campfires/gas stoves etc on fire danger days and TFB days

Submitted: Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 14:37
ThreadID: 10970 Views:3146 Replies:2 FollowUps:18
Hi, for the benefit of other's GaryinOz asked the question about gas stoves etc on TFB days in case we get one this weekend...this comes from the CFA website...

having read the info and a further booklet - Carvans etc in caravan parks seem to be considered a permanent structure but tents are not. [this came from the CFA Community Safety Direcytorate - Caravan Parks, Fire Danger Periods and Total Fire Bans - Feb 2003]

Lyn

Can I have a barbecue?

During the Fire Danger Period: YES, providing:
An area of 3 metres all around and above the barbecue is completely cleared of all flammable material
A person* is in attendance at all times
The wind speed is less than 10kph (i.e. a light breeze that can be felt on the face and will rustle leaves on trees)
The fire is not lit within 7.5 metres of any log or stump
It is important to have sufficient water on hand in case of emergency.

On days of Total Fire Ban: Solid fuel barbeques or ovens NO
All barbecues that use solid fuel such as wood, charcoal or briquettes are banned. This includes closed oven or kettle-type appliances.

Barbecues provided in public reserves / campsites YES, providing:

It is electric or gas-fired
The barbecue is a fixed permanent structure
The area for 3 metres around and above the barbecue is completely cleared of flammable material
An adult is in attendance at all times
A hose connected to a reticulated water supply or vessel containing at least 10 litres of water is on hand

Portable gas / electric barbecues or stoves YES, providing:
The barbecue is located within 20 metres of a permanent dwelling (mobile homes, caravans or tents are not classified as permanent dwellings)
The area for 3 metres around and above the barbecue is completely cleared of flammable material
An adult is in attendance at all times
A hose connected to a reticulated water supply or vessel containing at least 10 litres of water is on hand

Can I light a campfire for cooking or warmth?
During the Fire Danger Period: YES, providing:
It is fully contained in a proper fireplace or in a trench at least 30cm deep
An area of 3 metres all around and above the fire is completely cleared of flammable material
A person* is in attendance at all times
The fire is no larger than 1 square metre
The wind speed is less than 10kph (i.e. a light breeze that can be felt on the face and will rustle leaves on trees)
The fire is not lit within 7.5 metres of any log or stump
It is important to have sufficient water on hand in case of emergency.

On days of Total Fire Ban: NO.
Campfires are banned

Life, live it, love it

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 14:45

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 14:45
hope that made sense...lol...here's a bit more info...

Caravans in CPS - using gas and electric stoves and fridges within a caravan is allowed on TFB days...the same applies to other appliances that produce flame inside a caravan...but not the annex...gas lanterns, candles, and kero stoves would not be allowed to be used outside the van.....Life, live it, love it

AnswerID: 49011

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:51

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:51
If you have one of those little gas burners in a case or a ring off the bottle then you are ok to use it in the back of a ute or inside the back of the wagon for heating a frypan saucepan etc. Well clear of any flammable items. Of course you will have your extinguisher handy just in case.. As always common sense prevails. Reminds me of the old saying - the bigger the fire - the bigger the fool. Have a great time Lyn.Just killin time till easter...............go and play in the dirt, instead of workin in it......
FollowupID: 310871

Follow Up By: Member - Paul T- Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:37

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:37
Al & Mrs Al

Nothing to do with this thread.

I noticed in the pic of your nice new shiny truck (not yet scrtached I hope?) that you have an ARB Sahara Bar (looks great) but cannot see a winch.

I have just ordered the sahara bar for my TD Cruiser (same model as yours but has an 'off road' scratch or two, and damn the first one hurt) with the Warn 9500lb winch.

Are you considering a winch and if so are you also considering upgrading your torison bars? I was speaking to one of the guys at ARB Southside Sydney recently and he told me he upgraded his torsion bars to cope with the extra weight of his bar and winch, and ended up cracking the splined attachment points on the body.

Thanks for your info.

