Best tow vechicle

Submitted: Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 21:06
ThreadID: 104002 Views:4108 Replies:17 FollowUps:14
Hello fellow van dwellers, I have a pretty common question at hand.
What is the best tow vechicle???
I currently have a 05 2.8L TD triton towing a 16" pop top caravan and my fuel usage is through the roof to say the least. Around 30L per hundred

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 21:09

Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 21:09
Depends on your needs, are you interested in Price, Fuel Consumption, warranty period, Fuel Type?
AnswerID: 516922

Reply By: 99problems - Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 21:38

Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 21:38
Australian vehicle Cruiser V8 Diesel.

Import - F250 etc etc etc
AnswerID: 516924

Follow Up By: stevie1947 - Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 21:56

Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 21:56
"Australian vehicle Cruiser V8 Diesel"

Funny I thought Toyota was Japanese.?????
FollowupID: 796452

Follow Up By: 99problems - Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 22:10

Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 22:10
Best thing about the internet. There is always one.

Ive got 99problems and you aint one.
FollowupID: 796453

Reply By: Ross M - Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 21:43

Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 21:43
Is it a manual and you tow in too high a gear?
Sound very high fuel use for what it should be returning.

Others who tow similarly will be able to tell what they use.
AnswerID: 516925

Reply By: The Bantam - Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 22:19

Thursday, Aug 22, 2013 at 22:19
Best tow vehicle...serioulsy... a small diesel truck.

Some of the mitsubishi 4wds have been known to be a particularly thursty

AnswerID: 516929

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 07:43

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 07:43
Hi Jason

Even my thirsty petrol GU Patrol does that in the low twenties so I think it would be good to investigate why you use so much first.

AnswerID: 516938

Reply By: Penchy - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 07:53

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 07:53
you probably should have thought of that before you bought the van/car.
AnswerID: 516939

Reply By: olcoolone - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 08:18

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 08:18
The best tow vehicle is the 200 series Landcruiser or you can go to one of the imported Rams' Chev or Ford F truck.

It would be nice if you provided some more information...... it's really really hard trying to read minds over the net.

I take it you don't care what it is or how much it costs, you just want the best!

Maybe you could start with...

1) Budget

2) Intended use (do you need it for anything else or only towing)

3) Where do you intend on going

3) how many people (do you have a family)

4) Off or on road

5) New or used
AnswerID: 516942

Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 12:51

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 12:51
I would have thought a 16" pop top could be towed by any of the 4WD utes, Hilux, Triton etc, obviously if money is no issue the 200 Series TD. As you have posted a very general question, no mention of comfort, seats, day to day use etc, then it's difficult to narrow the criteria of choices.
AnswerID: 516964

Reply By: coonick - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 13:12

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 13:12
A 200 series is also the most grossly over priced tow vehicle aswell.
Any decent sized diesel 4wd is a good tow vehicle, yes if you have more money than brains a 200 LC is good if your towing a 50 foot caravan, but most normal people can not afford them. A 200 LC would be over kill to tow a 16 foot van.
It all comes down to what you are towing and how you drive it.
Many people out there have no clue how to tow economically.
How one over takes on the highway, how one changes up the gears and down.
Head winds and hills etc etc.
Is the vehicle on its last legs ? has it had a hard life ?
Is it looked after mechanically ?
plenty of variables that will affect the economy....
AnswerID: 516967

Follow Up By: Skulldug - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 19:57

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 19:57
Coonic,

I don't think they they are the most over priced, but close. With suspension mods, they are an adequate vehicle.

The real problem with the 200 is the lack of support if you have a significant problem. We use them at work. If you get a good one, they are fine.
FollowupID: 796498

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 23:45

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 23:45
what year is your Nissan Patrol coonick?
FollowupID: 796524

Reply By: Geoff in SA - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 13:21

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 13:21
Hi Jason
I previously had a F250 and sold it cause SWMBO couldn't drive it
Purchased a 2007GU from Brunswick and last weekend managed to give the van a tow with it.
It pulls as well as the Ftruck and gave better fuel economy.

