Grey Nomads

Submitted: Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:17
ThreadID: 103363 Views:3956 Replies:7 FollowUps:29
Stopped at a road side fruit and vege store in Roma Qld today and was talking to the owner about how good the Gray nomads are for business. He said he would rather they kept driving and not stop as one couple had stolen a whole box of tomatoes and a lot of others are always complaining about something and want something free.To the Gray Nomads we all have to earn a living and we at Roma don't want to lose our fruit and vege man because of some penny pitchers and thief's.

Reply By: rusti2 - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:28

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:28
that is a very broad statement and a bit insulting
AnswerID: 515178

Follow Up By: John and Regina M - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 22:49

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 22:49
Yes a broad statement, factual, to the point and only insulting if you're a thief but don't admit it.

It happens in the Kimberley as well, people helping themselves to things that do not belong to them or make assumptions. I guess the few ruin it for the many.
FollowupID: 794384

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 12:45

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 12:45
It's only factual if you actually believe there's enough evidence to point the finger at a grey nomad. Nevertheless his broad-brush statement is insulting to all grey nomads - most of whom, like the rest of society, are good honest citizens in my experience. Love the irony of a roadside f 'n v stall holder complaining about someone complaining. For some Australians it's habitual. The old response to the "how yer going mate" query used to be "can't complain".
FollowupID: 794421

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:32

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:32
Hahahaha....this sounds like one for the wicked vans?
AnswerID: 515179

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:33

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:33
And its GREY
FollowupID: 794353

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:40

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:40
See ThreadID: 103328....I told you those Grey Nomads were no good.
Next we will hear about the Victorians, Nissan Drivers...etc.
FollowupID: 794354

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:43

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:43
..I'm not saying anything...:)

FollowupID: 794355

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 18:13

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 18:13
The quota has to be filled Greg.

What's a penny pitcher? Think he meant pony pincher, plenty of rustling about in western Qld.
FollowupID: 794358

Follow Up By: Peterpan - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 10:01

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 10:01
Hi Bazooka , you must be reasonably young as penny pincher is an old pre decimal term for someone who was tight with their money.
FollowupID: 794409

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 12:47

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 12:47
Yes I was aware of that PP, my comment was tongue in cheek.
FollowupID: 794422

Reply By: Notso - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:35

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:35
Mate, pull the grey nomads out of some of these places and they'd no longer have a reason for existing.

If we tarred everyone with the same brush we'd trust no-one. If your mate knew who did it then why not prosecute them and leave the rest of us law abiding ones alone.

Come to think of it I've been ripped off by the odd fruit and veggy stall along the roads so perhaps I should warn everyone off using all roadside veggie stalls too EH!

AnswerID: 515180

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 09:43

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 09:43
Get a grip of yourself , Roma existed well and fine prior to the grey nomad invasion and will be there long after the baby boomers are in Govt funded nursing homes having spent their retirement funds on travel they cannot actually afford..
FollowupID: 794404

Follow Up By: Notso - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 11:17

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 11:17
I reckon the only bloke who's got a grip of himself would be you mate, let it go and let the blood back into your brain!
FollowupID: 794420

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:44

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:44
Were they driving a Nissan with Victorian number plates?
Im starting to see a bit of a pattern here.....LOL
AnswerID: 515182

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:49

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 17:49
Love it. LOL
FollowupID: 794356

Follow Up By: mountainman - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 18:01

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 18:01
ha ha
GOLD
they cant afford to buy food they have to steal it......

after all they have a 3ltr grenade.......................... ha ha ha ha
to budget for.......

implosion......... ;)
FollowupID: 794357

Follow Up By: Member - Tony Z (NSW) - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 19:45

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 19:45
Love reading this type of banter, good humoured. Like why drive a TOYOTA or NISSAN when you can drive a real 4wd LANDROVER
Must say I own a Mitsubishi
FollowupID: 794370

Follow Up By: Member. Rob M (QLD) - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 19:54

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 19:54
I think you are all missing the point.

They were saving money for some new COOPER TIRES.
Rob M

FollowupID: 794371

Follow Up By: Rockape - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 19:58

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 19:58
Hairy,
I can see why you are looking for a new ride. They have got you pinned again old son.

Told you not to use the same number plates more than once.
FollowupID: 794372

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 20:06

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 20:06
I think Ill pull off the next heist in a Britz camper with QLD number plates......That'll break the pattern! You cant trust those Fritz in a Britz either will be the next topic....LOL
FollowupID: 794373

Follow Up By: Ross M - Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 21:34

Monday, Jul 22, 2013 at 21:34
Rockape,
You beat me to it, The vehicle may have been a NSW Nissan with stolen VIC plates.
FollowupID: 794376

