Feedback ONLY from those who upgraded the GVM on LC200

Submitted: Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 16:39
ThreadID: 139960 Views:18211 Replies:9 FollowUps:46
I need good and bad experiences
I'm full time traveller and I'm very close to max GVM without installing a car topper boat/roof rack

From what I've seen, every LC 200 series carrying a boat on the roof racks is overloaded

Reply By: MarkHugh - Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 17:32

Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 17:32
G'day Mark C9,

I'm on my second LC200 with an ARB upgrade, GVM upgraded to 3845kg and giving a lift of about 40mm. I have a heavy set of drawers plus contents permanently in the vehicle and sometimes tow an off-road camper with a towball load of between 250 and 300kg (depending on the state of the onboard water tanks). However I only have a second battery and an alloy bar plus driving lights up front. I have removed the third row seats.
I am very happy with the set up. It is not harsh when unladen around town but copes well with the camper on the back, including on tracks such as Cape York and the Gunbarrel.

Cheers, Mark
AnswerID: 631306

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 17:34

Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 17:34
thanks for that. Im chockers all the time so never running empty
FollowupID: 907278

Reply By: kgarn - Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 18:47

Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 18:47
Latest news re NSW GVM upgrades:

GVM Upgrades
AnswerID: 631308

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 20:24

Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 20:24
That’s interesting
I was talking to a Qld Lovells supplier today and he said they are very confident that qld will revert to the previous laws that not only permit the upgrade but that an auto upgrade of the GCM is about to be released
still looks like nsw will allow p to 3650 which is plenty for me
FollowupID: 907280

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 19:55

Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 19:55
Hi Mark,

ARB/OME 3,845 kg upgrade on an MY17 GX. I have draws permanently in the back carrying tools etc all the time, so pretty heavy. Also 270 Ltrs Diesel on board with long range fuel tank. 130 amp AGM battery also in the back so pretty heavy on the rear end. Steel bull bar with 12,000 lbs winch & synthetic rope on the front. Tow a 2.5 T full off road van with ball weight around 350 kgs. The ride when not towing is good, due to the weight permanently in the back. When towing, the rear end drops about 30 mms so not too bad. The rear shocks are adjustable, so I could stiffen them up to limit the rear end “droop”, but decided against it to maintain a more smoother ride. Have not had any issues with this set up. I am considering installing air bag lifters in the rear but have not yet convinced myself they are necessary. I had air bags on my last Landcruiser, a 76 Series GXL.

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 631311

Follow Up By: Bobjl - Friday, May 01, 2020 at 20:26

Friday, May 01, 2020 at 20:26
Macca, have you ever weighed the LC to establish weight over rear and front axle [with and without van on]. Suspect the rear would be very heavy when van on given Tow Ball weight and the spare tyres? Bob
FollowupID: 907295

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 07:11

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 07:11
Yes Bob, total weight fully loaded without van is approx. 3400 kgs, with the rear axle at approx. 1800 kgs. And the front axle at approx. 1600 kgs. These are approximate weights, as it was done at a public weigh bridge, with two separate weight platforms, and not by single axle weigh scales.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 907296

Follow Up By: Bobjl - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 09:54

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 09:54
Macca, thanks, your weights similar to my rig but yours is lighter in rear than I thought. I figured that spares on back [twins?] of your LC the axle load would be higher. Bob.
FollowupID: 907301

Reply By: Phil G - Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 20:28

Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 20:28
Had a 2012 VDJ200 for 7 years.
When it was new I upgraded with stronger suspension (same as I've done on every other 4wd I've ever owned) and it handled fine and carried extra weight perfectly.
Then 3 years later I bought a caravan and the 240kgs of ball weight put me well over GVM.
So I got a Lovells GVM upgrade that cost just over $4000 all up. I now have springs that do exactly the same as my previous suspension but I now have a $4000 piece of paper to say I am now legal. (Lovells were very good by the way and their suspension was fine).

