Fridge & Freezers

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 11:57
ThreadID: 149304 Views:824 Replies:15 FollowUps:21
Good day everyone, its about time for a new fridge/freezer combination. My 40+ year old Engel, whilst still going, must be due for retirement and is either fridge or freezer single zone unit. I am considering the National Luna dual zone 60 litre unit. It looks to have a setup which appeals to me but i am wondering if anybody has experience with these units. There are some reviews around which are not recent and are a bit yes/no. They are a bit expensive but sometimes you need to spend a bit for reliability, etc.
TIA - bruce
Back Reply Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Kazza055 - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 12:55

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 12:55
Hi Bruce, Jaycar have the 60L Brass Monkey Single or Dual Zone Fridge/Freezer with Removable Zone Divider out for $349.00 at the moment, I paid $599.00 a few years ago.

You could buy 3 or 4 of these for the price of one Luna.

AnswerID: 646969

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 05:45

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 05:45
Vast majority of these cheap fridges provide great value for money. I. I have several Brass monkey fridges and all 3 work fine and have done so for the last 5 years. The one in the boat takes a big hiding but is still going strong. I have a 15 year old engelthat has sttod the test of time. For the price of a new engel you can easily buy 4 good Brass Monkeys. I purchased locally and the dealer said that if I have a problem and they cannot fix it within 30 minutes they would provide a new fridge.. As he said...great if your travelling and have an issue.
FollowupID: 927770

Follow Up By: Kazza055 - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 11:25

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 11:25
Here is a very good review on them - A Review Of The Popular Brass Monkey Fridge

I don't need a fridge that will last 40 years as by that time I will be 112 years old.

I doubt if any fridge these days does not contain parts that are made in China or India etc. Forty years ago Engel and Waeco were probably the only portable fridge you could buy but now there is heaps of competition and the likes of Jaycar and RTM provide an excellent service network.
FollowupID: 927778

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Thursday, Dec 19, 2024 at 06:37

Thursday, Dec 19, 2024 at 06:37
Kazza055,

It could be something that you could pass on to your children or grandchildren.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 927791

Reply By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 13:26

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 13:26
Stick with an Engel, the original and best car fridge in Australia

Before the other jump in to criticise me…tell me another brand will give you 40 years of service

AnswerID: 646971

Follow Up By: b1b - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 17:56

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 17:56
G'day Stephen - The old Engel has done well ever since i have had it, but really after a dual zone unit. Maybe I should get the little 28 litre to use as a freezer. Not quite sure if i could fit both in the back of the car with all the other stuff i seem to carry. But you're correct, the Engel is a trusted unit.
FollowupID: 927759

Follow Up By: Stephen L (Clare) SA - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 18:48

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 18:48
Hi B1 B

Are you aware that Engel have made dual zone fridges for years?

FollowupID: 927760

Follow Up By: Member - rocco2010 - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 20:00

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 20:00
Yes Stephen, the main complaint I hear about Engels is the price.

I have one my father bought in the 1970s. Cleaning out my mother's  house a year or so ago I found the warranty registration card he had filled in but forgotten to post!  He never had a warranty claim.

I don't use it on trips as its smaller than the modern one I have and I suspect it uses a bit more power than its modern equivalent but it's handy for a weekend picnic.

FollowupID: 927762

Follow Up By: b1b - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 21:01

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 21:01
Yes, I had forgotten about the dual zone Engel, did have a look at them some time ago, but there is an stockist close to me so i can go and have another inspection. There were a couple of things that i wasn't keen on (price being one) but then again, reliability is a big thing.
thanks for reminding me Stephen
FollowupID: 927764

Reply By: Member - pedro1 - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 15:41

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 15:41
Going by the number of 4 year old car fridges in for repair, you may be better off staying with the oldie. As a point of note, the fridge repairer told the reliable German manufacturer of the Danfoss compressor was sold to a Chinese company . Say no more !
AnswerID: 646973

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 23:01

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 23:01
Do you have a link for that sale to China pedro1?
It seems that Secop (the designer/manufacturer of Danfoss compressors for 15+ years) is still a German company. Their compressors have been made in Slovakia and China for much of that time.
Wikipedia - Secop
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 927766

Follow Up By: Member - pedro1 - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 01:23

