Submitted: Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 00:40
geocacher (djcache)
I've got a few sth NSW alps questions I need a few answers to please.
I'm looking at a group of about 16 vehicles for a base
camp for 2 nights in April before heading on.
I have camped at
Tom Groggin but have had
Geehi recommended as a suggestion.
I have looked at sites on the net and it looks like
Geehi Hut has heaps of space, but my concern is we will day trip from there and it appears to be a bit too accessible by the 2wd two minute stop type and therefore I'd be reluctant to leave
camp unattended - which means leaving someone out of the days activities.
How good is the
Geehi Camp and are there other spots to
camp that are a little less accessible at
Geehi but not too far in (plan is to do Pinnibar & Gibbo as a day trip from there or
Tom Groggin.)
I know
Tom Groggin is pretty accessible too but not as close to the bitumen if you
camp down near the river.
Should we get there after a few days of rain and the Murray Crossing is really up I need options to either go south to
Omeo or somewhere else. I don't mind getting wet but some in the group might.
Is there still a ford at the station & if so would they let us use it for a fee?
If not I need a two day trip after
Geehi north of the river or head back to Corryong and head into Wheelers Ck or something from there. I'm open to suggestions.
Links to sites with photos would be good too.
Thanks in advance,
Reply By: Jarse - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 05:54
Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 05:54
Dave, If the
Geehi you refer to is the one on the Swampy Plain River, then you're right. It is easily accessed off the Alpine way by conventional vehicles. My motorcycle club attends a rally there every October.
It is quite large (used to have an
airstrip in the middle, but I dunno if its used anymore).
I've camped there many times and would highly recommend it. The scenery is beautiful. However, if you're concerned about security/easy access by others, then you might need to consider elsewhere.
Reply By: Member - Luxoluk - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 08:30
Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 08:30
Hi Ya Dave
I was a bit mystified as to why you'd be worried about rain and the water level at
Tom Groggin?? My last recollections of your ute was it was akin to a duck. No fear whatsoever!! What about camping on the west/sth side of the river away from the highway. The other side is a popular stopping point for travellers but there are reasonably
well removed
camp sites from where most trippers pull up. Cheers
PS. thanks again for the rig pics...mate you are one in a million with a PC.
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:58
Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:58
Leigh,
Flattery will get you everywhere...
I'm not worried about getting wet feet - inside the truck that is.
Course a wet ar$e would be a problem cos then the NGT
junction box might get wet!
There are others in the group with shiny new prados and the like and you know how tetchy they get about wet carpet! Soft.
Follow Up By: Member - Luxoluk - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 20:24
Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 20:24
Hi Dave. When are you going?? I suspect they are going to get a few surprises along the way. Have a good trip and catch you up there soon. The big 100 series fella and I will probably head for Beveridges this Friday, stick a chair in the Buckland and have some time out with the kids for a few days. Had enough confinement in the city!! Cheers
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 00:05
Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 00:05
Lucky bugger. I'm headed for
the beach with the hordes. Give me somewhere like Beveridges any day.
At least I can park my truck in the main street of
Sorrento (if I can get a park) safe in the knowledge that:
a/ It is probably the only one there that has been truly dirty.
b/ It is probably the only one there that has had the Wonnangatta flow inside the vehicle and out.
c/ It is probably the only one there that's had Toolangi top soil pressure washed into the
seat cushions (yep into not out of, I figured the
seat bases had been sitting in it so I might as
well push it in.)
d/ It's probably the only one there that has a truly huge aerial and knows how/when to use it.
e/ Anyone they like can open their doors into it as hard and often as they like - it'll hurt their BM or Merc more than my steel ARB steps.
f/ I removed the Engel before the trip
g/ I own all of
mine
h/ I'll spend more days this year in the high country & touring in 2006 than them
i/ They'll spend more hours sitting in traffic in 2006 than I will from 2006-2016!
I could go on all night but then this might just be the first post for 2006! (EDST)
Happy New Year... Have a Buckland chilled Bundy for me.
Reply By: Bootha - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 09:19
Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 09:19
Hi Dave,
I have camped at
Geehi many times but do not stop at the
camp ground beside the main road. As you drive around the
camping area there you will see a
river crossing to the rear of the main
camping area. If you cross the river there and drive across the plain infront of you (an old air strip) for about 1km you will run into
Keeble's hut, if it's still there after the fires. It had a pit
toilet and good access to the river for water. You can continue along this track all the way back to Kancobin and there were quite a few huts along the way that make a good gathering spot for all the troops at night. If you need to avoid the river you can get to the plain by the track just on the other side of the
bridge just after you leave the main
camping area, both access routes are pretty much 4wd only unless you have absolutely no respect for your vehicle.
hope this helps, have fun it's a great place. Plenty of wild life, Roo's, wombats, emus the lot.
Regards Bootha.
Follow Up By: Troopy Travellers (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 10:00
Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 10:00
Hi Bootha. I have camped at
Geehi in May this year & loved it . I ventured across the river near
the hut but not much further as I did not have any worthwhile maps. I would appreciate it if you would send me an email: troopyz@hotmail.com, as I would like to get some more info on the 4WD racks down there before my return trip. Sparky.
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:01
Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:01
If you had a big group would you
camp there in preference to
Tom Groggin?
Does anyone know the status of
the hut mentioned or if the drop pit loos are still there?
Alternatively what local office of National Parks & Wildlife look after that area?
Any/all help appreciated.
And respect for my vehicle is one thing some would say I lack... in my opinion a bath every now and then is as good for the vehicle as its owner.
Reply By: Bootha - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 15:18
Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 15:18
Dave you would have to ring the national parks at
Snowy mountains office. They could tell you of the huts condition. We have camped there with 18 people and had no problems.
the hut had a really large shade tree next to it which was great for shade during the day.
all the best, Bootha