Esky vs 12 volt fridge

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 06:05
ThreadID: 29260 Views:6446 Replies:13 FollowUps:20
We have been doing small one and two day trips from home over the holiday time and paddle lakes and rivers in south east queensland.
Many month ago I made the desision to buy two Eva Kool eskies and not a 12 volt car fridge.
Last night after we got home I had a beer from my eskie and was thinking how glad I was with my choice, no fridge is as cold as a eskie full of ice.
We ad a bag of ice every morning in this weather and I think thats pretty good.
Just food for thought and a happy New Year to all

Reiner

Reply By: hl - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 07:14

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 07:14
I wouldn't bet on that.
A car fridge can make it so cold you can lick it!
Happy New Year
AnswerID: 146061

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 07:45

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 07:45
I enjoy my beer however it is. the fridge does get it cold but nothing beats a beer out of an esky. There is no fiddling with dials etc just perfect temperature beer every time. I will probably start taking the esky and fridge out now it is warmer. since having the fridge I do sort of miss the beer from the esky but i dont miss the soggy steak and snags
AnswerID: 146062

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 08:23

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 08:23
How wrong you are. Can an esky full of ice put ice crystals in a beer? I have my fridge cycling from minus 1 to plus 1.5 deg, and as an ex esky person have definitely been converted. Just count up how many bags of ice in a year you may buy, thats what we did and figured the fridge was going to pay for itself in a couple of years. Don't get me wrong the esky is a wonderful thing, just don't think u can say its better than a fridge. As the bush tucker man always says.......for the real important things like beer,u can't beat a car fridge :) Just cant work out why he drinks fosters lol
AnswerID: 146064

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 08:43

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 08:43
Yep, if you're planning on doing a lot of camping you can't beat a car fridge IMHO. Bugger fiddling with ice, soggy meat, draining the damn thing regularly etc. Worth every damn cent (whichever brand you buy).

p.s. I think Les has spent too much time in the Old Dart. They can't give the stuff away over here :)))))))
FollowupID: 399606

Follow Up By: bombsquad - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 09:49

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 09:49
I regularly put ice crystals in beers in my esky - in the Kimberley! I make my own ice in 3 litre ice cream containers (similar size to a brick). Deep freeze them, and then smash into an esky. I used to do this with a hammer, but it wasn't very effective and the ice used to stick to my hands & take skim off. I have found a better way - put the block into an old pillow case and do an afl umpires bounce on the concrete, then puor the ice (sometimes in the form of snow!) into the esky.

After going through a few pillow cases, I started using a canvas tool bag which works well and lasts a long time. Smashing ice this way is noisy so I have started bagging it + putting it back in the deep freeze. It doesnt seem that noisy until you do it a 3.00am before a fishing trip!

Having said all that, I wish I had a fridge. Eskies are great if you are only removing things. Try an esky full of beer, and a bottle of wine. Putting the wine bottle back in is a pain, ice falls into its space etc. Fridges are also better in my opinion for foodstuffs as others have said.

FollowupID: 399615

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:21

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:21
Andrew,

Treat everyone and everything the same. You don't put half empty beers back in the esky do you? Why should you treat wine differently LOL

If it comes out, it stays out! Can't have all that lovely ice melting away and risking food contamination or worse, the bloody beer getting warm, can we ???

When I'm away with 'the boys', we take a couple of HUGE homemade iceboxes filled with food and copious amounts of amber fluid. We just freeze 2 & 3 litre milk bottles etc (a lot of them). Luckily we can use the station owner's freezer every couple of days to refreeze the bottles.

FollowupID: 399634

Reply By: hawkhornet - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 08:36

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 08:36
Reiner,
What size eskies did you buy? - I've decided to buy a couple of eskies instead of a fridge, and will be camping with my wife and 2 young kids for 2-3 days at a time. I'm trying to decide on what size will be most appropriate.

HH
AnswerID: 146068

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 09:49

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 09:49
Hi HH
I got a 60 and a 40 litre Eva Kool so I can take the small one or the big one or both. Any bigger than 60 gets hard to lift for the woman :-)
And I think you get what you pay for in eskies.
With two kids I would buy two 60 litre ones. The other trick is making your own ice in block form, it last longer than the petrol station ice.
Happy Camping
Reiner
FollowupID: 399616

Follow Up By: hawkhornet - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:22

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:22
Reiner,
Thanks. I'll have a look at the sizes available, but will probably go for 2 x 60l eskies.

