Tekonsha Voyager fitted sideways on Pajero panel
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 19:18
Ed C2
I just bought a new 2013 Pajero and arranged for a brake controller to be fitted. The dealer fitted a voyager and it is mounted sideways on the left panel. It seems to be totally against the installation instructions which I found on the Tekonsha web site which advise to mount the controller horizontally between -20 and +70 degrees nose up. When I raised this with the dealer I was advised they always mount the controllers in this manner and there haven't been any problems. I don't feel comfortable accepting this response and feel it is an unnecessary risk. I would be interested in any
feedback from members regarding the advice I was given and any suggestions for the best place to mount the controller in a Pajero.
Reply By: K&FT - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 19:58
Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 19:58
G'day Ed
I think I would be inclined to inform them the unit is not installed in accordance with the manufacturers instructions so please fix it.
Next step would be the motor vehicle repair council.
merry Christmas
frank
Reply By: Member - Frank P (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 20:42
Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 20:42
Ed,
Your discomfort is justified. The unit should be mounted in a fore-and-aft configuration within the tilt limits specified. Take them to task.
Can't help you with mounting in a Pajero, sorry.
Reply By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 21:19
Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 21:19
My auto sparkie fitted it just in front of my left knee on the plastic panel below the steering wheel-dash.
I'm not short (185cm) and I've never hit it, though I've often wondered how!
It's mounted at about 60-70 degrees. I haven't used it for years, but when I did I found it a little awkward to adjust the side knobs, but the slide bar is easily accessed.
I have little respect for any dealer when they are doing auto electical work, at least the one in my area admits their limitations and subbies their work out to a proper auto sparkie.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark (Tamworth NSW) - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 21:19
Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 21:19
PS
mine is a 2007 NS model
Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Monday, Dec 23, 2013 at 20:31
Monday, Dec 23, 2013 at 20:31
Can't work out the brand on
mine in the 2004 Pajero, but fitting is same as Mark's, never had difficulties with it, even though it looks a bit cramped at first. Agree with standing on your digs and insisting the installation to be as per manufacturers recommendations, unless the manufacturer provides a waver. There must be some reasoning on their specifications.
Never had to adjust the roller (which can be accessed easily if you are not driving - could be fiddly whilst driving). I
test the slide control usually on setting out on a trip to satisfy myself it functions - that is not difficult.
Follow Up By: Member - Leanne W (NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 24, 2013 at 15:01
Tuesday, Dec 24, 2013 at 15:01
I have a Tekonsha Prodigy fitted to a 2008 NS Pajero in exactly the same spot - just near my left knee. I have a UHF fitted in what was an empty space in the console below the radio/CD player.... perhaps there would be room for a brake controller there?
I had it fitted by an auto-electrician too, in exactly the same way you describe.
Follow Up By: SDG - Tuesday, Dec 24, 2013 at 23:07
Tuesday, Dec 24, 2013 at 23:07
Min is above the right knee under the fuse box, and in a bit. NP Pajero. Have not hit it, but does look like I could.
Reply By: Ross M - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 21:21
Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 21:21
Perhaps they haven't had any complaints because, dead men tell no tales, therefore have not expressed their displeasure to the dealer.
They are only dealers and fitters of stuff because people ask for it.
To read the instructions is additional time and then they have to remember it too.
I hope the panel is solid and doesn't flex of vibrate with the weight.
I have had to fix ones fitted correctly but the panel flapped with the weight, especially over bumps and the controller couldn't work with the for/aft oscillations happening.
Reply By: scruffy - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 21:35
Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 21:35
If it is not fitted as per manufacturers instructions, then if the proverbiable happens, wouldn't they, the Dealer, be leagally liable for ALL costs involved which may be a new tow veh, a new van, others vechiles involved, towing costs, accomadition, compensation and possibly someones life. May be the dealer needs to be reminded of his Duty of Care in this instance. Also, what if the towbar, diff, alternator etc was incorrectly installed, would his reply still be "she'll be right, Jack". I would be demanding that it is installed as per manf instructions and a new side panel be provided. If they don't wish to comply, then take the veh to the relevant Tpt Dept with the receipt of fitting and let them deal with the matter. Just my 3 cents worth.
Follow Up By: Ross M - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 23:29
Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 23:29
Scruffy
I am glad you mentioned the LIFE aspect but it should be corrected before used, not used with a view to "GO" the dealer after an accident.
