How High Can You Go

Submitted: Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 22:09
ThreadID: 29258 Views:2574 Replies:9 FollowUps:30
Hi All... First Post here... Hope you all can help...

Just wondering about the laws in Qld. or oz in general...and how high a vehicle may be lifted and what tyres may be put on before a vehicle becomes illegal? I understand the headlights have to be at a certain level etc... but if they were relocated etc.

If the vehicle is fully engineered and certified, can a 6 inch lift be put on with 37inch tyres and a 2inch bodylift? I read somewhere that new laws are coming in shortly preventing this... and that 6 inches total will be max...

Any feedback appreciated...

Thanks in advance....

Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 22:38

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 22:38
It all depends on each state at the moment.

In WA I think you need to pass a swerve and lane change Test along with the Engineering cert depending on how big the lift is.

Somehow I don’t see a 6-inch lift with 37-inch tyres passing engineering for road use in any state ever!!!
AnswerID: 146046

Follow Up By: sudsy - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:59

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:59
Here's the address for that new Code of Practice about lifts that's drafted up for public comment:

www.dotars.gov.au/transreg/vsb/PDF/NCOP
FollowupID: 399639

Follow Up By: sudsy - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 13:01

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 13:01
Or just come to SA and mod how you like. haha
FollowupID: 399640

Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 23:43

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 23:43
In Qld the law is 50mm body lift, 15mm over standard tyre diameter and for suspension it is something odd like 1/3 increase in bump stop clearance.

You can't get bigger tyres/lifts etc engineered in Qld.

Lifes a bitch aint it?
AnswerID: 146053

Follow Up By: Sky Hornet - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 10:03

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 10:03
I read here about a guy getting a new placard from Nissan for his tyres so he could go 15% over a bigger tyre... think Toyo would do that too?

Thanks Mate
FollowupID: 399623

Follow Up By: Sky Hornet - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 10:08

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 10:08
29232 --- This one
FollowupID: 399625

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 00:55

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 00:55
Good luck getting 37's engineered anywhere in Aussie.

Qld, you wont get anything engineered as mentioned, even if you bring it from NSW registered and try and do a rego swap, it wont work.

Yes new laws will have 6in as a MAX INCLUDING tires.
AnswerID: 146057

Reply By: Sky Hornet - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 09:58

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 09:58
So all the tuff trucks driving round here are illegal. No buts about it... I wonder how they get rego each year? And what happens if they have an accident?

I don't wanna drive an illegal truck, might be a trailer I think...

Thanks Fellas
AnswerID: 146073

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:07

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:07
So all the tuff trucks driving round here are illegal.

No, all the highly modified 4wds and some not so highly modified are illegal..

What is your definition of a Tuff Truck?

Whens school go back?
FollowupID: 399666

Reply By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 13:04

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 13:04
The sooner it comes in the better. As long as the authorities enforce it consistently.
AnswerID: 146087

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:12

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:12
So its ok to ban something that you presumably dont have because it doesnt affect you ?

I suppose you can still pick the grandkids up from school in your stock 4WD no probs.

Or dont you own a Four Wheel Drive either ?

Best regards ,

Glenn.
FollowupID: 399647

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:36

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:36
My, my, touchy are'nt we. I suggest you read the draft and engage your brain before carrying on.

The proposed allowable modifications would suit 99% of normal 4wd users. It's aimed at restricting extreme modifications. If you can't see the sense in that then you do have a problem.

FollowupID: 399652

Follow Up By: Sky Hornet - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:48

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:48
Onya Gramps...

Why don't ya go back to that dirt rd. and call it 4wdriving...

99% of 4wdrivers? What the ones who don't go off rd... THAT 99%

At least 50%, if not more, of people who actually USE their trucks off rd. have mods... and of those, many would be deemed illegal under these new laws.

So why don't YOU go and engage YOUR brain and have a little think about things...

I look foward to your ignorant argument when you wake up from your afternoon snooze.

FollowupID: 399655

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:52

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:52
oooh another touchy one who thinks their truck has to be high enough to walk under before they can go offroad.

