Submitted: Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 19:07
Sparkiepete
G'day all.
I tried a search but couldn't find anything on this tent.I am assuming that as a good thing.
We
camp as two adults and a hyper 3 year old. We are looking at buying this tent as we like to have room to move. I would like to know if they are a good tent to see a few years.You can buy a sunroom addon which fills out the awning which we would also look at setting up.
Does anyone have one of these tents and how hard are they to erect? Anything of relevance as to how good/bad they are maybe there is a better brand?
I have seen this tent setup at our local disposal store and loved the room it has to offer.
Sparkie
Happy New Year to all ;-)
Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 21:22
Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 21:22
Hi Sparkiepete:
Not sure about 12 x 9, but I have the Oztent with the peaked awning which runs 2.4m x 4.3, including the awning area.
This is my second Oztent, and I love it. I only sold the first one to upgrade to this newer (peaked roof) model. I have the two side panels and the end panel which completely closes it in. A fabulous tent.
Dead easy to erect, although the "30 second" tent is merely to get it up and standing. Takes a little longer to nail it down and fit the panels. Only drawback is their size folded up (2.4m long in my case), but I know they will fit inside a troopy, and mind goes into the Ozpod on my roofrack without any dramas.
They are a terrific tent, and will last. Although I have not had to use their after sales service, a friend has when he busted one of the brackets, and the after sales service is *first class*. They moved
heaven and earth to get the replacement part to him when we were in Tassie. I don't think you will be disappointed if you get one. I love
mine.
This is a link to their website. You may get some additional information there to assist you.
Jack
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 22:43
Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 22:43
Sparkie, have an Oztent AV4 too that is very good for what we want. It hooks on the side of our camper box and we can be set up and have all the gear out in the tent and downing a stubbie in under 10 minutes from finding the
camp site.
!MPG:7!
It looks like a Bedouin tent on the side of our ute but is great packing up to about 2.2 metres long. I have straps under the roof to hold it in place and get it out quickly.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 10:06
Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 10:06
Sparkie,
I think you got the name slightly wrong.
You might be looking for the OZTRAIL Cabin 12x9.
phil
Reply By: lockie73 - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 19:36
Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 19:36
Sparkie we have owned a 12x9 for about 9 months.After owning a large dome tent we found this tent a lot easier to erect with a lot more room.The only negative so far is the extra weight and room it takes up in the back of the car.Most other cabin tents in canvas we looked at were twice the price so i was a bit worried about quality but so far so good. all the best lockie73
Reply By: Member - laura B (NSW) - Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 21:14
Tuesday, Jan 24, 2006 at 21:14
We just ordered a black wolf turbo 300 today (3m x 3m) . It has plenty of room for our dbl swag,single swag and porta-cot.....these are just snap lock type - took 1 minuts in
shop , including getting it out of bag but not pegged out of course...these also have extraa you can buy..this is just another type to add to your collection i suppose!!
Good luck....
Laura B