Did a tough trip up and over the hills and it returned about 23 per 100

Van was fully loaded with food and water so was a bit heavier
Its a 21' Off Roader and we have stuff in it.
Needed to test the new diesel heater as well and picked the right weekend for it
Heater is Bl**dy Great

So yes a GU with a 6.5 TDI with a 4 speed auto seems to do very well.

And it was a lot cheaper than a 200 or new LC

AnswerID: 516969

Follow Up By: PajeroTD - Sunday, Aug 25, 2013 at 06:13

Sunday, Aug 25, 2013 at 06:13
The 6.5 V8 GM motor did not have direct-injection. So they were not a "TDI." Sorry you didn't like your 7.3 Power Stroke, one of the best pre-common rail injection diesels ever. Outdated now of course, but still well-respected.
FollowupID: 796574

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Aug 25, 2013 at 21:29

Sunday, Aug 25, 2013 at 21:29
Pajero what does TDI stand for?
FollowupID: 796635

Follow Up By: PajeroTD - Thursday, Aug 29, 2013 at 08:45

Thursday, Aug 29, 2013 at 08:45
@fisho64, TDI stands for turbo direct injection. Might surprise a few people that the D does not stand for diesel.
FollowupID: 796858

Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 15:03

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 15:03
Wow, that's pretty high consumption mate. I keep reading people claiming they return 14/15 per hundred whilst towing well over 2000 kgs and doing a 100 whilst I struggle to get 17/18 pulling 2 ton@ 95 kph. I still reckon that is a bit wishful thinking because I am not that heavy on the gas although we have 2x 6ft+ teens onboard. No offence but I think your maths or method is up the wall - you should be going through about half that amount unless you tow at 125 kph.
AnswerID: 516974

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 15:32

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 15:32
Steve,
yes don't get to hung up on what others claim. I have answers of 10l/100 out of a 4.2 GQ patrol with 2 tonne on the back, 11 litres from a narvara towing 2.5 tonne and others that claim their makes get incredible consumption out of their vehicles towing. I only mentioned the Nissans as they were recent answers to my questions.

Some get a 30 knot tail wind and that is their bench mark, some others just don't include that they have also calculated the fuel figure which includes running round without the van on as well.

I have been watching some of the new Ranger fuel consumption claims because I have one. These people seem to be able to ring better fuel consumption out of their vehicles, than the manufacturer can by a country mile. In fact some claim figures as low as a little 4 cylinder passenger car.

True consumption is when a couple of roadtrain operators say. I get .98 of a litre per kilometre and the other says I get 1litre per kilometre. Then you know they are giving honest info.
FollowupID: 796479

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 21:31

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 21:31
Hullo RA
Asked a guy what sort of fuel consumption he was getting with a 145 tonne excavator on a float, dolly and a truck with a 24 speed Road Ranger box the other day when at Cocklebiddy - his answer was immediate - 467 m per litre. But with a tail wind, maybe as high as 650m / L
I felt much better after that reply :-)
Mind you, on a per tonne basis, that was heaps better than me!
FollowupID: 796512

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 24, 2013 at 09:05

Saturday, Aug 24, 2013 at 09:05
lol

was that in 4th or 5th gear?
FollowupID: 796535

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew & Jen - Sunday, Aug 25, 2013 at 08:22

Sunday, Aug 25, 2013 at 08:22
The speed of the heavy loads surprised me. This one was doing about 80 kph. Another one, 155 tonnes and 5.4m wide, 85 kph!
FollowupID: 796577

Reply By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 16:03

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 16:03
Glad somebody else finds some of these claims hard to believe. I was beginning to wonder if I'd developed a habit of leaving the handbrake on

;))
AnswerID: 516980

Follow Up By: Steve M1 (NSW) - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 16:05

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 16:05
whoops - should've been a follow-up. Hope this one is.
FollowupID: 796483

Reply By: NTVRX - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 16:32

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 16:32
Hi Jason, What is the best tow vehicle?.....how long is a piece of string? First of all let me comment about YOUR fuel usage.....there is something wrong somewhere...either your maths & subsequent calculation or something drastically wrong with the 2.8 Triton.....did you tow in 5th?....was it very hilly with gale force winds?....did you leave the Jayco's handbrake fully on?.....I am currently touring OZ and tow a 2.7 tonne van with my auto Pajero 3.2 diesel 2009 NT I average 17.7 ltrs per 100 towing at 90 to 95k/pH. I was camped next to two fellas driving 200 series auto V8 cruisers.....they were both towing vans nearly the same weight as mine & cruise on the same speed as me and get 22 to 23 ltrs per 100 Km. Take your vehicle to a reputable diesel mechanic but before you do put a new air filter in!!!!
AnswerID: 516985