Please point out EXACTLY where I said NO mods allowed.

Old Chinese saying "Too much heat and not enough light in your head"

FollowupID: 399657

Follow Up By: Sky Hornet - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:00

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:00
6 inchs? That's hardly enuf to walk under...you may be shrinking in your old age... but surely not that much...

Most people here have a 2inch lift and bigger tyres...and possibly a bodylift... That would put em over...

Gwampy Wampy woo woo... Come out for a drive with me one day and we'll see how far you get in your stocker...

Nigh Nigh
FollowupID: 399660

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:05

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:05
At first I thought Sky Hornet was serious, with his original post.

But then with dribble like 6in is hardly enuf to walk under, I realised its school holidays again :(

LOVE to come out with you some day :D Lets see how far YOU get....
FollowupID: 399663

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:06

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:06
I thought for a while that Mum had put you down for your arvo nap little one :))))

Maybe she'll get you one of those Tuff trucks at K-mart so you can play in your sandbox.

If the draft is accepted, and it probably will, that's about as close as you're gonna get.
FollowupID: 399664

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:20

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:20
Hmmm Truckster, looks like I definitely stirred up a hornet's nest hahahaha.

It was all a bit too quiet around here anyway. Too many lucky buggers out and about and enjoying themselves LOLOL
FollowupID: 399671

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:26

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:26
Still interested why you said the sooner it comes in the better, are you being harrassed by some troublesome youngsters with mega lifted trucks and swampers while jockeying for the prime car park at the bowling club.

Or perhaps you have a genuine concern that your previous Bah Humbug statement did not convey.

The small amount of freedoms that we currently enjoy are being removed one by one . If it is not Tracks and land being closed its limitations being imposed on us by people who do no enjoy our chosen recreation.

And if all you have to say to that is 'the sooner it comes the better' then there is no need to attack you or your point of view because you have displayed your ignorance.

Glenn
FollowupID: 399679

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:45

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:45
One basic reason Glen, is to know where you stand legally.

People talk to Vicroads/RTA, adn depending on who you talk to you get different answers as to whats legal, whats not and when...

IF there are blanket rules, you can travel interstate without problem, buy cars from interstate as long as they are legal without problem

6in lift is enough for more than 80% of people who use their 4wd's for offroading. The hard core element is only a very small %age of the 10's of thousands sold each year.

FWIW, mines engineered for 6in sus/40mm body and 33's. Now I have lowered it from that 2inch to 4in sus/40mm body and 33's. Gets me everywhere I want to go, and everywhere the crew from OL did on a night run inc those on large boggers and swampers. Nowhere near as easy, but I did.

YMMV.
FollowupID: 399683

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:18

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:18
Actually my previous follow up was for Gramps.

I am glad that you have an opinion Truckster,and a logical reasoning behind it, something that was missing from Gramps original post.

My vehicle also has only mild suspension and tyre mods and to date has got us everywhere that we have wanted to go.

6 months ago there was uproar on this site when the media and certain members of the public attacked a minority ( 4WD owners ) and wanted them outlawed , now frequenters of this site attack a minority ( highly modified vehicle owners ) and cheer on their prohibition and they get stuck up for.
FollowupID: 399691

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 22:01

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 22:01
Glenn D,

This particular subject was discussed at length on this site months ago. Everyone who has even a passing interest in the subject knows that it is highly likely to be accepted given our useless State governments are gradually coming to the conclusion that they should standardize on at least a few things. Given their avowed leanings towards political correctness, it is obvious that the 4wd fraternity will end up at the pointy end of the stick.

Stuffed if I was going to go into a longwinded explanation of something that is already well understood, if not agreed to, by most on this site.

You only have to look at the different interpretations by various States as illustrated in this particular thread to understand there are wide variations in application even by statutory bodies within the same State.

Now since it is only in draft form what have YOU, and those who think as you do, done to get any amendments/variations added? From the tone of your reply I'd say precious bloody little other than whinge and bitch. If you think it is totally wrong, get off your arse and do something about it !!!

