Removing Mud stains on Galvanised chassis

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 05, 2024 at 20:35
ThreadID: 149006 Views:912 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
Hi Guys I have some serious Red Mud Stains on my Galvanised Caravan chassis, what’s the Best Product to Remove it and the Method.Thanks
Back Reply Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Bricky - Tuesday, Nov 05, 2024 at 20:57

Tuesday, Nov 05, 2024 at 20:57
I've had a bit of success by mixing a concentrated brew of truck wash.
Mix in a cheap garden pressure sprayer, spray on and leave. Doesn't matter if it dries. Then pressure wash off.
AnswerID: 646772

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Tuesday, Nov 05, 2024 at 22:30

Tuesday, Nov 05, 2024 at 22:30
Ok This might sound Dumb but I’ll Spray it on the A Frame and it Runs straight off
FollowupID: 927488

Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 07:10

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 07:10
It does not matter how much runs off, you just need to spray enough on to wet the surface. Wet the surface a few times and let it dry each time. After a few applications, then use the pressure sprayer.

FollowupID: 927491

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Tuesday, Nov 05, 2024 at 21:02

Tuesday, Nov 05, 2024 at 21:02
https://www.bunnings.com.au/chemtech-1l-rust-off-remover_p1107356

It is an acid based cleaner but works
AnswerID: 646773

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Tuesday, Nov 05, 2024 at 22:32

Tuesday, Nov 05, 2024 at 22:32
How did you Apply it mate ,because mine is in the A Frame.Thanks
FollowupID: 927489

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 06:46

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 06:46
Just use a trigger spray bottle
FollowupID: 927490

Reply By: Member - David M (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 05, 2024 at 21:53

Tuesday, Nov 05, 2024 at 21:53
If it's WA red iron oxide stains I use aluminium cleaner from the auto shop. Also good for cleaning nuggets. :)
Dave.
AnswerID: 646774

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Tuesday, Nov 05, 2024 at 22:28

Tuesday, Nov 05, 2024 at 22:28
It’s Red Mud from the NT
FollowupID: 927487

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 09:36

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 09:36
Leave it on as a Badge of Honour.

FollowupID: 927493

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 09:52

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 09:52
We drove a Mini from Adelaide to Darwin in 1967.
Margaret still has Tupperware from that trip with ground-in red stains.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 927494

Follow Up By: RMD - Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 12:43

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 12:43
Peter,
So does the mini.
FollowupID: 927496

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 14:06

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 14:06
Sadly, I expect the Mini would have gone to the smelter long ago. :(
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 927497

Reply By: RMD - Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 07:09

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 07:09
Greendog
Have you tried Vinegar? ie ACETIC ACID ! It removes calcium scale and other natural scale from surfaces and might work ok on the stain associated with earth staining.
AnswerID: 646775

Reply By: Member - Jim S1 - Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 11:53

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 11:53
I wouldn’t be using anything acidic. Maybe some truck wash and a pressure hose. Red oxide stains are OK.
Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

AnswerID: 646777

Follow Up By: RMD - Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 12:39

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 12:39
Truck Wash is acidic, that is why it lifts the dirt off. Most if not all carpet cleaners are slightly acidic too. If not, they don't clean carpet well at all! Any secondhand car whose engine bay is clean and nice has been washed with a hydrochloric solution.
FollowupID: 927495

Reply By: Member - Jim S1 - Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 13:15

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 13:15
Chemtech CT18 Superwash Truck Wash

This one is ph neutral ….. so they say .

Jim
"Sometimes I sits and thinks, and sometimes I just sits." A fisherman.

"No road is long with good company." Traditional

AnswerID: 646778

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 18:46

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 18:46
As well as Chemtech CT-18, (DON’T leave it on any gloss surfaces for more than 1 hr!) there’s these other 2 products that have good reviews.

Available at the big green shed. My BIL swears by it!

Bought mine from local hardware, also available online. And anyone that has bore water scale on their windscreen, get some FINE or SUPERFINE steel wool from your hardware or the BGS.

AnswerID: 646781

Follow Up By: RMD - Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 21:32

Wednesday, Nov 06, 2024 at 21:32
G'day Bob.
I see it says Don't Swallow, fair enough, but just "Gargle Only" I presume. It probably cleans out pipes too.
FollowupID: 927500

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 07, 2024 at 15:49

Thursday, Nov 07, 2024 at 15:49
Silvo is great for windscreens and mirrors.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

FollowupID: 927502