HF Radio Setups

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 20, 2024 at 22:12
ThreadID: 147878 Views:921 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
Hey everyone, I'm looking into getting a HF setup for some truips over the coming years. I am curious though on how do you connect to a specific network, eg: HFRC or VKS. Do you have to configure the radio to talk on their networks?

Also, what brand and models would be best for a new user, Codan or Barrett. Obviously being a newbie I don't want to spend a ton but want something that will last a few years.

Just curious at this stage.
Living life, one coffee at a time

My Profile  My Position  Send Message

Back Reply Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Pepper - Friday, Jun 21, 2024 at 09:44

Friday, Jun 21, 2024 at 09:44
I have owned both barrett and codan radios and been a member of all networks .

For me both barrett and codan are excellent uniys..i found barrett easier and simpler to use.. codan has multifunction buttons which i think are
Confusing..

You pay for membership to each network and get frequencies programmed into the radio as required..

You can buy older second hand radio sets as low as about $500 etc..

Barrett has served me very well with after sales service for years..

You will join a great aust wide helpfull community..
AnswerID: 646049

Reply By: Member - TroyR - Friday, Jun 21, 2024 at 10:10

Friday, Jun 21, 2024 at 10:10
Thanks for the info. Can you program the frequencies for each network yourself? I have a strong IT background and am happy to learn new tech

AnswerID: 646050

Follow Up By: Pepper - Friday, Jun 21, 2024 at 11:19

Friday, Jun 21, 2024 at 11:19
I dont have the skills to program them ,i have paid a small fee each time..note when you join a network they will often have someone that can do the programming or assist..just ask..

You may be able to program it ..instructions are available..
FollowupID: 926516

Reply By: Member - dirvine - Friday, Jun 21, 2024 at 13:35

Friday, Jun 21, 2024 at 13:35