I just think the system is a bit ridiculous - particularly the way we have different rules for each state and you're allowed to carry an extra 500kgs with nothing more than a change of springs and shocks.
AnswerID: 631313

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 20:33

Thursday, Apr 30, 2020 at 20:33
yes that 'piece of paper' you mention will prevent you from being wiped by your insurer when you have a prang. My ex worked for several insurers over the years and she always said their mantra was "deny, deny, deny' as many claims as possible. I cant afford to be wiped
FollowupID: 907281

Follow Up By: Phil G - Friday, May 01, 2020 at 10:54

Friday, May 01, 2020 at 10:54
Yes, my upgrade was for purely for insurance reasons.
FollowupID: 907289

Reply By: Members - Bow - Friday, May 01, 2020 at 07:34

Friday, May 01, 2020 at 07:34
I gave up on our 200 series and replaced it with a Ram. A piece of paper will not fix a vehicle that is not up to the job.
AnswerID: 631315

Follow Up By: cruiser 3 - Friday, May 01, 2020 at 08:16

Friday, May 01, 2020 at 08:16
Hi Bow
I also gave up on Landcruisers after owning various models for about 40 years. I was always happy with them until the mighty Rams cam along and realised how much better they are than the poor old cruisers. I must say though I don’t expect the Ram to be a bush basher but I never used my cruisers for that either.
FollowupID: 907284

Follow Up By: Pepper - Friday, May 01, 2020 at 08:31

Friday, May 01, 2020 at 08:31
Rams first limitation is max load allowed on rear axel of about 1770kg ..

Its unladen weight on the rear axel is approx 1250kg so if you put 300kg ball weight on the back you arent left with much loading capacity if you want to be legal..

But i agree they have tons of power and are great to drive.
FollowupID: 907286

Follow Up By: Members - Bow - Friday, May 01, 2020 at 08:38

Friday, May 01, 2020 at 08:38
Pepper, check out the 2500 or the 3500
I have mine 2500 upgraded to near 3500 specifications.
GVM 5700kg
FollowupID: 907287

Follow Up By: Pepper - Friday, May 01, 2020 at 08:46

Friday, May 01, 2020 at 08:46
I am specifically referring to the ram 1500 only.
FollowupID: 907288

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 07:19

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 07:19
Hi Bow,

Do you have a heavy vehicle license? With a GVM of 5700 kgs, you require a heavy vehicle license to be legal.

For a towing vehicle, you cannot beat horsepower, so the Ram/F Series trucks certainly have that. For highway cruising towing anything, they are great. However, they are far too wide & long to be taking them “off road”, also not sure of their durability in an off road situation.

As an aside, you probably want to upgrade your profile picture from the Troopy to what you currently drive. [:-)

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 907297

Follow Up By: Members - Bow - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 07:45

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 07:45
Yes, an LR license is required.
The Ram is good on sand and in the bush but narrow places can be a problem.
I love the exhaust brake, don't know why Toyota haven't installed an exhaust brake on the 200 series.
FollowupID: 907298

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 08:08

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 08:08
If you have cruise control activated & engaged, it will use engine braking to maintain a set speed when going down hill, not quite the same as exhaust braking, but is useful none the less.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 907299

Follow Up By: Member - silkwood - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 10:46

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 10:46
Good to see the posts sticking to the request of the original poster...

FollowupID: 907302

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 14:23

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 14:23
Thanks for the replies
Is a Ram or F250 some kind of Landcruiser 200 series that I haven’t heard of?
Even though I asked for comments only from those who have upgraded the GVM on a 200 series, some people just feel a need to spew out a comment that has nothing to do with the question I asked
Well done, you haven’t let me down. I knew I would get stupid non related replies

FollowupID: 907304

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:01

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:01
Why didnt you go straight to the landcruiser forum...seems like the most sensible thing to do?
FollowupID: 907305

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:15

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:15
That's a bit polite Bigfish. :)
Dave.
FollowupID: 907306

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:16

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:16
Bit my tongue mate....bit my tongue..
FollowupID: 907307