HH
FollowupID: 399635

Reply By: pudly - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 11:00

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 11:00
Hi guys, your discussion on fridge v eski is cool stuff. I run an Eva Kool fridge in my Jack and its the best thing. As you say, no messing with drainage and soggy watery butter etc. We do want to purchase an ice box though 'cause the fridge just don't keep up supply of beer when mates drop around, unless you sacrifice the food. Also I'm reluctant to put all the fish bait in the fridge. Good to keep it nice and clean. PS no need to run a second battery with Eva Kool. Sooo efficient. I bought a 90amph deep cycle and have at this point run the fridge constantly for 48 hrs with no starting probs.
AnswerID: 146077

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 11:25

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 11:25
The post and the follow ups are starting to sound like an advertorial for 4WD Monthly Mag.....lol

"We ad a bag of ice every morning in this weather"...hmmm.... so you are not too far from a servo or shop.

Geez you blokes are hung up on your beer.

There is more to life than drinking beer...go find it!!!

AnswerID: 146080

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:23

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:23
But why go thirsty while you're finding it ? LOLOLOL
FollowupID: 399636

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:50

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:50
Hi Willem
I was thinking the same, it is sounding like the 4WD monthly :-) but after a hard day at the beach or fishing or paddling nothing tasts better than a real cold beer. It has to be cold enough to course pain running down your foodpipe. nothing worse than bein thursty and looking at warm beer.
And my real name is not John either :-)
Reiner
FollowupID: 399637

Follow Up By: Mass observer - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:09

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:09
I head out to the remote side of Lake Giles South Australia (look it up) and stay away for a week with no other human contact but my son and a couple of mates and I still have ice in my food esky (Igloo 54 litre) at the end of a week without topping up.

I do allow myself a moderate intake of the amber nectar as well. I keep the esky out of the sun and have ice in several 2-litre bottles. My refrigerant becomes drinking water and no mess.

Take care stacking your esky so the food and drink is arranged that you take from the top as your time progresses and freeze all your meat except the meat for the first day. Keep veg double bagged and away from the ice, I hate when the lettuce freezes.

How much ice do you have to buy at $3 a bag to add up to a $1000+ car fridge over a $200 esky and how many kilometres will you travel while not lugging the extra mass of a huge deep cycle battery to run that fridge? Not to mention the mounting hardware wiring etc.
FollowupID: 399678

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:08

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:08
Ahhh .....many more luminaries coming out of the woodwork espousing how to be minimalistic lol

I take it you mean Lake Gilles. Hardly remote but I take your point of view.

Everyone sets themself up to which ever way they need to. Some buy $70,000 vehicles while others can go 'out there' in $1500 oldies.

So go the esky way if it suits you or buy a fridge. The weight difference is minimal as the second battery is used for other purposes as well. In the scheme of a 3000kg vehicle a 20kg battery does not feature as being 'extra weight'.

As for the amber fluid...who needs it? Much better to promote how many Weetbixes you had for breakfast LOL

FollowupID: 399688

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 08:09

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 08:09
Six

FollowupID: 399721

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 22:09

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 22:09
Dont have to look it up - from memory n/w of kimba. We took a couple of visiting Welsh locum Pharmacists from kimba there who were working for Dad in about 1980 in a Valiant
FollowupID: 399784

Reply By: glenno(qld) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:45

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:45
How was food kept in Pre A.D. time , Jack (Absalom days) .
AnswerID: 146086

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:56

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:56
I think eskies had evolved into Engels by then Glenno :)))
FollowupID: 399638

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 13:37

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 13:37
My $299 42L supercheap fridge is sitting in the back of the loaded up surf as we speak, we are just waiting for the others to arrive before we take off for 3 days in the bush... The digital display has -3 on it and I've verified that with my multimeter temp probe to be spot on. I opened a king brown of home brew the other day that had been resting on the back wall of the little fridge and as I opened it the release of pressure instantly froze the entire beer and nothing came out the end!! DOH! I had it set to -6 at that stage. With my 200amp hours of batteries I can easily go a week without starting the car as it's a soft start compressor and only draws 4.5amps while running, with about a 40/60% cycle time.
Mate I've done the esky thing, I've got a Coleman Extreme 5 day esky, but by the time you fill it with ICE and with the superthick insulated walls you can hardly get anything in the bloody thing! We've got 6 people going away with us and we have food for two nights and 3 days.
3 x 600ml coffe chill
3 x 2L Soft Drinks
1 x 2L Orange Juice
1 x Roast
2 x Bags of onions
2 x Bags of Salad
1 x Big Pack of Sausages
1 x Pack of Diced Beed (for stew)
1 x 2L of Milk
1 x Butter
And more bleep I can't think of. I would have NEVER got that in my Coleman Extreme, even without the ICE! And it's Bigger than the Fridge!
Plus being parked up for 3 days in summer, I don't want to have to get more ice everyday!

We've got heaps of otherwarm drinks that'll we can whack in as we need them, it cools them down very quickly at the expense of a little more battery power, but hey, we've got plenty in reserve so who cares!!