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 09:14

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 09:14
Thanks.
I can only see the headline, but there is no suggestion that this affects the compressor manufacture ownership?
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 927771

Reply By: Bricky - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 16:13

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 16:13
I'm sure the National Luna are a good fridge. Might be worth also checking out the Trailblaza. Made by Norcoast Refrigeration....Sunshine Coast I think.
I've had a 40lt fridge only since '96 and hasn't missed a beat.
Not saying they are better, just another option.
AnswerID: 646974

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 16:38

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 16:38
I wouldn't buy a bigger sized Brass Monkey. They are a budget brand. We have a 25L unit ($169 on a one day special) just for weekends and grocery shopping for our Sedan. It's good for that purpose but reviews overall are average over the entire range. I'm thinking about replacing my 25yo 90L Liemack Fridge with something around 70 L and after much research, I think I may go for a 75L KickAss Fridge freezer. They have had them made for some years in China with a few issues in the earlier model but the latest model seems sound with a 5 year warranty. Around $1000 with a H/D slide. Do your own research, I'm sure there are plenty of other good fridges around. When it comes to fridges, you definitely get what you pay for. Michael

AnswerID: 646975

Follow Up By: IvanTheTerrible - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 19:53

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 19:53
I have a 65 and a 75L Brass Monkey and for the price I cant fault either one. After breaking two leading brand fridges I wont be wasting my money on expensive fridges again.
FollowupID: 927761

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 20:08

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 20:08
Ivan, that's great, yes that's the way it goes sometimes. Michael

FollowupID: 927763

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 20:41

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 20:41
Another option to consider is the Australian made Evakool range
AnswerID: 646977

Follow Up By: b1b - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 21:07

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2024 at 21:07
yes, i have had a look at them, probably the 50litre unit, and they are certainly in the running for a collection. As with any thing, there is a couple of things that I am not keen on, but being Australian made is an incentive.
FollowupID: 927765

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 07:00

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 07:00
Hi b1b,

I would choose an Engel, yes they are expensive, but they have so far outlasted most other brands. I have a 60 Ltr. Engel that is over 20 years old, lives in the back of my wagon, and a 35 Ltr. Waeco that is over 15 years old, which I use as a freezer from time to time.

If price is the issue, Waeco/Dometic is a less expensive option than an Engel, another one with a long history of operating in harsh conditions in Australia. My Coolman fridges are another less expensive brand. They are designed and manufactured in Germany and if you think they look like a Waeco you would be correct, the designers used to work for Waeco. Both these brands manufacture dual zone fridges in various sizes. Personally, if changing from a single zone to a dual zone, I would be looking at a 90 Ltr.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 646978

Reply By: Garry L - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 07:50

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 07:50
Bruce

12 volt fridges are like wives - some blokes end up with a good one requiring no maintenance, no issues and last forever. Other blokes end up with a troublesome one requiring constant maintenance, expensive to run and never ending problems !

When I ran my outback tour business I had three fridges - 60 litre Engel, 60 litre Trailblazer and a 40 litre Engel. The 60 litre Engel needed workshop repairs four times in ten years the 40 litre went to the workshop twice and the Trailblazer just happily lived permanently on the back of my tray top in the elements.

One trip in the deserts there were seven different brands of fridges in the group and when the temperature hit 40 plus degrees the only fridge that kept its contents at it's set temperature was the Trailblazer. Only problem with the Trailbazer is it's size compared to other fridges.

I also have had the same 50 litre Waeco in my last two space cabs behind the passenger seat for 20 years with only one visit to the workshop needing a new control panel - I'm happy with it.
I also have a 60 litre ARB fridge in my Landcruiser wagon that has performed extremely well without issue but I've only had it seven years !

Good luck with whatever you purchase.

Gazz

AnswerID: 646980

Follow Up By: b1b - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 11:04

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 11:04
My Engel is 40+ years of service and gives me few problems, the warden, however, has 50+ years on her and is starting to need a bit of maintenance and does give me a bit of grief from time to time. Don't think I should start looking for a new one just yet.
bruce
FollowupID: 927774

Reply By: North 200 - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 09:11

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 09:11
Our National Luna 60 litre unit has been going strong for ten years, we only use it as a freezer. We run it for 9 months a year at -18 degrees without any problems.
AnswerID: 646981

Reply By: Member - LeighW - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 09:29

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 09:29
Another for waeco, have had four waeco/dometic units, two upright 80Ltr freezer fridges and two portables all have worked ok.

