Island Inflatable boat with Parsun outboard - review

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 14, 2013 at 11:32
ThreadID: 101081 Views:15073 Replies:3 FollowUps:10
I am one very happy and satisfied owner of a new Island Inflatable boat setup, and wanted to share my excitement.

I bought an IA290 (2.9m with air deck) and teamed it up with a 9.8hp Parsun outboard. I also bought the bimini, dinghy wheels and the premium airpump. What I think is great about what I bought is that I could buy all the related items in a 1 Stop Shop. I did hassle Garry (the owner) a few times and am sure he was getting frustrated with all my questions, however his help really helped me make the right choices (eg. do I go for a larger boat, do I go for a smaller outboard etc).

The purpose for my boat is to take with me when my wife and I go caravanning. With no way of towing anything, it was either an inflatable or a Portaboat. I am glad I chose the inflatable now, after having used both.

Weight was the big consideration against size, and at 35kg, I would not want to lug anything around heavier (being in my mid 50's - not 20 now!!!). And the size worked out perfectly with sufficient room for wife and dog and I. And enough to fish from comfortably.

Blowing it up manually was a real chore, although not onerous. But the auto pump is a dream and you just set your pressure and 'Voila' it stops when pumped up to the correct amount. Easy and fast. The bimini also fitted beautifully and fits to the oars. Works a treat and keeps the sun out of harms way when fishing. Also not a problem when the boat is underway either. A good buy!

The boat wheels which fold up or down to suit also makes moving the boat around on hard sand or boat ramps a breeze. Well worth the cost and an excellent idea.

The Parsun 9.8 is a ripper! I was a bit sus about buying a Chinese made outboard, but this one is so smooth and takes virtually no effort to start it and it starts first pop each and every time. It has heaps of grunt, but is very smooth and torquey and snaps the boat onto the plane very easily. It is quiet and even on my run in mixture of 25:1 is not smokey. A lovely motor and very glad that I got it. And, combined with the boat, the two are at the special price of only $2,600; isn't that a good deal! I couldn't go near that with other similar combos from other suppliers, so I was very happy.

On the water, this boat feels safe. It rides particularly well and when on the plane it flies. Being a non-solid floor, when you go over a boat wake, on the plane, the floor does flex a bit, but you get used to that and it certainly is very stable and predictable.

At this stage I don't have any negatives that I can point to, and can heartily recommend this combo to anyone seeking portability, low cost boating and a reliable setup.

I bought this in Tassie from Maynes Marine from Zane Boucher and his service was excellent.

As I am in the customer service business myself, I was genuinely appreciative of his and Garry's patience (yes I was a bit pedantic and wanted to know all the ins and outs, as you do!) and assistance both in the pre-sale and post sale bits.

Thought other caravanners may be interested in my research and experience. Now to get the fishing gear!!!
Back Expand Un-Read 3 Moderator