"If it is not Tracks and land being closed its limitations being imposed on us by people who do no enjoy our chosen recreation."

Exactly Glenn. And how do you think these highly modified 4wds are perceived by Joe Public who is so easily swayed by the anti-4wd media? Do you think there is a possible link there? Do you think they enjoy our chosen recreation?

The media babble on about monster city eating 4wds and then Joe Public sees one of these highly modified 4wds on the road. Do you think that is a positive reinforcement?

I personally don't give a stuff as long as the debate is settled once and for all and preferably covers the whole country. Once any mods are legal, some of the wind drops out of the media's sails.

If my views upset you or anyone else on this subject, tough titties, build a bridge and get over it.

p.s. You have no idea whether I'm 18 or 80, male or female, modified or stock truck, etc etc. As for bowling clubs and being harassed by youngsters, I've never attended one and they never do it more than once :))))

Participating on this forum does NOT require one to agree with everything said by anyone. That's what it's here for. To share and exchange views. Some you like, some you don't. Not every 4wder has the same views or opinions but they generally do share a common recreation.

FollowupID: 399708

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:08

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:08
Welcome to the site.
As for your question Why do you want all that height.

AnswerID: 146092

Follow Up By: Sky Hornet - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:38

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 14:38
Coz I wanna Tuff Truck... and before people start ranting...

Why do some people want a porshe or a loud stezza or a 100grand tourer or a 50grand trailer.... It's just people tastes...

I'm quite happy to get a trailer, I only want it for the 4wd parks.

It would be cool to drive around town... but not illegally.

FollowupID: 399653

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:06

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:06
No, what you want is LOOKS... you probably dont even go offroad.

anyone with 1/2 a brain realises height is not the BE ALL AND END ALL of offroading.

How long until school goes back?
FollowupID: 399665

Follow Up By: Sky Hornet - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:39

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 17:39
Of course I go offroad ya silly old sausage... I just said I would put one on a trialer... why? So i could tow it around town...

, we are a bunch of grumpy old men aren't we...

I read how you guys gave Pat Callinan a go for driving a car that turned out was not even illegal... just the Tele pushing a story...

Why not stand up for what you all believe in, bunch of pansys...

And regards to height... well try ARB Airlocker Ave at Landcruiser right now without height and some serious articulation.... I did 2 days ago, and have some serious underbody damage...that was with twin lockers and winch...

You really are a bleep ...

FollowupID: 399696

Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 22:20

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 22:20
"try ARB Airlocker Ave at Landcruiser right now without height and some serious articulation.... I did 2 days ago, and have some serious underbody damage"

Do you get some sort of hero's badge for that? Or is it an example of your intelligence?

I thought your irritability earlier on today was a result of your Mum not changing your nappy soon enough. Looks like I was wrong. Teething is a terrible time is'nt it LOLOLOL
FollowupID: 399710

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 01:53

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 01:53
>> I read how you guys gave Pat Callinan a go for driving a car that turned out was not even illegal...
yes it was, he admitted it himself to the paper and to other people apart from the Media..

Air Locker Ave caused underbody damage. So what your saying is you were driving your car beyond its limts and you caused the damage yourself with your stupidity?

Cant wait till school kiddies go back....
FollowupID: 399719

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 09:53

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 09:53
This my 4x4 and it goes every where I personaly dont need to prove a thing as to what I can go and climb in it.
If you are going to go to a private 4wd park thats far enough. Go for it as said put it on a trailer and go there and have fun.

FollowupID: 399722

Follow Up By: Sky Hornet - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 10:35

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 10:35
Hence Truckster... The whole point for my original post, I want to extend the limitations of my car... with height and articulation... you can't have a go at me for wanting that, and then have a go at me for driving a track that requires that...

Yes I'm young... and yes I'm gung ho, but in case you'd forgotten, that's what being young is about... I'm sure you weren't always a whinger...or were you?