The thermsotates in the uprights can be tempremental in cold climates which does seem odd for a unit coming from Europe.

The portables run ok but I have found if you add an additional cooling fan they run more efficiently at the expense of some added noise.
AnswerID: 646982

Follow Up By: b1b - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 11:07

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 11:07
Thanks - I still have a Waeco in the back and the only two things are the size (a bit small) and only a single zone. Haven't discarded them from my thought pattern yet but time to look around.
bruce
FollowupID: 927775

Reply By: Member - peter g28 - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 12:06

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 12:06
I will add to the fridge debate..
I have three 12v compressor fridges.
My original I got back in 2007, I call Kevin07, because we got that $750.00 cash payment, so with that in my cold clammy hands, I went and bought a Bushman 35-50ltr fridge at the Brisbane Caravan Show. That fridge is still going strong in 2024...I've had that fridge in the back of the Paj in East Arnhem Land, during days of 34c 80% humidity out in communities..the Bushman did not miss a beat..it uses 4-5amps on startup and about 4amps running @2c with the fridge set up at 52ltrs.
So for $750.00 for a Bushman 35-52ltr compressor fridge in 2007, whilst an Engel 40ltr was $1200, the Bushman proved its worth.
Just in passing, interestingly last week, I have noticed a couple of the NSW Health Pathology vehicles having Bushman Fridges in cargo compartment of their Rav4's.
The other fridge is an Evakool 80ltr which I have in the Campertrailer, bought it from Tentworld on a $200 off sale, it has been very good and after 5 years has proven to very reliable and keeps both compartments at their maintained their temps very well.
When we were in Western NSW / Qld during some hot weather, the Evakool maintained both compartments at their individual temps and the power draw was only 5-6amps on start up and 4amps running.
I bought the Evakool to replace the 80ltr Engel dual compartment as it was quite noisy when cycling and due to its' design flaw was not keeping the fridge compartment below 5c, sometimes it would read 8-10c.
National Luna do have a good reputation but as you have noted they are expensive, but I find reliability V's cost of purchase is "within the eyes of the beholder", as there are so many permutations.

AnswerID: 646985

Reply By: RMD - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 12:33

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 12:33
b1b
I bought an Engel 39L long ago and found it to be noisey with the Solenoid gas pump. No SWING motor as they claim. Nothing swings at all, simply reciprocating. It was either made with LOW gas or they don't like hot weather, as it is VERY slow to cool the internals, struggles in hot ambient weather and always has been that way. Engel dealer in Alice tested it and said ALL OK. but it isn't really.
I fitted fans to it LONG BEFORE ENGEL ever did with later models. My opinion is the insulation while claimed to be space age isn't particularly good. With fans and a heavy insulated cover, I mean HEAVILY Insulated it works acceptably.
For ANYONE wanting a fast cool down fridge to drag the temp of contents to 4C or even freeze it takes ages. I have a small Waeco and an OLD small Engel and both cool or freeze fairly quickly.
Even if you have the Engel tested by a Professional, doesn't mean it is actually working properly.

My small plastic case Engel I received from a dealer and it wouldn't work. Someone had butchered the circuit board for some reason. Fixed t but I was shocked to see this one dealer had a great pile of DEAD ENGELS out the back, and although the term. "you couldn't jump over the pile" is commonly used. This was the case. I have never seen so many dead fridges of one brand. Luckily mine still works. Son in law had a 40 L Engel on back of ute. After a lightning storm it was Cactus.

Keep using the one you have as either a fridge, or a freezer if it gets cold enough! A small one as a freezer would be my preference and if one fails you always have a backup/emergency. An all in one means total loss when it won't work.
AnswerID: 646986

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 13:21

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 13:21
RMD, like you, I found my first fridge, an Engel, to be very noisy. Carried in the car, not the camper it was tolerable, just. But when I placed it on the floor of the camper the whole camper resonated like a squadron of Mustangs taking off!! I needed to construct a complex sound isolation base for it. I was glad to see it go when we purchased the Troopy complete with a Waeco whose only problem was a flimsy plastic lid lock which I rebuilt from aluminium.