PT
FollowupID: 310890

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:48

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:48
Hi Paul,

as far as I know no we're not getting a winch, but I can run this past Mr. Al and see what he says...

as to the scratch question...no I haven't scratch it....I've got it dusty though, :))Life, live it, love it

FollowupID: 310891

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 17:48

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 17:48
Sorry Bradley but you can't even light a small cooker in the back of you car. When they say no naked flame in the open that includes not using a stove in a bush hut, car, caravan, camper trailer or tent (outside of a caravan park) . What happens when the stove tips over and lights up the car? That is why they specify you must have a fixed hose on standby.
Be prepared. Have a salad and a cold beer or 12 instead, Cheers Craig.
FollowupID: 310896

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:03

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:03
I know everyone should buy a Cobb from our current forum page sponsor. Make sure you check them out they are really very good units.Regards
ExplorOz Team - David
--------------------------
Always working, not enough travelling ;-)
AnswerID: 49016

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:04

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:04
May not help on TFB days but I just thought I would throw in the plug anyway. Regards
ExplorOz Team - David
--------------------------
Always working, not enough travelling ;-)
FollowupID: 310853

Follow Up By: Roachie - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:12

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:12
We have a Cobb and it's bloody brilliant. I fail to see how it can be considered a risk, short of tipping the whole damn thing over into the bush!!
We also have a "dreampot" (that's for cooking, not for when you get caught short in the middle of the night!!!LOL) It too is very good at what it does.
FollowupID: 310854

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen (Melb) - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:47

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:47
They are fantastic - I even cooked Jen a birthday cake at Bathurst Head on Cape York in our Cobb. Yes it was a packet mix and I stuffed up a bit on the instructions and needed some help and it was an orange cake and Jen likes chocolate. The Cobb was simple to use compared with the packet mix recipe.
Andrew2001 Landcruiser 100S Turbo Diesel
"We do not stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing"
FollowupID: 310868

Follow Up By: Roachie - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:58

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 15:58
I just did a search on "dream pot" too and only came up with one hit on this forum. It seems that respondents were a bit worried about food getting some bacteria infection. Although we haven't used ours a real lot, we haven't had any problems with getting crook from eating tucker cooked in it to date. I think the thing is that you have to get the tucker to "cooking" stage on a stove first and then put it in the pot to continue cooking for the rest of the day as you travel.
I know one memorable meal we had was a hunk of corned silverside (my favourite meat). SWMBO boiled it in the morning before we packed up camp, (for about 30 minutes I think) before sticking it in the pot. At the end of the day it was still as hot as you'd normally expect of a meal and the meat was as tender as any silverside I've ever had. I'm salivating on the keyboard now just thinking about it!!! LOL.
FollowupID: 310874

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:02

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:02
David, was tickled pink to see that I can buy one of those Cobb pots from here - saw one working last year and was stoked - thought I'd give Ian one for his birthday!! The people had made a stew in it in the morning and by the time they got to here from Innamincka it had cooked ON THE FLOOR OF THE CAR!!!!
Roachie, be careful ,you know you shouldn't have anything dribbly or wet near the keyboard - too costly to fix.These are Diamantina Barra (Yellowbelly)
GO HARD OR GO HOME
(2nd Photo - Old Causeway Feb 04)
FollowupID: 310876

Follow Up By: Roachie - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:18

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:18
Ruth,
Only thing worse than dribbling all over the keyboard is dribbling all over the steering wheel etc..........which is exactly what I'd be doing if something yummy was stewing away all day inside the truck as I was trying to drive...LOLOLOL
How are your webbed feet going??
Have a cappa for me at the cafe next Sunday mornin'
FollowupID: 310880

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:23

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:23
Roachie...would it be classified as a solid fuel bbq/stove thingey on TFB days as it uses the heat beads same as other kettle bbqs....the more I read, the more I get confused... though at this time of the day with 2 hyper kids it's not hard... :))Life, live it, love it

