Picking a 4WD for 10 months

Submitted: Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 14:46
ThreadID: 105547 Views:2919 Replies:9 FollowUps:17
Hi guys,

This is my first post on this forum, but I have been a fairly active member on patrol4x4 over the past months. Now thinking about different vehicles than a Patrol, which is why I am after your advice.

A bit about myself: I'm from Europe and have fallen in love with Australia, especially the wilderness, the outback and the friendliness of people. It's been my dream for a while to acquire a 4WD and explore beyond the standard tourist sights, and I have finally managed to save up enough money to invest in one.

The only catch is that for job reasons it in unclear for how much longer I will be able to remain in Australia - the fun could be over in 10 months from now!

So I'm hoping you can help me narrow down my choice of vehicles. I am well aware that there are hundreds of posts like this on this forum and others, but I have very specific criteria and am after equally specific advice.

My criteria are, in order of importance:

1) I want a 4WD that can be sold easily and quickly with a reasonable depreciation. This is paramount as I won't have time to wait for buyers for weeks on end because I might have to leave Oz on short notice. Prepared to accept a higher buy-in price to achieve this.

2) I'd like good comfort on the tarmac and around town. I've come to realise that I will use the 4WD mostly in inner city Melbourne and will probably take only 3-4 longer trips where actual dirt driving and some 4WDing will happen. In my limited experience, that probably means IFS, and I definitely want an auto.

3) I must be able to take me to the following must do destinations without massive modifications:
- Up Cape York
- A few iconic outback tracks, e.g. Simpson desert, Oodnadatta, etc.
- Exploring the Kimberleys
- Beach driving, e.g. Fraser Island
Note that I don't care much about 4WDing for the sake of it, I just want to be able to see all the major sights. So that probably means mild 4WDing and dirt road driving rather than hardcore low range action.

Budget is $30,000, including all required modifications. Open to either petrol or diesel.

What vehicle comes close to satisfying the above criteria?

Cheers, guys!

Dan

Reply By: allein m - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 15:38

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 15:38
OK a interesting price 30k

at present you can buy a Triton base model and get change for 30k and all of the other manufactures are offering big discounts on new4x4s

but if you do a bit of search on the web car sales .com.au you will see some cars around that price may be pickles ex gov vehicles may be the go

many with long raneg tanks and extra s like duel battery

But with the major discounts on offer from many car dealerships i am not sure what this will do to resale values

I can find many duel cabs with 60k on them almost the same price as a new ones

this is the time to buy with cash i am sure of you do research properly you will get a decent deal good luck with your quest

AnswerID: 523313

Reply By: Tony F8 - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 15:46

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 15:46
This is going to open a big can of worms, but here we go, my opinion would be to get a good 80 series toyota, if diesel, don't expect your in a v8 for a second, slow, yes, but will get you to timbuctu and back, I did say a good one. Beleive me you will not have trouble off loading it when the time comes. Reasonbly comfortable, and bullet proof, and user friendly. For 20k you will be able to fit it out with absolutley everything you need. Even some money left to do a 4wd coarse, which would be invaluable with where you arre planning to go.
Drive safe and enjoy.
Tony F8
AnswerID: 523314

Follow Up By: KevinE - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 16:36

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 16:36
+1

I was thinking the exact same car! You shouldn't take much of a hit in depreciation when its time to sell, some even make a small amount on what they paid.

It'll go anywhere you've mentioned.

Probably not much fun in Melb city traffic though lol!
FollowupID: 804699

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 17:01

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 17:01
+2 - Diesel 80 series aren't going to depreciate too much. I would avoid buying something new, you would probably sell it OK, but depreciaton on anything new is a killer.

Really depends on whether you calculate your depreciation as a "rental cost" ......
FollowupID: 804701

Follow Up By: dan_and - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 18:23

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 18:23
Thanks, guys - have considered the 80 series but I do think it's not too comfortable for around town. It's the same reason why I'm starting to discard the Patrol...

