I think i forgot wot summer was like.

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 16:55
ThreadID: 29236 Views:2369 Replies:12 FollowUps:20
Its 33degC inside my house and the humidity is ludicrous (brisbane).

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 17:37

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 17:37
Its bloody hot every where.

AnswerID: 145908

Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 17:57

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 17:57
its a beeuuuuuutiful 23c in my office
beer is cold
swmbo is cranky.........again
what more can i ask for
AnswerID: 145913

Follow Up By: roofscooter2 - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:29

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:29
yes i think we all tend to forget how hot & humid it gets from season to season.i am a roofer & i have not been any where ( out in hot sun direct) since i knocked off work thurs before xmas. stay inside with air con.the older i get the hotter it seems to get .
FollowupID: 399411

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:20

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:20
Roofscooter,

It's not that we're getting older, it's just that aircons are getting better.
We have a mob of split systems in the house, where we once had just 2 "swamp-boxes". When it's 42 or 44 outside, we're watching the cricket @ 25 degrees inside.

Bloody tough going when one does have to go outside...usually make a dash for the airconned tojo.

Hooroo...

FollowupID: 399429

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:17

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:17
bloody hot here today.. 43.1 by my digital recorder
south side of house under the eaves
FollowupID: 399535

Reply By: Axle - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:33

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:33
Hi Glenno.
My niece lives at Loganholme, been there 10 yrs never felt the humidity like it is at the moment. Where on the central coast nsw , damn hot down here to.
AnswerID: 145916

Reply By: gforse - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:42

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 18:42
missus says its summer its christmas find cool spot and a cold beer rod in hand even better. in gladstone qld mate the and its bloody hot here but alas just loaded up the lux and tinnie hooked up off to norval park 4.00 am in morning 7 days lazying on beach lifes a real bitch happy newyear everybody kare and garry
AnswerID: 145919

Follow Up By: govo - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:18

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:18
We were shown this spot 10 years ago and it is still one of our favourite camping spots, we try to go there about once a month.
Trouble is now the grey army has found it and it's becoming more popular.
FollowupID: 399427

Reply By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 19:27

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 19:27
glenno mate, can u email me re the troopy
clarkjnk at yahoo dot com dot au
AnswerID: 145926

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:19

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:19
I have no idea what you are talking about .
FollowupID: 399428

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:26

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:26
Sorry Glenno. Wrong Glenno.
FollowupID: 399430

Reply By: Exploder - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:08

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:08
It going to be 23-in Perth tomorrow, one of the trees out the back is starting to drop its leaves it’s so confused about what month it is.
AnswerID: 145936

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:12

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:12
It was 35 here today in the Mid north of SA. No humidity.

Inside the house it was 23 as we have stone walls, 1 metre thick and a 14ft high ceiling.

Close the house down each morning after 8am and draw the curtains. That way it stays cool.

In Feb 2004 we had 14 days straight of 42. Even the house warmed up lol Looks like we are heading that way again.
AnswerID: 145937

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:54

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 21:54
i meter thick?....
FollowupID: 399442

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 22:05

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 22:05
Thats so no one can hear his music playing .
Quote from profile
The Eagles
Sirocco
Macy Gray
Neil Diamond
Michael Bublé
Fir Na Keol
BB King and friends
Bokka
John Farnham
Yothu Yindi
Natalalie Imbruglia
Cher
Boeremusiek
The Corrs
John Lee Hooker
Enya
FollowupID: 399445

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:15

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:15
Nudie

Yep!

Its 40 outside now and 26 in the house. Have all the overhead fans on (no aircon)

Glenno

We have outside speakers as well. Have to be able to drown out the neighbours from time to time lol
FollowupID: 399534

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:22

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:22
26 and have the fans on?....what you gunna do when it gets to 28?...melt

must admit 1 metre thick walls will keep the heat out for a while
but you live in a very hot place of the country where its known that a heat wave can prevail for a long time....once those walls are up to temp it will take a long time to cool down
FollowupID: 399536

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:36

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:36
Yes....after 4 days of 40 plus the walls heat up. Then it is time to pull the bed away from the wall. The hottest it has been in the house is 36...when it was 48.6 on the back verandah in the shade! That was Feb 2001. When it gets that hot we duck into the studio and tunr the aircon on lol

It has been down to -10 in winter. Can't get away from the extreme temps unless you go and live in Byron Bay on the east coast or Carnarvon on the west coast.
FollowupID: 399538

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 16:15

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 16:15
turn the aircon on....you wimp!

its 43.2 here at athelstone
FollowupID: 399544

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 22:01

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 22:01
glenno,
Can't believe I'm writing this. Am on the PDA out at Narrandera and it's due for 41c tomorrow, so no doubt it will be slow going as the Nissan is running real hot in these temps.
Happy festive season Trevor.
AnswerID: 145944

Follow Up By: glenno(qld) - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 22:06

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 22:06
Could be worse , could be workin . Or maybe you are , i dont know .
FollowupID: 399447

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 23:20

Thursday, Dec 29, 2005 at 23:20
I'm in Perth and it's bloody feezing! The weather patterns of late are nothing I've seen in 30 years. The low pressure troughs that give Perth hot weather in summer are now developing to the east and not offshore like they used to.

