Using 3 way fridge

Submitted: Monday, Aug 05, 2024 at 08:09
ThreadID: 148113 Views:2123 Replies:8 FollowUps:33
I am new to caravaning. When I had my tow ball put on, I asked for an isolation switch to be added. (Who knows where that is, under bonnet I presume). I have since had two more solar panels put on the roof and thought I could run my fridge on 12V from the house battery when stationary. After paying thousands of dollars I am now told by the installers that my type of fridge which is not a compression fridge is only designed for battery use when driving along. Is this true? The only other things atm that I am using 12V for is water pump and lighting which is overkill for the amount of panels and extra battery I now have if I can’t run fridge on battery when stationary. I did try running on house battery overnight & even though the volt gauge showed 13, the freezer was defrosting in the morning. This is as clear as I can get, sorry. I would really like to understand how it all works & get some clarity before I take off on a long trip. Thanks Gail
Back Reply Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Aug 05, 2024 at 10:25

Monday, Aug 05, 2024 at 10:25
Gail, absorption fridges are very hungry on 12V power. The smallest fridges will draw up to 15A of current continuously. That means that over a 24-hour period, they will draw 360 Ah of current. If you only have a 100 to 120 Ah battery, you will discharge that battery to a very low discharge level in six hours, give or take. If you have a larger two door fridge, your fridge may draw up to 25A of current and you will run out of power much quicker than that. Or to put it another way, running a three way fridge from your battery without the motor running is more savage than forgetting to switch your headlights off.