic informed me that it was possible to repair a slow leak before the tyre went completely flat, but I find that hard to believe.
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 15:36
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 15:36
Yep,as soon as you find the hole ,wack a plug in it(easier to find full of air and a bit of water).I also have a Safe T Seal kit
Reply By: Member - Camper (SA) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 19:13
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 19:13
I ran for about 12 mths on a 'rope repair' in very worn Bridgestones with no worries.
Repair was to fix a nail hole.
Camper
Reply By: Phil G - Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:30
Sunday, Oct 03, 2004 at 21:30
I've used them lots and wouldn't be without them. Recently did the
Madigan Line and about 12 punctures between 3 of the vehicles. All were repaired on the vehicles with plugs, so we didn't have to change a tyre once.
Just get your pump out and put air back in so you can see where the leak is. Soapy water finds leaks easily. Move the vehicle forwards or backwards a bit if it helps. Then follow the instructions and put in a plug or two or three.
Different kits need different techniques - some supply a lubricant so the plug slips in easily; others need tyre glue. The ones with
tools with steel handles look best to me.
The repairs are not meant to be a permanent fix. You are supposed to get the tyre formally repaired when back in civilisation. Reason being that there may be internal damage which you can't see from the outside.
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 21:16
Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 21:16
Hey Phil, what type of tyres were you punchuring??
| Patrol 4.2TDi 2003
Somewhere you want to explore ? There is no time like the present.Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Phil G - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 23:16
Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 23:16
Hi Michael,
On the Madigan trip, 3 vehicles had no punctures - 2 were running MTRs and one BFGATKO and all ran low pressures. Another had identical BFGATKO and had 6 punctures and was running higher pressures; Another had Coopers AT with a couple of punctures; and another had Bridgestone D693 and had a few punctures.
A lot of punctures are due to too much pressure in the tyres, too much weight, and driving too fast on stony outback roads. I think this is more important than brand.
But the BFGATKO have a rubber ridge on their edge that catches sharp sticks and guides them straight in - not good in the rough stuff.
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 20:42
Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 20:42
Safety seal, used
mine 5 times and i reckon its already paid 4 itself..
| Patrol 4.2TDi 2003
Somewhere you want to explore ? There is no time like the present.Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: 28patrol - Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 23:36
Monday, Oct 04, 2004 at 23:36
Safety Seal, used twice without a problem. BUT they are only a temporary repair, legally you have to have a pro repair done asap