Incidentally, I think the reason it is called a “swing” motor is because the Japanese cannot pronounce “reciprocating”.

FollowupID: 927784

Follow Up By: RMD - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 17:31

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 17:31
Thanks Allan.
It never occurred to me that is was because of speech difficulty!
FollowupID: 927787

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 18:03

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 18:03
I was only kidding. I haven’t got a clue actually. But it may be possible that the Japanese word to describe “oscillate” translates into “swing”.

FollowupID: 927790

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Thursday, Dec 19, 2024 at 06:55

Thursday, Dec 19, 2024 at 06:55
RMD & Allan B,

My experience with Engel is completely opposite to yours. The 60 Ltr. Engel I have has performed extremely well for over 20 years, bought in early 2004. It has always lived in the back of my vehicles, 3 wagons, in all that time. Have never found it noisy, I have even slept beside it in the car on one occasion, it has performed extremely well in all that time. Only issue has been having a thermistor replaced in 2006 I think. Travelled the GRR, Mereenie Loop road, Gunbarrel Highway, Peninsular Development/Bamaga Road, Tanami Track. It cools down quickly, and maintains temperature without any issues. Perhaps I have been lucky.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 927792

Reply By: Batt's - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 13:41

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 13:41
It's always a hard question to get the answers you are looking for isn't it? I looked up some reviews and they don't seem any more reliable than any other brand.
Maybe if your going to be doing some travelling around a bit picking a brand that is available for easy access if you have issues and can be replaced under warranty straight away instead of a brand that might have you out of action for an annoying length of time it's a hard one.
I currently have 4 different brands of fridges the oldest a 20yr old Evakool pretty reliable with the old dial thermostat and has less electronics to play up like digital display fridges in saying that 2 of my fridges have digital display. I have a Kings centre console fridge which is a bit over 3 yrs old and has been good and they have outlets around the country so can hopefully be replaced fast if issues arise. Sorry for the odd reply but as said it's a hard one we have our own experiences lots seem to like the Brass Monkey I had one and never again it worked good while sitting still but played up half an hour into a journey. Each shop deals with customers differently they doubted me and tested the fridge incorrectly overnight on a factory floor then had to keep it for a 2nd day to test it in a travelling vehicle then they reluctantly refunded me because the didn't have a replacement fridge but still saying they found no fault with it when I knew it had an issue so that put me off the brand.
AnswerID: 646990

Reply By: Glenn M8 - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 16:32

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 16:32
Hi b1b
So far in my travels I have used Engel, Trailblazer, Waeco and Evakool. Each have their own benefits and I would buy any 3 of the four again. I had a Waeco upright and it was the most power hungry fridge I have ever experienced. The Engel I had for 13 years and sold it to buy the Trailblazer as I needed a larger fridge to complete the Canning Trip I had planned. The 70l Trailblazer is now 24 years old and still running like the day I bought it. Used as a fridge freezer combo with bottom half freezer top fridge. Two of us can fit 3 weeks worth of frozen food in the freezer and run two trays in the top, 1 for drinks and 1 for other fridge items.
Recently got a new camper that has a 70l evakool with fridge and freezer compartments. The freezer sits at -13 constantly and on trips we are able to make ice for our afternoon cocktails.
Ultimately your choice but from experience the Trailblazer or an Wvakool are worth considering.
AnswerID: 646991

Follow Up By: b1b - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 16:56

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 16:56
Ice for your afternoon cocktails ?... I don't think I need to comment !
Nice
Cheers - bruce
FollowupID: 927786

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 17:45

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 17:45
You mean to say you drink your cocktails Sans ice Bruce !
Dave.
FollowupID: 927789

Reply By: Daniel G3 - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 17:44

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2024 at 17:44
I have had an Evakool ED70 fridge for 23 years which is still going strong. It does use 3.5 amps (cycling) to maintain zero degrees.
My son in law has a newer 110 litre Evakool which only uses 2.5 amps to maintain zero degrees.
Engel has a very good reputation but is also priced at the top end.

Daniel
AnswerID: 646992