SuperCheap winches-any feedback??

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 10:15
ThreadID: 90777 Views:8508 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
Hi all- and Merry Christmas to all..
Any one out there have first hand experience on the 9500lb SuperCheap winches??
Please, none of the "get wot ya pay for' stuff.
I have seen expensive Brand Name winches fail- and I've seen an Aldi winch recover a Coaster bus out of a difficult muddy culvert situation.
Any word on the SuperCheap job would be grateful.

Reply By: Timla - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 10:26

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 10:26
I grabbed one last weekend – they had them on special for $325 at my local store...

Yet to install it, that will happen over the Christmas break.
Looks pretty well built though!
AnswerID: 473075

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 10:33

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 10:33
Super Cheap seem to guarantee their products.

I use their rechargable hand held spotlights with my work, and had to return one which was faulty.

I kept the receipt and they offered an exchange or money back.

Why not give it a try.

AnswerID: 473076

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 17:38

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 17:38
"Why not give it a try?"
Because when it comes to recovery equipment, any failure can have serious consequences. We had a winch let go on a steep hill where the car went over the side slamming into a tree & shortening it by half a metre. (Lucky no one was in it at the time) Winches are one item that are best not chosen by price.
Cheers Craig.............
FollowupID: 747919

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:18

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:18
I agree Craig

I can't see Super Cheap sticking their neck out selling 4x4 recovery winches if they are inferior.

If the winch was used re: the manufacturers rating ect, and it failed they would be legally responsible for selling crap.

I used recovery gear for years when doing pipe line inspections in easements ect.

We had to get them tested every three months re: wh&s even when we replaced the cables they still insisted on testing them before we got compliance.

FollowupID: 747921

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:33

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 18:33
Got a $800 10,000lb winch. Pulled my overloaded troopy and 14 ft tinnie on a trailer thruogh 50 meters of pure mud bog. Had 100 meters of slings and ropes out. Took a long time and didnt use a snatch block. Absolutely wrapped in its performance. Have had 2 warn wicnches. First one lasted 3 years with bugger all use and rusted itself to death because they were not made waterproof and also I failed to strip it down each year and clean it. Stuff that! The 2nd one suffered a similar fate after 6 years. Big heavy 12,000 model. Once again no waterproofing. Blokes up our way (nearly everyone has a winch) are running Terrain Tamers etc. Why pay $25000 PLUS WHEN YOU CAN BUY 3 FOR THE SAME PRICE. PLEASE DONT TELL ME A WARN WILL LAST 3 TIMES LONGER.
Dont forget a winch is normally rated on its maximum pull. This is normally the last few wraps on the drum. All winches can fail. I have seen the cheapies and the expensive ones fail
Many people poo poo the cheaper chinese winches. Many swear by them.
Bit like buying a 4wd. Your $140,000 toyota looks lovely in the bush but I,ll bet the old beat up landy following behind will get into more places!
Best answer..GOOGLE . Many reviews and tests done. Toyota or Nissan clubs also have forums. Dont believe everything you read on here (including me). The more info you get the better off you are.
All the answers on here are opinions and peoples experiences. Get as many as you can and make an informed decision. Its your money.
Cheers and merry Xmas
FollowupID: 747926

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 23:36

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 23:36
My considerable experience with winches both at work & at play has shown that quality winches generally fail from poor installation, bad opperators & lack of maintenance. My limited recent experience with Chinese winches has found the quality is hit & miss with several that I have seen opperating 1st hand fail with less than an hours use, in fact the last one was making loud grinding noises when powering out under load after just 5 minutres from new! (Tigerz) The worst one I've heard of was when the SA 4x4 Mag crew did a winch test a few years back with the cogs in an Aldi unit totally collapsing moments after taking up the weight for the first time. (poor quality steel)
Thankfully they are not all like that but when hanging by a cable on the side of a hill, winch quality is something I don't gamble with.
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 747944

Follow Up By: Inflataduck - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 16:39

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 16:39
Big fish
My warn12000lb has been on several trucks & only 1 rebuild $350 in 17years, did change the solenoid pack several times (& that's a lot of $) until I fitted a solid state type & yes it has worked a lot & I believe this is the reason it has lasted, but it has easily out lasted several of the cheapys I have bought & sounds 100% better when loaded, I have cracked 2 housings on the cheapys (ebay specials) but they have been reasonable value for the money & I must say they worked hard & no matter what brand you buy fit a good solid state solenoid system as this is where most fail
FollowupID: 747997

Follow Up By: Bigfish - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 22:20

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 22:20
Infltaduck..No worries . As I stated there are so many personal opinions of winches that it is very hard to guess what is best. Must admit I was wrong in my ioriginal post. Mine is a 12,000lb winch. Tigerz 11. Only this evening I was speaking to a young bloke who had one fitted last week and got bogged 2 days ago chasing pigs on the floodplains. . 100 meters of cable and 3 hours later he got himself out. With a mates help. He had the same winch. He was stoked. I also have had several solenoid packs on the Warne. For $2,500 I would have expected a lot better quality. I didnt get it. My Tigerz 11 has a solid state soleoid PLUS wireless remote. A huge difference when justifying the price of a winch. My winches were also on vehicles that were often driven thru water and mud that covered the winches.
I totally agree with the solid state solenoid. Why cant Warne fit them when you are already getting ripped off for $2,500? I buy heaps of gear from the yanks and yes, we are getting ripped off !!
Another point that is relevant to ALL winches...every month pull 10 meters of cable off in free spool and then engage the winch and put it back on. This loads up the electrics, the ropes, the gears, the motor and the housing. Stops (hopefully) rusting and terminal verdigris.
Another point that is very relevant is that my winch came complete with plasma rope. Once again Warne do not supply this as a standard issue. It is a huge advantage for safety and a huge weight advantage over steel rope.
cheers and only 2 more sleeps till chrissy!
FollowupID: 748015