It's actually quite amusing, this forum appears to be your life... and you think you own it and know it all... and like a dog guarding a bone, you snarl at anybody who disagrees with your view...

Or maybe you're just a bleep stirrer...

Happy New Year my friend...

Hope that 06 brings you happiness...

FollowupID: 399725

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 11:11

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 11:11
You were going well untill you got to here
It's actually quite amusing, this forum appears to be your life... and you think you own it and know it all... and like a dog guarding a bone, you snarl at anybody who disagrees with your view...

FollowupID: 399729

Follow Up By: Sky Hornet - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 11:28

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 11:28
You're right Eric,

Derogitory comments are useless....

Truckster, I open my heart and pray for you... and that you receive all your new year wishes. May the Force be with you...

Happy New Year Mate
FollowupID: 399731

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 15:59

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 15:59
Sky Hornet posted this dribble.

>>> Hence Truckster... The whole point for my original post, I want to extend the limitations of my car... with height and articulation... you can't have a go at me for wanting that, and then have a go at me for driving a track that requires that...

Again, you think 6in is not enough? So wat are the specs on your truck?

>> Yes I'm young... and yes I'm gung ho, but in case you'd forgotten, that's what being young is about... I'm sure you weren't always a whinger...or were you?

Young and gungho.. is a way of saying Im not smart enough to think or know my limitations. I'll just point the car at that obsticle and floor it

>> It's actually quite amusing, this forum appears to be your life... and you think you own it and know it all...
Yea I have numerous friends that I wheel with from here, chat to nightly, and yea I own it all. Ya see, I even pay to be a member like other tools.

>> and like a dog guarding a bone, you snarl at anybody who disagrees with your view...
Only fools really.

>>> Or maybe you're just a bleep stirrer...
Could say the same for yourself.

>>> Happy New Year my friend...
ditto
FollowupID: 399758

Reply By: cokeaddict - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 09:33

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 09:33
Struth Guys......
I went to bed at 5am today after a full house of teenagers partying hard. Woke up at 9am thinking..OMG...my head hurts. Then i read this post and its replies, I didnt think i would be smiling today......thankyou all !!!!!
Ange

Oh and guys..... Hope this year is a good one for ya's.
AnswerID: 146149

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 10:11

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 10:11
Hey Sky Hornet,

Guys that actually DO competitions, be it 4 wheels or two, have long ago learnt that a certain phrase is true, and use it to their advantage, one which you obviously are yet still far from learning........

" Brains will get you further than balls every time! "

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 146153

Follow Up By: Sky Hornet - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 10:40

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 10:40
Thanks mate...

I'm sure you're right...

I just bought my 4b a matter of mths ago... so haven't had the luxury of that much experience... but I'm sure I will realise such things...

I few broken bits soon learn ya I'm sure!

Either way, I just wanted some feedback when I wrote the post...

Whateva happens, I hooked...

H.N.Y
FollowupID: 399727

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 07:22

Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 07:22
Sky hornet you are better of learning how to drive a fairly standard 4wd learn about wheel placement revs etc etc them put some sneaky things on like a dif lock.
Because If you turn up to a track In a heavily modified 4x4 and you come undone you could look pretty silly when you get a bog standard 60s Toyota to pull you out.
Trust me i have extracted a few even after they chuckled at my old 60.

Just a thought
FollowupID: 399811

Reply By: sastra - Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 10:52

Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 10:52
Skyhorn

I don't care how high you lift her or how wide your sexy wide tyres extend beyond guards just so long as you take it by trailer to your sand tray to play. I don't want you on roads where I drive or ride my pushbike.
My job takes me to places when people bleep up. Funny how they don't look so Gung Ho when they and their toys are broken.
Yes I am an old fart too and I just love an arvo snooze sometimes but I don't like tryhards - four or two WD!
Fantising and play are excellent for childrens' development except when it impacts on others' safety.

Happy and Safe New Year to all.
AnswerID: 146301

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 11:24

Monday, Jan 02, 2006 at 11:24
Thankyou sastra and a Happy and safe New Year to you and yours.
FollowupID: 399834