FollowupID: 310883

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:26

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:26
You must be sitting there doing this when you are supposed to be doing something else also! Feet are drying out - drove to within 100 metres of the causeway and slipped and slid in the mud to get as close as we could on foot(I don't know why) and we could just see the marker which said 4 metres. The river is almost back to within its own banks now - as soon as that happens we can chuck the fishing lines in.
Sorry won't be able to have a coffee for you Sunday a.m. because the girls are having International Women's Day Breakfast at the Pub at 8:30 - then some are going on to do the second day of a Jewellery (gem fitting) Course - the boys may well have a Boys Only Coffee morning - quite likely, but they'll have to make their own scones. Ian is really good making the espressos - he a well-trained Barista. I'd like to be going to Little Desert though, Mr Toonfish sent me the maps - looks really good.These are Diamantina Barra (Yellowbelly)
GO HARD OR GO HOME
FollowupID: 310884

Follow Up By: Roachie - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:28

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:28
G'day Mrs Al,
I didn't previously think it was subject to being banned on TFB days; but after reading what you wrote above, I guess it is banned......Ignorance is bliss........
FollowupID: 310885

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:32

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:32
Roachie - it sure is bliss.....

Ruth..I should be doing my research assignment, but my brain is done in...Life, live it, love it

FollowupID: 310887

Follow Up By: Roachie - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:35

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 16:35
Geez Ruth, and here's me thinking you probably lead a real boring life up there with nothing much to look forward to but a sunday morning coffee......boy; how wrong was I!!!!
You'll have to go to the big smoke for a break some time!!! LOL
Seriously, though, it's good to know that smallish country communities still stick together......it's a part of this country's culture which I hope never disappears. I come from a small country town in NSW (Narrandera) and when I was growing up in the 50's we didn't even have a lock on our back door. Now my Mum lives there in the house on her own and due to certain "cultural" changes in the town, she's got all sorts of bolts and locks on the old place.
FollowupID: 310889

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 17:13

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 17:13
We don't have time to do boring (except on those really stinking hot days when you are stuck in the house with each other). You must be about the same age as us if you remember the 50's - Ian grew up in Blackall and his house was never locked - I grew up on the outskirts of Brisbane and our house was never locked (until the bloke stole Dad's Victa lawnmower - the very first one - we lived on 2.5 acres, gee Dad was annoyed about that). Not much gets locked around here either - until the Season starts. I've been doing up a Bird list since my last post - have to take some people birding in early May (have to find my little birdies first - have a couple of families of Eyrean Grass-Wrens out in the Desert) so I have done some work today. We are only a small community and once the Season starts we usually don't see much of each other (maybe Friday night's Happy Hour) but usually so stuffed by the end of the day, or sitting around someone's campfire drinking copious reds/white/champers/beer/port/coffee - you know what it's like.
(It's only 3.30 and Ian's already started!) Blasted airplanes - Cathay Pacific brings their trainee pilots up here to do "bump and grinds" - no. not that. They fly low over the airstrip and take off again - scares the daylights out of us locals the first couple of times because we always think someone's in trouble (you'd think they'd ring first, especially if you are having a little zizz in the arvo) - you know how close the public bar is to the airport well the drinkers have been known to spill their stubbies, they get such a shock.These are Diamantina Barra (Yellowbelly)
GO HARD OR GO HOME
FollowupID: 310892

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 17:36

Wednesday, Mar 03, 2004 at 17:36
hey roachie we also have a dreampot and its great

steveheading north 2003 devils marblesin the work car
FollowupID: 310895

Follow Up By: Member - Bernie. (Vic) - Thursday, Mar 04, 2004 at 01:00

Thursday, Mar 04, 2004 at 01:00
To Roachie
No I dont have a "Dream Pot" but know some that do and they are great & expensive.
You can do the same thing almost in a billy, boiler etc , and put it in a box stuffed with Hay ( haybox was what we called them in scouts)
sleeping bags ( they can smell like food after though) anything that will insulate the container. The system is not much different to an electric crockpot either.
I have had plenty of meals cooked that way with no ill effects, and there was nothing like coming back to camp up to 10 Hours later lift the lid and dinner is served hot.

CheersPrado TD Auto
Little Desert 11/03
Only a lady driver would do that
FollowupID: 310935