Update on the LC 100 series cold shift problems
Submitted: Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 08:29
V8Diesel
Changed my gearbox oil in my Landcruiser 1FZ105 to the readily available (off the shelf at Supercrap) Castrol VMX-80 as suggested - it's a different car. The box shifts beautifully now. What a difference.
Thanks to everyone who replied, much appreciated.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 10:36
Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 10:36
The interesting thing is that Castrol recommend Multitrax 75/90 for the Toyotas. I tried it on my last Prado and the shifts were so slow, I only had it in for a few thousand k's. I've been using the Valvoline Duragear 75/85 and find its OK too. The other Castrol oil that people use in Cruisers is the VMX-M which is slightly different to what you've got but works
well too.
Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 13:43
Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 13:43
V8Diesel,
I have some stuff you can try, where are you? I know you've now fixed the problem but for future changes I'm the WA distributor for a certain brand of synthetic lubricants which is off-the-shelf so to speak. Not mentioning the name for fear of getting accused of free advertising. message me if this is of any use to you, I seem to remember your in
Perth, is that right?
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 13:49
Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 13:49
G'day Martyn,
Just my opinion and others may differ.....but I reckon it'd be okay to say the name of your product on this post, so long as you declare your financial interest in the product and don't try to flog it to death like a certain bloke (with the same first name as me) does from time to time with his F....itch!!!
I'll MM you anyway....
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 14:51
Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 14:51
Thanks Martyn, much appreciated and yes, I'm in
Perth.
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 23:10
Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 23:10
Nothing in this post about Nissan's Roachie.
Just you good old Toyota.
Can't you just hook up your transmission setup to the Am-soil thingy and run the whole lot on synthetic.
Mate! if the good old Mini Minor could run the engine and transmission oil as one, I am sure a Nissan could do it.
You never know, might even run 1Deg. C cooler.
Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 23:13
Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 23:13
Ok, so if anyone wants any further information regarding Royal Purple syntheyic lubricants in
Perth you can contact me either through the member message system or via an email: r p i n w a @ b i g p o n d . n e t . a u look forward to hearing from anybody who want to improve the quality of the lubrication in their vehicle. Hope that wasn't to down
the neck or to pushy David & Michelle.
Follow Up By: Martyn (WA) - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 23:28
Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 23:28
Lucy,
You are right, the old Leyland set-up where the engine piggy backed the gearbox and utilised the same oil worked, not sure about the 1 degree cooler, anyway. Austin & Morris gearboxes had inherant syncromesh problems, I used to experience this working in a British Leyland dealership in the UK in the mid to late seventies. This was older technology, plus the reccommended oil changes were a lot more frequent then to try and compensate for the lubrication issues. Nowadays we're pushing the envelope for longer between oil changes on aid to this is synthetic lubricants and better filtration systems.
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:00
Saturday, Dec 31, 2005 at 16:00
The Castrol; vmx-m oil was formulated for hard shifting Mitsubishis apparently....