Which spanners for Land Cruiser 200?

Submitted: Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 23:03
ThreadID: 106904 Views:8650 Replies:15 FollowUps:23

We are getting ready to tour with our new 200 series and I wonder if any of you 200 owners can tell me which size spinners I will need for my vehicle while touring?

Thanks!

OzBadDude

Reply By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 23:21

Tuesday, Mar 25, 2014 at 23:21
A wheel nut spanner, a jack and a mobile phone. Remote area travel a Sat phone.

Now the important stuff.
A good size hammer to drive in the tent pegs.
An axe to help with the wood for the campfire.
A long handle shovel in case of temporary mobility deprivement and...ahem.... waste disposal...human of course.

That should just about cover the basics (:-))

AnswerID: 529129

Follow Up By: Member - bbuzz (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 07:43

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 07:43
Take what my mate takes; an assorted bunch of spanners in a glass pickle jar.

He can't use any of them. Just goes to the nearest garage or cries ignorance to fellow travellers.

One of those nomads who cannot reverse and not interested in learning or practising!

bill
Bill B

FollowupID: 811824

Reply By: R.J.W. - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 07:32

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 07:32
Hi you need an allen key to change the fuel filter, this is not mentioned in routine servicing and when they start to block up they alarm when you give it a boot full. I now change mine every 40k . You also need to print the reset procedure as its not on the filter box or in the manual. Cheers Rob
AnswerID: 529137

Follow Up By: cookie1 - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 09:58

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 09:58
Make sure you buy a genuine spare fuel filter as if you drive it with the alarm on and bugger your injectors they will wipe your warranty and take about $10K.

I get them to change mine at EVERY service to be safe

FollowupID: 811852

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 12:58

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 12:58
That's a sign of the times isn't it; "You also need to print the reset procedure".

FollowupID: 811871

Reply By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 07:43

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 07:43
I have a set of these. I also have a drawer in the back of the car allocated to all manner of "stuff". Including oils, other tools, spares (fan belts, fuses) a roll of thinnish wire, etc.

Funny, maybe lucky is a better word, but I have as yet never needed any of it. But it is there.

AnswerID: 529139

Follow Up By: MUZBRY- Life member(Vic) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 07:54

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 07:54
Gday Phil
You need a hammer old son, and a pipe wrench or multi grips.
Murray

FollowupID: 811826

Follow Up By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 08:22

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 08:22
Must be just you and me Phil that noticed he only asked about spanners/spinners :-)...... but then, with snow in the top paddock we may have more time to read it.
FollowupID: 811831

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 08:29

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 08:29
Gottem!!

I actually have a small axe that doubles as a hammer. Can't remember what they are called. (frizzled brain) No pipe wrench though but I have a couple of those locking multi grips as well as a normal one. Bottle opener and peeler - all good. I even carry a spare type pressure gauge and a mirror on a rod.

Mate there is so much "stuff" in there that I couldn't be bothered listing it all.

The funny thing is that I am not able to lie on my back under the car for more than a few seconds. This blood thing makes me throw up if I do. Or I could black out. So it's a case of travel alone and don't break anything or wait until someone comes along.

And: Touch wood! The only repairs that we have had to make in 40 plus years were one flat tyre and a fan belt. But I am not about to leave any of it at home. At least my wife can do some mechanical things. I kid you not. She wanted to be a mechanic. Then we met.

Catchya

FollowupID: 811834

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 08:35

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 08:35
I saw that Darian. That's why I gently, without appearing to be rude, mentioned the drawer full of "stuff".

He may be like you, I and heaps of others. Hangs on to all the "Dads old tools" and never upgrades, until now. He may already have all that he needs already. I have an old set of spanners that were forged by Adam, of Adam and Eve Co. But they stay home when I got the set above.

What do you reckon OzBadDude? What's the rest of the toolkit like?

PhilPhil
FollowupID: 811837

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 09:24

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 09:24
Probably need a pair of multigrips, to efficiently round off all the nuts/bolts.

FollowupID: 811846

Follow Up By: Member - OzBadDude - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 12:38

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 12:38
I do have the screwdrivers and the allen keys and the socket set and the spanners and the duct tape and the zip ties and the hammer and the spade and the pipe wrench and the multi grips.

I'm trying to narrow down the sizes of spanners/sockets that I need specifically for the 200, to cut down on weight by not taking the sizes I don't need.
FollowupID: 811867

Follow Up By: Member Ray M (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 12:48

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 12:48
Hey Phil, don't forget the tyre pressure gauge as we all know how important tyre pressures are "LOL" Sorry mate but couldn't help myself. Cheers and cold beers, Ray
FollowupID: 811869

Follow Up By: Member - PJR (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 12:55

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 12:55
Hey Baz. Best of luck doing that. It kust doesn't work out for me. It will never happen mate!

