Thursday, Apr 27, 2017 at 19:51
Couple of things with that Chris.
The Waeco raps 44 has the batteries inbuilt and all comes ready to go.
That is ok, but all batteries will eventually cark it, a lot depends on maintenance / charging, not letting AGMs run down too low, say max 50% SOC.
If you bought a battery box, you could choose your own battery as mentioned (aldi or other), and when it eventually dies you can buy another.
Not sure if the Waeco unit battery(ies) are replaceable, but if they are I bet they'll be $$$ more than equivalent other after market.
Someone mentioned specs for fridge running.
5c isn't terribly low, most seem to run their fridges on 1, 0 or like myself -1, keeps beer just off freezing in the middle, while cryo packed perishables live great around the outside near the plates.
I'd expect most modern fridges would run at those temps using about 1.5 amp/hr avg give or take.
The Waeco would do it ok overnight, but you'd need to drive next day to recharge, if 12v charger is anything like my old Arkpak charger (thing it was 6 amps), you do need to do a decent 5 or 6 hours driving to top off again, OR get a 150w of so solar panel to top it off during he day if camped up and not driving.
If driving, a battery box (and maybe the Waeco box) can be wired up to charge from the alternator, much faster, usually an hour, two max and
mine's back to 100% SOC . . . or at least as much as it can be, but SOC and how much batteries really recharge on trips is another matter).
Yes the Waeco box you linked to would suffice, you'd probably have to wired up to charge from the vehicle alternator anyway, or get solar.
You can likely set up your own slightly higher amp/hr AGM battery in a battery box for quite a bit less.
Follow Up By: Chris. - Thursday, Apr 27, 2017 at 19:58
Thursday, Apr 27, 2017 at 19:58
Les thanks for the detailed explanation, more food for thought. It might just be easier, for the few times each year I
camp, to make sure I'm at a powered site.
Follow Up By: Les - PK Ranger - Thursday, Apr 27, 2017 at 20:08
Thursday, Apr 27, 2017 at 20:08
Mate, why not try it first as you say ?
Also as someone said earlier, in the safety of
home, run the fridge overnight, and see how it goes on your main.
I have HAD to run
mine on a trip or two on the main, sometimes game overnight (with others) and started no worries at all next morning . . . once solo I turned the fridge off about 8pm (last opening), turned on again after starting up next morn.
The other thing you can do at
camp is whack a 150w solar panel on the main, should easily give you a good charge during nice weather to top things up.
Follow Up By: Chris. - Thursday, Apr 27, 2017 at 20:17
Thursday, Apr 27, 2017 at 20:17
"Run the fridge overnight, and see how it goes on your main"... I think this is probably the best starting point mate, cheers.