Redclaw within 300 km of Bundaberg

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 08:11
ThreadID: 105517 Views:8444 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
I have finally bought a small boat so now have the ability to go chasing some redclaw. I live in Bundaberg and would appreciate advice on where to try for them. I am thinking Bjelkie Petersen Dam, Wivenhoe or similar. I'll be taking the van and boat on back of the ute. Some advice from the experienced would be much appreciated. The less distance I have to travel the better as I will probably be limited to weekend or 3 day trips.

Thanks Kc

Reply By: Bob W8 - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 09:13

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 09:13
I have the irrigation canal on my back fence in kensington (bundy suburb) and its full of them.
AnswerID: 523194

Follow Up By: kcandco - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 21:31

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 21:31
Interesting!! I live over Avenell Heights and have an irrigation channel near me. Wonder if they are in there. By Kensington do you mean just of Childers road?

regards Kc
FollowupID: 804553

Follow Up By: Bob W8 - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 09:47

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 09:47
yes mate up the end of price st
FollowupID: 804687

Reply By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 09:39

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 09:39
Kc HI,
We got a good feed of Redclaw last week at Wuruma.
Also Monduran,Paradise,Lenthall & Cania are all good dams handy to Your location.
Mike.
AnswerID: 523197

Follow Up By: kcandco - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 21:34

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 21:34
Thanks Mike

What is waruma like for getting a van in, and are there many flatish spots to camp? Did you travel far from the camping area with your pots and what bait do you suggest. I am thinking rockmelon.

cheers Kc
FollowupID: 804554

Follow Up By: Member - Michael P (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 22:49

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 22:49

Kc,
There is about 10k of excellent gravel road or a 17k longer road.
The camp-sites could possibly be called flattish.
You would need to try different spots & a variety of baits as normal.
FollowupID: 804558

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 18, 2013 at 13:50

Wednesday, Dec 18, 2013 at 13:50
We were having good results with rotting vegetables in Wuruma.

Keep your scrap vegy stuff in a closed bucket and leave it in the sun. The smellier the better and the more we got. I kid you not.

Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 804581

Follow Up By: kcandco - Thursday, Dec 19, 2013 at 23:12

Thursday, Dec 19, 2013 at 23:12
Thanks for the photos and the tips ... cant wait to have go.
I've got a black plastic 15L bucket and will throw in some mango and what ever i can find tomorrow. Will also check out the chook pellets as well. how far from the bank should I put the pots? I have read that about 5 m of water is good

regards Kc
FollowupID: 804679

Reply By: LIFE MEMBER-snailbait - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 15:30

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 15:30
i am sorry my not knowing but what is red claw
Taerry
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 523219

Follow Up By: Lyn W3 - Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 18:00

Tuesday, Dec 17, 2013 at 18:00
Fresh water crayfish
FollowupID: 804540

Reply By: Member - Grundle (WA) - Thursday, Dec 19, 2013 at 19:15

Thursday, Dec 19, 2013 at 19:15
Chook pellets work great and easy to store.

AnswerID: 523282

Reply By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 08:00

Friday, Dec 20, 2013 at 08:00
Hi KC,

5 metres out from the bank is OK or a little deeper. It is a "trial and error" type thing I guess.

There is an island directly out from the boat ramp, try around that. We had success on the south western tip of it, more or less due west of the boat ramp. The boat ramp is on the western side of the ridge you come in on.

Using the sun rise or setting to orient yourself when you get there will make these directions clearer. I was a little disoriented at first till I got my bearings. You are actually heading in a southerly direction when driving into the dam camping area even though it felt like north to me.

If you can, camp on the eastern side of the ridge and you will not get the heat from the late afternoon sun as we did. Made it a little uncomfortable for me.

Cheers, Bruce.

AnswerID: 523295

Follow Up By: kcandco - Thursday, Dec 26, 2013 at 23:44

Thursday, Dec 26, 2013 at 23:44
Hii
I ended up having 4 days and was quite impressed. Caught about 30 redclaw, but they were hard to find. Used old mango, banana and cucumber as bait. There were heaps of pots at the island but only scored 1 redclaw there. Cant wait to go back. The only disappointment was a blowout on the way home. New rim and tyre required. I now understand about the sun position, will get a better spot next time... now I have got my bearings and been for a good walk around.

regards Kc
FollowupID: 805031

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce C (NSW) - Friday, Dec 27, 2013 at 07:17

Friday, Dec 27, 2013 at 07:17
Glad you had a good time up there KC.

It makes you wonder when you see just a few blokes put out so many pots. No wonder the red claw are thin in numbers there. Although they are considered a menace I believe in some areas and I suppose that is why there are no pot limits.

The majority of pots were on the northern end of the island when we were there. Maybe those fellows knew something we didn't

The sun got you as well did it. Nothing beats personal experience does it.

All the Best, Bruce.

FollowupID: 805033

Reply By: MitchM58 - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 15:31

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 15:31

Is there a best time of year for redclaw, and if so what's the worst time.

Mitch
AnswerID: 523339

Reply By: Mapesy (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 17:42

Saturday, Dec 21, 2013 at 17:42
Hi Kcandco,
I am told Awonga Dam near Benaraby or Calliope is good.
Good Luck.
AnswerID: 523345

Follow Up By: kcandco - Thursday, Dec 26, 2013 at 23:46

Thursday, Dec 26, 2013 at 23:46
Thanks I havent been to Awonga for years... should give it a try. If only they had free camping there.

Kc
FollowupID: 805032

Follow Up By: Mapesy (QLD) - Friday, Dec 27, 2013 at 08:27

Friday, Dec 27, 2013 at 08:27
Kc,
There is a free campsite at Boynedale Bush Camp on the Calliope/Monto Road. It's on the back of the dam not far from where the Boyne River enters the dam. We will be checking it out tomorrow but expect it to be busy. You'll need your little boat (I believe there is a boat ramp) to get out a bit for th red claw and barramundi. Expect plenty of catfist - good fun though.
FollowupID: 805039