Ray. I actually have three tyre gauges. A very old one that Dad used and still works. An electronic one that is excellent. And then there is the one on the end of the hose. Maybe I should shed a few thing like Baz is trying to do. The "dig" didn't work mate. Ha!!!

You have been sandbagging haven't you. I am the worst in the world for tyre pressures. I have a set of those Staun deflators, with two set to 25, one to 20 and one to 15. That's all I use, those three pressures. And before you say anything; I do not rely on the accuracy of those deflators.

Catchya

FollowupID: 811870

Follow Up By: Member Ray M (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 13:07

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 13:07
yeah Phil just having a bit of a chuckle, I actually have the same tyre deflators x8 (vehicle + tandem van) and have different settings like you and as far as accuracy goes they are close enough for me.
Cheers and just a bit early for a coldie. Ray
FollowupID: 811872

Follow Up By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 16:09

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 16:09
OzBadDude

"I'm trying to narrow down the sizes of spanners/sockets that I need specifically for the 200, to cut down on weight by not taking the sizes I don't need."

As well as all that other stuf you and others have mentioned, for my Prado I carry the following sockets, ring and open-end spanners:
10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17, 19. I have a 16mm socket for two bolts on my Karavan, have not found a 16mm hex in my Prado yet. I also have 21 and 23mm sockets, but don't have those sizes in ring or open-enders.

FollowupID: 811894

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 08:04

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 08:04
If you are wanting to buy a kit of tools that covers most items Bacho do a handy kit that has spanners and sockets plus allen keys and screwdriver bits in a carry case for 200-300 dollars. Total tools does a similar kit in their own brand also which is if equal quality
AnswerID: 529142

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 08:08

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 08:08
Forgot to add, even if you don't know how to use them, it is a good gesture and a sign that you have intentions of doing the right thing when a passing motorist comes to your assistance
FollowupID: 811828

Reply By: Member Andys Adventures - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 09:07

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 09:07
Hi OzBadDude,
Super cheep sell a kit that zip up and hold them all in place there is 2 kits one for sockets and spanners and the other is for screwdrivers and pliés very compact they are about 30mm thick x300x350mm. Has all that you will need and are about $25.00 each.
Cheers Andy

AnswerID: 529145

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 09:41

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 09:41
OBD,

Get a socket/spanner set in METRIC, preferably in a compact kit.Stanley screwdriver sets are good. A selection of pliers, including long nose, are handy. Have one of Pop's hammers on hand, and a "soft" hammer can be handy too.

I'd also take some duct tape, zippy ties in different lengths, variety of spade and electrical joiners, and insulation tape. Probably lots more "necessary" items?

AnswerID: 529147

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 09:58

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 09:58
I always carry a spare fuel filter (I have had to change 3 on the side of the road in 110K)

It is important to have the tools to change it ( note the allen key mentioned above)
I also now carry wheels studs and nuts after finding a couple of vehicles out west in
trouble.

I have found my 200 to be very reliable over 110000 and I carry a range of tools etc that I have never used on the road

AnswerID: 529148

Follow Up By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 10:04

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 10:04
Also need air compressor and tyre repair kit.

On one trip around the block I became quite expert at plugging tyres. Usually screws, nails picked up on various roads

FollowupID: 811854

Reply By: dindy - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 10:42

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 10:42
Hi OzBadDude

To answer your question buy good quality brand tools (sidcrome, snapon, stanley etc) as these will last forever and unlikely to fail.
A good set of half inch drive metric only socket spanners. Most kits will include sae sockets you will not need these and will take up space and add weight. A smaller quarter inch drive socket set can be very handy for those small hard to get at places.
A good set of ring spanners are a must. I usually double up on common sizes such as 10, 12, 13, 14 for those times when you need to get a spanner on both the nut and the bolt head at the same time.
Good quality pliers, side cutters (wire cutters), long nosed pliers and multigrips are a must. Buy good quality as the cutting edges are less likely to blunt or chip with use.
A good set of allen keys which include the larger sizes as these are very handy.
Also buy a long reach telescopic mirror to enable you to see into the multitude of crevices you will encounter.

AnswerID: 529151

Reply By: garrycol - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 11:13

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 11:13
If you believe many people on here you will not need any tools at all because Toyotas don't break down :-)
AnswerID: 529152

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 11:48

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 11:48
Or maybe it's because the OP didn't include a list of the bits that were going to break. We could also then have included a list of spare parts to take other than the usual fan belts, hoses and filters.