Reply By: Peterpan - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 09:36

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 09:36
I will have to dye my hair in the future as I do not want to belong to the GREY nomad CLUB. I agree that many have short arms and long pockets and have seen what many of them are like at different parks. But do not tar all GREY nomads with the same brush. If Roma does not want me to stop there that is OK with me. When I am driving through Roma in my 3 l Nissan in six weeks time I will not buy anything, not even fuel as I will make certain that I fill up elsewhere and I can get over 1000 kms towing my van before needing fuel. Last time that I was in Roma I bought fuel, food and spent about $300 in the 3 hours that I was there. It is also THIEVES not THIEF'S.
AnswerID: 515229

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 09:55

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 09:55
How much of your grand gesture of spending $300 in Roma do you actually think benefited the Roma economy ?? Fuel , out of the $150 or so LESS than $1.50 actually stays in Roma , Food ? $150 at the biggest supermarket so you get the fuel voucher and the supermarket owned not by a local but a multinational your grand gesture leaves $5 in the Roma economy ,, all the while oblivious to the fact that your car and van has taken up 5 parking spaces stopping locals from going about their daily business.
FollowupID: 794407

Follow Up By: Peterpan - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 09:55

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 09:55
I forgot to mention I am also Victorian.
FollowupID: 794408

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 10:27

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 10:27
As a Grey Nomad at least I'm not to miserly to cough up the money to become a member.
Dave.
FollowupID: 794412

Follow Up By: Peterpan - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 10:28

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 10:28
Alloy, last time I was in Roma I was not towing anything and bought takeaways. Do not worry about shopper dockets for fuel as most times not worth the hassle.
FollowupID: 794413

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 10:38

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 10:38
David M , the only reason you became a member is to find the "FREE " stuff.
FollowupID: 794414

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 12:58

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 12:58
Interesting economic theory that Alloy. Apparently these fuel companies and "multinational" supermarkets don't add to the local economy or employ locals. Presumably Roma has fully automated fuel pumps and self-stacking/serve supermarkets?
FollowupID: 794427

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 13:26

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 13:26
Bazooka ,not a theory at all , fact is servo has to pay the Multinational fuel supply company ,fact is fuel retail gives a return of round 1% to the owner operator if he/she is an independent , fact, fuel $150 retail fuel sale does not cover console operator's wages , fact is that 90% of our beloved 'grey nomads' spend there money long before they get to regional areas and then whinge and bitch about the prices of Fuel & Groceries & Booze when they need to resupply.
FollowupID: 794430

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 13:48

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 13:48
Like you're bitching about grey nomads eh Alloy? Fact is any new money is welcome by most communities, whether it be $10 or $1000. It's a well-known business model - the more customers you attract the more business you'll usually do, and a steady stream of small customers is better than one or two occasional big ones (although both are nice). If Roma only got 1000 visitors who each spent $100 that's a pretty decent kick to the economy for virtually no outlay. Helps employment, which in turn helps to keep the local economy ticking along. Economics 101.
FollowupID: 794432

Follow Up By: escapesilv - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 14:10

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 14:10
I totally agree with Bazooka, but not to upset the people from Roma, next time we wont restock there.
FollowupID: 794433

Follow Up By: Luke F1 - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 14:20

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 14:20
At least the grey nomads spend their money here and not jet setting around the world spending their money in other countries. Or keeping their mind and body active and out of our over crowded hospitals. If they have paid taxes their whole life, they can do what they want with their money At least their not sitting at home winging they dont get enough dole money from the government like many others do.
FollowupID: 794436

Follow Up By: Pebble - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 18:40

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 18:40
"At least their not sitting at home winging they don't get enough dole money from the government like many others do."

I reckon some would be after they spend the bit of super they have on that first big trip and figure out how much it actually costs to travel such distances here in Oz.

As much as I enjoyed reading it, categorizing all grey nomads as thieves or whingeing buggers is rather unfair though. Just like saying all teenagers are lazy and rude.
Sounds like someone just had a bad day at work really.

I'm not old enough to be a nomad and my hair is starting to go grey, my Husband won't let me dye it! Guess I'm buggered when we get our camper and start to travel a bit more often.
FollowupID: 794465

Follow Up By: SDG - Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 20:15

Tuesday, Jul 23, 2013 at 20:15
Hate to say this pebbles, but many pensioners can travel just on what they get from centrelink. This of course depends on how much they have to spend when "at home" Do they rent, own home outright, have large bills, etc.
FollowupID: 794472

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 12:45

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 12:45
Must say, this thread looks like a grenade in disguise, and it certainly seems to have exploded.

Plenty of good humoured banter, and some arguments.

But what I think is being overlooked in the banter and arguments is that there is a view point that many (no not all !) “Grey Nomads” do have an expectation that they should be given something for nothing, especially when it comes to accommodation, in return for patronage in the locality.

Many communities have embraced this approach, some successfully, for others it has been less successful. But increasingly there does seem to be an increase in the number of opinions being expressed that are similar to the original poster’s (imposter’s?).

Are Grey Nomads’ starting to suffer an image problem?
AnswerID: 515311

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 20:11

Wednesday, Jul 24, 2013 at 20:11
Moderators!
What happened to the off topic rule?

AnswerID: 515342