Slideon Campers
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 08, 2023 at 21:56
Member - Murray R (VIC)
In past years there were quite a few members who traveled with slideon campers like Trayon, Travalander,Active, Carry Me. etc. Are there any members who still travel with a disignated ute camper or have you graduated to a caravan. I've been using one for the last 20 odd years and are on my 2nd one now,and still find it agreat way to travel.
I know that there is no perfect way to travel as all modes have their advantages and disadvantages and are still waiting for the perfect solution. Till that time I'll stick with my slideon, so let us know if you,ve got one.
Murray
Reply By: @Yackandandah - Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 07:56
Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 07:56
Metalink GLR
Love our Metalink GLR canopy.
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 08:39
Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 08:39
Kevin
Nice set up,similar to my first one but canvas top, it travelled 250,000km in 15 years before l built my current one.
Murray
Reply By: Gbc.. - Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 08:19
Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 08:19
Where you camped in the
Boulia caravan park a month back? If not it was a very similar rig. I did cast a few admiring glances in its direction.
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 08:45
Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 08:45
Gbc
I've been to
Boulia a few times but not recently. The camper you saw was probably Gecko which I used the concept of to build
mine.
Murray
Reply By: Tim Owen - Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 12:18
Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 12:18
I'm still getting around in my Carry Me Camper (and another similair with rear fold
Southern Cross Canvas set up). Packing up wet is tiresome, and when we were stuck in a few days of heavy rain in FNQ recently - I was starting to wish we had something else. We love it for dry weather touring.
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 12:55
Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 12:55
Tim
That was the reason l built the second camper as we 4 days of rain with nowhere to retreat to except the ute or the tent top. l agree they excellent for dry weather touring.
Murray
Reply By: tonysmc - Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 23:41
Thursday, Nov 09, 2023 at 23:41
I’ve been using a slide on for over 35 years now and find it fantastic. Quick to set up and pack away and being off the ground can set up anywhere and go anywhere. I look at the expense and gear that goes into some canopy set ups and yet you end up sleeping on the ground. Yes that’s camping but when it’s raining muddy, lots of ants or creepy crawlies around its nice being up off the ground in something you can stand-up in,
cook and sleep. Takes 10 min to take off and 15 to put on if I want to leave it behind.
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Friday, Nov 10, 2023 at 08:44
Friday, Nov 10, 2023 at 08:44
Tony
For all those reasons that is why we still have ours . We prodomitly tour so ours is a permenant fixture while away and comes off when back
home .
Murray
Reply By: Richard M29 - Friday, Nov 10, 2023 at 00:13
Friday, Nov 10, 2023 at 00:13
I haven't got one nor have we had one. We have an Hardfloor camper trailer. I have always liked the trayon, especially the one that came on a trailer, with shower and
toilet on board, expected that to be quite popular, but obviously it wasn't as they stopped making them I believe
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Friday, Nov 10, 2023 at 08:51
Friday, Nov 10, 2023 at 08:51
I didn't know that Trayon made a trailer version. It would be a litte crampped inside with
toilet & shower l would think .
Murray
Follow Up By: Member - Happy Explorer - Friday, Nov 10, 2023 at 09:24
Friday, Nov 10, 2023 at 09:24
Richard - They had an extra module in front of the main accommodation with the
toilet shower and accessible from the outside. Alternately one could mount a storage locker in that space if I remember correctly. I too thought it would have been a winner.
Roy
Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Friday, Nov 10, 2023 at 09:45
Friday, Nov 10, 2023 at 09:45
About 30 years ago we bought a cheap second hand slide-on which we put on a Holden
WB 1 tonner. It was overloaded so swapped to an F350 4WD. We had that for about 10 years and had an absolutely great time in it.
BUT taking it on and off was a PITA and we found it was better to leave it on so we could be ready to leave
home at a moments notice, which we often did on a Friday afternoon after work. It was my daily driver.
Leaving it on permanently allowed the vehicle to be registered as a motorhome instead of a truck, saving lots in rego fees.
That vehicle led directly to building the OKA.
Advantages of a motorhome compared with the slide-on included a much lower CofG because all water is under the chassis instead of above it and the weight of the tray disappears.
F350 and slide-on.
OKA196 motorhome
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2023 at 19:58
Sunday, Nov 12, 2023 at 19:58
Leaving
mine permanently on would be great, but the Ute is my daily drive and l use it as a tray regularly.
Murray
Reply By: MickO - Thursday, Dec 21, 2023 at 17:12
Thursday, Dec 21, 2023 at 17:12
Just recently upgraded Murray, as a retirement present to myself. No more climbing to the top of the tucker truck to get in and out. Room for a chair inside and wait for it....a diesel heater. Man I'm going soft. Couldn't be hap[pier with my Jacksons hard lid camper. Took delivery in March this year and it was more of less christened immediately with two trips to outback WA. Very comfy and I reckon I'm good for another 20 years of outback camping now.
Mick
Out with the old........
In with the new! 2023 Jacksons Hard Lid camper
In with the new! 2023 Jacksons Hard Lid camper - Pilbara
Follow Up By: Member - Murray R (VIC) - Friday, Dec 22, 2023 at 08:08
Friday, Dec 22, 2023 at 08:08
Mick
The first one that l built was climb up to sleep and scoot around on your bum to get dressed, soon got the gas axe out and cut a hole in the back fitted a door and made an area big enough to stand up. Served me
well for 15yrs then built the current one 5yrs ago which suits us better in slightly older age but still not soft enough to have a diesel heater lol maybe one day.
Murray