Blown 2H – Coincidence or what?
Submitted: Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 16:50
Member - Alex B
I have a HJ75 Troopy with a 2H motor with 330K on the clock & the truck is in exceptional condition. So a couple of weeks ago I had a mechanic check the compression etc with a view of putting on a turbo. The compression was
well within tolerances and he reported that it was a great unit. Last Friday they fitted new injectors and adjusted the fuel pump timing. I picked it up and as I was driving it home it felt better and I was pleased with they had done and I was thinking about how much better it was going to be when I put the turbo on….. 20 kms later the motor went off as if a spanner had been left it!
The outcome is that #2 cylinder is now cactus. I have to talk to my mechanic agin tomorrow morning & right down what he said it was because I couldn’t take it all in when he was talking to me yesterday (the unexpected cost of a new motor numbed my mind!) He said he tested the compression again and it was still good (is he covering himself?)
I just can’t help thinking that they may have done something to contribute or cause the premature demise of my motor. Could this just be a remarkable coincidence? One minute they have tested it and said that it’s great - then they have it for a couple of day’s and I get 30k’s out of it.
Anyone have any ideas or suggest any questions I should ask?
…Or a contact that will do a great price on a reconditioned 2H? (I’m
Melbourne based)
Alex
Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 17:13
Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 17:13
Hi Alex.
What actually happened to the engine?
three questions for you
1 - Were new injectors or reco units fitted
2 - Why was the pump adjusted
3 - Is trhe engine still running if so what are the symtoms?
To start get the injectors tested and also have another compression test done and check the tappet clearances
Ray
Follow Up By: Member - Alex B - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 21:47
Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 21:47
Hi Ray, it had been getting hard too rtart when cold and then would run rough for about a minit., during which time would blow alot of white smoke, and then a fair bit of black smoke at around 2000 revs & under load. Last week we changed the glo plugs but it didn't improve. Then this week we changed the injectors over even thought they were only replaced 30K ago and checked by another mob 10K ago - but everything was pointing to the injectors.
The injectors were/are reco's from HiFlo.
The pump was adjusted as part of "trying" to reduce the smokeing and improve the proformance.
The engine is still running. It idles along and as soon as you increase the revs a real loud "Tat-tat-ata- tat-tat" sounds appears . Sounded like a loose bolt on the fly wheel.
He tested the compression ands said that it was still fine.
He said that some small bit of something had broken off and was banging away in #2 cylinder - but I'll get exactly what it is tomorrow and let you know.
Thanks for your reply & ideas.
I'll add to this response tomorrow when I get the proper details
Alex
Follow Up By: Bundyman - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 15:33
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 15:33
Alex,
I would do a very simple test at home because it only sounds like a faulty injector to me. With the engine idling loosen off each injector line individually and see if the noise disappears. If it goes away on one particular cylinder it would point to a faulty injector (it would still be under warranty) and save you some big $$$$ rebuilding. Doesn't sound like a blown motor to me - nearly impossible in 30km, if the engine was all OK before they did the injectors etc. Just my opinion, but I wish you all the best cause otherwise the beer fund might be very low for a while.
Hughesy
Follow Up By: Member - Alex B - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 17:02
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 17:02
Hi Ray & Hugesy Unfortunately it turns out that a piece has broken off in the pre comp chamber and the #2 cylinder is now cactus. Saw it today and it's not pretty ...nor is the quote! The beer fund is going to take a very serious and unexpected hit!!
Thanks for your replies.
On the up side...and I am desperately looking for an up side...a new motor will fix my starting and smoking problem!:-))
Alex
Reply By: rock hoper - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 19:29
Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 19:29
i am i qld . and i rebuild 2h motors .
i do a custom cam shaft . that can produce 120 kw 40Nm torque ....
at 2000 rpm . (std 72 kw 230 Nm)
this was tested on a fully rebuilt motor ....
i will try to find some one in vic that can help you .......