Kal to Meeka is stinking hot and everywhere west of that is cold.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 145960

Reply By: V8Diesel - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 08:18

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 08:18
Just got back from staying on a boat at Rottnest Island off the coast from Perth. Normally we'd be swimming in the water all day - didn't even go in this year. All of December has been cold, in fact I don't even think it has gone above 30'C for the entire month.

Wierd weather.....wierd indeed. Can't ever remember it being like this.
AnswerID: 145974

Follow Up By: Justin - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 12:24

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 12:24
Actually, a few years ago (ie more than 12 years...) I remember we lit the fireplace at home (more for the novelty "British Xmas" factor than actual heating) on Christmas day because it was in the low 20 C somethings... and this was in Perth...

So, yes Perth has had cooler weather in December before - but it is unusual.
FollowupID: 399508

Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 12:26

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 12:26
youre not wrong, an old timer told me to look out for february he reckons itll put your socks on fire
FollowupID: 399509

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 12:44

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 12:44
Yep, the thought of February is making me quake in my boots. Come to think of it, March last year was the stinker from memory.

Re: the fire. I remember a very wrong tape we used to listen to by the Pete Best Beatles which was all about a fireside Darwin Xmas. Very wrong indeed;-)
FollowupID: 399513

Follow Up By: Jeepster-WA - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 12:51

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 12:51
Hopefully my dive trip to Rotto that was postponed to easter due to being overseas may have been a blessing in disguise. It may have warmed up by then. Missus reckons I would probably be wearing a jacket if i was home in perth about now. It is low thirties with extremely high humidity in the Solomons. Probably same as being in Townsville.

Jeepster
FollowupID: 399517

Reply By: Ruth from Birdsville Caravan Park - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 14:19

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 14:19
Just hit 47 on our verandah and quite sticky today - storm clouds around but we seem to miss out all the time - goes north or south.
Bob Y if you are listening - some young blokes just came in from Diamantina Lakes - nothing biting up there (saves Ian another trip) but their utes were muddy as, seems you've been getting all the storms up your way. Lucky thing, especially around Old Cork.
Glenno, we've left here at 42 and gone to Brisbane and I've nearly had the vapours in the Brisbane heat - might be only 33 but the humidity just knocks me flat. The split systems are running 24 hours a day here at the moment. Ergon just loves us.
AnswerID: 145998

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:07

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:07
G'day Ruth,

Trust all well with you and Ian? Things quiet here, with all staff away, and no daughters at home.

Been hot here too, but nothing over 44 this month. Overcast the last 3 days, and scratching to reach 40. The splits are set at 25, so it's a good excuse to watch the Test, when work permits.

Was in Birdsville for Catchment meetings, in November, but think you were still away. Rhondda came up on greyhound, Linda picked her up in Winton, and we drove down through Mooraberrie. Went back home through Coorabulka.

Us getting all the storms, not true! Couple of decent ones yesterday, but next to nothing since early Dec. Looking for some heavy rain in New Year, as is everyone else!

Saw those young blokes go through here, they tried to climb one our sandhills, but failed dismally. Hope they had more luck at Big Red.

Linda is getting her filtered/conditioned, clear waterline, to the house, done today, better get back to it. She's only had to wait about 14 years.

Kind regards, and Happy New Year,

Bob & Linda

FollowupID: 399531

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:38

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:38
Hello Ruth and Ian

Happy New Year!

We are hiding in the house this arvo waiting for BEER TIME after dark...lol

Hello Bob

Happy New Year to you and the family and may the rains come at the right time.

FollowupID: 399539

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 22:11

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 22:11
Evening Willem,

We'll have to get a pup out of that house of yours, and shift it to Winton. Plenty of thermal mass!!!

Our temp today might have just reached 40, but its been cloudy most of the day. Plenty of cloud in NT & WA at present, with that amount of instability, it may make a mistake and get down here.

Trust you both have a good New Year, and a happy and safe 2006.

We'll take rain at any time, at present. The more, the better.

FollowupID: 399577

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:42

Friday, Dec 30, 2005 at 15:42
ring me for a quote for some lovely Fujitsu split systems Glenno...... LOL...LOL....LOL...

Sorry.... got carried away!
AnswerID: 146006