Agree on not buying new. Definitely in the market for a used 4WD. Yes, am treating depreciation as kind of rental cost. Some depreciation is fine - definitely not trying to play the market or attempting to make a profit. Selling fast is what I'm interested in.
FollowupID: 804703

Follow Up By: Penchy - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 18:57

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 18:57
How much comfort do you need? Heated leather seats with a built in back massager? I have a GQ Patrol and I changed the seats to 2013 Impreza seats and has completely transformed the car into a much more pleasant car to drive. Maybe consider a seat conversion if comfort is a major consideration, or go buy a Lexus.
FollowupID: 804711

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 19:58

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 19:58
"but I do think it's not too comfortable for around town." - therein lies the rub.

Unless you're prepared to pay for a new model (which you aren't), then something "comfortable for around town" and economical isn't necessarily going to do all the tracks you wan't to do and carry all the gear you need in that vintage.

80 series, 70 series, and earlier Patrols are still trucks and aren't either nimble or economical in city limits. Sure, you can drive them in the city, but remember they're more akin to a small truck, rather than a town car.
FollowupID: 804716

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 20:01

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 20:01
If you want something more nimble yet capable, Peter's suggestion of a V6 Prado might be the go.

Remember, unless you've got unlimited funds, it's always a compromise somehwere.
FollowupID: 804717

Follow Up By: dan_and - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 14:57

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 14:57
Penchy, what I mean is that I don't want a car that pogoes around every time I drive over a speed bump or along a winding road. I have experienced the difference between a normal road car and a 'classic' 4WD on a recent trip from Darwin to Adelaide.

I couldn't care less about leather seats or driving a Lexus, but what I am saying is that I want a 4WD that handles more like a car when I drive around the city, because that's what I will be doing 90% of the time. For the remaining 10%, I want a reasonable 4WD capability to get me a bit off the beaten path, but nothing crazy. It took me a while to realise this, but I'd rather compromise on the latter rather than the former.
FollowupID: 804769

Follow Up By: Penchy - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 15:04

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 15:04
A 4wd that drives like a car? I'm sure there are plenty of people that would like one of those. As for pogo over speed humps, I'm not sure what you mean by that. If you get motion sickness driving a car with longer suspension travel/incorrect suspension setup then the obvious solution to that might be the one for you (don't drive a 4wd). Or you could spend 25k on a car you will spend 90% of your time in and 5k on a 4wd you will spend 10% of your time in.
FollowupID: 804771

Reply By: Peter T9 - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 15:52

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 15:52
You will not get anything new with an auto box for $30k.

I would look at a used V6 Toyota Prado. You should easily find something that is already set up for touring well within your price range and it will be easy to drive in the city.

Another option is a V8 petrol cruiser however may be at limit of budget and perhaps a bit big around the city?
AnswerID: 523315

Follow Up By: dan_and - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 18:26

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 18:26
Interesting - thanks, mate. Anything to look out for in the V6 Prados? A quick glance on carsales tells me that I can probably get a 120 with around 100k-150k km on the clock. 2005-2008 models.

What about fast resale on the petrols? It seems to me the diesels are in higher demand...

Anyone with real life experience of selling a 120 petrol (no trade-in)?
FollowupID: 804704

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 19:58

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 19:58
I sold my 2005 Prado V6 GXL 5sp Auto for $27000 earlier this year. It was really well looked after, had 110000K's and was fitted with rear Firestone Airbags,extra 12v outlets in the rear,reversing camera, Hayman Reece Towbar and extra wiring for towing a large Caravan including an ignition operated power supply to run the van fridge on 12v. It had four new Yokahama road Tyres and was White (A good hot weather color) and had 4 months NSW Rego. They have dropped a bit in price since then. Cheers, Bob.
FollowupID: 804715

Reply By: Joe - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 17:13

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 17:13
Get a Prado.

Capable and easy to sell in the future.

Make sure you know about the weak points (things like cracking firewalls if you fit steel bars or dual battery kits without bearing this in mind) and get one.

Not exactly a wildly exciting vehicle, but it will do the job, be reliable and easy to sell at the end.
AnswerID: 523317

Follow Up By: dan_and - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 18:29

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 18:29
Thanks, mate. See my post above - any difference in quick sale of petrol vs. diesel?

I'm happy getting a petrol because the cost advantage of a diesel will only really matter over the longer term. That is, as long as they're not a slow-moving 4WD on the second hand market.
FollowupID: 804705

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 20:13

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 20:13
"any difference in quick sale of petrol vs. diesel?" - depends on your target market and how much you paid up front.

