Wednesday, Dec 16, 2015 at 11:04
G'day Mel,
I love hearing of parents who recognise the value of time invested in their kids. Congratulations on getting that far - lots of people never realise that - let alone pack up and escape the rat race!
Obviously, everyone is different but I'll share some of my thoughts for you to consider. To put myself in context, we are just a bit behind you in family stage (3 kids - 8, 5 and 4 months) and have a fair bit of Australian travel experience both pre and post kids.
1. Pre-planning.
I think that depends on your experience so far. If you have done enough weekends away and short holidays to know what sort of travel experiences your family likes, and you have a reasonably
well sorted 'setup', then it is a pretty easy transition to longer term travel. On the other hand, if you have only ever holidayed at tourist caravan parks and now you have aspirations of remote desert trips for example,
well that is a bigger leap. Be realistic - remember your goal is to enjoy life together as a family, so don't necessarily get sucked in to thinking that you have to tick any one else's boxes - eg. you "must" do the Simpson, or the Kimberly or
Cape York or you aren't "real" travellers. If your family loves fishing or bushwalking, or history, or just sitting round a campfire; plan your adventures to maximise those experiences, rather than worry too much about the destinations. The best pre-planning you can do is figuring out what works best for your family. We happen to love deserts and mountains, but other people love the coast. We prefer isolated
bush camping, but others prefer more facilities. We never eat out, others love experiencing local cafes and restaurants. Both are perfectly legitimate, but we wouldn't enjoy some people's idea of a great trip, and they wouldn't enjoy ours.
It can take a while to figure out what is your "thing". If you can do that before you pack up the house and head off I reckon you will be off to a great start.
I won't comment on the logistics of house/possessions/finances/etc as I imagine that could be completely different for each person.
2. Schooling.
We homeschool our kids for a whole bunch of reasons and LOVE it! It's not the primary reason, but one of the fringe benefits is that their schooling isn't a restriction to travel. In fact it becomes a motivating factor because the world is their classroom. If you are willing to engage with your kids and love learning yourself, don't worry about your kids "falling behind" if you travel. Rules for homeshooling vary between states (we are in NSW) so it's hard to know exactly how that could work for you. We don't use any specific curriculum or resources from a particular organisation - it is more of a collection of different bits and pieces that work for us. Happy to comment more on that if you want.
We know a local family that started homeschooling their kids for a 6 month trip a few years ago and loved it so much they have continued to homeschool when they returned.
It is a big commitment - we are a single income family (I'm a public servant on an $85k salary) but we prioritise things other than the accumulation of "stuff" and keeping up with the Jones's, and we manage very comfortably.
3. Camper trailer.
Since having kids we use a soft floor camper trailer. I am incredibly nomadic and we rarely stay in one place for long. During an 8 week trip with a 4 year old and 18 month old we stayed in 3
places for 2-3 nights. Every other place we moved on after just one night. And I would NOT do that if it was complicated! Our setup has evolved to become a very simple system that works really
well for us and our style of travelling. Typically we can be set up and have dinner cooking within 15 minutes of stopping, and can be on the road (having had breakfast) within half an hour of waking up if we need to. I just don't like wasting time fiddling around so we have a system that works for us. Happy to comment more on that if you want.
My point is though, that a soft floor camper isn't necessarily a limiting factor. If you have one already, and it works (or can be made to work) for your style of travelling, save your money and use what you have.
I definitely agree that a hard floor camper wouldn't work for a family - floor area is too small.
A wind-up camper might be perfect for your needs. We travel with friends that love them and they can make life easy. Depends on your style. We love being outside, so there is little point in having a kitchen, table, chairs, cupboards, etc inside the camper for us - we wouldn't use them anyway. Unless we were spending significant time in Tassie or on the south coast in winter!
So, those are my thoughts. Sorry about the lengthy essay, but I hope some of it helps in your discussions.
Perhaps you could plan a transition year (or 6 months) to help clarify your options. Homeschool the kids, maximise family time, do lots of local trips and weekends away, extricate yourself from the rat race (psychologically), simplify your life, spend less, relax, rediscover your kids and your marriage; then see what happens from there.
That might be enough for you?? If not, it would make transitioning to the next step much smoother.
Good luck,
Richard.