It is no good being a correct, but trusting, corpse.
Follow Up By: scruffy - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 23:40
Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 23:40
Agree
Ross, meant to say that the OP should see the dealer and make these points to him and see if the dealer then changes his mind when the HUGE cost to him is fully explained. Not familiar with the particular item, but is it possible that with the new type of brake controller they don't have to be mounted the same as the older type with the pendulum inside? Bob
Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Monday, Dec 23, 2013 at 01:06
Monday, Dec 23, 2013 at 01:06
Scruffy, the OP said it is a voyager. They haver a pendulum, they are not one of the new models. It's also a concern that he still supplies and fits voyagers.
Reply By: olcoolone - Monday, Dec 23, 2013 at 08:27
Monday, Dec 23, 2013 at 08:27
This is what happens when people installing the gear have no idea what it does, how it works and has never used one.
As said above take it back to the dealer and explain your concern, no use getting abusive to the sales person or the dealership.
It would be wise the also explain what may of happened and suggest the monkey they get to install them receive some training and it might be a good idea to
check other installations they have done before it's to late......... I would also take your vehicle to a competent quality installer with experience in installing brake controllers to
check over the rest to see if it has been done right.
New and used dealers are a funny bunch, some are really good and want the job done right the first time and others want it done dirt cheap and don't care.
It's not just dealerships and accessory fitter who can do shonky work, may in the trade can be just as bad. They all think they have to be cheap to get the work........ And the only way to be cheap is to cut corners.
The only person to blame is the person who trained or oversees the person who installed it, the buck stops with them and it is the responsibility of that person to ensure the work is done correctly and to a high standard with zero defects.
Off topic, we have been running job ads for heavy vehicle mechanics and auto electricians with heavy vehicle and earthmoving experience ........ You should see some of the applications, we have even had 4 applications sent in from people with "I have fitted a few radios for my mates and think I have the right experience " and one from a courier driver in his 40's who wanted a job change but had no previous experience ..... So I can see firsthand what type of people they are employing to do the jobs.
Reply By: yarda - Monday, Dec 23, 2013 at 10:30
Monday, Dec 23, 2013 at 10:30
G'day Ed,
I know the pain you are feeling, dealer workshops have very few qualified or competent people on staff and service advisors who are only interested in the upsell to get bonus money.
I suggest having a chat to your local police traffic management unit, or RTA officers. Because the moment you hook up an electric braked trailer the vehicle is unroadworthy and you are committing an offence. The OEM has very specific instructions for installation to ensure the controller is fit for purpose and serviceable. The dealer failed to provide a fit for purpose or merchantable good, so they have breached the consumer code.
Presenting a brand new vehicle back to the dealer principle with a canary on the windscreen would be an attention getter!
Do not deal with the service dept any more, they have had their chance, meet with the dealer principal and demand rectification or a full refund of all costs associated with the controller.
Reply By: TerraFirma - Monday, Dec 23, 2013 at 12:42
Monday, Dec 23, 2013 at 12:42
Goes to show how dumb some of these dealers are. That is an epic fail..!
Follow Up By: Ross M - Monday, Dec 23, 2013 at 13:42
Monday, Dec 23, 2013 at 13:42
"Bogan Horse Trader: springs to mind.
NOT
Technical Automotive Dealer.
Reply By: Geoff in SA - Tuesday, Dec 24, 2013 at 09:36
Tuesday, Dec 24, 2013 at 09:36
long after the price is forgotten the quality of the work remains.
So based on their inability to read the installation instructions, have they managed to wire it correctly???
Have they utilised the correct cable size?
used the correct fuse/circuit breaker?
cabled it to the correct pin on the trailer plug?
have a look at the link showing just how to do it
http://www.etrailer.com/Merchant2/graphics/00000001/pics/q/u/qu6890_800.jpg
As someone else mentioned, who carries the can for a fault causing an accident or injury or more??????
Reply By: Batt's - Tuesday, Dec 24, 2013 at 23:51
Tuesday, Dec 24, 2013 at 23:51
I would definitely get it moved I had an eleco mount
mine nearly vertical once when I picked the car up that arvo I read the instructions that night so I repositioned it that night because I was going away the next day I did get to ring him and he admitted he had no idea about the manufacturers specs I said if you have fitted that brand before in other vehicles maybe you should be making some phone calls just in case. I don't know what the exact problem it can cause but it has a warning for a reason.