Target market? - a backpacker probably isn't going to care too much as long as the price is right.. amongst long longer term buyers, generally as a rule Diesels are more popular, due to the slighlty cheaper running costs, ease of getting fuel in remote places, and percieved longevity.

Taking say the 80 series as an example, you can pick up good Petrol model for 3/5's of bugger all - senn quite capable ones with a lot of kit on them for sub 10 grand. Not much outlay, but re-sell is hit & miss.

Normally aspirated Diesel models in good nick can fetch around 10-15 grand (or sometimes more), but will re-sell well.

Turbo models are stillaround the 20 grand + mark in good nick, but will sell easily with not too much loss as long as it's in reasonably good nick.
FollowupID: 804718

Reply By: Rod W - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 17:39

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 17:39
Go for a Jeep, cause there's on one of em so you'll definately get all of you money back.
AnswerID: 523322

Follow Up By: dan_and - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 18:30

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 18:30
Thanks, Rod. Could you elaborate? Didn't quite get what you were trying to say.

Getting my all my money back definitely sounds interesting!
FollowupID: 804706

Follow Up By: Rod W - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 19:12

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 19:12
It was in reference to the jeep ad where they say "there is only one jeep" but I was just taking the mickey out of jeep owners. Get a Landcruiser Troopcarrier you won't regret it... seriously.
FollowupID: 804713

Reply By: Echucan Bob - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 11:47

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 11:47
If comfort and go anywhere ability are important check the Lexus LX470. I just searched Carsales from $25 to $30 k and several came up with around 140,000 kms (barely run in!). Mine's done 360,000 kms and still feels likle new. No mods required (apart from installing an Engel).

AnswerID: 523333

Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 17:36

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 17:36
I hear what you're saying about around town, Dan but I wouldn't dismiss the 80 series diesel. A Prado is another good option but I reckon with an 80, you needn't lose anything on depreciation. As bullet-proof as they come (and that's what you want in outback Oz) and hasn't been possibly the most all round popular touring/towing/offroad vehicle for nothing. It's size around town is a small price to pay. If that really is a major thing, a Prado would be better. I've never owned an 80 but have two mates, one with 380,+++ on the clock and the other 500,+++ and neither has had anything major and very little minor go wrong. It's good advice mate.
AnswerID: 523344

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 17:43

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 17:43
just noticed the IFS req'mnt - maybe a 100 series in petrol or as somebody else said, maybe even better a 120 Prado but you won't sell it as quickly as an 80.
FollowupID: 804733

Reply By: desray (WA - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 19:31

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 19:31
Prado hands down,, Where do you buy a good 80 series ???? they are 20 years old and have all done a million ks. Yes they were good in their time but old old old
AnswerID: 523355

Follow Up By: Tony F8 - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 08:12

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 08:12
Yes the prado would be good, but Dan is saying he might only have 10 months in oz. Yes they maybe getting long in tooth, but in my trips to the cape (25+ times), I can vouch for the reliabilty and ability of the 80, I have over the years had to recover and help repair numerous well known, more later model vehicles.Funny how the least a common vehicles were toyos and nissan models built during the 1990's.In remote areas, if i had to choose between simplicity and technology, and I know what I would rather have. My 80 (97 model)has only clocked up 310k and really drives very much the same as when I first purchased it, serviced regularly and not driven like a comp truck. This year up there, I had a bloke wanting to swap his 200 series for the 80, he had the 200 for 10 months and had been wanting to buy back his 80 he had sold.
Drive safe
Tony F8
FollowupID: 804746

Reply By: olcoolone - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 08:29

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 08:29
If your after a fast sale, sell it cheap......... Simple.

But then you said you want a reasonable resale price........ so you want a good price for it competing against every other seller

The two don't gel!

You can't have both.
AnswerID: 523376

Follow Up By: dan_and - Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 14:45

Sunday, Dec 22, 2013 at 14:45
Well, what I mean is that I want a 4WD that is in high demand at a good resale price, i.e. without too much depreciation

Limited supply + high demand = good price plus fast sale

Can do both.

Huge difference e.g. between a no-name Chinese truck that no one wants and highly desired models such as maybe an 80s series or a 4.2td GU Patrol, both for ease of sale and price that can be obtained.
FollowupID: 804767