Thursday, Apr 10, 2014 at 13:44
Ken,
A company I used to work for had a number of 100 series wagons converted to dual cabs.
The one we got had either 300 or 500mm extension in chassis, and a tray about 2M x 2.1M. Was done by Creative Conversions in
Brisbane. Tray by Steelware in Mt Isa.
Was an excellent vehicle for what we needed, carry 6 staff legally, 3 motorbikes and gear plus even a drum of Avgas. Conversion and cut and shut of chassis was excellent, but we had some fiddly things that cost us a few grand to put right.
Rear wiring was like a can of spaghetti, with much of the loom not required, and constant dramas with rear lights not working. $1,100 to have an auto sparky tidy it all up.
Filling rear tank was near impossible.......took nearly a day to get all the inlet pipes working properly.
With extra, short tail shaft, it had a centre bearing and don't know whether it was our road conditions, but renewing the centre bearing become an annual event. (Toyota Dyna centre brg - CB-10, FYI)
Rear springs weren't heavy enough at first, and we later changed to EXTRA heavy duty coils from TJM(made by King Springs) Due to weaker springs and bottoming out regularly(ever seen unsupervised teenagers driving on station roads???) we had the rear of chassis, a broken cross-member, repaired by local welder. Airbags were a failure!!!!!
Toyota Dual Cab 105 series
Toyota Dual Cab-Maiden Trip
If I were setting one of these up, would definitely exchange the rear tank for a 160L a/m tank. Also would fit the lightest tray available, so you weren't too close to GVM. That tray in pics is heavy but very strong, and the aforementioned teens couldn't kill it.
A turbo would also be a "must" for touring, as the 1HZ, on overtaking duties, is near suicidal. But back to these teens again, we went to town one day, teens in the above vehicle and myself in turbo ute. they were only a few minutes behind us.
And finally, the conversions without the chassis extension, were just people movers. There was bugger-all room in the tray by time you put a 200L drum and ONE motorbike in there.
Follow Up By: ken w4 - Thursday, Apr 10, 2014 at 19:56
Thursday, Apr 10, 2014 at 19:56
Thanks heaps for all that info and the story that goes with it haha, that's pretty much what I'm wanting to archive.
Really appreciate that.
Good info.