Reply By: Kyle H - Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 18:33

Friday, Aug 23, 2013 at 18:33
Well Jason
I guess the masses have answered your question about 'what is the best tow vehicle'? 3 have compared their vehicle to the 200 series cruiser. Guess they have then set the benchmark.
The reality is what can you afford, that will be the best tow vehicle for you.
AnswerID: 516999

Follow Up By: GimmeeIsolation - Saturday, Aug 24, 2013 at 00:32

Saturday, Aug 24, 2013 at 00:32
Your right there Kyle. Its an open ended question. The best in my mind would probably be a new F250 ($55,000 in the states, $140,000 here !!!???) with the new Diesel pumping out a *#@! of horsepower that would pull that drawbar a bit longer on the van or a $250,000 RangeRover Supercharged V8 as there was no guide on what he was after.
I drove the 200 when I was looking at buying a new 4X4 that these days costs near 90k and 100k + by the time you deck it out and I don't know what others see in sitting on a wooden park bench driving a truck but each to there own.
I went European because it had everything and was like sitting in a lounge chair that felt more like a car than a 4X4, and with a diesel that is a generation ahead of the Japanese.
Everybody is different and you just have to work out what YOU want as Kyle says.
Just do some proper research on torque and where in the rev range peak torque actually happens, features, safety, parts availability, reliability, how much you are prepared to throw at it, service back-up and have a drive of the few you have narrowed down to or try and get one for a few days and get out on the open road.
FollowupID: 796526

Reply By: Member - Walter D (WA) - Saturday, Aug 24, 2013 at 09:32

Saturday, Aug 24, 2013 at 09:32
Hi Jason,
I have a 2012 Mazda BT50 with the 3.2 diesel motor and a 1.6 ton pop top Coromal caravan. I average 12 to 12.5 litres per 100 km travelling at 90 km/hr. My worst consumption was 15l/100km into a head wind and my best was 11l/km with a tail wind. The vehicle has plenty of power and is a pleasure to drive. I also have a 4.2l Patrol which is very good in the bush but not as good as the Mazda for towing a caravan.

Walter

AnswerID: 517023

Reply By: Jason S8 - Saturday, Aug 24, 2013 at 22:18

Saturday, Aug 24, 2013 at 22:18
Wow what a response! Thanks
Some back ground info( I did a follow up post but did not "post")

My Ute is set up for touring solo
It has 33" tyres, full bar work with winch, rear drawers and fridge, 145l fuel tank, 3" TBE, roof rack with solar total weighing in at 2655kgs full of fuel and average 14.5l per hundred day to day driving.

The van in an older 16" Windsor poptop, unsure of weight, water tanks were empty and no food, just clothes and chair

I filled the ute with fuel and drove 150kms on flat ground to my first camp and watch the fuel gaue drop so to get proper L/100 I filled it up as soon as I unhooked and returned figures of 43L

I'm new to towing a van, I was in 5 gear doing about 95 with a slight breeze (leaves just moving) at around 2050 rpm
AnswerID: 517042

Follow Up By: Jason S8 - Saturday, Aug 24, 2013 at 22:23

Saturday, Aug 24, 2013 at 22:23
My ute is also mech A1 serviced every 5000kms and runs very well
I'm thinking of maybe a GU wagon with a 4.2 TD or 3L CRD auto
FollowupID: 796568

Reply By: LIFE MEMBER-snailbait - Sunday, Aug 25, 2013 at 19:42

Sunday, Aug 25, 2013 at 19:42
hi jason s8
That does not sound correct to me
i would suggest you go and have it tuned look at the injectors the pumps and any other things like fuel pump filters etc look up goggle and see what it should bee
also look at the klms the vehicle has done it is a very light trailer
Terry
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 517084