Submitted: Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 21:07
Martyn (WA)
Hi Forumites,
The original plans my wife and I had have now been quashed after good advice from this
forum. So now we're looking to spend some time around the South Australian area, maybe a week or two around the Xmas, New Year time.
We are 50+, we're not not looking for something that could turn into a rescue mission worthy of radio or TV coverage, maybe a few wineries, some historic stuff. Just want to relax and have a holiday. Have a fairly
well equipped D3 with a Tvan in tow. We're after a fairly central place on or near the cost with things to do within a days comfortable drive. Obviously we can move about but we want to spend some time reading visiting and not just driving all day every day. I was looking at the
Fleurieu Peninsula, any constructive comments would be welcomed.
Thanks in anticipation.
Reply By: Member - Prickle (SA) - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 21:33
Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 21:33
Depends on how much time you have and what you wish to see.
Fleurieu is a good choice, also Barossa, say Nuri, nice park and central to some riverland spots and
adelaide hills etc.
Reply By: Member - david m2 (SA) - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 21:34
Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 21:34
victor harbor has the best donuts in australia. Its a nice place also,
Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 21:51
Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 21:51
G'day Martyn, here is a park which I think is nice at that time of the year.
It is not far to the wineries and the coast, and a nice place to sit back and relax in my opinion.
I don't think it would be as busy as the parks on the coast around Christmas holidays.
Brownhill Creek Caravan Park
Reply By: Dasher Des - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 22:06
Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 22:06
G'day Martyn, Depends on wether you like crowds or not but parts of the
Fleurieu can get rather busy at that time of year.
Deep Creek Conservation park is on the coast which will be a blessing at that time of the year.The Coorong and Lower SE are worth looking into as
well.
Yorke Peninsular is good as
well but also busy. Good for fishing as
well.
Adelaide Hills is cooler than the plains and a few Wineries to boot.
Have a great visit.
Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 22:59
Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 22:59
Hi Forumites,
Great thanks for the suggestions just what I wanted. Got some researching to do now.
Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 23:40
Monday, Jun 14, 2010 at 23:40
Hi Martyn.
Eyre Penin west side is not to be missed. East side is good too and totally different in character. Cheap oysters everywhere if they're in season - might be a bit early??
Reply By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 08:55
Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 08:55
Hi Martyn,
We always stay at this one,
Aldinga Beach
Nice, quiet park, close to some great fishing spots, just drive onto
the beach at Sellicks/Silver Sands, close to
Adelaide, heaps of great wineries, good shopping centres, I reckon it would suit you to a 'T'.
Dennis
Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 13:50
Tuesday, Jun 15, 2010 at 13:50
Port Elliot CP is nice.
Reply By: jim870 - Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 20:59
Wednesday, Jun 16, 2010 at 20:59
Fourmites,
Love
Wallaroo at the top of
Yorke Peninsula, Nth Bch Caravan park is fantastic you might be in trouble at this time of year however,
Moonta,
Moonta Bay and Pt Hughes are all as good as
well. From there you can travel the peninsula, come back to
Clare Valley for the Wineries or at a push drop into the southern Flinders.
Jim