Anyway, that's enough from me, besides they'll be here soon! YAY!

Have a good new year everyone!!
AnswerID: 146090

Follow Up By: bombsquad - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:52

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:52
$299 for a compressor fridge, any chance of posting a few photo's etc, and a bit of a description and performance report. I can afford $299.00

PS I don't want to start a cheap vs dear, you get what you pay for thing here, just curious about what the quality of this unit is, there is plenty of information on the better known brands around!

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 399674

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:54

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:54
I think they would have sold them by now, I'm just about to leave, but I'll post some photo's and the manual when I get back for you.
FollowupID: 399675

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 20:53

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 20:53
ha ha great post Jeff,

btw, just got back from two weeks back in Perth for Christmas, geeeeeeeeeeez it was cold. The creek was flowing well through our spot block at Dwellingup too, kids and i had a ball.

back in NSW now with 45 deg, two homies waiting for me in the engel (~25 years old) aaaah but I do have a 60L Evakool icebox for various purposes :)

hope you had a rippa and hap noo all
FollowupID: 399775

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 22:12

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 22:12
I want my money back - the ice didnt last 5 days in my Coleman Extreme actually i dont think it lasted longer than my willow. Same external dimension but way smaller internally
FollowupID: 399785

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 19:52

Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 19:52
Davoe, yeah mate, I can maybe get 3-4if we don't open it much in summer. I'd ask for my money back too, but I got it for nothing brand new (long story) so I'd probally be better off keeping it!! LOL

It does work well as a ICE store. We actually used it this weekend, my sister in law put it in their car as they were using an esky for drinks. We put two bags of ice in it and they were still like new yesterday afternoon (we bought them on Saturday morning and it was sitting in the sun at camp). I think the trick with those is, don't keep openning them. But hey, who cares! My crap was cold! LOL.
FollowupID: 399870

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:12

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:12
"In the old days" we went without air con and fancy electric fridges. We got very very hot and tired . I would of given my left arm for a cold ANYTHING in the Simpson in October.
Then we bought eskies and did the floating in cold cr^p thing.
Along came affordable car fridges and I for one cheered.
AnswerID: 146093

Follow Up By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:29

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:29
I should have posted Eskies and Fridges and not versus........ I think It all depends on where you camp and how long for in one spot.
We hardly ever get away for more than 3 days so the Esky works for us. If you go away for longer and more remote the 12V fridge is what you need.
Horses for courses is the word............
As long as the Beer is cold by the end of the day :-)

Reiner
FollowupID: 399651

Reply By: Member - Bware - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:32

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:32
i gotta go with the esky. For starters for the same capacity a fridge takes up more space. Unless you're going miles from anywhere for extended periods a fridge isn't necessary and eskies have come a long way in terms of making ice last longer. For people like myself who generally camp coastal and do a bit of driving around, ice is never far away. More importantly, I don't have thousands of dollars to throw at my vehicle so an 80L Engel and dual battery system weren't on Santa's list! LOL!
AnswerID: 146094

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:27

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:27
12v Engel for me every time.
As most times I'm no where near a supply of ice so the engel does the job keeping the liquid of life at 3% good nuf 4 me.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 146108

Reply By: Muzzgit (WA) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:11

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:11
I used to do the eski and ice thing until we went away with freinds who have a 40l engel. After the third trip I chucked the bleep s and bought a 50l waeco and will never ever go back.

Yes, it cost me $1000 plus a dual battery system, but I am very, very, very glad I saved for it.

I did consider getting a big icebox and using block ice but our freinds did all the hard stuff, been there, done that, and they ended up buying the engel and were the ones that ended up convincing me to get a car fridge. The ice box they had took up so much room inside the 4WD that they needed a roof rack for all the other stuff. Not any more !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Muzz

AnswerID: 146115

Reply By: F4Phantom - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 22:58

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 22:58
Hey i think there may be one other condender here to consider. Its a little heat exchange fridge which bar the gas compression works on a similar principle to a real fridge and uses 12v. Where this thing fits in the equation is day trips and shorter outings. It will not get to 0C but will get cold to the touch and makes drink drinkable on a hot day like today (i did a test today in the 40+C car). It will never replace a real fridge or esky but it has some advantages over the esky as it will keep cold off power so you never need to get ice. It uses way less power than a fridge becuase it's just a fan and heat exchanger. and it costs less than a movie ticket (almost) $29 or $49 from dick smith. as i say, never beat a fridge but still handy to have hanging around.
AnswerID: 146132

Follow Up By: Patrick - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 12:21

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 12:21
Gee......your movie tickets arn't very cheap!!!
FollowupID: 399734

Follow Up By: Mass observer - Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 20:34

Thursday, Jan 05, 2006 at 20:34
I think we have a person here who likes the Gold Class Cinema experience.
FollowupID: 400112