Follow Up By: Member - Alex B - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 21:51
Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 21:51
G'day Roch hopper, sounds great.
I'm keen to find out more about it.
What's the best way to contact you?
Alex
Follow Up By: rock hoper - Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 21:54
Sunday, Sep 26, 2004 at 21:54
ph 07 46696639 mob 0408237653
7 days 6am to 8pm e-mail : tuff4by@dodo.com.au
Follow Up By: Rod E B - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 14:52
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 14:52
Rock hoper,
do you do 3f petrol engines or know who can really help me , not just say they can , I am in western
Sydney
I have a automatic (3speed with overdrive ) 1985 landcruiser and have had a lot of problems towing
with nothing on the back she purrs @ 2000 revs 110 kmh , must admit it slows somewhat on a
hill
love the old girl and would like to keep it but it back to 2nd on most hills
Is there any chance it could be the transmission
Rod
Follow Up By: Member - Brett H (QLD) - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 18:41
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 18:41
Why didn't you tell us about the up powered 2h before I sold my troopy last week...?? bugger
Follow Up By: rock hoper - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 20:25
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 20:25
3F motors ... i sell new cams .....
but i don't know how good they r for towing ...
i say your best bet would be to bump up the compreeion and run LPG .
may be even stroking it .... i have a frend who stroked a toyota H motor .
heaps more towing power . give me a ring and i will do my best to help u all .... ph 07 46696639 e-mail tuff4by@dodo.com.au
Reply By: Kiwi Ray - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 13:53
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 13:53
Hi Alex
White smoke is unburnt fuel.
Black smoke burnt fuel but with not enough air ( oxygen )
Hard starting causes:- glow plugs n/w, low compression, low fuel pressure, injectors not atomising correctly, leacking injectors ( either air or fuel ), poor air flow, engine not being cranked over quick enough ( poor battery or starter.
That noise could be fuel detonation, and can sound like an object on top of the piston.
Water geting into the combustion chamber can also present similar symptoms.
I think you need to take your truck to a good fuel injection place for them to check the symtoms, do not give away too much info, let them arrive at a diagnosis and see how that compares with what you alreadty know.
I can not make any suggestions as to firms as I am in NZ.
Some more to think about, but it may help.
Ray
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 14:19
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 14:19
Sometimes, touching these motors does things you dont want...you have been having starting and running problems...this points to glow/injecter problems, also could be the head, put new glowies in and fiddling with the timing could cause whatever was the problem to get worserer....like a precombustion chamber that was cracked could come loose, or anything like that. The only way you will find out is to pull the head off. You can firstly have the pump put in the correct timing, to see if it helps.
Does not sound like the whole motor is stuffed, but more like you will now need to fix the cause of the original smoking/now its got worse.
If you can, leave the bottom end alone
Follow Up By: Member - Alex B - Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 17:00
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 17:00
Hi Dozer, you were spot on...it seems that a piece has broken off in the pre comp chamber and the #2 cylinder is now cactus. Saw it today and it's not pretty ...nor is the quote!
Thanks for your reply.
On the up side...and I am desperately looking for an up side...a new motor will fix my starting and smoking problem!:-))
Alex
Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 18:15
Monday, Sep 27, 2004 at 18:15
Gday Alex
Not a good position to be in, but with some clear thinking, you may just come out of it in better shape.
Firstly, i would think your 2h is still work some coin how it is. I would start to look at piclkles.com.au for damaged turbo diesel 60 series cruisers....or there are a few others that NRMA use to sell their writeoffs.
Best scenario is you pick up a GXL 60 series and get a turbo motor for the cost of a turbo conversion to your old donk, plus sell the parts left over to pay for expenses...next idea is to buy a rusted out going 60 or 75.
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 17:21
Friday, Oct 01, 2004 at 17:21
Alex...on ebay at the moment is factory 12ht motors from QLD
gold coast for 7.5k
ph 0755967775
I know thats probably more than the repair bill, but your motor is still worth something as a rebuilder.
happy hunting