Airconditioning on a Toyota Coaster

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 08:18
ThreadID: 145153 Views:5641 Replies:6 FollowUps:13
Hi there

I know that there are lots of smart people on this forum, so I reckon I can get some advice. I just bought my workplace's 2006 Coaster. It's got that really efficient, zippy Hino engine in it. Anyway, I do want to convert it into a 'retirement home' eventually, but in the meantime, a mate of mine is keen to help me make some money from it on weekends, and have some fun. We're thinking hen's/buck's, other events.

The problem is that it doesn't have aircon. I can picture some pretty uncomfortable passengers when the weather's hot. Personally, I don't like aircon, but I think I'll need to install it while using it for groups. What do you think is the best way to install aircon so that it's cooling the bus as we're transporting our drunken passengers? Any good ideas? Maybe just get factory aircon installed? Might cost a small fortune?

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 08:42

Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 08:42
Hi Paul,

On a “coaster” type bus, I think the only Airconn that might be efficient would be the roof mounted caravan type ones. However, these run off 240 volt power, so you would need plenty of battery, and an inverter. Unless you can find a 12 or 24 volt equivalent. The larger coaches use a large Airconn unit driven from the vehicles engine. I think on a coaster bus that would be very high in fuel consumption, and possibly too heavy and too large for the vehicle.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 642393

Follow Up By: Paul S53 - Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 10:31

Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 10:31
Thanks for that info, Macca. I was thinking that may be the case. As Peter has also suggested, I think it may just be better to turn it into a nice motorhome sooner rather than later.

Have a nice day.

FollowupID: 921933

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 10:58

Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 10:58
Paul,
Check out Red Dot aircons. Roof mounted units, they are fitted to heaps of heavy prime movers, working in extreme conditions.

FollowupID: 921936

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 09:23

Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 09:23
Our OKA was a tour bus in its previous life. The compressor was the standard engine belt driven affair but it had an extra evaporator and fan unit mounted on the roof and extensive ceiling mounted duct work.

Before you get carried away though, check the regulatory requirements of a tour bus. They require extra (read expensive) annual inspections and insurance. Such was the cost of those, I converted ours to a "motorhome" in one weekend with a few sheets of chip board and other stuff I had laying around.
Also, a tour bus can not be more than 20 years old, no matter what condition it is in, so they have a limited life in that role.
OKA196 motorhome
AnswerID: 642394

Follow Up By: Paul S53 - Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 10:32

Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 10:32
Hi Peter

I was wondering if there may be some legal issues in regard to using it as a tour bus. Thanks for clearing that up. I'll give the idea away and party on the bus with family and friends instead.

Enjoy your day.

FollowupID: 921934

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 10:36

Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 10:36
Check, because I expect that it varies from State to State.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 921935

Reply By: qldcamper - Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 11:25

Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 11:25
If the kits are still available the easiest is to install a factory kit.
There are many hidden headaches to address.
Whilst working in town I installed a system in a similar sized bus which consisted of a head unit similar to a split system which involved removing the headlining and fabricating steel mount braces, cutting holes in the headlining to suit the brackets then concealing the 3 hoses and wiring harness, it was a nightmare.
The rest, compressor, condenser, dryer and hoses were straight forward.
It worked very well when we tested it but on the road at curtian vehicle angles the water in the evaperator unit sloshed and was picked up by the fan and wet the driver and front passenger.

If you can get a factory kit then go for it.
AnswerID: 642395

Follow Up By: Paul S53 - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 14:59

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 14:59
Hi there

It does sound like a lot of work. I think I'll just go with a decent fan or two, insulation and tinted windows.

Thanks for the reply.

FollowupID: 921949

Reply By: Ozi M - Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 16:35

Sunday, Dec 25, 2022 at 16:35
It might be worth looking at a few caravan forums as well for some ideas.

I know that some people have fitted a residential type AC to their van and were quite happy with it.

Only suitable for vans that stay on the black top though, no off roaders
AnswerID: 642396

Follow Up By: Paul S53 - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 14:58

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 14:58
Thanks for the reply. I will certainly have a look at what people are doing with caravans. There so many good ideas out there.