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:17

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:17
thanks. didn't know there was a landcruiser forum.
FollowupID: 907308

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:18

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:18
so are you saying that this forum doesn't answer q's on lc200?
FollowupID: 907309

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:30

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:30
Mark,

This forum operates very much like sitting around the campfire with everyone contributing in a very casual manner. It is very much a bunch of mates and the conversation quite often gets well off-topic.
These mates happily welcome new chums but you are not going to constrain the conversation by pronouncing "Feedback ONLY... etc." in your topic heading. It is their campfire and they'll talk as they please.
But you can exercise options if you don't like the style.

FollowupID: 907310

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:44

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 15:44
Exactly Alan B.....if you want a truly complex straight forward answer to anything then go to a specialist forum. This forum is about mate ship and trying to help with personal experiences, a dash of humor and a sense of community. Life is way too short to take everything so seriously. I belong to the Vic Pajero Forum and with regards to Pajeros it is world class and second to none. It also doesnt take life too seriously and is welcoming to all. Anything I want to know about Pajeros...I head there..a specialist forum.
Join the Landcruiser forum Mark and you will find a whole bunch of blokes providing answers to all your specific questions about your model 200 toyota.

Now then...who.s shout?...
FollowupID: 907311

Follow Up By: axle - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 16:40

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 16:40

You forgot to mention the odd rain storm that puts the fire out! ......LOL'

FollowupID: 907312

Follow Up By: Allan B (Sunshine Coast) - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 16:43

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 16:43
Best not to mention, Axle...... LQTS

FollowupID: 907313

Follow Up By: Members - Bow - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 17:00

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 17:00
Axle, I could always throw fuel on the fire.
FollowupID: 907314

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 17:02

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 17:02
Mark C9,

Firstly, I answered your question with my experience with regard to LC200’s and a GVM upgrade.

Secondly, I was asked a specific question with regard to my axle weights which I answered. It would have been rude of me not to answer the question.The conversation then splinted off to something related to the subject of axle weights and the various pros & cons of other vehicles. That happens with this type of forum where there are a wide range of people with different vehicles.

As others have noted, if you want to ask something specific to the LC200, there is a Landcruiser forum called Landcruiser Owners On Line, or LCOOL for short. It deals with all models of Landcruisers including the LC200.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 907315

Reply By: Gramps - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 16:26

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 16:26
Mark,

Go HERE for everything Landcruiser related.

AnswerID: 631324

Reply By: cruiser 3 - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 17:54

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 17:54
You Said you are very close to max GVM. You also said most Landcruisers seem to be overloaded,
Therefore I think it was a valid reply to suggest you look at a different vehicle, one that was more suited to the task.
AnswerID: 631325

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 18:39

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 18:39
Ya still don't get it!!! I could buy a semi trailer and that would solve the problem of weight BUT I NEED INFO ON LC 200.
awaiting your next bullshit reply that has nothing to do with a 200
FollowupID: 907316

Follow Up By: cruiser 3 - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 18:55

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 18:55
Markc9
It seems you don’t get it!
You yourself posted that you will be overweight with a Landcruiser so if it is not up to the task why keep going on with it,
FollowupID: 907317

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 19:09

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 19:09
It never ceases to amaze me how the education system has let so many people down in that they just don’t understand the meaning some simple words in a question
I would love to see you attempt to give evidence before a judge by going off on a tangent. You must understand why people get so pissed off with politicians
The word ‘ONLY’ was in caps so even dumbarses would understand that I do not want any comment unless they have experience with upgrading GVM of a LC 200.
So once again, please do not comment UNLESS YOU HAVE HAD DIRECT 1ST HAND EXPERIENCE WITH UPGRADING THE GVM OF A LC200
I don’t want to get another vehicle, I don’t want a yank tank that doesn’t suit my needs in the bush. I don’t want a semi trailer

It must be so hard to read a question and then determine that you have no experience with the subject matter but feel obliged to make a comment just for the sake of flapping your gums

