1HZ Landcruiser got revved out ..

Submitted: Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 19:56
ThreadID: 139800 Views:11023 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
Gday all this is my first post and just want to ask for some advice for my 2000 model 79 series 1HZ.

Recently I had a squeaky fan belt x2 so had replaced them and had the bonnet open with the engine running just over looking the engine... my kelpie pup was inside the cab and managed to jump off the seat and rest his body somehow full flat on the throttle. (Yes gave me a big fright) from the engine bay ... the engine was reving up to its max RPM 4500 RPM for about 10 seconds until I could get him off the pedal...I had tried manually lowering the revs from the engine bay but every time I let go they would shoot back up as my pooch was on the pedal from the inside. My concern here is that long story short I had my 1HZ on full revs for about 10 seconds and since this has happened I am now paranoid that it has lost power on the road ( wether it has or not I don’t know maybe I’m just over thinking) all temps and fuel mileage are normal but has a rattle in the top end that I can now just hear but seems to go away if that’s related to the over revving or not Same rattle as when it’s cold. I’m that paranoid that I have booked it into get a compression test ... this is my pride and joy this ute I look after it very well. Do you think I have ruined my engine ??’ What actually happens to these motors when revved out like this ?

Also my 1HZ has a aftermarket turbo with a quarter turn on the fuel screw. Never push it over 450 egts and ute has just about clocked onto 300000ks

Thanks !!

Reply By: Mikee5 - Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 21:26

Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 21:26
Red line is 4500 so it hasn't over revved, valve adjustment is shims so pretty hard to knock out of adjustment. Some drivers red line their engines to get through soft sand. I am not a mechanic but the 1HZ is a tough motor.
AnswerID: 630533

Reply By: nickb - Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 23:20

Monday, Mar 16, 2020 at 23:20
Just did a trip in some sand dunes with a mate and his 1HZ, he often had foot to the floor in 2nd low to get up some dunes and occasionally was hitting redline with no dramas. 3rd low was too high and bogged down. I think the turbo will cause more issues long term than the 4500rpm “Italian tune up”...
AnswerID: 630535

Reply By: Batt's - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 10:25

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 10:25
I doubt at this stage you will listen to what people will tell you not being rude just realistic any way motors are built to rev and 10sec is nothing to be concerned about they are also governed to protect them. My old GQ has 530,000km and is still strong as an ox at any revs pretty much the same as your engine they are built to take it and last you may have cleared a few butterflies out. I no mechanic but don't see what a compression test is going to do except tell you the rings have normal ware. A good mechanic who knows these engines will have an ear for any abnormal noises and be able to possibly pin point anything if it exists.
AnswerID: 630536

Reply By: Ron N - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 11:42

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 11:42
Cruzerdan - The 1HZ can withstand a lot more than 4500RPM for 10 seconds, so no damage there.

Probably more importantly, you should now realise that combining unrestrained animals with engines running is a recipe for disaster.

The dog could have easily knocked the gearshift into a gear and pinned you against a wall or other obstruction.

Not the first time someone has been injured or even killed by an unrestrained animal around points of mechanical danger.
Shooters being shot by their own loaded firearm, lying on a seat, after a dog jumps onto a trigger are actually a lot more common than you'd think.

When you are examining machinery in operation, it behoves you to keep safety uppermost in mind, and take all steps to ensure nothing can escalate the movement into personal injury or death.

In my 55 years of working with all types of machinery from tiny 2 strokes to 150 tonne construction equipment, there is one primary safety rule written in every manual, and drummed into you as an operator or a repairer -

"Never try to adjust, repair, or maintain, any mechanised equipment, whilst it is in motion".

The equally important safety rule is - "Keep animals and small children restrained, and well away from mechanised equipment, that is being worked on, or operated."

AnswerID: 630538

Follow Up By: Genny - Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 15:34

Tuesday, Mar 17, 2020 at 15:34
Good advice Ron.
Back in the early 60's my dad was digging a well through sandstone, by hand and assisted by the judicious use of gelignite, which was detonated by electric detonators and one of those big old vintage telephone batteries. You know the type, when the party line phone was in a wooden cabinet on the wall, with the winding handle to ring with. Four of us kids were usually out there with him playing in the dust, while he worked.
One day, the gelignite didn't explode when he touched the wires to the terminals. So Dad strolls over to the well, to climb thirty odd feet down to see what went wrong. Then that untrusting old barstool walks back, picks up the battery and took it down the well with him!
FollowupID: 905974

Follow Up By: RMD - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020 at 18:01

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020 at 18:01
Gee Ron! Can't I adjust the high speed mixture on the chainsaw while cutting wood?
OR
Get the carby balance pretty good on the motorbike while riding?
Where is the fun? Criuserdan likes an adrenaline rush too!
FollowupID: 906000

Reply By: 9900Eagle - Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020 at 19:06

Wednesday, Mar 18, 2020 at 19:06
I had a runaway on a 1hz cruiser ute many years ago and nothing was found to have caused it, by the amount of smoke it was pulling fuel from where ever it could find it and I guess that was the sump. After trying to stop it by turning the key off, that would have taken a few seconds and then trying to think with an unholy racket and smoke would have taken another 5 seconds at least, I realised it was in gear so I stood on the brake very hard as it was in low range and I then let out the clutch, followed by a big sigh of relief.

That engine went on to do many, many k's so I wouldn't be too concerned.
AnswerID: 630559

Follow Up By: axle - Thursday, Mar 19, 2020 at 07:58

Thursday, Mar 19, 2020 at 07:58
LOL Eagle.

I had the same thing happen with the mazda.,,pulled up at the lights next minute she was doing what sounded like 40.000, REVS!, I bailed out as the smoke had near blocked out the sun, and i really thought the thing was going to go into orbit, realizing i had to do something i jumped back in put it in 5th gear and dropped the clutch, she stopped dead lol......PHEW!.

FollowupID: 906009

Reply By: Batt's - Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 07:15

Tuesday, Mar 24, 2020 at 07:15
Any results from the mechanic yet ?
AnswerID: 630681