(;=))

FollowupID: 811864

Reply By: Member - OzBadDude - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 12:33

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 12:33
Thanks guys, for all your input. But I already have a good list of spares, etc to take. I also have a full set of spanners, but I'm trying to conserve the weight of these things and wondered which sizes of the spanner set I have are needed for the 200?

Can anyone shed some light?

Thanks!

OzBadDude
AnswerID: 529158

Follow Up By: Kris and Kev - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 13:07

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 13:07
What do you intend on doing with the spanners? What part of your 200 do you think you will need them for? We have 180,000 on our 200 and have done lots of remote travel and never needed a spanner. I do carry a full set of spanners but if something did go wrong I don’t think it would be something I could fix anyway. (But agree with the spare fuel filer advice. Have needed that.) Kevin
FollowupID: 811873

Follow Up By: Member - OzBadDude - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 13:27

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 13:27
Hopefully the main use I will have is for checking/tightening everything up after long corrugation runs.
FollowupID: 811875

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 01:56

Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 01:56
OBD,

Don't know about the 200 series, but earlier Toyotas need 24mm ring, or socket for the diff/gearbox/transfer case drain and filler/level plugs.

Don't do them up too tight, or you'll need the pipe wrench to undo them later. I use Loctite 567 thread sealer on the threads, this seals the thread(of course:-)), but also "locks" the plug without needing to over tighten.

FollowupID: 811949

Reply By: TTTSA - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 13:36

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 13:36
Seriously, you are not going to save very much weight at all by leaving 3 spanners at home that you thought you didn't need. I have tried that exercise and I didn't feel comfortable leaving a few spanners at home.
Guarantee the one you leave at home will be the one you need, even if you haven't needed them for the last 20yrs.

AnswerID: 529166

Follow Up By: Member - OzBadDude - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 13:43

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 13:43
LOL I hear you!
FollowupID: 811878

Follow Up By: Member - Trouper (NSW) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 14:10

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 14:10
TTTSA is right the 3 you wont need are 13, 15,16mm but you may as well take them because when you get back home you will have forgotten where you put them HA HA HA
FollowupID: 811884

Reply By: Member - Patto (SA) - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 14:12

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 14:12
Remember MURPHY'S LAW what ever size spanner or socket etc you leave home it will be the one you need

AnswerID: 529168

Reply By: Krooznalong - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 14:14

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 14:14
Why don't you grab all your spanners, climb underneath and figure out which ones you'll need? Don't forget to check the nuts on the shockies.
AnswerID: 529169

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 16:31

Wednesday, Mar 26, 2014 at 16:31
Join LCOOL and check the 200 threads. You'll get some sensible replies. This subject has been discussed a lot.

AnswerID: 529178

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 11:55

Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 11:55
I've been through the same exercise on the 200. Tools are not much different to any other Landcruiser.

I carry a basic tool roll in the spare space in the tailgate (on the LHS) all the time and add a comprehensive bag of tools/repair stuff when doing a remote trip.

For the tailgate tool roll you should be able to fit:
-10/12/13/14/17/19 ring/open. I also add a 8" shifter to cover anything else.
-10/12/13/14/17/19 3/8 sockets with extension and slim ratchet handle. Slip a length of fencing wire through the sockets to hold them together (there's your spare fencing wire!)
- Metric hex set - critical ones are 5mm hex for the fuel filter and 10mm hex for the front diff
- Long nose pliers
- Screwdriver handle with a collection of bits - occasionally you need a torx bit as well as the usual screwdriver bits. Plus mini screwdriver set for fixing gadgets.
- multitool for the knife etc
- long punch
- file
- metric taps 6x1, 8x1.25,
- small WD40, Locktite 406 superglue, duct tape, spare velcro in a small bag

Hammer lives with the tent pegs.
There's also the standard tools packed with the jack tools - That's the pliers, double screwdriver and 10/12/14/17 open spanners.

Out of interest my big kit in a bag contains welding kit, soldering, large spanners (incl 15/16th for the rear diff and transfer), rivet gun, 1/2" socket set, specialised spanners etc etc
AnswerID: 529243

Follow Up By: Member - OzBadDude - Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 15:07

Thursday, Mar 27, 2014 at 15:07
Very VERY helpful. Thank you!!!

OzBadDude
FollowupID: 811984

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 22:26

Friday, Mar 28, 2014 at 22:26
Happy to help - enjoy your 200!

Its mostly aftermarket stuff that can give grief, so check for A/F stuff and maybe add a 7/16th, 5/8th or 11/16th spanner if needed. The other A/F sizes are not necessary. The ARB bullbars need an 18mm socket (why would you ever need it though?) and the extension for the socket set I carry is a wobble bar, so it can be angled.
FollowupID: 812127