Follow Up By: Member - Vince M (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 08:00

Saturday, Dec 31, 2011 at 08:00
Big fish
I have had problems with the plasma/dyn?? rope on the cheapy winch as it has been twice heat effected (heat of winch on the drum) this can also happen more on older warns (like mine) according to warn
FollowupID: 748489

Reply By: ross - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 19:46

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 19:46
I dont have a winch or intend getting one,but I have read a few indepth reviews and there is a recurrent theme from those who have disassembled the winches they have tested.
Most of the cheaper winches have good winch motors but the wiring,switching and assembly ect often let them down.
Another thing about the cheaper winches,is their lack of abilty to keep going on an extremely hard pull.
They might do one hard pull,but will need a lot of cooling down time before they do it again.
Cheap wiches also pull much slower than expensive ones
If that suits your purposes,go for it.

The reviews I read gave the Premier winch the thumbs up on price/quality,but this was a few years back.
They were priced between the cheapest and the Warn(most expensive)
AnswerID: 473108

Reply By: The Bantam - Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:42

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:42
There has been some "history" with the superecheap winches.....one of the batches did not go well..what the current one is like is a good question.

The ALDI ones have generally be well regarded for a cheapy.

But if you step up a couple of hundred bucks you can get into a TIGERS11, IRONMAN, TERAIN TAMER..or a couple of others in that $600 to $800 bracket.

And there are plenty of those out there that show they are value and making a couple of the established brand names look pretty sad.

I have a Tigers11 12 000 pound..thats a 6 tonne winch..it cost me about $800 with plasma rope.
The solenoid in this bracket of winches is better and worth about $100 on its own
add anothe $150 for the upgrade from wire to plasma rope.
and this bracket represents better value than the $350 ish cheap winches.

If you are going to buy a cheap winch, many of the failures have been on the heavy DC terminals, so you can iliminate some of the failures by tightening up ALL the terminals....and on the nut and bolt ones use 2 spanners the studs wont take it otherwise.

AnswerID: 473122

Follow Up By: Inflataduck - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 16:22

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 16:22
the early aldi winches are a ironman,all the warranty is thru ironman, put one on my sons navara has been good but had to change the solenoid pack to a solid state in the first six months
FollowupID: 747993

Reply By: Member - Josh- Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:57

Thursday, Dec 22, 2011 at 21:57
We had the Repco winch on our cruiser, around $600. We flogged the crap out of it on our trip. Handled it easy. It looked identical to the warn winch, it even had the rivet holes for the warn badge lol. I'm going to go out on a limb and say "90% of winch failures come from poor maintance or abuse. Most people leave the winch sitting on the front of their car for 12 months without touching it, then expect it to work in the bush.
Whether it's a top dollar winch or a cheap, run the cable out and in every couple of months. Give it a spray with WD4o or similar often. Clean terminals etc and most winches will give you a trouble free life. If it is a cheaper winch, use it wisely under load. There has to be a certain level of responsibility by super cheap to sell a product that meets a certain standard. If it's rated at 9500lb then it has to be 9500 lb capacity. Where it may be leaser is in it's ability to pull for a long time under heavy load, but if your aware of that it's not a problem. Our $600 repco winch pulled our fully loaded cruiser with camper on through Gunshot. It took a while but we got there and we weren't in a hurry anyway.

Josh
AnswerID: 473123

Follow Up By: The Bantam - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 19:06

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 19:06
If you speak to some people who sell and service winches, the most common failures have been switch gear.....in particular the solenoid pack.

This is why the modern mounded single piece solenoids are such an inovation.

FollowupID: 748007

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 10:20

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 10:20
If you want to do a comparison there was a great winch posted here a while ago by Gone Bush (WA).

It was a 12000lbs Raidon Winch

Worth a look

Serendipity

AnswerID: 473167

Reply By: Nigel Migraine - Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 13:19

Friday, Dec 23, 2011 at 13:19
This forum is, and always has been so conservative it’s just silly.

The mantra of “You get what you pay for” should be the theme song of this forum despite that fact that it’s wrong. Often you pay for one hell of a lot more than you get but the people who have invested big dollars in “The Best” product frequently have too much ego invested to acknowledge that the Super Cheap is just as good, sometimes better, hence they parrot the mantra.

Having said that… recovery equipment is but a necessary evil and an expensive stack of gear most of us hope we’ll never have to use and resent having to lug around the bush… UNTIL… we need it! Then it can, literally, be a life saver or indeed a life killer if it fails at the wrong time.

So whilst I’ll suggest you buy the Super Cheap fridge or the e-Bay battery charger I strongly advise you buy *KNOWN QUALITY* recovery equipment which may be twice as expensive as the Super Cheap item but is as sure as reasonably possible of working when it’s needed.

When I buy insurance I buy from a company with a track record of paying out on claims I don’t buy from a company who use every excuse to avoid payment even if their premium is lower – the same logic applies here.

With recovery gear, either buy quality or save your money.
AnswerID: 473177