I know that you just wont be able to help yourself by having the final word and making another dumbarse comment.
FollowupID: 907318

Follow Up By: RMD - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 19:27

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 19:27
Mark C9
How does a piece of paper increase the bearing capacity and axle's capacity to take more than the manufacturers rating? Their ratings are produced so there is a degree of safety margin. Asking the obvious, yes, you can get a GVM increase, but it takes you nearer to the failure point of all items which will be under constant greater stress than intended. Going crook at people trying to point out the error of the belief doesn't paint you in a good light. You bought a vehicle which isn't capable of what you now want to do without sacrificing something.
FollowupID: 907319

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 19:37

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 19:37
When you had the GVM upgrade on your LC200 did you just get a piece of paper and not have the numerous parts including springs, shocks etc fitted? Surely they explained how the upgrade is considered something akin to a new manufacturer mod
Can you advise what effects the GVM upgrade on your LC 200 had on your vehicle?
I'm not an engineer and the companies that do the work have the upgrade approved by the transport depts and insurers

FollowupID: 907320

Follow Up By: Bobjl - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 20:46

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 20:46
Mark, I have had two LC 200's in 10 years used for towing big rigs - 22foot, 3.5 T with tow ball 340kg. The LC 200 has little GVM to spare as you know. To achieve safer handling [steering and braking], load carrying capability and to comply with the law means an upgrade is in most cases an imperative. My first LC 200 was Lovells upgraded but no Cert issued, my current LC 200 was upgraded with Lovells from new and has the additional compliance plate to verify/prove I comply. I am of the view that unless the LC 200 is used for A-B on road only, not towing, then a GVM Upgrade is easily justified. I prefer not have to prove [to my insurer] after a claim was submitted, that my vehicle was legally approved and capable of carrying the load involved at the time of the event/crash. Vehicle operators should know what the relevant weights/loads are, it should be non negotiable when heavily loaded and or towing. Hope feedback adds some value to your enquiry.
FollowupID: 907321

Follow Up By: cruiser 3 - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 21:04

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 21:04
Markc9
You referred to people as being “uneducated and dumbarses” I think that is rude, arrogant and uncalled for.
FollowupID: 907322

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 22:35

Saturday, May 02, 2020 at 22:35
Not to far up the ladder on your social skills are you.
Dave.
FollowupID: 907323

Follow Up By: Member - Bigfish - Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 07:42

Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 07:42
I reckon you'd get a a whack in the ear if you were to talk like that face to face with people...ya rude bastard!
FollowupID: 907324

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 09:56

Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 09:56
I think its rude to just make an irrelevant reply – that just wastes my time and yours
Why is it that some people just feel the need to make a reply? It doesn’t matter about the question but they just feel the need to reply, any reply will do. They just need to have their voice heard to stay relevant
If we were face to face I would say the same, probably much more. Feel free to deliver the wack in the ear because you have had your feelings hurt. Violence is always the best way to answer a question
Lets use the pub test.
If a group of people were in the pub and I asked a question and someone replied with a response that had nothing to do with the question, then the group would either shout you down with a 'WTF' or suggest that you seek medical attention for your ailment
Why cant people just read a question and say to themselves “I have nothing relevant to add, so I wont make a reply and move on to the next question”
I suppose my working life has made me stop people in their tracks when an unresponsive reply is given
If you think that is rude, I would love to see you in front of a judge- he would make you cry
FollowupID: 907327

Follow Up By: batsy - Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 10:03

Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 10:03
Mark C9 perhaps it would be of more benefit to just stay on topic....just sayin...
Every day vertical above ground is a bonus.

