Ayres Rock in Feb

Submitted: Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 17:25
ThreadID: 29252 Views:2131 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
Got some freinds planning on coming part way to Kununurra when we move in Feb,plan to get to alice Springs then back home.Unless we head into Ayres Rock I dont think its worth them going further than Port Augusta,so whats it like at Ayres Rock around mid Feb.Is the climb open often due to heat?
Thanks Guys

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 18:49

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 18:49
Last time I was there in Feb it was 43, the national bird were in there thousands and the climb was closed.
AnswerID: 146022

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 19:24

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 19:24
I thought the climb was closed years ago due to "eroison and damage"... or
... do they charge large $ now and put the $ back into the local dirt, dead trees and litter of MT bottles?
FollowupID: 399563

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 19:37

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 19:37
Still open as far as I know but it's closed when over a certain temp. It's looks very majestic but I've never had enough enthusiasm to do the climb.
FollowupID: 399564

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 20:38

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 20:38
Was certainly open in 03 but they close it at the drop of a hat. I was Pi$$ed as it was closed coz there was a gentle breeze. That evening I was planning on taking the regulation photos but seeing it was reopened I climbed it while I could
FollowupID: 399568

Reply By: Motherhen - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 20:50

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 20:50
You will certainly notice the temperature after Tasmania. We are planning to escape the heat and go to Tassie in Feb! And we live in the moderate south west. A few years ago, son and d.i.l. did a quick trip across to NSW & Qld after harvest, would have been late Jan or early Feb - got a huge thunderstorm, and Uluru area was all under water. Couldn't see or do anything. Had to stay at expensive motel as camping area and cabins inaccessible due to water. Met wet all the way home, but made it OK in their Hilux.

AnswerID: 146030

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 21:24

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 21:24
I climbed Ayers Rock on New Years Day 1979.

Thats was before the country went politically correct on everything. No restrictions then.

Had a beeeg party the night before and went up there without taking water with us. Didn't realise it was such a climb. Luckily there were fresh pools of water along the way to quench our thirst.

By the time we got down the temp was 40 degrees.

February? HOT HOT HOT!!!!!!
AnswerID: 146035

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 21:27

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 21:27
Gee!! It was hot there in a November!!! Cant imagine how hot it would be in February!! Better you than me. !!! Enjoy

AnswerID: 146036

Reply By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 00:38

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 00:38
I've climbed the rock a couple of times. Worked at Yulara while the rest of the family climbed last time.
It's a real experience BUT I reckon it was much better to ride our pushies around the base. It's quite a ride and you get to see heaps more.

As you climb, you generally just look at the rock in front of your face.

Big shock when you get to the top and look across the plains. There are heaps of other rocks just like it!!!

On the way back down the first time I was feeling a bit cheeky and told a Yank puffing with the heat not to worry cos there was a 'Coke machine at the top'. "Thanks buddy" he said.. yep believed me.

About 5 years since I was there... who knows, maybe there is a Coke machine now.

The locals ask you not to climb. I have doubts how much it really upsets them.

AnswerID: 146056

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:11

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 15:11
Probably a complete McDonalds up there now
FollowupID: 399667

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 23:28

Sunday, Jan 01, 2006 at 23:28
Ive done both the base and summit walk. the most dissapointing aspect of the base walk was the numerous sighns threatening fines if you actually want to take photos from around the base.
And truckster - No Maccas but i did see a young blond German tourist trying to slide down on her tiny bum but only succeeded in pulling her leggings down revaling a g string and a bum you could bounce a 50c peice off of
FollowupID: 399795

Reply By: Member - RockyOne - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 10:32

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 10:32
Hey Nick! You're a legend! You and those other guys with enough courage (and independence) to call a "Spade" a "Spade" or,in this case,a "Ayres Rock" an "Ayres Rock" deserve a mention in the (tomorrow) New Year Honour list..The "I.F.S." award.(Not suspension related) "Independence.Freedom of Speech"..Remember Cough and henchmen tried to take it away..Good on you ladies..Took a little "Fish 'n Chips" lady and a ton of intestinal fortitude to bulldoze a multitude of inert male pollies to give back just some of our rights..Another theme..Do you bit for Oz! Tonite,new year's eve,have an extra glass of red (or white if you prefer) Heard on radio this am that there is a huge over supply of wine..(Dumped 250,000 ton grapes) So,that extra toddie won't do you guys (and me) any harm..Will help wine industry..Mus go now to get my acceptence speech ready for my award on NYD."Friends and fello winos.....hic!"!MPG:6!
AnswerID: 146075

Reply By: Peter 2 - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:39

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 12:39
That reminds me of the time we climbed it back in the early 80's, we were wandering around on top of the rock and came across a couple having a domestic because she hadn't wanted to climb it, as worn out, sore, scared of the height etc etc. The mate that was with us asked all innocent like 'how did you come up' they asked 'what do you mean, we followed the chain and white dots' 'oh we came up in the lift it's over there in that gully near those bushes' he says.
Well the poor hubby she really got stuck into him, called him all sorts of names, why didn't you read the brochures etc etc, we quickly made our descent before they found out the mate was having them on.
Still bleep ourselves thinking about it for years afterwards though.
AnswerID: 146085

Reply By: Hairy - Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:28

Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:28
Heres the official rules and yes It will be fairly warm, Stats show Feb 2004 the climb was closed about 50% of the usually opened hours.

Heat - closed at 8:00am if the forecast maximum temperature for Yulara is 36 degrees centigrade or more;

Wind - closed if the estimated wind speed at 2500ft is 25 knots or more;

Storms - closed if there is any storm activity between NW and SW closer than 50km to Uluru;

Rain - closed if there is a greater than 20% chance of rain in the next 3 hours;

Lightning - closed if there is a greater than 5% chance of thunderstorms in the next 3 hours;

Cloud - closed if cloud descends to or below the summit of Uluru;

Darkness - closed from half an hour after sunset to half an hour before sunrise;

Rescue - closed during all rescue operations on Uluru.

Cultural Reasons - closed upon request from Traditional Owners following a death or due to a cultural event or ceremony occurring.

AnswerID: 146109