FollowupID: 921948

Reply By: Hoyks - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 10:27

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 10:27
Might be worth checking the insurance you need to carry groups of paying customers around. You might find it becomes prohibitively expensive pretty quickly.
AnswerID: 642401

Follow Up By: Paul S53 - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 14:56

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 14:56
I think you're right, Hoyks. I think I'll just turn it into a nice 'camper'. Thanks for the reply.
FollowupID: 921947

Reply By: Member - Cuppa - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 17:52

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 17:52
Having had a similar vehicle (A 7m Nissan Civilian) with factory air con my thinking is that if you want one of those buses with aircon, you buy one with the factory set up in it. I imagine that those 'without' would be relatively rare & buying one 'with' would likely not cost any extra. The amount of work to fit all the 'stuff' for rear air con would be huge . They are a pretty substantial bit of gear with components in various parts of the vehicle, & then you have all the ducting. With the length of the bus & all those windows I don't think a roof mounted unit would be that effective compared to the factory set up. Probably cheapest way to get all the gear if you are really keen would be to buy a non runner donor bus - but even then by the time you had it all sorted , buying a running bus with it all working & selling the one you have would be a far easier (& probably cheaper) option.
See 'My Profile' (below) for link to our Aussie travel blog, now in it's 6th year.

Classifieds: 4x4 Tow hitch receiver recovery point 4.7T, Bow Shackles 8.5t 1", Heavy duty Sherpa Winch Hook, Soft Shackle 9000kg, 12000kg Snatch Strap

AnswerID: 642402

Follow Up By: Paul S53 - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 18:49

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 18:49
Hi Cuppa

I was only really considering A/C to run the Coaster as a 'tour' bus for a couple of years, but as some commenters have rightly pointed out, that's way more effort than it's worth. I'm not into A/C myself, so now the Coaster is all good to get set up as a camper.

The first thing I need to work out is the bi-fold door. I don't like the look of those RV-type conversions at all, with the protruding fibreglass frame. Maybe I just keep the bi-fold door? I think so.

So I'll just start removing the seats and the two floor heaters. It should be fun.

Thanks for the reply.

FollowupID: 921950

Follow Up By: Peter_n_Margaret - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 19:40

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 19:40
I understand that the bifold door is not a legal option for a motorhome.
Choose yourself an approved engineer and consult with him/her before and during work to save yourself grief later.
OKA196 motorhome
FollowupID: 921951

Follow Up By: Paul S53 - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 19:59

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 19:59
Nothing is ever simple, Peter.

My understanding is that in NSW, an inward folding door is not okay, but in other states and territories, it may be fine?

There are so many regulations, aren't there? For good purposes, I guess!

There is a way, apparently, to make the inward door outward!

I'll check it all out at Vicroads.

FollowupID: 921952

Follow Up By: Member - Cuppa - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 20:10

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 20:10
Hi Paul, Sadly I think folk may be correct about bifold doors on motorhomes. Our motorhome was registered as a 2 seater omnibus when we bought it & we never changed that whilst we had it. Registration fees were pretty much the same, at the time, $5 or $10 in it.

I made an aluminium frame sikaflexed in place & hung the screen door from it.

See 'My Profile' (below) for link to our Aussie travel blog, now in it's 6th year.

Classifieds: 4x4 Tow hitch receiver recovery point 4.7T, Bow Shackles 8.5t 1", Heavy duty Sherpa Winch Hook, Soft Shackle 9000kg, 12000kg Snatch Strap

FollowupID: 921953

Follow Up By: Paul S53 - Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 21:04

Tuesday, Dec 27, 2022 at 21:04
Gees, Cuppa, your door looks great. That's what I'm after. Something that follows the lines of the bus. I really like the older Coaster bus, but the '50' I was offered was too good to pass up. I want a door like your one!

FollowupID: 921954

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Wednesday, Dec 28, 2022 at 10:59

Wednesday, Dec 28, 2022 at 10:59
Nice job on the door Cuppa.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 921956