FollowupID: 907328

Follow Up By: Member - shane r1 - Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 10:08

Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 10:08
Markc9
Great to see you liked batsy’s comment about staying on topic!
Time to be the bigger man, and do just that,
FollowupID: 907329

Reply By: Member - McLaren3030 - Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 07:30

Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 07:30
Mark C9,

It would appear from your abrupt replies that you have not had much experience with general forums. No matter what you ask, you will get answers that are on the peripheral of the subject matter. You asked about GVM upgrades, pretty much all of the responses had something to do with GVM’s. Most of the responses were in fact about people’s experience with LC200’s and upgrades, including those related to other vehicles, as those people advised that in their experience, a GVM upgrade to an LC200 was not worth it, so they chose another vehicle. When you ask for people’s advice or experience, if you don’t like the answer, it is not their fault. Berating them for their response is not going to get you very far on any forum. Have you had a chance to look at the LCOOL forum?

Macca.
Macca.

AnswerID: 631331

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 10:17

Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 10:17
Yes I posted to the forum
I note that my post had 49 views and only 2 replies and both were directly related to the topic
So 49 people read the topic and 47 said, “I cant make a related response so I wont reply”
It was great
Anyway, I've got the info I was after so thanks to everyone, even the dumbarses ??
FollowupID: 907330

Follow Up By: Member - McLaren3030 - Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 14:35

Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 14:35
OK, funny, I am a member of the LCOOL forum, and I did not see your post, so not sure where you got your answers from. Anyway, as long as you now have the answers you were after, you can stop abusing people on this forum.

Macca.
Macca.

FollowupID: 907333

Follow Up By: ModSquad - Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 15:11

Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 15:11
Let's just leave it at that. This thread has pretty much run its course.
Moderation is just rules

FollowupID: 907334

Follow Up By: GarryR - Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 16:13

Sunday, May 03, 2020 at 16:13
I think the slanging match has gone on for far too long. How about locking the thread and stop the child behaviour.
location - Warragul -Victoria
life is too short, so out and about enjoy

FollowupID: 907337

Follow Up By: bellony - Friday, May 08, 2020 at 00:37

Friday, May 08, 2020 at 00:37
Yeah, cant see it on lcool either so not sure which landcruiser forum the answer came from, but MarkC9 would appreciate the no fun policy of lcool.
To me the original post is more statement than question anyway.
FollowupID: 907432

Reply By: Amusong - Thursday, May 07, 2020 at 20:03

Thursday, May 07, 2020 at 20:03

I have a 2013 GX 200. Tow a 2.7T off road van and needed to get the weight in the van down so I took a lot of stuff off it and need to carry the van tyre on the GX, by which time it would have been overloaded.

Went for an upgraded suspension with Ultimate Suspension in Minto NSW. They used a Lovells kit which took the GVM to 3800kg. I also got an upgrade on the front brake discs to DVA discs - no point carrying extra weight if you burn out your discs going down the mountain. Total cost with the discs was $5000, including change of registration details and a testing programme out at Eastern Creek racecourse. Seems more expensive than the other offerings but you get what you pay for.

It is my third Ultimate Suspension. I bought my first one in 1984, and another in 2016 for a Prado. The GX upgrade was done late last year. I am very happy with the suspension. It handles much better when unloaded and when towing it is very stable. Is it harsher? Hard to say, maybe a little, not an issue. But the vehicle's handling is top notch now, both with the van on the back, and when not towing. I feel very comfortable going down the highway, and off the highway as well.

Can't speak highly enough of the Ken and his people at Ultimate Suspension. I "ummed and ahhed" for a while, looking at Pedders, ARB, OME, Durashock and all the other usual offerings, however, none of the others that I came across took as much time as Ken to really understand my needs and to make sure that the spring/shock selection was well suited to them.
AnswerID: 631398

Follow Up By: Mark C9 - Friday, May 08, 2020 at 11:26

Friday, May 08, 2020 at 11:26
Thanks. Just the sort of 1st hand info I was after.
Interesting re the rakes. I just use engine braking and its always worked well
FollowupID: 907452

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 13:20

Saturday, May 09, 2020 at 13:20
They did my 79 series and the experience was much the same as yours. They don’t seem to just want to slam the gear in and get it out the door but spend some time with the vehicle and make sure it is right
FollowupID: 907517